Monteverde cabin rental - Fill your eyes with beauty: The Gulf of Nicoya from your balcony
Fill your eyes with beauty: The Gulf of Nicoya from your balcony
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Monteverde Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Fully Equipped Cabin, 2 floors, 1 Bedroom + Additional sleep. areas, (Sleeps 6)

Bird-watcher´s paradise. Enjoy the million-dollar view of the Gulf of Nicoya and the mountains from this two-story new cabin in a secluded 5-acre preserve with lots of fruit trees (tangerines, oranges, water apples, grapefruits, bananas, avocado, rose apples, lemons), over 30 medicinal plants, free-range chickens, and more-

Please see our other reviews on TripAdvisor.

Only 15 minutes to Monteverde, 7 mins to Santa Elena

Situated right off the main road to San Jose (route 606), but nestled in the mountains, it is a 5 minute drive to grocery stores, banks, restaurants, etc.

Enjoy the Cloud Forest attractions during the day, but at night, retreat to the low-land drier and warmer climate and its diverse wildlife.

Wake up to the sound of parrots flying overhead and blue magpies knocking at your window, then warm up with a cup of herbal tea straight from our garden or organic coffee from the San Luis Valley.

Later on, take a walk on the trails and see beauty and biodiversity all around... you could even feed the chickens and fish.

In the evening, watch the amazing sunset from the balcony and curl up in a tub for two.

Less than 2 hours to the beach, 3.5 hours to Volcan Arenal, 30 mins to Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve and zip-lines, 20 mins to Children´s Eternal Rain Forest, 7 minutes to ranarium, herpetarium, horse-back rides, orchid and butterfly gardens.

The cabin is fully equipped. The first floor features the kitchen with large picture windows overlooking the mountains and ocean. There is a living area, a desk, a washer and a full bathroom. The second floor has a comfortable double bed, a balcony also overlooking the ocean, a romantic bathtub for two, a sofa and coffee table and some storage space. A ladder takes you to an additional sleeping area for a teenager or adult (too dangerous for a small child).

There is wi-fi/internet free of charge. You also have your own phone line with free calls within Costa Rica.

Email us for daily, weekly or monthly rates. We also offer RURAL TOURS.

Keywords: cabin, casita, vacation rental, romantic, family, rustic, nature, cloud forest, mountain, birding

More Details
Hide Details

Alexander was born in the San Luis Valley in the Monteverde region and has lived all his life here. He started working when he was 11 years old helping his father herd oxen to take milk to the local cheese factory. At the age of 15, he began working for the Children´s Eternal Rain Forest. He worked for InBio (Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad) for 5 years researching snails all over Costa Rica. He also worked for ProNativas, an non-profit organization that promotes the use of native ornamental plants as a conservation effort. He believes in changing the world one person at a time, starting with ourselves. He uses his 5 acre farm and cabin, his family and neighbors to help visitors understand the intimate connection that we have to the land. These neighbors, the local farmers and housewives get to benefit from the tourism that comes to Monteverde and get to share their own wisdom. Everyone wins.

Veronica was born in Mexico and spent 25 years in the States. She worked as a biologist, then as a licensed clinical social worker in various settings including private practice with people suffering from chronic physical illnesses and hospice care. She arrived in Monteverde a few years ago with her 5 year old son, Stuart. She founded PAWS costarica (Promotion of Animal Wellbeing Society), a non-profit organization to help educate people regarding the responsible and compassionate treatment of animals. She believes, like Alex, in changing the world from the inside (OUR inside) out. Everything we do, our choices and lifestyles sum up to our current state of affairs… we have the power to choose again so we can heal ourselves, our planet and all living beings.

Stuart is now 10 years old and attends the Monteverde Friends School. He shares our family dream of enjoying the simple things and having lots of fun caring for our farm animals and playing soccer with the neighbors.

veronica sheehan purchased this cabin in 2005

22 years ago, Alexander bought this land. It had been used for cattle and was pretty devoid of tress. He wanted to reforest it and turn it into a safe haven for birds and animals. He built the cabin 5 years ago. It is now a 5 acre paradise!

We love the peace and quiet, the sounds of the parrots flying overhead, and of the birds on the trees. We like having lots of space to roam and to plant things. Our animals are happy here too and we enjoy seeing them free and happy. We enjoy eating what we grow. We feel in harmony with nature. We are close to everything, but when we are home we have our privacy and space. There is enough peace that you can relax, renew and reconnect. Being here reminds one of who we truly are and why we are here.

