Talkeetna house rental - Fall
Fall
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Talkeetna House Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

DUE TO A PASSING IN THE FAMILY, THE DALL HOUSE WILL BE CLOSED FOR THE 2014 SEASON. THANK YOU FOR YOUR PAST PATRONAGE.

Welcome to the 'Dall' House, an easy, two hour, scenic drive north of Anchorage. It is your romantic, Craftsman bungalow nestled in the forest of the Sunshine Lakes, a mere ten minutes from historic downtown TALKEETNA (the inspiration for the classic TV show, Northern Exposure). It is the perfect hub to explore Alaska's wilderness rivers, glaciers, lakes, mountains and wildlife from the base of Mount McKinley to Denali National Park.

Every outdoor adventure imaginable is available with world class outfitters and guides ready to take you 'off the grid' by SUV, boat, ATV, bike, canoe, kayak, snow machine, skis, snowshoes, dogsled, float plane or even ski plane. You can do it all: fish, hike, hunt, mountain bike, river raft, canoe, kayak, jet boat, glacier climb and mountain climb. You can even flight-see America's highest peak and make an unforgettable landing on a mountain glacier. And yes, this is bear and moose country. In winter the wonderland turns white with unmatched snow machining and cross-country skiing plus the spectacular 'northern lights.' All the while quaint and cheerful TALKEETNA is an oasis for the best in local dining, both fine and authentic Alaskan, and for arts and crafts and native merchandise.

Your romantic getaway is surrounded by the forest on your private one acre plus lot. Barbecue on the back patio and deck or relax and play in the forest glade. In summer and fall experience the green canopy of the tall trees above and verdant forest floor below. In winter and spring live the magic of the glistening snow covered trees and trails and pristine quiet.

Inside the luxurious, upscale, custom home enjoy the sleek slate kitchen, the two sparkling, modern baths, the comfortable bedrooms, the solid, beautiful furniture, the spacious, open floor plan, the hardwood floors, the gleaming inside laundry, the custom bookcases, flat screen TV with DishTV and DVD player, telephone and wireless internet. Look out any window and enjoy a peaceful forest view to remind you that you are in the heart of Alaska, the Last Frontier! No doubt you will want to come back to your 'Dall' House for the fun, adventure and relaxation of this forest vacation home again and again.

Keywords: Denali vacation, Talkeetna vacation, Denali vacation rental, Mt. McKinley flightseeing vacation, Mount McKinley vacation, Alaska vacation rental, Salmon fishing, hiking, hunting, atv trails, snowmachining trails, snowmobiling, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, river raft tours, Mahay's jet boats, Alaska train, show Northern Exposure, northern lights, aurora borealis, ice fishing, moose, bears, wildlife viewing.

More Details
Hide Details

We are the Seligmans. Welcome to our little corner of Alaskan paradise! We are Southern Californians (a Deputy D.A. and court reporter) who visited Alaska for the first time in the summer of 2011. We were overwhelmed by its size, majesty, beauty and wildlife. It truly is the last frontier.

We quickly dreamed of owning a piece of this bastion of nature's beauty and the pioneering spirit of America. So we searched from Seward in the South to Denali in the North and fell in love with TALKEETNA, the gateway to Denali and Mount McKinley, the favorite vacation spot of Alaskans and the mountain climbing Capitol of North America.

We discovered the most lovingly remodeled Craftsman style cottage we had ever seen. We turned it into our 'Dall House.'

It is our pleasure to share our vacation home with you, your family and friends. We hope you enjoy yourself to the fullest in good health and good cheer.

With warmest regards,

Hyatt and Robin

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

We loved the home, the location and Talkeetna. A 14 mile ATV and snow machine trail abuts the property; it takes you all the way to town. Snow machine and cross-country ski out your front door.

The chief benefit is the ten minute drive to 'downtown ' Talkeetna which is the tourist center for this region of Alaska. You can hook up with any of the outstanding local outfitters or tour guides or relax at your own pace. A float plane lake is just outside of town, the local airport is downtown and the Alaska train station is smack-dab in the middle of town. Strolling along the river or the hiking trails is another simple, fun thing to do. Or just shop in the local stores featuring the best of Alaskan merchandise.

A 14 mile bike trail, and a 14 mile snow machine and ATV trail run alongside the property on opposite sides of the TALKEETNA Spur Road. You can take them all the way into town.

