New Orleans studio rental
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

New Orleans Studio Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom/1 bath studio, independent building, sleeps 2-4.

Great location Uptown 4 blocks from St. Charles streetcar and vibrant up-and-coming Freret Street. Plenty to see, do, and eat within walking distance! Please inquire about additional rooms for larger parties.

Owner and artist occupied, this stylish Victorian shotgun has been featured on design blogs, in creative photo shoots and advertising campaigns, and is currently showcased in the recently released gorgeous interiors book “House Proud:Unique Home Design, Louisiana” by Valorie Hart.

Central location and quiet Uptown neighborhood provide the perfect base for exploring New Orleans. All major sites within 5 to 15 minutes traffic permitting.

Guest quarters are located in a separate building behind the house accessed by a private entrance through shaded gardens. This former painting studio was lovingly restored into a stylish pied-à-terre with a cozy queen bed in the sleeping loft overlooking the spacious living space below.

With a new and very comfortable queen sleeper, up to 4 people can be accommodated. The galley style kitchen provides plenty of room for cooking, and the extendable dining table is the perfect spot for morning coffee or setting up a place to work.

The washer and dryer are located in the bathroom which has a generously sized shower with seats, and a door that leads to the shared back patio by the pool.

Lush gardens and ample yard space ensure privacy for both guests and owner alike. With a private entrance and dedicated guest patio by the pool you'll feel like you have the whole place to yourselves.

The outdoor gardens and private patio provide the perfect space to entertain small parties while enjoying the rustle of Giant Timber bamboo as it sways with the wind.

For nature enthusiasts, the local wildlife has found a home or temporary perch in the diverse array of plants and trees of the surrounding gardens. You very well may see butterflies, cicadas, geckos, frogs, woodpeckers, hummingbirds, cardinals, jays, red tailed hawks, gulls and the city’s chatty parrots who nest in the neighborhood.

The guest patio provides ample room for guests to spread out and relax with seating for 4-6 at a dining table, and another conversational seating area accommodating 5-6. Cooking out is easy on the gas grill and outdoor dining accessories like food tents and melamine plates are provided as well. Seasonal herbs such as rosemary, mint, oregano, and basil are typically available in the old sink planter by the apartment door to add fresh flavors to both food and drink. When in season, Meyer lemons, Kumquats and Blood oranges abound and will be made available in fruit baskets by the herbs.

Off the back patio through a gated entrance is the shared pool with the owner. Recently added, the pool is a gorgeous 50 foot stretch of gentle mineral waters, the latest in pool chemical technologies. Pool hours will vary according to season and owner’s schedule, but usually will be available from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Please inquire if you have a party larger than 4. There may be space available in the main house.

More Details
Hide Details

I have been living in New Orleans since '98 and can't imagine calling another place home. I love to travel, but the best part of that is knowing I am coming back here. I work as an artist, designer, and avid gardener. I consider my home and gardens one of my best works yet...enjoy!

Miranda Lake purchased this studio in 1999

This location not only provides easy access to all points of interest in town, but also a calm oasis for when you just want to kick back and relax.

The lush gardens and ample yard space ensure privacy for both guests and owner. Separate garden entrance and dedicated guest patio in the very back of the property ensure you'll feel like you have the place to yourselves.

A former painting studio converted into a loft apartment in 2009, this unit remains airy and bright. The modern update extends to the decor which is both fresh and colorful. Separate building ensures maximum privacy, while shared guest patio next to the 1952 Routemaster Bus from Bristol, England by the pool offers ample space to make a spot of your own.

