Keauhou condo rental - Spectacular sunsets from our lanai!
Spectacular sunsets from our lanai!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Keauhou Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Paradise is yours at our Keauhou Akahi condo located in the secluded Keauhou area; it is just south of the charming town of Kona and only 25 minutes from the airport. A lush, well-groomed garden complex with a lovely pool area awaits you. Our second floor, end unit condo has a spacious lanai overlooking a lovely golf course and featuring stunning ocean views. The master bedroom has a comfortable king-size bed while the alcove off the living room holds a trundle bed which sleeps two. This condo is perfect for two couples or a family of four! (An inflatable mattress can accommodate an additional guest if required. And we have a portable crib for little ones!) The condo contains everything you could possibly need to make your vacation in Hawaii perfect: TVs and DVDs in each room; a huge supply of DVD movies and family board games; a laptop computer with printer and wireless Internet; several boogie boards; an assortment of fins and snorkels in a variety of sizes; and beach chairs, mats, and umbrellas.

Within walking distance from our condo, you can take a look at the wild goats on the hillsides, wander along a path with breathtaking ocean views, learn to kayak and surf, or take in a round of golf at the public golf course. Our condo is a mile away from one of the best snorkeling beaches on the island and a very short car trip to the picturesque town of Kona. There is also a shopping center nearby with a grocery store, great restaurants, and a movie complex.

Using our condo as your leaping off point, you can travel up to lush rain forests, hit desert-like locales, observe wild sea turtles in their natural habitat, visit working coffee farms, and walk over recent lava flows. Short drives take you to locations like Hapuna Beach, ranked as one of the best beaches in the state, or Captain Cook's Harbor, one of Hawaii's most serene, sacred spots. For the more adventurous, the island offers scuba diving, horseback riding, zip-lining, and helicopter flights over the active volcano. To help you plan your daily itinerary, we provide a large library of tourist books about the Big Island, as well as a binder filled with helpful tips and recommendations from our previous guests and from us. And to help you get everywhere, we have a plug-in GPS for your car! It is our goal to insure that you have everything you need to make your vacation to Hawaii a memorable one!

Keywords: Condo

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I first stayed in a Keauhou Akahi condo on our honeymoon 30 years ago. Since that time, we have been continually drawn back to this special place. With my husband's deep love of fishing, scuba diving, and free diving AND my love of photography, our condo has proved to be in an idyllic spot for us.

Karen Kenyon purchased this condo in 2005

We enjoy the garden setting of this complex, as well as its location. Unlike the hotels and condos in the Kohala area, our location is much closer to the lovely town of Kailua Kona. It is also within walking distance to Keauhou Bay (with its canoeing, snorkeling, and boating), to the local golf course, and to the shopping center with movies, restaurants, and stores. Just outside our door are wild goats, birds, and flowers galore. Truly, you don't even need a car to enjoy this setting (though having one is better.) More than that, we like the more serene, quiet atmosphere and weather of Keauhou Bay. In the Kohala area, wind is much more prevalent; in Keauhou, the wind almost never blows.

8 Reviews of Property 301459 in Keauhou, Hawaii

Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
San Francisco, CA
5

Wonderful stay in Keauhou.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay here was great. All the comforts of home with a great view to boot. Our favorite time was sitting on the balcony while eating our meals and listening to the quiet sounds of nature. I highly recommend this condo!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
Bellevue, WA
5

Mahalo Ron

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The best recommendation I can make for this condo is that we plan to rebook when we return to the Big Island in 2014. We have stayed in other units at the Keauhou Akahi and many other condos in the Islands but have never felt more "at home" than at this condo. The unit is equipped with every amenity you can imagine like DVR and On Demand TV - how many condos have this luxury. The location is ideal, much less wind and rain than further North at the Kohala Coast. It is close to many good restaurants and better yet, close to several farmer's market where ripe fruit and fresh veggies can be had at reasonable prices. The renting process for this unit was clear and easy to accomplish.
You will get an informative and comprehensive packet with recommendations for restaurants, all kinds of activities, beaches, etc - a great packet for the first time visitors.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
Hawaii
5