The modern, local medical clinic is a quarter mile up the road.

A local favorite, and ours, is The Flying Squirrel Bakery and Cafe, about five minutes towards town. It has delightful food and scrumptious baked goods of all kinds.

Four miles South is the convenient, new grocery store and a large gas station at the junction of the Parks Highway and the TALKEETNA Spur Road.

15 Reviews of Property 412866 in Talkeetna, Alaska

Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Council Bluffs, Iowa
5

Charming house!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We found the Dallhouse to be exactly what we were looking for. We met our kids from Denali National Park for a small reunion and stayed three nights. Everything we needed was there. It was perfect for some homemade meals. The town of Talkeetna was very fun also. The place was very clean and Diana, the property manager was very nice and helpful! I would highly recommend this house. We will definitely use it again the next time we make our trip to Denali. Thanks to the owners for making this possible.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We're glad you had an enjoyable reunion and that the house met your needs. Our property manager Diana keeps everything running smoothly and we couldn't rent the home without her. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
1

Disappointing Experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Unfortunately, we do not have good reviews for the Dall House, near Talkeetna. There were three couples of us, who found the property not clean upon arrival, the kitchen not equipped with enough glasses for six people to use. One person was in a wheelchair, and the property specified that there was wheelchair access. There was not. We did not have cell phone service or ability to use our ipads for four days. When we called the property manager several times, she never returned our calls, and certainly did not come over to try to rectify the situation. The owner, who lives far away, was very available by phone, and we talked to her many times, took pictures to verify our concerns, but still the property manager, who is close by did not respond.
Owner's Response: I'm sorry for your disappointment. We open our beautiful upscale Craftsman cottage in the woods up so people can enjoy it as much as we do. I would like to address your concerns.

No. 1. Not clean. We pay our property manager very generously to make sure the house is kept in pristine condition. No other reviewer has complained about cleanliness. In fact they often go out of their way to praise it. My property manager informed me she responded to your call and took care of your issues.

No 2. The house was not equipped with enough glasses. We have enough mugs and glasses to accommodate six people. But I will take your suggestion to heart.

No. 3. Wheelchair access. The first floor of the house is an open plan with easy access to all rooms. There is a bedroom and bathroom and open kitchen on the first floor. No mention was made of wheelchair access need until a day before you left, almost a week after you checked in. Your only complaint there wasn't a ramp to get in from the back deck into the house, but that If you told me you had a guest in a wheelchair and needed a ramp, I would have provided you with a ramp.

No. 4. No cell phone or internet for 4 days. Talkeetna is a tiny town in rural Alaska. It is not Anchorage. Cell phone and internet can be spotty through no fault of our own. I have no control over cell phone towers. I provide a landline with free access to all 50 states for this purpose. I also provide ethernet for a hardline connection. In fact, you called me on the landline. I'm happy you were able to use the phone. You then told me you didn't have ethernet access on your iPad. I'm sorry I don't provide computers, but that's definitely something to consider for the future.

I hope you had a great time in Talkeetna, and I'm sorry about any issues. You can rest assured we addressed all issues for future guests.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Homer, Alaska
5

Dall House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house suited the needs of a working field crew of four perfectly. It is nicely and newly finished inside, and well-maintained. The managers live around the corner and respond quickly (we ran out of propane for the gas range). The house includes an office space with a nice desk, fast DSL line, and a wireless router, good for those who need to get some work done connected to the internets. It also has a roomy mud-room entryway, a great place for a field crew working outdoors to stow their rubber boots and hang their raingear on hooks! The gas grill was clean, the kitchen and bathrooms ample, the W&D a great help, and the beds are comfortable. Hot water is abundant, a crew of four never ran out after long days in the field. We will return without worries (four more times!). The location is nice, halfway between Anchorage and Denali National Park. Talkeetna is awesome, spend some time and dollars in this small Alaskan town!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. It makes us happy to know that our guests feel at home and welcome, especially if they are hard working people. The main credit must go to our Property Manager Diana Pesta who personally services the Dall House for all of our guests.

