County Clare house rental - Fanore Lodge showing Caher river and Slieve Elva in the background.
Fanore Lodge showing Caher river and Slieve Elva in the background.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

County Clare House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, living room with piano, separate kitchen, sleeps 5

Fanore Lodge is nestled between the sea and Slieve Elva, set amid the wonders of Burren flora and its unique geology, offering views of the sea and the long sandy beach, three minutes from Fanore Lodge. There is a local surf school operating from the beach. The Caher River runs by the door, and the soothing sounds of water on rock can be heard from the house. Fanore Lodge is at the foot of the Caher Valley Nature Reserve. The Caher Valley and Caher River probably take their names from the fact that there are so many ring forts or cahers in the immediate vicinity. The house is ideally situated at the starting point of many hiking routes.

The house is protected as a historical structure and has been sympathetically and attractively furnished and decorated according to the period in which it was built. The owner is fond of art and there are paintings and prints of well known artists throughout the house and many images of the Burren.

Amenities:

Kitchen, sitting room, bathroom,

3 bedrooms, (1 Super King, 1 double, 1 single)

Satellite television & DVD, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer, electric shower, oil -fired central heating.

There is a large library of books and music available for guests use, including books on the Burren and walking routes in the area. There is an open fire and piano in the sitting room.

A welcome pack of local produce and fire pack is included for guests. All household linens provided.

Secluded garden with Garden furniture and sea views. Roofed terraced area for outdoor dining. Off road car parking

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 3015983 in County Clare, Ireland

Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 28 reviews
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

Beautiful house, great location, overall amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My sister and I stayed at Fanore Lodge for three nights and to say it was amazing, is an understatement. The house is beautiful, cozy, well supplied and everything you could hope for when staying in Ireland. For our vacation, we stayed in five different areas and by far, Fanore was the best. Geraldine has lovingly restored this charming house and we can't wait to return. She has sought to make the house comfortable and well-equipped and she has succeeded. Upon arrival, we were greeted and given a tour of the property. Every detail was considered and the amenities she provides make the stay that much more enjoyable. There were lots of local foodstuffs including bread, eggs, milk, cheese, orange juice, jam, butter, etc. This thoughtful preparation made all the difference. In addition to the food provided, there were loads of candles available and plenty of fireplace items and we took full advantage. Reading in the sitting room at night with candles and a fire burning was a dream come true. Lastly, there were also very nice toiletries provided and that touch as well was greatly appreciated. Overall our stay was spectacular and we can't wait to return. The area is lovely and very close to the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren Perfumery and other lovely sites along the coast. Geraldine was a wonderful host and made our stay so enjoyable. We can't wait to return to Ireland and Fanore Lodge! Thank you so much Geraldine!
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

Wonderful end to our Ireland Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife, myself and 2 other adults stayed at Fanore Lodge last fall. We absolutely loved our stay!!! From the moment we arrived we knew it was a very special place. The owner, Geraldine was there to warmly greet us. She showed us around the house which was beautiful decorated, spacious, clean, and had every detail taken care of. Geraldine put fresh flowers in the bedrooms, beautiful soap products in the bathroom, and she even turned the electric blankets on the beds for us in case we wanted to take a nap when we got there! The kitchen was stocked with so many supplies that we barely needed groceries! It was obvious that Geraldine took pride in providing us with food from local businesses in the area. The cottage exceeded our expectations and was by far our favourite place that we stayed in all of Ireland! We can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks so much Geraldine for providing such beautiful accommodations for our stay!
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

Relaxing haven in a beautiful part of Co Clare

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We spend a week over Christmas and New Year in Fanore Lodge. The house exceeded our expectations. It is a really comfortable, relaxing house to spend time in. Geraldine, the owner is an incredible and generous host. Every detail is taken care of. She provided some beautiful local food as gifts as well as having the house cosy and warm upon our arrival. Everything in the house is quality. It is located in an exceptionally beautiful part of Ireland and is on a 15 k walk route. The local pub is within 30 minutes walk and is friendly and nice. The beach is five minutes walk. There were incredible storms while we were there which was dramatic but we were very cosy and comfortable in the lodge. It's definitely a five star experience.
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

A true gem between the sea and the mountains.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed in other rented accommodation but this was by far the best experience. The house was warm and inviting, the fire was lit and candles were scattered around the house. There was lovely Irish food in the fridge, local jam, smoked salmon and Irish cheese, milk, bread and scones. Plenty of information about the area and books, cds and DVDs to while away the time when it rained.A great attention to detail, even the bathroom was well stocked with beautiful toiletries. We enjoyed walking on the beach and the 2 looped walks,Caher Valley Loop and Black Head Loop which were well sign posted. The restaurants in Fanore were closed at this time of year, but we found a lovely Italian restaurant in Ballyvaghan and also ate in the Hyland's Hotel. We did also do trips to the Ailwee caves and the Atlantic Coast Drive via Doolin. All very picturesque. We took each day as it came, depending on the weather we decided what to do. The local people also were very friendly and eager for a chat. We are already thinking of the next time.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

Just wonderful - go and stay there!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
By far the most well-equipped, comfortable, cosy, perfectly located holiday house I've ever stayed in. Idyllic location right next to the sea in Fanore and in the heart of the beautiful Burren. The house is just perfect - warm, homely, beautifully decorated and finished and equipped with everything you could ever want for a stay by the sea; we wanted for absolutely nothing while we were there. The kitchen had every utensil, pot and pan you could ever need, the living room had a great collection of games, music and dvds and the house has a veritable library of its own - I could have happily stayed for months reading my way through it! With the views over the Atlantic and the sound of the Caher river running just outside your door, it's impossible not to feel relaxed as soon as you set foot in Fanore Lodge.

