Longboat Key house rental - Home and garden
Home and garden
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Longboat Key House Rental Photos and Description
Beach House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths + pool shower, Sleeps 6

A lovely pet and family friendly private home, located on a private deep water canal with direct access to Sarasota Bay and only a short walk (200 meters) away from the quiet white sand beach perfect for morning beach-combing and end of day amazing golden sunsets. Located in the prestigious yet laid back island of Longboat Key, you are near venues for golf, tennis, fishing, kayaking, boating, water skiing, and wind surfing. The world class shopping and restaurants in St. Armand Circle and laid back charms of Anna Maria Island are minutes away. A private pool is accessible from both the master and guest bedrooms. The dock can accommodate boats up to 27 ft. The attached garage helps keep your car out of the sun.

Our home comes completely equipped with everything you'll need for a beach holiday! During your stay here, you can enjoy our well kept garden or relax in our complete Tommy Bahamas furnished interior, which comes fully equipped with modern conveniences such as wireless internet (bring your own laptop), cable TV in living and master bedroom, phone line, a full library of DVD movies, Ipod/Ipad docks, board games, outdoor BBQ grill, and new cooling/heating system with HEPA filter and UV light purification system. The kitchen comes fully equipped for your culinary adventures or just simple grilling out on the new outdoor Weber gas grill. For your beach activities we have coolers, matching Tommy Bahamas' beach chairs and beach cart, 2 kids bicycles, boogie boards, and beach/pool toys. The pool is well maintained and has a weekly service. The home is tiled throughout (including garage), and updated appliances including washer and dryer make this property the ideal home away from home. Our boat dock is available for docking your private boat or kayaks, or just for fishing enjoyment.

We welcome you to read other guests' reviews which say it all about our home and may give you an objective view of the property and its location.

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Sarasota and always loved the beach and island life as well as all the cultural venues Sarasota is known for. I left Florida for university and professional reasons, however, always knowing that I would return to the area at a different phase in my life. I'm now married with 3 children, and Longboat Key provides exactly what we seek which is the serenity and tranquility of a beach life yet conveniently located to all the outdoor activities which we seek for as well as being a hop away to all that Sarasota has to offer. We hope to provide a place that would embrace love, tranquility, contentment, and good will to those who visit our home.

Alise Laroche-Randolph purchased this house in 2012

I felt very fortunate to have found this lovely property in July 2012 as a vacation house to share with my husband, 3 children, and our family pet. We're looking to retire in the area, and the house was perfect for our needs. The private beach access is now rare in Longboat Key. The house is on a quiet street and away from the noise, and its close proximity to Anna Marie island and Sarasota is a main reason why we chose this particular home.

Private beach access; Quiet street yet within walking distance to stores/restaurants/shops; Close proximity to Sarasota and Anna Marie Island; Open floor plan; Dock for boats; Private pool; Regular poo/landscape/pest control services; Fully equip with modern conveniences for a home away from home.

18 Reviews of Property 3013714 in Longboat Key, Florida

Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
average rating of 4.625 based on 18 reviews
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

LBK Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We rent in LBK every summer as soon as school is out to decompress, boat, and spend time with family and friends who live on the island. Especially LOVED Jungle Queen because all I needed to do was go! Everything was just as described and ALL the creature comforts one needs for beaching and boating are there graciously shared by the owner and her family. Must Do List: have wine at sunset on beach, shop at Sand Dollar and Ginny and Jane E's in Anna Maria, discover happy hour at Chart House, anchor and explore the sandbar by LBK bridge, order the grilled fish Caesar salad at Dry Dock...I could go on. Thank you Alise for sharing.
G Smith
Owner's Response: Thank you Gail for sharing your beautiful words of your experience in our home and the constructive references accurately describing the area. We hope you'll come back! Take care, Alise
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
4