Again, thank you. We hope all of your stays are as refreshing and enjoyable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Waikoloa HI
5

Great Vacation Spot in Talkeetna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I thought the Dall house was a great vacation spot for those wishing to spend time in Talkeetna and surrounding area. Easy to find, close to town. The house was very well kept,clean and comfortable. All in all a lovely vacation experience. Flying Squirrel was a great spot for breakfast and pizza. Also, if you like beer, gotta go to Denali brewery in town.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review. We're so happy you enjoyed the Dall House. We're happy we can create a good experience for our guests. Happy you enjoyed Talkeetna and all it offers.
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Ohio
5

Great house, great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a great house. I traveled with my parents (55+) and a friend and there was plenty of comfortable space for all of us. The owners were great as well. They were very helpful, professional, and their use of the VRBO tools made the whole transaction a breeze. Just one tip, if you are traveling to Alaska in the summer months, bring a sleep mask!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We try to make it as easy as possible for our guests and provide a great retreat from the day's sightseeing. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Alaska is truly the land of the midnight sun.
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Los Angeles
5

The perfect getaway in the back woods of Alaska..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My girlfriend and I wanted to get away from the city for a week and go somewhere we could be isolated yet within reach of civilization. The pictures and description of this place seemed ideal. We certainly were not disappointed! The house matched the pictures and was very clean and stocked with cooking supplies, plates and glasses. The furnishings looked new and the craftsmanship of the various woods was truly impressive. I heard from a local it was built by one guy that had a knack for carpentry, apparently he poured his heart and soul into this place because it really shows in the details. The bathroom tiles were heated and the beds were so comfortable I wouldn't have gotten out of bed had I not been surrounded by monumental natural beauty. The location of the house is such that if you're getting a little cabin fever you can drive 10 min to the town of Talkeetna which has a handful of nice restaurant options, a post office and infinite tall tales from any of the very welcoming locals you may come across. Information on all the local activities and options was provided in the house. My girlfriend had a great time and we were sad to leave this place. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Gastonia, NC
5

Charming House in Great little Talkeetna!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We were so impressed with the "Dall House" when we arrived! It was so up to date and really nice.
Anything you needed was available, including soaps, shampoo, lotion and hair dryer! The house was
really comfortable and just really nice to come home to after a day of sight seeing.
We got in a little late on arrival and the key was under the mat, no trouble with having to check in.
Thank you so much for sharing your home with us and it was a nice treat from the hotel rooms!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
San Diego, CA
5

Wonderful alaskan home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Talkeetna Dall house. The owners were so personable and helpful! A beautiful and modern home yet at the same time had a charming Alaskan feel. There were alaskan wild berries in the front yard, very delicious. I think the best rental I have stayed at yet! Thanks for sharing your home Robin and Hyatt.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Bremerton, Wa.
5

August at the Dall House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My three sister's and I spent 4 nights in this beautiful cottage. The listing description was accurate as were the photos. The house seemed brand new and was spotless. The kitchen was well equipped and the furnishing were comfortable and attractive. The owners were easy to reach, pleasant and responsive. The property manager took the time to sit with us for nearly an hour. She had lots of pertinent information and local lore. She is a long time local and knows the area well. Our only suggestions to improve on near perfection would be a normal height dinning table and chairs. (We play a lot of cards and games at the table and found them to be uncomfortable for that purpose). Also a few hooks in the side bedrooms and bathroom doors would have been helpful.
We had five straight days of sun and Denali was out every day. We were lucky! We enjoyed dining at the Road House, Talkeetna Denali Lodge and the Wildflower. One could be active from sun up to sun down with outdoor adventure activities, too numerous to mention. We mostly enjoyed the little town, shops, the amazing view and a great river float. I would recommend this property for any group of 4 to 6 people. Less than that would get pretty pricey.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Denali Park and Mt. McKinley Gateway: Luxury in the Alaska Forest!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412866vb
(714) 717-8830
Talkeetna Alaska
Bethesda, MD
5

Wonderful in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house is wonderful. Modern and comfortable, nestled in the woods. Plenty of room for our family of four. Very convenient to "downtown" Talkeetna and to the Montana Creek and Supermarket. We were greeted with wondereful treats from the Flying Squirrel Bakery when we arrived for our 5 night stay. we loved it and found it cozy and charming with all the comforts of home. My daughter ran out the swing when we got there. Talkeetna was so wonderful. Great activities - fishing, zip lining, denali a couple hours away, horseback riding, hiking, rafting.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2