Geraldine has created a beautiful holiday home and her warm welcome, efficiency and helpfulness makes you feel instantly at home and also ensure you'll want to come back again as soon as possible. I would recommend Fanore Lodge to everyone I know and can't wait for the chance to spend some more time there - it's a little slice of heaven!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

Stormy week in Fanore in september 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
In September 2013 we stayed for one week at Fanore Lodge and we felt very welcome, like good old friends.
The house is really comfortable, well and individual equipped and extremly cosy.
With all the irish goodies in the fridge, the prepared fire and fresh flowers Geraldine made us a warm welcome to the windy coast of Ireland.
And there is nothing better after a long stormy hike through the Burren than a place by the fire in the beautiful lounge with the countless books and CDs.
We also loved the nice kitchen and the huge bed.
The surroundings are stunning, you can do so many things like hiking, horseriding, swimming and surfing at the beautiful beach. Doolin, Lisdoonvarna and Ballyvaughn are also not far away.
Thank you so much, Geraldine, to share this beautiful place with us.
Greetings from Berlin
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

This is the Irish emerald!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
After several hours of driving from Dublin in the rain unaccustomed to drive on the left side, we arrived at Fanore Lodge.
When we arrived we got a fantastic warm and friendly welcome from you. The fire was on, all rooms were lightened, we heard soft music in the background, the kettle was boiling and the fridge was filled with delicious ecologic food and drinks. It was like a dream.
You hadn’t missed anything. At Fanore Lodge we had all we could possible need for our stay.
The first evening we just walked around in the amazing house. All the rooms were beautifully decorated. The garden was very nice and the surroundings were breathtaking. Everything was so beautiful and calm with the river flowing just outside the house. Outside the cattle grazed peacefully. The blackberries which grew everywhere tasted wonderful.

It takes some time to drive on Ireland but we found several beautiful places and many kind people everywhere. We really enjoyed our stay and we very much recommend Fanore Lodge.
Geraldine you are such a lovely person, thank you very much for letting us rent your fantastic house.
Best wishes
Helén and Christine
Owner's Response: Dear Helen and Christine,
It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have you as my first Swedish guests! Thank you for your kind words,
Geraldine
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

Hopefully we can arrange to come back soon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I usually rent houses for vacation, but I have never been before somewhere I felt completly like at home from the first step I made into the house. The furnitures, the style, each little detail you find there are unique and chosen with much love. There is a little room full of picknick-equipment in every size. The house itself is a dream! I would love to live there! When we arrived, we found the fridge full of delicious organic food and drinks and books choosen for my daughters next to their beds. Geraldine, the owner of the house, made preparations for my children and brought many toys for them. My kids loved the place as well, especially the huge bed in the "Queensroom". Just days later we found out, that we where sleeping on a heater, which was really funny for us.

Thank you, Geraldine, that we were allowed to use your house. We loved it so much and we hope, that we can come back next year.

Best wishes,
Zoe, Mia & Brigitte
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

French Country Paradise on Galway Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was an amazing abode that exceeded our expectations. My friend and
I were greeted by Geraldine who gave us the grand tour and had stocked
the refrigerator. She did not exaggerate in the ad when she said it had every
amenity including an upright piano! The views from the upstairs were great.
It was secluded and quiet but within 20 minutes of Ballyvaughn, Doolin
and over Slieve Elva to Lisdoonvarna. Every room was tastefully decorated.
The only thing missing was an upstairs bathroom but the downstairs one
was a dream.Grounds were lovely. We enjoyed the covered patio and wine
and cheese on the bistro set on the side lawn under the ancient apple trees. This place looks like a place that should be featured in Elle Decor. My friend
and I are both painters and this locale is a "little piece of heaven fell from
out the clouds one day"if you are seeking a peaceful retreat and a beautiful
beach to enjoy.
Owner's Response: Dear Gayle,
Thank you for the very kind words!
Geraldine
business
Charming, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015983
+353 0879957374
County Clare Ireland
5

Fanore lodge is a little gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Nested in a fabulous location, with the mountains and sea at your door steps, Fanore lodge has it all. It was our home for a week and we loved returning there in the evenings after exploring the region. It is tastefully decorated and kitted out and one doesn't lack anything.
We had 2 children with us and they absolutely loved it, loved the space in the gardens and the accessibility to the river.
Geraldine gave us a warm welcome and it was a real pleasure to avail of her home.
I would highly recommend the lodge as a destination, be it for an active holiday or catching up on books by the fireplace.