Glencairn cottage rental - Uitsig Cottage
Uitsig Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Glencairn Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, Living room and Kitchen, sleeps 2

Spectacular Beach and Ocean View

Uitsig Cottage is situated in a 2500m 'fynbos' indigenous garden bordering 'Table Mountain National Park'

Easy, short walk to the beach and tidal pool, supermarket, restaurants and train station.

Whale watching in whale season and dolphins from your veranda.

The Historic Navy town of Simonstown is 5 minutes away where you can swim with the Penguins at Boulders or browse in the unique shops in town.

Visit the Fishing village of Kalk Bay, with its active fish market and great restaurants.

There are 2 Golf courses with in 10 km, go horse riding on Noordhoek beach or learn to dive and surf.

Glencairn has it's own wetland, for birds lovers or there are hiking trails in the mountains.

Or simply relax on your veranda or by the pool, enjoying the sound of the waves and the sea.

GERMAN, ENGLISH AND DUTCH SPOKEN

Wifi

Safe Parking

Swimming Pool

use of washing machine

17 Reviews of Property 3009558 in Glencairn, South Africa

Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
UK
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay in Uitsig Cottage

The cottage is ideal for 2 people, clean, comfortable, peaceful with everything you need, and that view !!
The hospitality of Yvonne and Helmo was enjoyed and much appreciated.

There is so much to see and do in and around the Cape, our 2 weeks hardly seemed long enough.
Ideally located for Cape Town and surrounds, always nice to return to Glencairn and Uitsig after the days adventures.

If you are looking for a lazy day on the beach, there are spectacular white sand beaches, virtually around every corner.

We have nothing but good things at say about our stay at Uitsig Cottage, absolutely loved Cape Town and South Africa.

Fantastic holiday.
Owner's Response: Hi Wayne and Jacky. It was great to meet you and really glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Uitsig Cottage. I hope we will meet you again in the not too distant future !!! Yvonne and Helmo
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Nothing short of amazing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I stayed with Yvonne and Helmut..and of course Jessy - in their lovely cottage for three weeks!

It is the perfect getaway and location is so beautiful. The views are breathtaking. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean is also a big YES!

The cottage it self is a gem. It has all you need. Perfect size bathroom, nice beds and a kitchen/livingroom that has a stunning view.
You can easily prepare your own meals, but with all the good restaurants near by (and CT only 40 mins away) we usually only had breakfast at the cottage.

You find good restaurants in Simonstown, Kalk Bay (Olivias is a must) and Noorthoek (Food Barn..both deli and restaurant).

As for Yvonne and Helmut...you will never find more welcoming and gracious hosts. They do all they can to make you feel welcome, and if you need help they will do their best to help you.

I would recommend to hire a car...there are too much to see and experience in SA not to :)

...and we can not forget Jessy! She was icing on the cake for us!! :)

Short version:
Will we recommend this place: BIG YES
Are we coming back: BIG YES
Should you go: BIG YES

p.s
I you have any other questions Yvonne has my promition to give out my email adresse :)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Priceless views and great Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
They say a picture speaks a thousand words and Uitsig Cottage lives up to its picture and much more. A beautiful outlook with a constantly changing landscape is food for the soul and the exceptional views across False Bay from the comfort of the cottage certainly delivers. Metro Rail is within walking distance and we managed to spend time exploring Simons Town, Kalk Bay and central Cape Town without car hire. Helmo and Yvonne go the extra mile for their guests and we highly recommend a stay in this cottage.
Owner's Response: Many thanks Sharleen and Gavin, we enjoyed having you stay with us at Uitsig Cottage.
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Great Location, spectacular views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The view across the bay to Simonstown is truly magnificent. I don't know if I preferred it at night or during the day. It was hard to leave the cottage with all its amenities and great view, fortunately Uitsig is located within walking distance from the beach and the train that goes to the City in one direction and Simonstown in the other. Yvonne, Helmo and Jessie are great hosts - they made an amazing visit even greater.
Owner's Response: Thank you, It was great to have you stay with us Marc.
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Delightfull view and helpfull landlords

