Morningside Heights - SoHa townhome rental - Welcome!
Welcome!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Morningside Heights - SoHa Townhome Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms,2 bathrooms, sleeps 6-8

Beautifully renovated duplex in private townhouse on quiet tree-lined street within short walking distance to Columbia University and Central Park. One block from subway and bus -- 10 minutes to Times Square.

This gorgeous property features three enormous bedrooms; each with a queen size bed and plenty of closet space. Linens and kitchen necessities are provided and grocery delivery service is available via online ordering.

Additional amenities include air conditioning, wireless internet access and a washer/dryer.Make yourself at home in Harlem in this space-filled three bedroom / two bathroom duplex apartment, just 5 blocks north of Central Park. Situated on the upper two floors of a four-story walk-up building, this vacation rental benefits from skylights in the hall and bathroom of the fourth floor. Thoroughly modernized since its construction in 1900, this brownstone offers a video buzzer/intercom system to screen and allow in visitors, as well as a combination washer/dryer, always a valuable amenity when traveling.

The rooms of this apartment are well furnished with everything needed to make you feel at home, yet the clean lines and simplicity of the furniture emphasizes the open space of the rooms. You'll find hardwood floors throughout both levels, except of course for the tiled bathrooms. You also have exposed brick walls in the hallway to remind you of the historic origins of the building. Both floors have full bathrooms, and two bedrooms occupy the rest of the lower level, while you have the third bedroom and the living room with its open kitchen upstairs. The master bedroom (Bedroom 1) is downstairs, well equipped with a queen size bed and a matching red chairs that accents the artwork on the wall. There won't be any problem with storing your things, as there is a storage closet with hangers in addition to anther armoire next to the door. The other two bedrooms have queen size beds and storage closets as well. Both bathrooms even have closets in addition to their unique bowl sinks. Upstairs, the kitchen gleams with matching white appliances, including an electric stovetop and oven, microwave and double-doored refrigerator. Turn around and you will be facing the dining and living area, a great place to unwind after a long day. The dining table can seat up to 6, and is also perfect for games or spreading out your NYC map to plan the next day's activities. Two sofas face each other for winding down, and there is wireless Internet access throughout the duplex. A double size air mattress can be added to the top bedroom to accommodate additional guests. Finally, you have central air conditioning to keep you cool when the weather gets truly sweltering!

With double exposure, the northward facing windows of this apartment overlook the street below, while the southern exposed ones look toward backyard gardens.

Located on 115th Street and Manhattan Avenue, this vacation rental accommodation falls into the Harlem neighborhood of Uptown Manhattan. Greenery is not hard to find around here, with the iconic Central Park just 5 blocks to the south and Morningside Park, a lovely hill-filled terrain with a pond, less than two blocks away. Of course, you can't picnic every day, and that is no problem here with 8th Avenue (Frederick Douglass Boulevard) just around the corner. This thoroughfare has plenty of restaurants and bars, if you have a larger group, the Harlem Tavern is perfect for accommodating with its outdoor patio and serves classic American cuisine and brews, just 2 blocks from your apartment; for something a little more unique, try Africa, an acclaimed restaurant that serves Senagalese fare, also two blocks away, or just stroll down the avenue with an open mind and you'll be sure to find something! For cooking at home, there is a C-Town Supermarket not too far away on 116th Street. Columbia University is also in this part of Harlem, just on the other side of Morningside Park, so keep your eyes open for cultural events that the student population brings to the area!

To navigate the rest of Manhattan, you have two subway stations nearby. The closest is again just one block away on 116th Street and 8th Avenue, serving the B and C lines, which runs down Central Park West and can take you to the Museum of Natural History in just 5 stops, and Columbus Circle in 7! The other subway station is a little further, three longer blocks to the west on Lenox Avenue and 116th Street, and serves the 2 and 3 lines that run down Broadway on the Manhattan's west side, and can connect you to the local 1 train or keep you running express all the way to Brooklyn! Experience New York like a native in this beautiful, convenient brownstone apartment.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 3011658 Morningside Heights - SoHa, New York

3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
5

Fabulous place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family of five (three adult 'children') stayed in this apartment for a week and it couldn't have been more perfect. Three generous sized bedrooms over two floors, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, two luxurious bathrooms and a well equipped cosy kitchen/family room, where it was a pleasure to meet for breakfast or a drink after a day of exploring The townhouse is in a great location in a safe neighborhood with shopping facilities and subway lines within a few minutes walking distance. It was everything you could have wished for for a successful holiday in New York.
Communication with the owner Emilie was always immediate, professional and very friendly. I can highly recommend this place for the perfect New York experience.

Christiane
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
5

Great Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The apartment is perfect, as described. We spent a week, 4 adults and 4 children.
The kitchen is very equipped, the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
The Central Park North - South Harlem is a beautiful site.
Very recommended
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
5

das perfekte New York

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
German:
Diese schön gelegene, neu renovierte Wohnung in Süd Harlem war am Ende eine der besten Entscheidungen unseres ganzen Urlaubs. Die Umgebung ist sehr interessant und lebendig, und man kann sich sicher und praktisch von hier aus überall in New York bewegen. Aber auch lokal gibt es viel zu sehen und tun. Das Apartment selber ist über 2 Etagen verteilt, alles ist sehr sauber, modern und bequem. Die Bäder sind luxuriös ausgestattet, was nach einem langen Tag sightseeing sehr entspannend sein kann. Die Küche im obersten Geschoss ist gross und modern, und die Besitzerin Emilie hat uns bei der Ankunft freundlich begrüßt und uns sofort mehrere gute Tips geben können. Wir würden also gerne jeder Zeit zurückkommen!

