Capitol Hill townhome rental - Our street. The house is the second from right.
Our street. The house is the second from right.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Capitol Hill Townhome Rental Photos and Description
1 King, 2 Twins (plus full sized baby crib)

Built in 1896, this home retains all its historic charm yet has been brought up to date with an open concept main level and 21st century appliances. The location simply could not be better, as the home is on a quiet side street yet within a short walk of everything. It is only steps from a concentration of restaurants known as Restaurant Row, with tables out front by the sidewalk. Stanton Park, which is ideal for small children, is one block away. Union Station, from which virtually every sightseeing tour in Washington departs, is three blocks away, as are the Senate buildings, and immediately beyond them is the National Mall with major sights such as the Smithsonian museums and the National Archives.

The home has been furnished for a family of four, and also has a crib, high chair, and stair gate for baby. It is ideal for a family with children who would like to visit sites such as the Smithsonian museums, the US Capitol, Supreme Court, National Archives, the Library of Congress, or the Newseum, among many others. Our neighborhood, Capitol Hill, is quiet yet so centrally located that the sites are within walking distance, a huge plus since none of them has parking. You will live like a local, walking one block to the grocery store with the house shopping cart, or getting around on DC's bright red public bicycles, which you can pick up at a bike rack close to the house.

Should you wish to travel further afield, you could catch the Metro (a.k.a. underground) at Union Station, or pick up a rental car there. Visitors who arrive by car typically park at Union Station for the duration of their stay. If arriving by rental car, you can return it at Union Station to save money during your stay.

Although we are steps from Restaurant Row, you will find the house equipped with a cook's kitchen. Whether it is a coffee grinder, a blender for margaritas, or a selection of spices, you will find it on hand.

Your rental comes with all linens, towels, a blow drier, a starter set of toiletries, etc. All you need to bring is a tooth brush!

So how to proceed?

We recommend using the 'Book Now' button, which will confirm availability and provide a detailed quote before you reach the screen on which you are asked to commit. We book with the $120 cleaning fee, and the balance is due 30 days before arrival. All payments are self-service, via credit card or e-check using HomeAway's secure payments page. You do not need to provide us credit card information.

If we don't have your dates available, you may want to check our two other two-bedroom homes, HomeAway properties #265943 and #339969.

PLEASE NOTE, WE DO NOT ADVERTISE ON CRAIGSLIST. If you came across the content of our listing on Craigslist, it is a fake ad.

More Details
Hide Details

I am an engineer and management consultant with a passion for marine environmental issues and ocean exploration.

Alec Smyth purchased this townhome in 2012

My wife and I invest in properties that meet two fundamental criteria; they must be ideally located for visitors, and nice enough that we would like to live in them ourselves. That translates to properties located in the five or six blocks of Capitol Hill closest to the National Mall, homes with historic charm, and with open floor plans on the ground floor. They must be on streets that are attractive yet quiet.

There is a lot to see in Washington, with over fifty museums, but unfortunately we feature the very longest commutes in the nation. The museums have no parking, which may be a deliberate strategy to reduce the number of cars. Capitol Hill is the area immediately surrounding the US Capitol, and because it is a historical conservation neighborhood of small houses that cannot be altered, it contains almost no hotels. By staying at a home on the Western edge of Capitol Hill, you are closer to the sites than at a hotel, and free from the hassles of commuting because everything is within walking distance. Quite aside from the convenience of the location, both house and neighborhood are charming.

25 Reviews of Property 3014729 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
average rating of 4.92 based on 25 reviews
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Where do you live?
5

