Kohala Estates house rental - Relaxing on your private lanai
Relaxing on your private lanai
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kohala Estates House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

We invite you to escape to this beautiful, very private traditional Ocean Front Hawaiian home, just minutes from downtown Kona and a wide variety of other attractions.

This 2850 square foot home is perfect for family gatherings with a large master bedroom, a queen-bed bedroom, a 'bonus room' with bunk beds, and two and half baths. There is an additional studio-style 'ohana' (apartment) that is attached to the main house that has a queen bed, private bath, kitchen, washer/dryer and private entrance. The home is furnished in a comfortable, casual Hawaiian theme...some of the furniture is hand-made by Hawaiian artists. There are ceiling fans throughout the house. The kitchen is well-appointed with everything necessary to cook and then some, such as a blender, rice cooker, etc.

Open the French doors that stretch across the front of the home to allow in the Trade Winds, a wonderful respite from A/C. During the day, take a trip to the volcano, go whale-watching, visit the restaurants and shops of downtown Kona, or go deep-sea fishing. There are fascinating tide pools in the lava rocks right behind the house that are home to sea turtles, crustaceans, and an abundance of small fish. This house is a short walk from the sandy beaches of Magic Sands, or a half mile drive to the protected lagoon known for snorkeling. Be prepared to see gorgeous fish and gentle sea turtles!

Make sure to be home in the early evening, around 6pm, to relax in the hammock or on the lounge furniture and catch the famous Hawaiian sunset while drinking a Mai Tai! (see recipe below). During the winter months, watch carefully for the migrating humpback whales that swim. and sometimes breach, right in front of the house.

At night, each bedroom is filled with the sounds of waves crashing onto the lava rocks. This property is gated and walled which lets you relax and think of nothing but being part of a tropical paradise.

Easter Island Mai Tai Recipe

Layer all ingredients over ice

-1 shot light rum

-1/2 shot triple sec

-1/2 shot amaretto

-3 oz orange juice

-1 oz pineapple juice

-splash of sweet and sour mix

-1/2 shot dark rum

-float of amaretto once around the glass

-dash of grenadine

Keywords: Ocean Front Home, Kona House, Alli Drive House, Ocean Front House

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 3011542 in Kohala Estates, Hawaii

Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
average rating of 4.904762 based on 22 reviews
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
omaha ne
5

Breathtaking View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a wonderful home with a beautiful view! As in other reviews...u do have to deal with ants inside and BIG cockroaches mostly outside. However, they do use an exterminator regularly and it is Hawaii!! There's no air conditioning except in the master. It can get very warm in the afternoon but with that view...it was not a problem for me! The ohana could use some updating and a small air conditioner..it did get very hot. There are ample towels and beach towels. It was clean and well taken care of. We were a group of 7..5 adults and 2 children. Plenty of space for everyone. It was suggested that a rail be attached to the top bunk. Overall, this is a great place and I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

Mahalo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented this home for a family gathering/celebration of life and were delighted to find a home with an ohana. Being able to give the older family members a bit of privacy and the house to the kids was very appealing. With so much ocean frontage everyone had plenty of space to spread out. Watching turtles during breakfast on the lanai was a delight, wondering where the boats were headed or sipping cocktails at sunset, this was the place. Located between Kona Village and Kahalu'u gives good access to both.

The house is well-equiped in many ways. The kitchen is stocked with spices, condiments, handy appliances, and a large quantity of dishes, glassware, knives and more. I can't think of anything that I needed that wasn't there. Having an ice-maker in the refrigerator kept us well-supplied too. No lack of indoor and outdoor towels, and in addition, beach chairs, children's snorkel gear and kickboards were provided.

We met Susie, the local caretaker, when Tropical Storm Flossie was due to hit the Big Island. Whew...a whirlwind of activity to board up things, secure outdoor furniture and give us instructions on what to do if we needed to evacuate the house. We were encouraged to take what we needed, pillows, blankets, flashlights and toilet paper(I would not have thought of that one) and to pack up the car, put it out on Alii Drive, and she left us with her phone number "just in case". Sitting out the night was a bit scary, but because we could go quickly, if needed, I felt secure that we were set, thanks to her. The house had no damage and only a palm frond came down on the lanai.

Kathy, the owner, and Susie were wonderful to work with . We had a last-minute need to extend our stay by one day and they worked together to coordinate that happening.

My brother and I talked of booking again, as we enjoyed the spaciousness of the property and comforts of home. A couple of notes: there isn't any air-conditioning, other than a window unit in the master bedroom. With the high humidity we experienced, even with all the windows open and the ceiling fans going, it was rather warm at times in the house. Parking on the ocean side of Alii Drive presents some issues, too. Most of the homes don't have a lot of parking on their property. There is a lava wall with a gate to this house and getting out takes some care. If you have a larger car or have two cars, it might take a bit of thinking to make it work.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Sydney
5

Kona beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our Aussie family stayed here for a week recently and found the place to be exactly as described online.
The place was clean and comfortable with a great outlook to the ocean. We held a small wedding reception in the outdoor courtyard which was a beautiful setting (with a few added decorations). The owners were very obliging as was the local housekeeper. It was an easy 5 minute walk to local swimming beach Magic Sands. People staying here however would be wise to have a car since shops etc were too far away to walk and public transport minimal. I would happily recommend this house to other travellers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Hood River, Oregon USA
5