A nice boating holiday

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a very nice time at the Jungle Queen house. We rented a boat and docked behind the home which was great for early morning departures. The entire family had a great time fishing from the dock and just sitting on the canal. Our best times were enjoyed around the fabulous dining table. What a great comfortable space for our family of 6 to sit around eating steaks grilled on the gas grill and fish caught that day on our boat. We all agreed...we loved that table and the dining space. The walk down to the beach was easy and short and the private beach access was wonderful. The kitchen had everything we needed. Everything was clean and well maintained. The owner was easy to work with especially considering she allowed us to squeeze in last minute! Thank you for that and thank you for sharing your home with us!
Owner's Response: Thank you Maggie for the constructive review. As always, it makes me very happy to know that we are able to assist in making someone's holiday enjoyable and remarkable as we know how we ourselves treasure family times during our holidays. We hope to see you back! Alise
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Very comfortable, well-organized property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Five of us stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday this year and enjoyed it very much. The house is very comfortable without being "fussy" -- perfect for a beach vacation. A vacation rental owner myself, I was impressed with how well everything was laid out and marked. Detailed instructions made everything easy to find and navigate. The house is in a great location in the center of the island, so you're close to everything. Would definitely rent again next time we're in LBK.
Owner's Response: It's always a pleasure to hear how our home and our efforts into maintaining a comfortable place for our guests made for an enjoyable holiday to all! Thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope to see you back again! Alise
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

We have found our home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our second time to stay at this property and we found it every bit as inviting and restful as the first time. In fact, we have already booked a 2-week stay for 2014. It is not easy to find a property that will accommodate pets, but this location is perfect for our small dog. The property is always clean, and you would never know that pets have been in the home. We love this property, and the owners are wonderful! See my previous review for additional details about the property and nearby activities.
Owner's Response: Thank you Michael for your thoughtful review. Wow, 3 bookings by the same guest in one year time frame is a record for our first year with this as a rental! Glad to be able to provide a comfortable home away from home for you, and look forward to hosting you again! Warm regards, Alise
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

The house was wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We arrive at the home late and found that the property management had left the lights on for us. The house was well furnished with everything we needed for our stay. The kids fished off the dock and we drove the short distance to Cocina Beach. The neighborhood was quiet and then neighbors were charming. If we ever venture to Longboat Key again we know where we're going!
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed you stay. Although Cocina beach is nice and nearby, we have a private beach with private access just across the main street about 300 yards away. Hope to see you back.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Longwood FL
5

Fantastic, Peaceful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just returned from our visit to this quaint house on Longboat Key, and loved the peaceful retreat it offered. We loved that our dogs were able to accompany us on our vacation - and they loved watching the dock for birds - and that were just a few minutes walk from both the beach and lovely Durante Park. The private beach access was simply perfect - we practically had the beach to ourselves and loved the two chairs at the beach - and the private pool allowed us to cool off when we didn't want to bother with sand.

The house had everything we needed for a vacation stay - plenty of room, lots of beach toys, washer and dryer, pool, great location. We hope to return next year!
Owner's Response: Thank you Jamie for your thoughtful review. I'm glad we're able to make this last minute holiday plans happened within a few days (or hours was it?), and that the house met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Riverview, florida
5

Our home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was everything I excepted, very clean and welled stocked, especially the kitchen since I like to cook. My family enjoyed the pool, the boat dock and the short distance to the beach. My husband, our 2year old grandson and myself fish on the dock every day.
The property owner was very accommodating and checked in with us to make sure all was good.
There are awesome shops and restaurants, our favorite is Fish and Fin.
I would definitely recommend this house and hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that the house meets your expectations and I was able to assist in making your last minutes family getaway happened. What kind of fish did you catch off the dock, Mackerels are abundant in that area! We hope to see you return soon! Alise
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Wonderful Family Vacation on Long Boat Key

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at the Jungle Queen Beach House. The property is in an ideal location on LBK with great access to Gulf beaches, the Bay, shops and restaurants. The home is very clean with a great floor layout. The home is also fully equipped and has very nice and spacious bedrooms with big and comfortable beds along with a sparkling pool that's wonderful to use after a day on the beach. As frequent vacationers to LBQ, we found the private beach access only 200 yards up the road very important as the public beaches have very limited parking and can get a bit crowded. The dock facility in the backyard provided easy access to the Bay for our family members with kayaks and paddle boards.

We also found the property and pedestrian-friendly street to be safe and quiet. We were able to walk our dog without hesitation and frequented nearby Durante Park which is very walkable, scenic and accessible from the beach home.