Great Place To Rest & Rejuvenate

Great Place To Rest & Rejuvenate
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Absolutely marvelous! The wife and I are Big Island residents who needed a vacation of sorts and feel fortunate to have come across this lovely condo. The owners professionalism and prompt attention to our inquiry allowed us to secure the rental with short notice and at a price that is hard to find in the Keauhou area. The pictures can not do this place justice - if you are looking for a place to stay in the Kona area, look no further :-D

Thank you for sharing your space with us, we hope to return for another stay-cation sometime soon!

Aloha
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
Novato, California
5

Relax on the Lanai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I awoke each morning to the sound of birdsong and an occasional bleating of a wild goat. The condo's lanai, overlooking a well-kept golf course, was a beautiful spot to watch the sun sink into the ocean each night while sipping a mai tai.
The rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated -- the master bedroom is very large. It doesn't have air conditioning, but the ocean breezes and orientation of the screened windows and fans makes that a moot point.
I loved watching the friendly geckos on the deck and seeing the myriad tropical birds that were swooping around the gardens. I love to eat local food when I travel --I felt that I hit the jackpot being able to walk to two small farmers' markets nearby (one just a stroll down the hill to the Sheraton Keauhou) to get stocked up on local Kona coffee, baked goods, coconut candy, pineapples and mangoes and to talk to the locals. (The other farmers' market --about a mile away--was much larger.)
Karen and Dave were very helpful on orienting me to the local sites and restaurants. They have a terrific binder featuring "best bets" that they have discovered. I was pleased with their kindness, friendliness, and expertise. I am a stickler about rental cleanliness and I was very impressed at the high standard of care of the condo and the high level of maintenance throughout the complex.
There is one set of stairs to climb up to the entrance, and there is a little incline to get down to the very sweet (and small) pool area, so you do need to be able to climb stairs.
This condo is about a mile or so away from one of the best snorkeling spots on the whole island; I saw a sea turtle nearly every early morning swim! I am going back to this condo this year; I've already recommended it to several friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
Pasadena
5

Island Magic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Great views, great value, great vacation! This unit was just right for our family of 4. It was clean, decorated with a light Hawaiian touch and the binder of helpful advice really WAS helpful. We were happy just sitting, sipping tropical drinks on the lanai but we also loved exploring the island--everything was easily accessible from this location. Also appreciated being so close to a terrific little beach for snorkeling (not as easy to find on the Big Island). The affordable price meant we had more money in our pockets for adventures and eating out. We WILL be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
Chico, California
5

Phenomenal Kona Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My family and I just returned from week at this property, and I can't say enough about what a wonderful
experience staying there was. The entire package, from accomodations, transportation, location, and convenience was
simply excellent. This was my first stay in Kona and the location of the condo was perfect; beautiful surroundings, nearby shopping and dining, and fabulous beaches less than five minutes from the door. The only complaint I had was having to leave at the end of our stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We would like to thank you for sharing your condo with us. It was our first time in Kona and we had a wonderful time. We enjoyed great weather, beaches, and most of all the food. All the tips in the handout your provided before our trip and the binder at the condo were very helpful. Our last day there was most enjoyable; by that I mean we did the kayaking trip and got to swim with 10 or so dolphins. It was magnificent. Again thank you. We hope to be back again sooner rather than later!
business
Great Ocean View and Sunsets Too -- All in This Condo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301459vb
(415) 892-1063 (California, USA)
Keauhou Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Getting on that airplane yesterday was one of the most difficult things we have ever done. Our family enjoyed a wondrous time together and your beautiful condo added to our time together. Everything we needed, and several things we hadn't thought of, were waiting for us.

Hawaii is such a diverse and beautiful island and being able to explore it gave us so many memories. We will never forget watching lava flow into the Pacific at night! Thank you!