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The view is delightfull and the landlords are very helpfull. The property is conviniently situated with less than an hour's drive from Cape Town and Stellenbosh and about 20 minutes to Cape Point. Also, there is a supermarked within walking distance and fresh fish to be bought in the habour of Kalk Bay. Recommendable!
Owner's Response: Hallo Jacob and Wieda, it was lovely to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Many thanks Yvonne and Helmo
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Spectacular view indeed!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Could not get enough of this view, day or night, rain or shine. Beautiful country, Glencairn is an ideal spot to explore Cape Town and its surroundings from, Simons Town which's so close is lovely, see the penguins, go to seal island, spot whales and dolphins. Go to Cape point, Kalk Bay, ride horses on Noordhoek beach, CLIMB table mountain, its hard but it makes you appreciate its magnificence even more - my fav place in the world is the top of this mountain! Ate out everyday sometimes twice, food was very good most places and compared to the UK very reasonable. Lovely hosts, there if you need something, don't bother you otherwise, friendly dog Jessie to welcome you home and greet you of a morning if you so wish, just what you need when you are missing your own pooch like us! Clean, tidy and well maintained accommodation. We went to Cape Town for our honeymoon, we look forward to returning to Uitsig one year for an anniversary!! Miriam and Steven, Warwickshire,UK
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Perfect holiday house in wonderful surroundings.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
An excellent place to spend some weeks or months if you like to be close to CapeTown, Constantia and Stellenbosch, but still be living a bit outside "the rush".

Well managed and professional owners who have seen to all details so it is like linging "at home". 3-4 minutes to Glencairn Beach and the Table Mountain National Park is just around you if you wish to walk. The trip to Cape Point is a must.

We spent 6 weeks here and just loved it. 4,5 stars for a very resonable cost.
Owner's Response: It was wonderful to meet you Erik and Gisela, we hope to see you next year in Sweden !!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Spectacular View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband & I stayed at Uitsig Cottage for 6 nights in Feb 2013. The views from both the deck on the cottage & the pool deck were breathtaking. You could spend hours watching the cloud formations pass over the peak of the mountain. The cottage itself was immaculate with plenty of room for 2 people. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer to truly enjoy the cottage. Since it was our first trip to South Africa, we were busy with day trips which involved hiking Cape Hope & Table Mountain. If you enjoy the outdoors this is an excellent location to stay. Prior to arrival, Yvonne arranged for a rental car through Thrifty. We picked the car up from a downtown Cape Town rental location & dropped it off at the airport - no problems at all. If you love seafood there are many excellent restaurants close by that Yvonne can recommend. The supermarket, liquor store & ATM are conveniently located within walking distance. Yvonne & Helmo are gracious hosts that are willing to share information or give their guests privacy. We would love to return to South Africa some day & would highly recommend Uitsig Cottage for anyone looking for a beautiful & relaxing place to call home while visiting South Africa.
Owner's Response: Hi Lynda and Pat, it was great to meet you and host you as guests at Uitsig Cottage. I am pleased that a little bit of Africa will live on in you home and that you will think of South Africa when you look at you painting.
Hope to meet you again in the future.
Yvonne and Helmo
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
5

Wonderful cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The cottage is wonderful, very clean with a fantastic view and there is also a gorgeous swimming pool.Yvonne is very helpful and we had a most beautiful holiday.We are now come back to home and we would like to have never left Uitsig cottage!
Maura, Ugo e Anna
Owner's Response: Hi Maura, Ugo and Anna, It was an absolute pleasure to have met you and we are happy your enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you must come a bit longer!! Many regards Yvonne and Helmo
business
Spectacular Sea views, Self Catering with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3009558
Glencairn Cape Peninsula
Sun Valley, ID
5

Terrific Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We called this cottage our "slice of heaven." It's the first time we've started a vacation by picking a gorgeous place and just letting ourselves slowly get immersed in a new place. It worked, and that was because of this magical place. I can assure you that if you get to this deck, your cares will disappear. In some cases, so will your busy travel itineraries. Instead, you'll bound out of bed to catch the sunrise and the changing light. You'll have breakfast/brunch/lunch/happy hour/dinner on the deck. You'll watch the train pass below you. You'll watch the sun rise and fall. You won't want to leave, even to walk to the nearby beach, nature reserve or grocery. This place gets under your skin quickly and you leave changed, relaxed, happy. Yvonne , who hosts the place and lives on the premises, helps in every way yet is unobtrusive. Go here....you'll be glad you did. Leo Stavros and Marcia Mode-Stavros, USA.
Owner's Response: It was great to get to know you Marcia and Leo!! Come back quickly !!
Helpful votes: 1/1