Perfect place for families!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our first time staying at a property vs a hotel and boy did it enhance our vacation! I chose this property based off the previous reviews as well as my interactions with Alec the owner. I had many questions and he always responded quickly with detail filled emails. The location couldn't have been more convenient for seeing the DC sights- 2 easy blocks from Union Station (spend the money on a hop on hop off tour, your feet will thank you), about a block from a small grocery store and 7/8 blocks from large grocery store (Giant) and the wonderful Eastern Market (must try the fresh ravioli from Eastern Grocery and the steaks/burgers from Union Meat Co.). Safe neighborhood, quiet streets by early evening. The property was simply beautiful. Spotless, well appointed, comfortable. Perfect set up for our family, 2 adults and 12 year old twin boys. The master bedroom is quite large with a nice flatscreen TV and large closet. The smaller bedroom has twin beds, bureau and a crib which Alec stored away for us. The beds can also be set up as bunk beds. The linens and pillows were wonderful. The full bathroom was a nice size, and included a Bosch washer/dryer set. The first floor bath was smaller but bright and had a separate heater. Great water pressure and Alec supplied toliet paper as well as a high end set of starter toiletries. The kitchen was a cook's dream. Not only were the appliances modern, but the supplies included allowed me to cook up breakfasts and dinners like a pro. Nice gas grill in the fenced in back yard, we used twice, full tank of propane. Some may avoid cooking on vacation but with facilities so nice it was a treat. Another nice flat screen TV in the living room along with a Blu Ray player. High speed wi-fi and a Bose Wave radio in the kitchen made post sightseeing chill time a breeze. The 3 umbrellas provided were PRICELESS as our stay included some nasty chilly rain. The House Book provided for guests was very helpful and includes a taxi driver recommendation. We used the service for a ride back to the airport and couldn't have been happier with the clean minivan and friendly and professional driver, Hamid. We highly recommend this property and look forward to booking again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Mejor imposible!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Excelente casa, ubicación y comodidades. Llegamos en tren, la estación está a pocas cuadras de la casa por lo que fuimos caminando con el equipaje. Muy bien mantenida y equipada con nivel y calidad. La cocina es perfecta y pudimos preparar para la cena las delicias compradas en el mercado Eastern. Alec un fuera de serie nos informó sobre actividades, detalles y cualquier tipo de dudas que tuvimos. El día de nuestra partida debido a una tormenta de nieve nos pasó a buscar con su camioneta y nos llevó a la estación. (Además nos ofreció un día extra sin cargo por si no podíamos salir). Creo que esta propiedad es el lugar de elección para una familia como la nuestra con dos hijos de 10 y 13 años. Aunque la casa está acondicionada para niños mas pequeños. La semana se pasó volando y con la sensación de querer volver y completar todas las posibilidades que ofrece Washington. Un detalle, mi esposa se olvidó un anillo en la casa y Alec nos lo envió por correo a New York. Hace varios años que alquilamos a través de Home Away y esta casa es la mejor opción en la que hemos estado. Absolutamente recomendable, Gracias Alec!
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Perth Western Australia
5

Quality holiday home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This property is a high quality holiday home, we are a family of 4 (2 teenagers) and are travelling for 3 months through Europe and the USA using a number of VRBO properties and this property wins hands down, it feels like your home as soon as you walk through the front door. The photos tell the story well, it is a classic historic home surrounded by other classic properties, lots of room inside, very well appointed, very clean and a very convenient location, large king bed in main bedroom, modern kitchen in which we prepared several home cooked meals, washing/drying appliances. Shops close by, all the tourist sites including the Smithsonian museums within walking distance (my personal pick is the Air & Space), public transport only a block away, easy taxi ride from Airport, the Suburb is very safe and quite and restaurants are an easy walk.
We have discovered during our journey that private accommodation is far better than hotels and we would thoroughly recommend this property, it is a property that lives up to its description, it is 5 star.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Elizabeth City, NC
5

Beautiful and very accomodating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This home was beautiful and comfortable! The pictures shown are exact, and we walked in to zero surprises. Everything in the historic home has been updated beautifully. One of my pet peeves with older locations are poor lighting and poor water pressure. Neither one was an issue in this location. All lights, faucets, etc are all very nice. The king bed in the very spacious master bedroom was very comfortable, and we found a linen closet complete with various extra pillows or pillows of varying firmness and density to accommodate almost anyone's needs.
The location is perfect - very convenient to Union Station, and an easy walk to the National Mall.
We were most impressed by the items available and thought taken to accommodate children. A crib, high chair, and permanent baby gate for the steep stairs were all very helpful as well as outlet covers throughout the house. We did find the crib positioned at the highest setting (safe for only young babies) and no tool to change it in the house. Out of fairness in my review, we didn't bother contacting the owner for any correction, and simply located an inexpensive tool on our own to correct the issue.
Our most impressive interaction with the home and owner was the genuine care Alec takes to ensuring our comfort and enjoyment, not just in his home, but throughout our stay. We visited the area at the exact time of the Federal Government Shutdown. Just prior to our arrival, we received an email with some expectations in the event of an actual shutdown. Once the circumstances were inevitable, we received the most impressive email from Alec detailed with hyperlinks to NUMEROUS attractions that remained open, both in Washington and in surrounding areas.
Choose this location for a visit to our Nation's Capital once our government finally gets their act together, and you won't be sorry (at least not with the comfort of the home). :)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Fantastic house in a fantastic location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Fantastic house in a fantastic location. Well kept and very well equipped. We loved Capitol Hill and it was a very convenient base for everything we wanted to do in DC. Some great tips from the owner too, including Eastern Market which was really good for fresh produce and did fabulous breakfasts! A high quality, highly recommended vacation house.
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Having rented a lot of very nice houses via Homeaway for years now, this Capitol Hill House was the best one we ever had! It ticked off all the boxes. Lovely house, great furniture, excellent kitchen with all the equipement you can wish for. Wonderfull beds, and perfect location. Union Station is very near by, and you can walk to the Mall.
Bistro Italia just around the corner has wonderfull pizza's. For foodies the Union Market at 5th Street NE (about 15 minutes walk) is great! Small market with lovely, local, products. The cheeseplatters at Rigeous Cheese are very good!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Macomb, MI
5