17 Reviews of Property 399588 in Monteverde, Costa Rica

Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
Newfoundland
4

Peaceful retreat with stunning view!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We enjoyed 8 nights at this peaceful cabin away from the bustling touristy town of Santa Elena. We came to this area of CR to primarily hike in the cloud forests and that we did! Monteverde Reserve, Santa Elena, Selvatura Hanging Bridges, Curi Conchea for viewing of Quetzels are must do if you like to hike. Also enjoyed Serpentarium, Bat Jungle, Stellas Cafe, and Taco Taco. Casa Ceilo was a peaceful retreat after a full day of activities. The cabin has all the necessary amenities for cooking a lovely meal while enjoying a million dollar view. Balcony sitting area wonderful for enjoying a drink and watching gorgeous sunsets. Veronica and family were great hosts and there if you need them. Welcoming Tico treat was tasty and appreciated. And, don't pass up a traditional Tico dinner or breakfast made by friendly neighbour Giselle, a delightful experience in itself. I would certainly recommend Casa Ceilo for those looking for a lovely unique lodging.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

Amazing View, fantastic location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent four nights here in June, and we just loved the view and the location, just out of the hustle/bustle of Monteverde but close to everything as well. The view is SUPERB. The owners are the most fantastic people and will help you make the most of your stay--and they are an inspiration. Don't miss the horse back ride to the hot springs.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
5

Fantastic vacation property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
When we arrived Veronica had prepared a great (and healthy) meal. Veronica and alex provided freahly roasted coffee beans from their ranch/farm, the neighbours will sell you great cheese that they have made and fruit trees are all around the property. We had not arranged our trips before arriving, but a discussion with Veronica and a look through the guest book allowed us to quickly decide on the activities and Veronica made all of the arrangements. We did not rent a car, but did not need one. We walked to another neighbours house who provided us with a horse riding trip down to their spectacular hot pools and also made us a meal afterwards. For all other trips we took a taxi for a few dollars or took a taxi to town for free shuttle transport from Santa Elena. Veronica, Alex and Stuart also invited us to spend a day at their ranch where we had a great time with Stuarts extended family. Stryder (the dog that will place a stick on the exact spot you request) was a great source of entertainment for the family and accompanies you while walking around the very large and impressive property. The views are spectacular and the birds that can be seen from the house are too numerous to mention (kites, toucans, antbirds, hummingbirds, vultures to name a few). The whole family had a great vacation in Monteverde. Thanks very much Veronica, Alex, Stuart, Grandma, Stryder, Chicci for your invaluable help in making our vacation a memorable one (also, Selvatura Park is not to be missed).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
Palm Bay, FL
5

Perfect location for touring the cloud forests

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We arrived after dark and in the rain, but the owner, Veronica, was there to meet us with a smile and a hot Costa Rican dish! What a great start to a fabulous week at Casa Cielo. The house itself sits on a mountainside with a canopy view. The birdlife there is incredible and you're only 10 minutes from shops and restaurants in Santa Elena. The first morning we went to the local farmer's market and stocked up on local fruits/veggies and had a terrific breakfast before continuing our shopping at Super Compro for groceries, etc. The next few days were spent hiking the cloud forest reserves, ziplining, and touring the hummingbird and butterfly gardens. We made sure to eat at several of the local restaurants, including the CASEM Co-op. Excellent spot for lunch if hiking Curi Cancha or Monteverde cloud forest reserves. Be sure to stop in at the cheese factory for the ice cream. One of our favorite spots for a quick snack or lunch in Santa Elena was Taco Taco! Some of the best street tacos ever! The house at Casa Cielo is also perfect for just hanging out and watching the local birds and wildlife. We fed chickens, played with the dogs and just generally relaxed with a glass of wine while waiting for the rewarding sunsets at the end of the day. This is one of our favorite places made even better by the great family that has been willing to share their little piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
Fort Worth
5

So true and natural! Beautiful in every way.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
While in CR, we visited Monteverde, Arenal, and Samara. All three places were absolutely amazing, but the highlight to our trip (by far) was staying at Casa Cielo and Rancho el Rio (both houses are owned by the same kind-hearted people, and only 30 minutes apart). We left Cielo feeling relaxed and inspired. The house was even more beautiful and charming than pictures.

We had everything we needed to have a seamless stay: wifi, all cooking equipment/spices, hot shower, maps, and more. They even provided us with warm delicious snacks, fresh coffee from their organic farm, and a bird book and binoculars to use on on the balcony and at nature parks. The house, kitchen, and linens were all super clean.

For activities, we hiked around the cielo, went to Curi Cancha Wildlife Refuge, and took a chocolate/coffee tour. There is so much more to do in the area, but we were limited on time (unfortunately!)- we will no doubt be back to visit and experience more.

We love to cook and we went to the Monteverde Whole Foods shop, next to the Casem Coop, which is a great place to buy souvenirs that benefit the local community. The grocery was perfect place to buy fresh, local/organic foods.