16 Reviews of Property 3015762 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Knoxville, TN
5

Perfect Romantic Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My wife and I needed a long weekend get-away and decided to head back home to New Orleans. That was the first great decision. The second was booking the studio at the Jena Street Social Club. Communication with Miranda in advance was a breeze and the property was even better than anticipated. Walking through the front gate we were transformed to a veritable paradise. Between the fascinating landscape and the sweet smell of jasmine, our senses were on immediate overload. The Studio is impeccably decorated without feeling "put together" and everything one might need is at your fingertips (including a spare toothbrush to replace one left behind!). The sleeping loft is like a warm, cozy nest. The seating, both indoors and out, is plentiful and comfortable. It was a tad cool to take advantage of the pool, but we will on our next visit. The surrounding neighborhood is on the comeback as is most of the city. We were so impressed by the progress that New Orleans has made since our last visit and can't wait to come back. Don't miss Freret Street which used to feel abandoned and is now very much alive and well. Loved all the wonderful food...Le Petite Grocery was to die for. And, the old standby, Frankie & Johnny's, has the best boiled crawfish in NOLA. Even made a stop by the snoball stand on Plum Street for old times sake! Brunch at Commander's Palace never disappoints nor does dinner on the sidewalk at Jacques-imos! Jena Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of the best of this great city. As much as I want to keep it secret, it's just too amazing not to share!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Cincinnati, OH
5

Thanksgiving in New Orleans

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Jena Street was just perfect for the 3 families who were in New Orleans for Thanksgiving. We all had our own private areas with bedroom and bathrooms and yet we were able to visit as a group to organize our day for sightseeing and visiting. The fully equipped kitchens came in very handy for some of the food that was being prepared for our 'feast'. If the weather had been warmer we would have been able to enjoy the beautiful outside property, the wonderful pool, the luxurious gardens and the wacky double decker bus! Miranda and Kami went above and beyond to accommodate us. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Always happy to hear when guests can find everything they need in the kitchens! I've added a NutriBullet blender to the mix so guests can make smoothies as well. Greatly appreciate the positive feedback.. thanks so much and come again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
United States
5

Great location, comfortable studio apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We enjoyed staying at the Jena St Social Club Studio Apt. The apartment was well lit with natural light so it felt bigger than it was. Both of the beds were comfortable and we enjoyed the art work and all the little touches that made it feel like home. Loved the location, easy to navigate to other areas of the city. When in New Orleans, we highly recommend Jena St.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful and unique

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
jay kilkenny north carolina
Review Submitted October 8, 2010 Date of Stay September 30, 2010
Staying at Miranda's was the cream in our very enjoyable 4 days to visit New Orleans. 4 blocks from the streetcar you can easily relax by riding and just gazing at the beautiful manse's. The accommodations are comfortable, inviting and stylish reflecting an artist's eye and I found them lacking in nothing. Cooking in was a breeze with a grill to use and a garden to rest in. We spent an evening in a delicious club, The Three Muses where the music fun and food excellent. A free ride on the Algiers Ferry gives a water view of the city, gelato and the candies at Sucre is beyond compare and catholic mass at St Louis quite a grand celebration with organ music and a melodic choir. I have no problem encouraging others to ready themselves for a treat at Jena Street!
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Girls Getaway , Tourists without a Car , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , People with Disabilities , Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Wonderful Place to Spend a Birthday Celebration

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Sarah Lindsey Littleton Colorado
Review Submitted October 25, 2010 Date of Stay October 15, 2010
I spent my 50th Birthday weekend here at Miranda's and it was everything and more than I had hoped. A safe, clean, charming sanctuary with a lovely garden to greet you and a lovely respite from everything. Miranda went way beyond the call of duty to make our stay everything we had hoped. She was especially helpful in helping us figure out where to eat and what to do and had someone meet us at the house when we arrived when she was out of town. I felt welcome and very well cared for. The Studio is very comfortable and clean and had everything we could have wanted or needed. This little place is just a few short blocks away to the St. Charles Trolley, Magazine Street with wonderful restaurants and shops and a great restaurant called Dick and Jenny's with the best bartender (Abe) in all of New Orleans - he served up the best cocktails and was a great tour guide. I would absolutely recommend this little place to anyone wanting to get away from the noise and hustle bustle of the French Quarter.
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Girls Getaway , Tourists without a Car , Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

