Norfolk cottage rental - Esclepius:Dream at the Beach
Esclepius:Dream at the Beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Norfolk Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 8 in the house and 2 in the game room.

Buckroe Beach on the Chesapeake Bay with in walking distance.

A family beach with a huge children's jungle gym.

Fishing in the Surf or from the Pier. Rent a Kayak or bring your own. Nice biking around the beach.

After a day at the beach relax in the hammock. The private back yard is fenced and inviting. Accommodations for relaxing, grilling and a great time. If your feeling like mingling with the locals Downtown Hampton is two miles down the road. Hampton Hosts a block party every Saturday night with children's activities as well as live music and drinks. Great restaurants and family oriented. Take your lawn chairs and sit and listen to music while the kids dance.

Close to downtown Hampton and surrounded by History. Just a short drive to Norfolk Navel Yard, Old Town Colonial Williamsburg and the Williamsburg Pottery, Jamestown, and Hampton's very own Air & Space Museum.

In Williamsburg you will also find Busch Gardens and Water Country.

The hot tub is repaired with a brand new motor. 3-10-2012

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 300787 in Norfolk, Virginia

Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
average rating of 4.529412 based on 17 reviews
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Great house; Amazing Value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This cabin seemed too good to be true for the price, but it was just as advertised. Backyard was very peaceful and even included a small koi pond! Hot tub was huge and very nice. 5 minute walk to the beach with a fishing dock, a beachside park with a playground . $15 cab ride to Hampton Coliseum (which is why we came). The owner Janice was extremely nice and accommodating.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
5

One happy crew

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our group of 8, ranging from 5 years to 84 years, had a perfect "last of summer" getaway here. Days were spent at Buckroe and VA (less than 1/2 hr away) beaches. Evenings spent in the backyard and game room. Our little ones now think they're pool players ;) The home was cozy, clean and bigger than it looks in the pics. We found everything we needed to fix meals, snacks and keep everyone entertained. Thank you for sharing your home with us, especially on such short notice!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Paoli, PA (near Philly)
5

Great cottage close to beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wonderfully maintained and clean, this pet friendly, 2 bedroom (sleeps 8 with sleepers) cottage includes a hot tub and pool table in detached gaming room. All the amenities of home with central air and ceiling fans. It's about 1/2 a block from a large, well maintained park having a large child's playground. Wide and sandy beach is on the other side of the park and includes lifeguards during the day. The cottage is well appointed and includes everything. Owner was easily accessible and friendly. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed here for a few days this past fourth of July and had a great time. The house is really bright and has a comfy feel, perfect for a home away from home. Everything from the movies to the toys provided for kids, all made for a relaxing stay. Janice is super reachable for any questions and the neighbors who help with the house were so nice and a pleasure to chat with. Great, great place!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Wonderful cottage close to beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family stayed here for four nights. It is very comfortable. You don't need to bring anything for the kitchen except your food. The recreation room and hot tub were a plus. We didn't get to use them much, as we were on the go a lot, but when we did they were awesome. It is a clean cottage with a home like atmosphere. Thank you for letting us share your vacation home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Wonderful cottage close to beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family stayed here for four nights. It is very comfortable. You don't need to bring anything for the kitchen except your food. The recreation room and hot tub were a plus. We didn't get to use them much, as we were on the go a lot, but when we did they were awesome. It is a clean cottage with a home like atmosphere. Thank you for letting us share your vacation home.
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Excellent Family Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Perfect Weekend Getaway! My husband, son and I enjoyed our stay at your cottage over the Father's Day weekend 2013. It was a home away from home. The weather was perfect and it felt just like home. Buckroe Beach was very enjoyable and the Sunday summer concert was an added bonus. This was a very well maintained and clean home with shopping/activities very close by. My son enjoyed the bicycles provided and his visit to the.Hampton Air Power Park and Musuem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
1

ultimately disappointing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
At the time, I desperately needed a place to stay since I work for the merchant marine, which requires me to sail or serve on standby navy reserve ships ashore. My work temporarily brought me to the area.This house looked perfect. I moved in quickly and brought my pregnant wife and 2-year old son. While the overall stay was OK, we encountered some serious issues during our stay. The most significant issue we had was a problem with rats. Yes, rats. I even had to chase one down while I had guests over one night. About a week later the rat was caught and killed by a poison trap placed near the back of the stove. What made me even more concerned is that the landlord never even bothered to tell me the locations of the rat poison, even though she was fully aware that I had a two year old. There was also rat poison placed around the outside of the house. The other issues I had were not as serious, but included: a filthy refrigerator upon arrival (dust all over the inside) and no sheets were on the beds. We had to make the beds when we got there, even though comforters were placed over the beds, as if they were made. Also, $200 of my deposit went towards replacing "plants" and paying for damages to the miniature pond in the back yard. Of course, my son was blamed for any pond damages, even though it was January snowing, and the pond was frozen over solid. I felt this wasn't our problem, but isn't it easier to just blame a 2 year old and get $200 just like that? I fail to see any new plants the in newly posted pictures. All I see is some sort of new wooden decor by the pond that wasn't there when we were. To top it off, an additional $175 of my deposit was retained by the landlord because we took sheets off the bed and did not wash them before we left. I guess we were supposed to wash the sheets, and then leave, as if this is convenient. The $175 also covered a missing dresser knob. Yes, a single dresser knob was missing. The landlord also claimed we left the oven dirty, even though my mother cleaned it. Bottom line: if you can handle rats, follow all of the little rule signs posted all over the house, do not have kids, and do not expect to get much of your deposit back, then I highly recommend this rental. If there is much saving grace, it would be due to the hot tub in the back yard, which was awesome. Other than that, I can't say much else except that it allowed me to temporarily move, do my job, and come back home. Also, there is no internet. Period.
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
San Diego, California
4

Great time and a great place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We spent a wonderful week in this beautiful cottage. We felt right at home and were in walking distance to the beach. We cooked in the house and on the grill in the backyard. My teenage sons enjoyed the hot tub and sleeping in the rec room, playing pool and listening to music. My mother enjoyed the sun room in the front of the house while reading and relaxing. There were plenty of DVDs for movie watching. We were in a great neighborhood with kind neighbors. There is plenty to do in the local area. We visited the Cape Henry lighthouse, took several trips to the Virginia Beach boardwalk, and visited the Children's Museum in Portsmouth. The only sad part was leaving. We felt like it was our home.
Owner's Response: When I was able to realize my dream of owning my own beach home, I felt this was the place upon setting foot in the sun porch. While appreciating the history of the home as I took the tour, the realization really took hold when I entered the back yard. You don't feel as if your in a neighborhood. You are transformed in to serenity. I love it here each and every time I set foot out of my car. I am thankful for the opportuniy to share my dream of Esclepius, with many families.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Cottage With Private Fenced Backyard & Game Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300787
571 2598463
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Perfect Cottage Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had a fantastic week in this cottage. It truly has everything you could ever want, from a fully stocked kitchen to a beautiful backyard perfect for bbq's, and socializing or relaxing and reading in the hammock. We were able to cook many meals and find everything we needed, including a deviled egg tray! The owner truly understands how to make a space charming and welcoming and was helpful whenever we had any questions. On sunny days we were a quick stroll to the beach and when it rained we took advantage of the game room and pool table. The only thing we wanted was more time to enjoy all the cottage had to offer! We can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 2/2