Blacksburg cabin rental - Central Family Area
Central Family Area
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Blacksburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms,plus sleep sofa, solitude mountains yet next door VA Tech Blacksburg

8 miles Bburg Va Tech campus, Full featured cabin with a queen size bedroom main level, 1 bath, full size bed in spacious loft, sleep sofa full size, speedy WIFI, big screen HD TV family/dinin/kit area,DirecTV, blu ray player, Wie, large front and back porches for relaxation, cooking out. Large sheltered picnic area, small pond with native rainbow trout waiting to be fed. Listen to the music of the streams, no pets please

Ruth and Gerald Duncan

Ruth Duncan purchased this cabin in 2010

Giles County is a place filled with natural beauty, fresh waters, abundant wildlife and fish, hiking trails, canoe liverys, suited for the active and also for those wanting to be close to nature and enjoy peace and quiet time. Yet this is only 8 miles from the Virginia Tech campus and Blacksburg, the adjoing small quaint college town with unique shops and dining experiences.

we love it here because of the quaintness of country and college atmospheres so interwined yet with distance, a place to relax and enjoy and a place to be adventuresome whenever the mood strikes

26 Reviews of Property 3013466 in Blacksburg, Virginia

Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

It was Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Exceeded expectaions in every way. The owner's attention to detail and the setting wa swhat made it very special and unique. Would like to return.
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Incredible. Just incredible!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My sister and I, who live outside of Knoxville, TN. met our cousin, who lives in Alexandria, Va. for a 3 day visit and Blacksburg happened to be the halfway point for us to meet. We were thrilled with Buck Lair! Beverages in the fridge, candy in a jar, fresh raisin bread and bananas, and other treats. Fabulous linens and towels! Everything was beautifully decorated and just perfect. We all three instantly felt the stress melt away as we walked in the door of this lovely cabin in the woods. The porch was so relaxing, along with the sounds of the creek and wind chimes, (I left my window cracked open at night for the sweet sounds). The grounds are amazing and makes one long for days gone by when life was simpler and folks were kinder. We have already made plans to reunite next June when it's a bit warmer, (although I did so enjoy the fire I built on a cool night in the wood, stove), and make Buck Lair an annual event for us girls! As far as cabins go, the bar has been raised and a new standard set in our opinion! Thank you for making our visit so enjoyable!
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Loved the porch overlooking the creek!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Loved the cabin! Relaxing on the porch listening to the creek was heavenly. The fresh pastry and milk, soft drinks in the frig were very thoughtful. Sorry that my teens ate the whole jar of chocolates! The location was perfect to visit VA Tech one day and go hiking the next. We WILL be back even if our daughter doesn't go to VA Tech. Only suggestion is a trash can in the bathroom. Thanks again Ruth!!
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
Batavia, OH
5

Wow -- what a find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I enjoyed a long weekend at Buck Lair Cabin in March 2014. I’ve rented cabins across across the US for 20+ years; Buck Lair stands out as one of my absolute favorite places to stay. If I had to label the cabin and surrounding property, I’d call it “rustic elegance.” It’s simultaneously luxurious and comfortable — both inside and out. We enjoyed strolling around the property, and when the weather cooperated, we took advantage of the grilling area and inviting porches. When the weather stopped cooperating, we found cozy places inside the cabin to relax with a good book.

The cabin is well-stocked with everything you might need for a comfortable stay: plenty of kitchen supplies, paper products, towels, blankets — even snacks and beverages! Again, I’ve visited plenty of cabins over the years — but I’ve never seen one as well-stocked as Buck Lair Cabin.

The location was pretty much perfect — quiet and private, but just a short drive from Blacksburg. The cabin is also very close to the many hiking and wildlife/birding trails available in Jefferson National Forest. We weren’t there long enough to fully explore the area, but we did enjoy a nice hike to Cascade Falls. The next time we visit (and there definitely will be a next time!), we’ll check out some of the other hiking trails.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and can’t wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Shhh, don't tell anyone...