Totally awesome vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This location was perfect for all the things we wanted to do in DC. House was gorgeous and had everything we needed for the perfect stay. Alec was helpful and answered all of our questions. Would totally recommend to anyone wanting to get the most from DC.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Perfect Home Away from Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My two pre-teen daughters and I stayed at this house. The description of the house is spot on and the Owner is very accessible and provides all necessary information and helpful tips! The owner provided umbrellas as it was raining during our stay.

The house was spotless when we arrived! I love how the lock is a keypad - so that I don't have to worry about losing the keys. And, if you are worried about security of the keypad, the house has a small mudroom with a second locking door.

The location was perfect - two blocks from Union Station in a quiet neighborhood! We took the Metro everywhere; the Smithsonian museums are around 2 miles away which makes for a long day of walking with two young kids. Security tip - share the vacation itinerary with your group in case you get separated on the Metro. It is VERY crowded during rush hour and the train operators don't wait for people when they close the doors. My oldest daughter got separated from the rest of us, but she was able to make her way to the right station to reconnect with us.

I read from the other reviews that people who rented cars parked them at Union Station. This was convenient as it is close, but keep in mind it cost $22/day. Also, if your flight is in the afternoon but have to check out of the house at 11am, you can check your baggage in at Union Station. Union Station is also the hub for all the big tours. We ended up taking the night time tour of the memorials since we ran out of time during the day.

The only inconvenience is taking out the trash (which is an acceptable task to stay in this home away from home). The patio that leads to the alley is raised without a ramp, so the garbage cans were a little difficult to wheel out when they were full. Another tip I would add is that the Owner might want to provide directions to the Washer/Dryer - I did a load of laundry but wasn't sure in which troth to place the detergent.

Overall - I definitely would recommend staying at this place when you are in Washington, D. C.!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The manual for the washer-dryer was lying up on top of them, but since that is quite high it can be hard to see. I will come up with some more visible spot such as a sleeve on the wall. I really appreciate practical suggestions like that, they allow us to constantly make little improvements that benefit future guests.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Los Angeles
5

Best DC trip ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
For our annual "girl" trip, we selected Washington, DC and we were delighted with this town home. Everything was immaculate, including the baseboards. (I always look, and almost always am disappointed.). Alec, the owner, provided a terrific handbook that covered everything from the location of the shopping cart so we could look like locals, to the name of a limo service that transported us to the airport. He checked in with us the day of our arrival to ensure everything was as expected, which it was. The location could not have been better. We walked everywhere with just a couple of exceptions. We felt very safe, in part because of the high level of security in the area, but also because the town home is in a nice residential district. My husband, who was not with us, was so enthralled by my description of our trip, announced he wants to go to DC and stay at this charming town home next year! Fine with me! It's impossible to see all of DC in 6 days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Two Bedroom Historic House, Walking Distance to National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3014729
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

A Great House and a Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We are so happy we choose to stay in this Capital Hill brown stone. It was spacious, well furnished and equipped, clean and a great location just a few blocks from Capital Hill and Union Station. The owner was excellent at communicating all necessary details, and was very responsive when we couldn't get the TV working. We will definitely stay hear again on our next DC trip. Thank you for a lovely stay!