Englisch:
Our stay in South Harlem turned out to be one of the best decisions of our trip. The local area is very interesting, up-and-coming and vibrant and the rest of New York is also easily accessible, with subway stations within 2 blocks. However, even within walking distance of the townhouse there are plenty of things to see and do. The apartment is set over 2 levels, and everything is clean, modern and very comfortable. The bathrooms are luxuriously appointed, which can be relaxing after a long day sightseeing in NYC. The kitchen on the upper level is large and open, with modern appliances. Also, Emilie the owner was there to greet us on arrival, and was able to give some friendly local tips and knowledge, which was a very nice touch! This was the perfect home base and retreat while we explored New York, and we would go back to this property anytime!
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
Alabama
5

Great Thanksgiving Week in a safe, clean townhouse.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our family enjoyed our stay at this Manhattan Townhouse the week of Thanksgiving. The property was very clean and looked just as the pictures show. The location was very convienient to the subway station and a grocery store. Emilie, the owner, was helpful giving us tips on the best time and ways to view the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade. Our daughter lives in North Manhattan so it was nice to be close to her at this location.
This was a great value for 6 people to stay a week in New York City! We enjoyed having room to spread out and a room to gather which we would not have in a hotel ! We had a great week! It went by too quickly and we could not see all we wanted to see!
I would stay here again if we are able to visit NYC again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
United States
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The townhouse was amazing. We were a group of 8 and the the three large bedrooms gave everyone lots of space. The fully equiped kitchen and living room was great for breakfast and the two bathrooms were newly renovated and the showers were very nice! The location is only two blocks from the subway line and we were very close to a grocery store. Having this location really enhanced our trip!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
4

Great Stay at a Great Place!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We enjoyed our stay at this very nice town home --- newly redone but with wonderful old world feel from the outside. Nice hardwood floors and spacious rooms that fit our family of 5, including 3 adult children, easily. They all thought it was a "cool" place. Emilie, the owner, was very nice and gave us tips about the neighborhood. We were in NYC for a family wedding and the location was great for us. Central Park nearby and several good restaurants and markets. A good spot for access to upper Manhatten and easy subway rides to mid-town. We would come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
Coquitlam, BC
5

Great Townhome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Stepping into this brownstone is something of a revelation: you'll immediately be hit with the thought that this is the true New York experience. The crisp white walls and spacious rooms make your down time that much more relaxing.  The neighborhood vibe is unstuffy and down-to-earth, making it a great hangout for anyone who wants to wind down after a tiring day of touring the city. With restaurants close by and a short walk to the subway, you won't have to travel far for trendy dining and great shopping.  Truly the best place to stay for the genuine New York experience.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
5

SOHA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The apartment was everything we were expecting and more. Located on the top two floors of a recently renovated brownstone on a tree lined street in SOHA,(South Harlem), the apartment made an ideal base for our New York adventure. The three large bedrooms gave everyone in the group lots of space. The fully equiped kitchen/ living room was a great meeting space for breakfast and a night cap at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. The two bathrooms were newly renovated and the showers were a highlight of the stay! The washing machine was a godsend as we had underpacked a few essentials. The only thing to keep in mind are the stairs. The first two rooms are one floor up andthe second bedroom and kitchen is up a further flight up. Our host was available and quickly responded to the few concerns we had. Located in South Harlem the apartment is only two blocks from the B/C subway line and several different bus routes that can take you anywhere in the city. The north end of Central Park was just over five blocks away while Columbia University was a short stroll up through Morningside Park. The area has many restaurants, shops and services with more opening all the time. From Starbucks to local neighbour businesses,there is everything you would need near by. Even Target and Costco are only a crosstown bus ride away. We recommend the Bier International on Fredrick Douglas for dinner and beer while the Kitchenette on Amsterdam is a terrific spot for breakfast.
Overall, the apartment played an instrumental role in our enjoyment of our time in New York City.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
Kitchener Ontario Canada
5

Beautiful house, Close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I stayed here with my mom on my first ever trip to NYC. We found it absolutely BEAUTIFUL! this is a truly gorgeous home!
We wew impressed with how close it was to everything!
The subway is just around the corner and the park is just a few minutes walk.
Only takes a short time to walk to the Museum of Natural History and a quick subway ride anywhere in the city!
The house has a lovely homey feel as opposed to a hotel which can feel really cold.
Felt like we got a more authentic NYC experience staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
3 BR DUPLEX IN TOWNHOUSE NEAR COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011658
+1 +1 917 453-1538
Morningside Heights - SoHa Manhattan
Kitchener, ON, Canada
5

Mother/Daughter vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My daughter and I spent a few days in the beautiful brownstone. The property itself is beautiful, clean, comfortable and nicely renovated. The owners were amazing, helpful and very knowledgeable about the city and how to get around.

The closeness of the home to Central Park made spending time in the park incredibly easy, the property is just a short walk to the subway and taxi's were never a problem to hail. The brownstone is walking distance to the Museum of Natural history and other activities were just a short subway ride away.

It is close to restaurants as well, but also has excellent kitchen facilities to do your own cooking. I highly recommend this property you will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1