intimate wedding

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Erin Myers Chicago, IL
Review Submitted November 17, 2010 Date of Stay November 5, 2010
miranda was a more than gracious and attentive host. we had an extremely intimate wedding on the grounds this fall and could not have had a more lovely time. the grounds and accommodations were immaculately cared for and beautiful. miranda obviously takes her role as host with great care and pride, as evidence she was very responsive to any requests we had and offered help beyond what was expected. the gardens were lush and the decorations reflected the charming character of the uptown neighborhood. with comfortable and private atmosphere i would strongly recommend this property for a romantic getaway but also for families as the two properties can be rented simultaneously. the courtyard is fabulous for lunches, coffee, or cocktails with friends! near to the rental are great cafes and the st. charles street car is a short walk. cabs were responsive for quick pick up as well. we would love to stay here again in the future and have recommended it to friends!
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Families with Teenagers , Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfection!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Review Submitted July 11, 2011 Date of Stay March 10, 2011
I am an Interior Designer and Retailer who used to spend a lot of time in New Orleans. After moving up North a dozen years ago, we found a lot of time had passed and we had not been back. We always used to have friends in the city and had concerns about visiting and feeling like a tourist. When we travel, we like to fold ourselves into the culture of a place as much as possible. We believe the place you stay is the most critical decision in setting the right tone. Miranda's "Lake Estate" as we lovingly call it - is perfect If you are interested in New Orleans, really- there is no where better to stay. First of all - Location - is excellent - not too far from anything important in the city. I prefer to stay in the garden District hands down - for a plethora of reasons you can read over elsewhere. I am more interested in Magazine Street than Bourbon Street and I like to have a car. Second - Beauty & Authenticity - Miranda's home, accommodation/apartments, grounds are not some tourist-pandering creation. They are the home of a real person living and working there. Though very cool and mellow, she is a vivacious artist and personality, the examples of which you can view in every detail around the property. The house and gardens remind me fondly of time spent with friends in my twenties, who were talented artists and charmed every thing they touched. Third - Organized - Miranda has her act together and runs a tight ship. There is no flakiness on the Lake Estate. Forth - People - Because the place is cool and Miranda is cool, the other people who stay there are likely to be cool. So if you encounter someone coming in and out, you will get the feeling of being around people that are like-minded as opposed to chancing that you may share living space, chill-time space with howling red-necks who come to NOLA for only one thing. Fifth - Price - the pricing is very fair. I found the Lake Estate (no - it is not a huge, sprawling estate, but rather an enchanting, cozy, well-equipped little wonderland that makes you feel good no matter where you are on the property, and for the neighborhood she does have a bit of land.) to be competitively priced. I spend countless hours researching a place - going over and over the options, looking at photos, comparing pricing before I ever commit to a place to lodge. Last - It will only get cooler - Miranda is adding a Double-Dutch Bus and a Pool! Look out!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A great girlfriend getaway!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Cindy Owings Maine
Review Submitted April 17, 2011 Date of Stay April 14, 2011
Four girls from up North had a wonderful time visiting with each other. This is definitely a convenient location for many interesting connections. Our walk to Canal St. was an adventure, but seeing the different neighborhoods was what made our NO experience so much fun. The Street Car right down the street will take you to the French Quarter in no time. Take a stroll west on St. Charles to see the beautiful mansions up close and personal; add a quick trip to the St. James Cheese Factory for lunch when you are finished walking and you won't be disappointed. The beds were comfortable, linens were of high quality and Miranda made us feel right at home with all the small details including some luxury bath amenities.
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended for: Girls Getaway , Tourists without a Car , Sightseeing
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Outstanding

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Mary Audiffred New Orleans, LA
Review Submitted May 1, 2012 Date of Stay April 20, 2012
I am a local and booked this house for me best friend's bachelorette weekend...To say it was a wonderful experience is an understatement. The design of the home is absolutely beautiful, comfortable and luxurious. We actually stayed at the house the first night we were there and cooked, drank wine and hung out in the courtyard. I simply can't say enough about this house, its elegance and fine touches placed throughout the house. I will be back for another staycation and will highly recommend this to all.
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Girls Getaway , Tourists without a Car , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway
business
Jena Street Social Club-The Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3015762
+1 5044502910
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Jane

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Review Submitted March 18, 2010 Date of Stay March 19, 2010
Enter through two gates down a charming garden walk to the tranquil back of the Jena street shootgun. The studio apartment from which you have a view back down the garden has all comforts with the added enjoyment of the pallet and decor of the artist owner's eye. Is the old saddle on display meant to be a visual form of exercise? Fun and quirky place from which to enjoy New Orleans. JB, London
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars