Mathews house rental - Private pool with gas grill and wet bar in pool house offers the best of summer
Private pool with gas grill and wet bar in pool house offers the best of summer
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Mathews House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bdrm's, Sleeps 10, 3 full bathrooms, 3 half baths, newly renovated.

- Expansive water views of the Chesapeake Bay from every room

of the house.

- Large private pool with gas grill to roast some delicious oysters

or steam a pot of Chesapeake Bay crabs.

- Kayaks & life jackets provided to explore the quiet coves.

- Bring your own boat or rent one locally. Private concrete

loading ramp and private boathouse that accommodates two

36' craft.

- Bicycles & helmets provided to enjoy our quiet country lanes

or pack a picnic and ride just 4 miles to white sand Haven

Beach or just 2 miles into the little town of Mathews.

- Crab pots provided guests. Children love baiting them and

checking to see what they caught for dinner.

- A little less than an hours drive to the most historic locations in

the United States--Colonial Williamsburg (first U.S. capitol),

Jamestown (first settlers landed here), Yorktown (famous for the

action it saw during the Revolutionary War).

- A little less than an hours drive to one of the largest theme

parks and water parks in the United States -- Busch Gardens.

- Watch world class yachts and sailboats come and go from the

Mathews Yacht Club just up the river.

- Get away from it all in the hammock enjoying the expansive

views and breezes off the Bay.

- Many excellent movies in the library for your pleasure or the

games or cd's available to our guests.

- Roast marshmallows or hot dogs at the waterside fire pit.

- Watch the moon rise and the stars brighter than you have

probably ever seen them due to the low light pollution here.

- 20,000 watt propane backup generator which will provide electric service for entire house if main power is lost.

More Details
Hide Details

Bill Metzger is originally from Oklahoma, but has lived in Virginia for the past 35 years. Now semi-retired I love living on the Chesapeake Bay and near the small but charming town of Mathews.

The house has expansive views from every room in the house. At least 110 years old this house has weathered many storms and hurricanes. It was a working farm. In this area most farmers also were watermen with fishing boats.

The house has been modernized to today's high standards yet continues to maintain it's coastal farm house charm. It has everything a coastal property should have. A quiet slide into the cove for kayaks, boat loading ramp and boathouse that can accommodate two 36' craft.

The first time I saw this property, it was love at first sight. Nothing beats the expansive views and when the sun is at a certain angle the water definitely looks blue -- thus, Blue Water Haven.

It is a haven from all the worries of the world. Although if you want to stay in touch with the world we have WiFi and TV's in every room.

34 Reviews of Property 3007432 in Mathews, Virginia

Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
average rating of 5.0 based on 34 reviews
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Happy guest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Enjoyed my time at your lovely inn!!! I was able to refresh my weary body & mind as I enjoyed interactions & activities with my dear girlfriends. I appreciated the homey but classy, clean environment. Thanks so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Thanks for an amazing weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Such a beautiful/peaceful home. The owners have thought of EVERYTHING!! We had a great time w/ family and friends. We've already booked a return trip.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Erie, PA
5

A wonderful week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My siblings and our spouses try to meet annually for some quality and relaxing family time! This year we chose Bluewater Haven based upon the location, description, photos and the posted reviews. We had the most amazing week! The house and property far exceeded our expectations! From sitting on the veranda overlooking the amazing water view to biking in the quiet neighborhood to trying our hand at kayaking in the calm waters to enjoying evenings sitting around the fire pit our week at Bluewater Haven was wonderful. The house is well appointed, decorated beautifully and is so comfortable! We do look forward to a return visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family and I had such a great time at Blue Water Haven. The house was very clean, comfortable and well stocked. And the pool, boathouse, kayaks, and bikes were such a bonus. I actually hate to leave such a positive review because I would like to keep this place a secret, but the owner obviously deserves the business. He knows how to take care of his guests. We cannot wait to return!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
georgia
5

We Had an Awesome! Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had arraigned a surprise family get together and sure did every member of the family got really thrilled and were very excited to spend time @ this Awesome! property. Owners of the property were extremely helpful. One of the lights near the pool burned out and they have provided the lights by next evening. We Enjoyed! a lot and hope u all do!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

CRABS come to Blue Water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our group of 8 mature ladies (Chicks Rendevous at the Beach) enjoyed the home,view and pool. There were plenty of choices for shopping and dining. Trips into Williamsburg were not too long and we enjoyed coming "home" each evening. Bill was a conscious host and greeted us when we arrived. He addressed our needs quickly. The best vacation home ever so quiet and tranquil.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Norwich, New York
5

Celebration of my Daughter's Wedding

Celebration of my Daughter's Wedding
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The Blue Water Haven was just as advertised. It was the perfect location for my family to celebrate a relaxing week on the beautiful Chesapeake Bay. The vacation also celebrated the marriage of my oldest daughter. The rooms had great views of the bay that were simply breathtaking. The pool was so much fun for for all of us including my 2 year old grandson. We spent nights sitting on he Adirondack chairs at the fire pit, which overlooked the bay. I'm not sure that I've ever seen a clearer sky with so many stars and "falling stars". We spent one day on a long kayak trip that led to a seafood lunch a few miles away at a local restaraunt. Busch Gardens was enjoyed by everyone in the group as well as our visit to the Yorktown battlefield. We had a great time in the quaint town of Mathews just a couple of miles away. The bikes were handy to ride into the town or take a lazy ride to several beaches and a bird sanctuary. I would also strongly recommend the White Dog Bistro in downtown Mathews for a great dinner. The food was fantastic. The whole experience at Blue Water Haven was exceptional. I would recommend it to anyone looking for fun, relaxation, or just a good time with friends and family. Five stars all the way around!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Absolutely Amazing! The Best Rental Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I wish I could rate this place 10 stars! We reserved it and went to it knowing it was going to be beautiful, but actually being there blew us away! The house was spotless and really well furnished. It sits right on the water and it is amazing to go out on the deck off of the Osprey Room while the sun is rising. And then it's fantastic to look out at the water as you sit in the breakfast nook! But, the thing that got us the most was all of the activities included with the house! Bicycles, crab pots, kayaks, a canoe, the pool, a fire pit with plenty of wood, DVDs, television, internet! It was all amazing!

I'd also like to note that it's only 6 minutes away from Festival Beach (also known as Haven Beach), which is an undeveloped, public beach that's absolutely beautiful!

My whole family went on this vacation and I was tasked with finding a place to stay. Needless to say, every single one of my family complimented me on finding this hidden gem! You will not regret staying here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

This home is breathtaking!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We cannot say enough about this wonderful vacation home. The house was so beautiful and filled with every ammenity imaginable! So tastefully decorated - it looked like something out of a magazine! The pool was gorgeous and so relaxing! My 9 year old son said this was his favorite vacation spot! We will definitely be back next summer!
business
Expansive views of Chesapeake with deep water for private boats.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3007432
+1 804 5143174
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Add an extra star

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The listing for this home was pretty special, however I would say a little inaccurate, only in so much as it is very, very understated. Layout was superb, the scheme of the bedrooms was as described, but its the attention to detail that really impresses. We have stayed in a few 4 star hotels that don't have the same level of comfort and equipment. For instance each bathroom has tissues, cotton buds, spare this and spare that, marvellous. The views across the bay, quiet evenings by the fire pit, afternoons by the pool couldn't be beaten. we were fortunate to have full run of the place, and for anyone contemplating a stay here I would heartily recommend it. The cherry on the cake for us was the boathouse and the use of the kayaks, we enjoyed this home so much. Excellent service all provided by the owners.