Shhh, don't tell anyone...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Don't stay here!

We love this place so much that we don’t want to tell anyone how wonderful it is so there won’t be any competition the next time we go there. It’s just that wonderful. But, alas, I must tell the truth.

Rugged elegance. Peaceful bliss. Cozy yet roomy. New yet antique. Amenities and personal touches too numerous to mention. Confused, yet? You just have to experience it.

We our very experienced and avid cabin renters and this is our most favorite in 50 years.

No, we don’t know the owners and we have no personal interest in this property, other than we will go back.

RAM
Owner's Response: Again, we thank you'll for the excellent and unique experience of your stay with us from the owner's side.
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Loved everything about it... EVERYTHING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Words fail me with this. The property completely embodies all things Southern and cozy. We had such a good time! My family and I were a little last minute planning a getaway to meet my brother and sister-in-law halfway during the holidays. We found this place and it looked great in the pictures, but it exceeded expectations. Ruth was incredibly helpful and she had that house stocked and so clean for us. It was inviting and warm when we arrived. Town is maybe a 15 minute drive away and we even visited an arcade in Salem. All of us kept saying that Buck Lair will be our new go-to spot for seasonal travel. I'd love to see it in spring. We will definitely be back! Thank you SO much Ruth!
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Huge thumbs up!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Absolutely loved this cabin. We rented it for my daughter's VT graduation weekend. My only disappointment was that I did not discover it before she graduated! Thank you, Ruth, for the cabin and the hospitality!
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

absolutely memorable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I can't say enough good things about the cabin from it's perfect setting in the beautiful mountain region to all the luxurious features of this modern and yet rustic cabin. Our family especially enjoyed the wood stove on the living room. I think we spent most of our time in front of this amazing stove. The cabin was very inviting when we arrived for the first snow of the season was falling as to welcome us to this wonderful cabin. I really want to thank the owners who paid extra attention in preparation for our visit for we felt love, similar to that of a mother's love who would prepare every nicks and crannies for her son's family to visit. There was a refrigerator full of cold beverages including a wholesome organic milk from the local dairy farm and a fresh danish picked up from bakery. The abundance of firewood stacked up for you to use gave you a sense of wanting to stay a little longer. It was the best holiday our family had spent ever and very affordable as well. We can't wait to come back for the next thanksgiving.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Wonderful, welcoming cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were in Blacksburg for a football game and stayed at Buck Lair Cabin. This is truly a really special cabin and it was so easy to feel welcome and at home. The owner had drinks for us in the refrigerator, including fresh milk from a local dairy, and all the makings for coffee, tea and more. We ate breakfast on the porch with the only noises coming from the babbling brook nearby. I loved the leather sofas and the antique drop leaf dining room table. Everything was new, spotlessly clean, and inviting. A truly quiet, cozy, relaxing and pleasurable stay!
business
Refined lodging, natural retreat, warm and cozy, mountain streams
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3013466
+1 540 320-2123
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Buck's Lair Cabin is wonderful!

Buck's Lair Cabin is wonderful!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have stayed at many VRBO properties all over the USA. Buck Lair Cabin is the first one that actually exceeded the owner's description! Very clean and well furnished. Amenities exceeded our expectations. A very quiet and peaceful setting in the wooded mountains. I enjoyed sitting in the rocking chair on the porch reading while listening to the flowing stream in front. The owners' home is adjacent to the cabin, but they did not interfere at all. They are very nice and friendly, and very interested in making your stay enjoyable. Full featured DirecTV, many DVD's, and great wifi. Strong cell phone signal for AT&T, weaker for Verizon due to trees and mountains. We recommend this property to anyone who wants to get away, but not too far away. Blacksburg VA is about 10 miles away to fulfill most needs. There are many quaint restaurants, farmer's markets and mountain roads to explore in the area. We definitely recommend Buck Lair Cabin and are already planning for our next stay.