We found the Jungle Queen Beach House completely fulfilled our vacation needs and then some and we look forward to returning soon.

Ned & Terri Murray
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed our home and that it meets your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Alise
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
QC CANADA
1

Stayed in July 2013

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Home is well equipped with all amenities needed for living and beach use. Enjoyed the pool and biking as well as several local restaurants as we ended up eating out most of our stay. However we were not pleased with the "cockroach” issue we encountered from the 1st day! As a result, we were offered the telephone number of the “extermination company” which is on contract. This resulted in us having to give up two of our vacation days in order to accommodate them coming to spray, once during our first week and as the “cockroach” issue did not diminish, we asked the exterminators to come once again during our second week. We did communicate this to the property owner and she was sympathetic to our distress on some level. Upon our return home we asked to be compensated but we were unsuccessful as the property owner did not feel that the 2 emails explaining that we had found “roaches” in her home was sufficient to warrant compensation. She also felt that we had not communicated our level of disgust “strongly enough” to her during our stay to warrant her considering a refund of any kind. Apparently her extermination company has advised her that there is no “infestation” so maybe we were a simply over sensitive or as she called it “phobic”. . She felt that her offering us the phone number of the extermination company was sufficient and therefore all should be acceptable. One of her final e-mail responses explained the following; “As with all phobias I do sympathize with customers varying tolerance levels. Someone may see a single roach and find that unacceptable while others may have a few roaches and be ok with that.” To that our response is the following: We unfortunately have a very low tolerance level to “cockroaches” and did not enjoy our stay, We will not be renting this property again in the future.
Owner's Response: We strive to maintain a good home for our guests' enjoyment as well as ours, this approach is properly displayed in the 10 positive reviews we had in less then a year. In our efforts to provide a comfortable, clean, and gracious environment for our guests we have service contracts for pool, landscape, housecleaning, and pest management. We do rely on expert's advice of the pest management company to adhere to environmental and human safety standards in their prevention measures for our property. Upon receiving an email from this particular guest stating she saw roaches, although we have a resort lock with access codes for all our contractors which they can enter without guests being there, we immediately took action and put her in contact with the pest management company. After 2 visits and applying some control measures, the contractor wrote to us: "this issue caused by the abundance of rain as of late. I don't think there is any issue requiring additional application of pesticide to the environment. And I can say that from what I saw along with what the tenants have described to me there was a minimal issue that I would categorize as a non-issue." Furthermore, the word "phobia" came from his email to me. Since I did not hear back from this guest, nor did she call the property manager while they stayed in the house so we can assess the situation first-hands and making sure they were comfortable and safe, I did not pursue the matter. They stayed the entire course of their vacation without any further comments nor phone calls, so I had put the matter to rest. I was shocked to receive an email from this guest 2 weeks after her departure requesting a full refund for 2 weeks rent. To make an informed decision and in an effort to resolve this matter, I immediately gathered additional information. So I contacted all the guests who stayed there just prior to her arrival and after her departure as well as the cleaning/preventative company. All parties reported there was no issue with the property and all guests who stayed during this time frame enjoyed their visits immensely. Actually, the guests prior to this guest wrote a good review of our property on 7/6. Based on all the reports, advice from the technical expert, I've decided not to enter a monetary negotiation knowing a negative review was imminent as I felt I had to preserve the integrity of our home. Nevertheless, this is indeed an unfortunate situation for all involved.
Helpful votes: 3/9
business
Charming Beach House Private Pool, Dock, Beach Access in Longboat Key
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013714
+1 703 774-5400
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great place for a vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house was very nice, well stocked with everything you need and the location was great. A short walk to your private entry to the uncrowded beach. And it was great to be able to leave your chairs there, so you didn't have to carry them back and forth. It was wonderful having the pool to come home to after a day at the beach. Having the gas grill was great. Plenty of movies for relaxing in the evenings. Really a wonderful place for a relaxing and fun vacation! Very clean and quality furnishings. We had 5 adults and one child and the set up of the bedrooms was perfect. Would definitely recommend.
Owner's Response: Glad we were able to provide a warm, relaxing, and comfortable place for your family holiday. Hope you'll come back to visit us.
Helpful votes: 10/10