Red Wing chateau / country house rental - View from the back of the home. Lots of windows and views that go on for miles.
View from the back of the home. Lots of windows and views that go on for miles.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps20
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Red Wing Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Chateau / Country House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 19+)

This property is just a short, scenic 30 mile drive SE of the Twin Cities in the bluffs along the Mississippi River Valley.

This vacation rental home offers great bluff views of the country side, with 5 acres and lots of privacy. Easy access to historic Red Wing and Hastings. It is only a 50 minute drive to the Minneapolis Airport and Mall of America.

Five separate large bedrooms and 4 FULL bathrooms make up this property. One bathroom has a jet tub, and another has a large soaking tub and shower. There is also a loft, family room and rec room which has sleeper sofas that can be used. The beds accommodate 20 people, and an additional 7 people can use the convertible beds offered throughout this spacious 3600 sq ft home. Easily sleeps 20-27 people.

A-frame style home with lots of windows which face south to get the natural light. Dining room area with seating for 13, plus lots of room to setup additional folding tables for seating for 25 total. The dining room has a nice stone gas fireplace. Updated kitchen with newer Jenn-aire appliances (two ovens, gas stove, microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator), and family room with an electric fireplace and another table with seating for 4.

Spacious lower-level great room with large screen TV, DVD player, and lots of movie selections. There is also a table to play games or socialize. Basement has recreation room with pool table, ping pong table, and dartboard. There is also a wet bar with refrigerator for entertaining guests. The basement bunk room has a table and TV with video games for the kids.

Outdoors you can enjoy the spacious deck and ground level patio with views of the open country side and wildlife. The hot tub can be used for relaxing after a busy day. There is a gas grill for BBQs. Equipment is provided for volleyball, basketball, bocce, croquet, and bean bag toss. The home is air conditioned and heated with lots of parking. Boat launch for area lakes or river is just minutes away. Red Wing and Hastings also have biking and hiking trails. The area has ski and canoe/innertube close by. Treasure Island Casino is a short 8 minute drive away, and access to the Cannon Valley Trail is very close.

Additional pictures can be found at our website under the WELCH Tab. See the additional link info below the rates.

SPECIAL NOTE: We have another comparable property in the Red Wing area. If the calendar is booked, still contact us and we'll see if our other place can accommodate your group! Similar pricing and size. Or click on the 'additional listings' link found below.

The hot tub is only available from April-November. Its use is extended only as a courtsey to guests and is granted on a case by case basis. Check with owner on availability.

Keywords: Mall of America, Large, Hunting, Fishing, Golfing, Ski, Minneapolis, River, Water Sports, Private, Acreage, Vikings, Twins, Firepit, Volleyball, Basketball, Family Reunion

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 300710 in Red Wing, Minnesota

Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
average rating of 4.769231 based on 26 reviews
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
4

Bachelor Party

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Normally these renters aren't to keen on the idea of bachelor parties but were nice enough to work with us on making this a great weekend for my friends and I. This place had everything...seriously everything. The house was amazing. Beds for everyone, the kitchen was a great(wonderful appliances and everything you would need to cook with), huge table to eat and play cards at, and a basement full of entertainment. Also there is a hot tub and pool. Looking forward to renting again with other couples and having another great weekend.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
Hartland, Wisconsin
5

The absolute best for our family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Within the first 24 hours of staying at Country Cove our family of 15 said we had to reserve it again for 2014. It was the perfect place for us! Country Cove had it all: plenty of bedrooms, 4 full baths, a great kitchen, lots of storage, a pool with a deck, a hot tub and a great fire pit we used every night.. There were lots of pool toys, bumper pool and foos ball table in the garage, and a large pool table and ping pong table in the lower level. I could go on and on with the amenities. The place was clean and well maintained. It was especially nice that the kids room had a video game system that allowed the grownups to sleep in a little. The owner was very helpful and easy to deal with. We can't wait to go back. We have recommended Country Cove to several friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
Des Moines, Iowa
5

Awesome home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful home. The accommodations were absolutely perfect for our family get together. There were more than enough beds, and the kids loved the bunk beds. The rooms were large and spacious. The kitchen was gorgeous and fully stocked with all the pans, dishes, silverware, and utensils we needed. And the kitchen table was large enough for us all to gather around. This home has so many perfect sitting areas--we could have stayed much longer than 2 nights!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
Knoxville, TN
5

Unveiling Women's Retreat

Unveiling Women's Retreat
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a great time! Thanks so much to the owners for letting us come for the second year. We have enjoyed the views from the windows that surround us in the meeting area and kitchen. The house has suited our group perfectly. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and it is always clean. We even enjoyed a snow storm :-) It seemed odd that we would not rush home when they called for snow to this Tennesseean! But we stayed and enjoyed the white stuff and left with no problems at all. Great place for a get away!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
SE MN
5

Great Owner, Great House, Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our group of eight rented this house for a ski vacation at Welch Village. We were very impressed with the rental process and the property itself.