Perfect in Every Way for our Family of Seven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were extremely happy with this home which was the centerpiece of our wonderful stay in Kona. It was roomy enough to comfortably house all 7 members of our family, everything worked well, and it was very clean and nicely appointed. The patio is wonderful and where we spent most of our time while at the house. I actually ended up sleeping outside every night in the cool breeze, listening to the waves lap against the seawall just feet away. The nearby grocery store is very good with reasonable prices so we never ended up making the trek to Costco. One of the highlights for me was waking early then walking to Kahaluu Beach Park for a dawn snorkel in perfect light and clear water, then returning home. Where else could you get in a 3 mile (1.5 miles easy walk each way) walk and epic snorkel before your first cup of coffee in the morning while everyone else is sleeping? Kathy the manager did an excellent job communicating throughout. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Destin, FL, USA
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Writing this while waiting for another beautiful sunset over the Pacific Ocean. This is our last night, and we have had another wonderful stay in this special house. The owner is delightful, the house feels like home, with lots of special touches to enhance comfort and convenience. As someone who has visited Kona many times, I know it is rare to find a property on the ocean that is as clean and well-managed as this house. Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
5

THANK YOU!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you Kathy for letting us stay at your wonderful place. This was indeed THE perfect place for us (3 couples, my wife and I, our two daughters and son-in-laws). I had reviewed at least 50 different properties before deciding on your unit, and we all agreed we picked a "perfect 10". The location, both geographical and on the water, the single level lay-out, the seperate quarters for my wife and I, the cleanliness, the outdoor "dining room" (where we had all our dinners), the well equipped kitchen (we have a few "chefs" in the family) etc etc was all exactly as described by your site and as you described when we talked on the phone. Much appreciated!
I have already past on your site with recommendations to several of our friends that have Hawaii in their plans, and I sure know who I'm calling when we go there next time!

Borje and Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Absolutely PEFECT location! The outdoor living area was the highlight of our family stay at the home. Breakfast every morning overlooking the crashing surf, short drive to the downtown eating and shopping areas and close to very good snorkeling (go south to the second beach with lifeguard. Some of the best snorkeling on the island just a mile south of home). Sunsets were priceless. The home is very large and the extra attached apartment home (which we didn't use) make this property ideal.

Homeowner and caretaker are tops. We rent homes on every vacation and know the difference. Our next trip to the Big island will be planned around the availability of this property. Highly recommend.
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Santa Fe
5

Wonderful house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We loved staying in this house. We had a multi-generational group including grandparents and an 8-year-old and everyone had room to do what they wanted to do. We saw whales and dolphins from the patio while others had to rent a boat (ha!). LOVED the tidepools and the sea turtle (who my daughter named Greg). What a wonderful place to stay.

(We did scrape up two rental cars though, so I would definitely recommend getting a small car or at least knowing you have to be really careful to watch for rocks on Ali'i Drive if you're backing out.)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
4

Whale Watchers Delight

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The location was perfect for sitting and watching all sorts of marine life - spinning porpoises, green turtles and of course THE WHALES. We thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor living space and the overall space of the home. The "ohana" was somewhat dated and didn't cool off as well as the rest of the house, but was nice to have this separate space. There were some very minor issues - landline phone didn't work, Wifi did not work in the ohana, only 2 good boogie boards, no bbq brush, and older tv's. Couple beaches were close by, but for the best beaches, had to drive quite a ways (about an hour to Hapuuna - one of the best). Good proximity to Kona for restaurants and shopping and Kona golf course only 5 min away. I would stay here again - perfect place for 2 or 3 couples. A week was not enough! Kathy was great to deal with - mahalo for opening up your home to renting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
California
4

Enjoyable stay on the Kona coast

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We really enjoyed out stay in this home and the location can't be beat. We were able to get into the water right "in our backyard" and spent a great deal of time there snorkeling and fishing. We saw spinner dolphins, turtles and too many whales to count - all from the comfort of our deck chairs. We really didn't feel a need to get to the beach because we were so comfortable at home. We are seasoned travelers and have rented homes for more than 15 years. Kathy (the owner) was great to work with and Suzie (the housekeeper) was a doll. Areas that could use improvement are relatively minor, but for a home in this price range, they should be addressed: The television in the living room is just lousy. We didn't spend a lot of time watching TV, but it we tried to watch the Bowl games. The screen is pretty small (by today's standards) and the volume is way too low. The kitchen is not well stocked. There aren't a lot of dishes and they're very cheap, knives are flimsy and dull, there aren't a lot of utensils (spatulas, wooden spoons, etc.). We had to buy staples like ketchup, mustard, plastic wrap and tin foil. If you prepare a lot of meals at home like we do, you'll likely be underwhelmed with the way the kitchen is stocked. Again, the house was great, but for a rental in this price range, I would expect these items to be improved and this could be done at minimal expense - the upgrades would make a great rental excellent. Would I stay there again? Absolutely! When I'm looking for a rental, I study all of the reviews and II appreciate a fulsome review by someone who has stayed there before. So 4 out of 5 stars for this home. I highly recommend it for a stay in Kona.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Bonnie,
Just wanted to thank you for letting me know about some of the kitchen items, etc. that needed replacing. Susie just finished up with restocking that. New flat screen will be in the first of April as well!
Thanks again.
Kathy
Helpful votes: 2/2