All in all, If you want to have a truly "pure" experience in CR, Casa Cielo and Monteverde are the places to be. The owners make you feel like a friend or family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

Amazing views and hospitality, secluded yet easy access to nearby reserves, a hidden gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our stay at Casa Cielo was wonderful, it is a secluded retreat near the cloud forest reserves. The host family went out of its way to ensure we had information prior to our trip about the country, region, and about getting to the house. The house was well stocked with linens, coffee, and other key items for our stay. Our family of 4 (two elementary aged children) were treated to a wonderful Tico snack upon arrival and orientation about the house and local adventure options. The family helped us secure a fun ziplining adventure. It is a fairly short (bumpy) drive into Santa Elena/Monteverde (where we saw the Quetzel). The views from the house are amazing all times of day. The hummingbirds, parrots, toucans, and many other birds will turn non-birders into amateur bird watchers. We hiked on the many rugged trails around the house as well, enjoying the banana and lemon trees and other nature. Despite afternoon heat the valley breezes kept the house very comfortable. The night views of the sunset and stars was great. The balcony hammock provided an amazing way to read a book and to enjoy the constellations. It is a beautiful amazing place for a vacation stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
US
5

Casa Cielo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Casa Cielo was simply a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I stayed for 5 days and could not have been happier with the accomodations. Veronica was beyond hospitable, helping us to plan our adventures and giving us insider tips on how to get a truly Tico experience in a relatively touristy area. We never would have had so much to do, or such an authentic experience without Veronica's wisdom and advice! With her kindness and concern, we felt very cared for by her. The various resident pets made us feel at once welcome and at home. The views were spectacular and the humble amenities included everything that we needed and more. We will stay at Casa Cielo when we return to visit CR, it was a major highlight of our travels.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

Truly AMAZING!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Words are not enough to describe our stay at Casa Cielo. Breath taking views, lush vegetations, peaceful environment, cozy and clean cabin, and a bird watchers paradise. Veronica, Alexander and their son Stuart are extremely warm and accommodating hosts. We were greeted by the whole family, incl. dogs, and cat, and a fabulous Costa Rican lunch upon arrival. So much better than a 5 Star Hotel!!
The cabin has everything a modern traveller would want, and restaurants, grocery stores etc. are just 10 min. away. The only complaint.........you'll be sad to leave this truly amazing place.
Can't wait to go back, and also stay at Veronica's and Alex's new place at " Rancho el Rio"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

Very special place with friendly owners, amazing view, all amenities, only minutes from Monteverde

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our stay in Casa Cielo was a perfect experience. The owners are especially friendly and helpful, the cabin is large and well equipped, the place is incredibly quiet and just a few minutes drive from busy Monteverde. We enjoyed sleeping surrounded by the forest, the nature all around, fabulous sunsets over Nicoya Gulf, birds and wildlife everywhere. We liked to visit the eco-friendly farm too, there are chickens, horses and lots of things to see. As the cabin's altitude is a bit lower than Santa Elena/Monteverde, the temperature is warmer and we really appreciated that. Casa Cielo is the perfect place for a quiet nature vacation. Thanks a lot Veronica, Alex and Stuart.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Cielo-Secluded Cabin in Private Paradise, 15 min from Monteverde
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399588vbi
+506 8302-2522
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

We can't wait to go back!

We can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Wow! Just another 5 start review for Casa Cielo! We were floored by how perfect our stay was here. Alex, Veronica and Stuart were all so very welcoming (even though we arrived late and a little haggard). We're still dreaming of the corn tortillas Veronica included in our welcome snack - the BEST!

If this place were only a tent site the views alone would be worth the price. An amazing expanse that's difficult to capture on a camera...so green and lush, the clouds rolling through the trees in the evening were simply captivating...you can see all the way to the Gulf of Nicoya!

The cabin is a dream, so perfectly outfitted, you're not left needing for anything. It's extremely clean and well-maintained, the bed is comfy, the towels are soft. You can tell they take a lot of pride in making sure your stay is a good one. The customer service surpassed anything we could have imagined... from the moment we emailed them to inquire about dates to the minute we left, we felt like we were staying with family. Want a zip line tour? They'll make the reservations. Don't feel like cooking or going out to eat? They provide you with a number of a neighbor who you can join for a meal or have them deliver (seriously). We took a hot bath, sat on the patio, watched birds, hiked Monteverde, cooked dinners, went on a private horseback ride (oh! and got engaged, too!) The only possible downside is you're not going to want to leave - it's that enchanting!

I 100% recommend this place to friends, families, young, old; not sure how anyone couldn't love it.

We'll return as frequently as humanely possible and wish this family all the best on their ventures with their new farm!