The ski hill was very close, I think 15 minutes from this location.

First off (and most importantly), the owner was incredibly easy to work with. I contacted him over VRBO, and had a response within the day. I had a few requests that varied a bit from the standard contract, and he was able to quickly respond to those requests and was very accommodating. Through the entire process we knew exactly what was expected of us. Arrival and departure procedures were very clear. Two days after checking out, we had our deposit check in our mailbox. By far the smoothest rental process I have ever encountered. If you have had nightmare owners before, you know how important this is.

The pricing was flexible based on the number in the group, so it could accommodate a small group such as ours or a large group without being cost prohibitive.

Walking in the house, we were astounded. Once you get there, you will feel comfortable. Spacious and comforting are the two words that best describe the house.

We stayed with eight people, but it could easily accommodate many more. There are five bedrooms, and all but one can sleep more than four people. The large dining room table was great for eating meals. The house made it easy for everyone to hang out in one space, but get away somewhere private if needed.

All equipment you could possibly want to cook with was there.

I never believe an internet review if there are no negatives, so I always try to include them in any review
I write. There are only a few minor quibbles that we experienced while there.

The TV in the upstairs living room does not have an HD signal. If it was not a Vikings playoff game, we would not have noticed.

They do ask that you leave all dishes clean and back in the cupboards that they came from. It would be nice if you could leave one load of dishes in the dishwasher. There are already people that come to wash bed linens, maybe they could put away that last load of dishes. We had to wait for the breakfast dishes to run before we could put them away and leave. We could have washed them by hand, but we're lazy, dangit.

These are very minor, and are greatly overwhelmed by the positive aspects of the rental. I would not have included them if the rest of my review was not so positive. Overall, I could not recommend this location more. Cannot wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
Bloomington, MN
5

Perfect Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a marvelous time over the holidays bringing together multiple families under one superb roof. The Kitchen was glorious with two ovens and plenty of cookware to cook for the masses. The large open room where the table sat was also perfect to accommodate large or small gatherings depending on how many wanted to eat at once. The hill in the back yard was perfect for sledding, and there was even a christmas tree already there! We would describe our stay as magical. Everything was so well labeled we could easily find things and put them away properly, and everything seemed to have been thought of, including some small tools which helped us get toys put together for Christmas morning. The owner was easy to work with and quick to respond, even over the holidays. This may just become a permanent family tradition we loved the house so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your Christmas gathering. We do try to include all the kitchen items you might need for large family meals. The dining room area is a wide open space where you can setup multiple tables and it works well for the large gatherings. And the 5-acre property allows for lots of outdoor activities no matter what the season is. Hope to see you again next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
Grimes, Ia
5

Girls Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The house was fantastic!! It was very clean and well stocked! We brought everything we needed for the weekend, but didn't need to! The house has everything you could possibly need..... from kitchen utensils to household papergoods. The house is in a beautiful setting and has a great layout! ENJOY!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the house and the layout. It works well for a girls weekend. Thanks for the nice review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
5

40th Birthday Party

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Ridiculously Spacious. Meticulously clean and clutter free. Unbelievably organized with everything you could possibly need... Every possible kitchen utensil and appliance to entertain a large crowd. Plenty of games and things to do with a nice fire pit and hot tub. We used it for My Wife's 40th birthday party. Slept 5 couples with ease in the 5 large bedrooms. There was enough room to bring our kids... hmmm... maybe next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad your group could enjoy the hot tub and the bonefire pit during your time. The home provides lots of room to spread out and relax. Glad you had a fun time celebrating your birthday.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
Eagan, MN
5

Excellent house and location!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house was great and everyone in our group loved it! Very large, equipped with every amenity, and we could not have asked for anything more. I would definitely recommend this house to others and we absolutely plan on going back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your time. We would love to have you back!
business
Larger Home - Peaceful, Spacious, and Scenic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300710vb
(952) 484-0112 (Minnesota, USA)
Red Wing Minnesota
Springfield, IL
5

Warm and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our bicycling group from Springfield IL which consisted of 13 older adults spent a week in this Country home and could not have been more pleased. Everything shown on the pictures was very accurate. There was more than enough room for our group from housing our bicycles to the preparation and eating of meals or just relaxing.
The owner of the home was excellent in answering questions and gathering information for us. The location is a very easy 40 minute drive to the Twin Cities and about a 7 minute drive to the Cannon Valley Trail at Welch MN which incidentally has the best ice cream in the area!
If the opportunity presents itself, we will return. Thank you Ken!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We get lots of sporting groups coming through to use our home. From snowmobilers to boaters to golfers to skiiers to fishermen to your group of cyclists. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy the home and the nice biking trails around the area. With the Cannon Valley Trail so close to the home, it is easy to connnect to most of the regional biking trails. I agree that the Welch ice cream shop has the best ice cream around. Please visit us again sometime. Thanks.