Ocean Beach house rental - OB Vacation Rental - Steps to the beach in Ocean Beach, San Diego
OB Vacation Rental - Steps to the beach in Ocean Beach, San Diego
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Ocean Beach House Rental Photos and Description
house, 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

This private home is in an amazing Ocean Beach (OB) location – steps to the beach with great views and amenities.

This recently remodeled 3 bedroom, 2 bath 1600 sq. ft. home on the 2nd story level features a gourmet kitchen with granite countertops. All the kitchen appliances and utensils you need for a relaxing vacation including: blender, coffeemaker, toaster oven and full-size oven, 5-burner gas stove and a variety of pots and pans. The kitchen also has a bar-height counter and stools in addition to the dining area table with amazing views of the beach. Watch the sunset as you dine.

The master bedroom features a queen-sized bed, vaulted ceiling, and access to an outdoor patio, unique custom bath with tropical tiling, oversized tub and custom shower.

The 2nd and 3rd bedrooms both feature tropical décor and queen and full-sized beds, respectively.

This house also includes a private tropical patio area as well as a balcony off of the entryway and master bedroom. There is a washer and dryer in the unit. 2 off-street parking spots provided – a premium for being so close to the beach

For entertainment and business (if you choose to do any) this house features an HDTV along with wireless internet access.

Nice quiet OB location, yet close to everything San Diego has to offer. With only a few steps to the beach you can’t beat this location – perfect for surfing, kayaking, body boarding – or just relaxing on the beach. You can even watch the surfer’s and beach action right from the dining room table - you may even see dolphins playing in the surf. With views from living room, dining room and kitchen you will never feel far from the beach.

This house is an easy walk (just a few blocks) to the famous OB pier (the longest concrete pier on the west coast) and the main business district of Ocean Beach – Newport Avenue. On Newport you will find restaurants (ask about our favorites), antique stores, coffee houses, bars, bike and surf shops. On Wednesday evenings Newport Avenue features a Farmer’s Market where you can find local fruits, vegetables and flowers, street performances and food vendors.

Come spend a relaxing vacation at our beachfront paradise.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I bought this property when we were in our early 30's. We have used it as our primary residence and as a rental for over 40 years. We completed a major remodel in 2007 and since then have continued to make additional improvements each year. We now live here for about 4-5 months in the winter and then in a small town northwest of Tahoe the rest of the year. We love our OB home as do our kids who love spending time with us at the beach. Great California beach community!!!

Jim Steinbarth purchased this house in 1980

We have owned many homes in Ocean Beach over the last 35+ years. They have all had their own unique qualities but in the end we chose this unit as our favorite because of a combination of view, closeness to the beach and location.

Great beachfront location with great views. 2 off-street parking spots. Private patio and balcony.

6 Reviews of Property 422319 in Ocean Beach, California

Beachfront House - Right on the Beach in Ocean Beach
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Beachfront House - Right on the Beach in Ocean Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422319vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Gorgeous house in Ocean Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed in this beautiful house for a week. The living space was far more spacious and comfortable than the pictures show. We spent most of our time in the house at the big dining table watching the incredible view of the ocean. The house itself was spotless with all the amenities any one would need for a comfortable stay. Jim was very nice and helpful in all aspects of the renting process. He stayed in contact every step of the way; even calling after our scheduled arrival time to ensure that we arrived safely. We will definitely look to see if this house is available first whenever we get the chance to spend time in Ocean Beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront House - Right on the Beach in Ocean Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422319vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Palm Desert
5

Great OB Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wonderful property and fantastic location in Ocean Beach. Remember, OB is in the flight path of Lindberg Field, so you'll wake up early. However, that's true for OB in general, so it's worth it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mike, thank you for your five-star rating. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our vacation rental and hope that you can make it back again some time for a longer stay. Unfortunately there are advantages and disadvantages from having an airport in the middle of the city. The convenience is great but depending upon how they direct the traffic, even though the airport is about 7 miles away, you can sometimes hear the planes taking off. It's interesting that those of us who live in Ocean Beach are hardly aware of it.

I hope Ocean Beach and especially our home provided a nice cool break from your desert environment.

Regards, Jim Steinbarth
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront House - Right on the Beach in Ocean Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422319vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Beautiful House, Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Just got back from a week at the OB house. It's a great house with lots of unique tile features, an incredible ocean view from the dining room table and REALLY comfortable beds. We had a wonderful time walking on the beach, walking on the pier, sampling beers at Pizza Port and reading on the deck. The kitchen was wonderfully updated and had everything we needed. Hope we get to return soon and enjoy some more great San Diego weather. I do wish there had been patio furniture so we could eat outside but maybe the owners are concerned about theft....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ann-

The 2 comments that we most often receive about our vacation rental are the ones that you highlighted, the beautiful view and the unique tile work and mosaics, much of which my wife designed and installed.Each year that we come ( we live at the house from around November 1 to April 15 ) we make more and more improvements. This next year we plan on completely remodeling the smaller bathroom which will include lots of custom mosaic work. If you return, I'm sure you will enjoy seen what we have done.

I am also glad that you found the beds very comfortable as that is an important part of a great vacation. Thank you very much for the five-star rating. We hope that you come back again sometime to enjoy both Ocean Beach as well is our home.

Regards,

Jim Steinbarth
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront House - Right on the Beach in Ocean Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422319vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Apple Valley, CA
5

Great escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This house is wonderful all that it is advertised! The location is great the kitchen beautiful and the view-hard to beat! Great place for a family. The owner is very helpful and the area is easy access wonderful vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront House - Right on the Beach in Ocean Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422319vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Tempe
5

Tempe Tourist

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
The Palm House in Ocean Beach turned out to be the perfect place for me to relax and listen to the sounds of the ocean. The open floor plan of the house is both warm and inviting and the sunset view from the dining room windows is spectacular! Being on the second story provided the gorgeous views and while adding a bit of privacy from the considerable beach activity. The custom mosaics in the two bathrooms, especially the master bath are beautiful! The house is perfectly located, within a couple of blocks of the restaurants and shops on Newport Avenue and it is great to be able to bicycle on bike paths anywhere in Mission Bay. It's just a couple of minutes from Sea World as well as the downtown gas lamp district. Having two reserved parking spaces was a luxury. The booking process went very smoothly and Jim did a good job in answering all my questions. I loved it and look forward to booking this property again this summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront House - Right on the Beach in Ocean Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422319vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Seattle
4

Great location for beach access with convenient access to city and attractions

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Really enjoyed staying here. The owner was very detailed in all the information he provided. The home was warm, welcoming and the master bathroom was beautiful. Loved having the open feel to the kitchen, dining and living rooms. Great to gather with our family with the added benefit of a view of the ocean and sunsets!

Parking was tight and the Ocean Beach area can get crowded during events. It was great to have two reserved spots for our use but made it difficult for family or friends in the area to come visit.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Kathy for your review. As you know we just took over the management of the unit in July and are learning the vacation rental management of our O B Palm House as we go. We appreciate how clean you left the house which helped in getting it ready for the next renter. Regards, Jim
Helpful votes: 3/3