Kailua Kona condo rental - Evening on the lanai
Evening on the lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

You can't imagine how good it feels to relax on our lanai and soak in the sights and sounds of the waves rolling in. This corner unit has the benefit of side windows in every room which makes it light and airy. This building also has larger rooms and an elevator which stops on every floor. There is a comfortable king size bed, as well as a queen size sofa bed for guests. The kitchen was just remodeled with granite countertops and plenty of room for storage. The living area hasnew wood floor, comfortable chairs and a table for dining inside as well as out. There are also two TVs in case our visitors have different viewing tastes. Free Wi-Fi.

This oceanfront complex is one of the most popular as it is but a short stroll to the downtown area. The oceanfront and adjacent beach offer many opportunities for sunbathing, swimming, snorkeling , surfing, visiting tide pools, spotting turtles and watching sunsets. From the lanai, you can spot dolphins, whales in season, cruise ships, paddlers and surfers. If that doesn't keep you busy, nearby Kona Village has many restaurants, shops a popular farmers' market, and art galleries.

Swim in our pool or relax in the jacuzzi after a day of sight seeing. Enjoy the friendly BBQ and eating area. Spend some time at Kona Reef and you will fall in love with this condo and this island. We look forward to helping you make your vacation time everything you hoped for.

Keywords: Oceanfront complex overlooking pool and ocean near downtown Kona

More Details
Hide Details

Kona is our home. After traveling alot, we decided to buy property on the Big Island. We lived in our condo in Kona Reef when we were not traveling until just recently when we bought a house nearby. We had fixed up our condo in Kona Reef with thoughts that that would be our permanent home. We loved the location and listening to the waves rolling in. We still miss our condo, but are busy with gardening and working on our new house. Since we are on island, we can make certain our condo is clean and ready for our guests. We hope we can make your vacation with us very enjoyable.

Linda Keeling purchased this condo in 2002

We love traveling. We had lived on a sailboat and blue water sailed for 9 years in Mexico and the South Pacific. We were looking for a place like some of the islands in the South Pacific, but an island in the U.S. that would be closer to family. We had been to many of the Hawaiian islands but none were as diverse and interesting as the Big Island called 'Hawaii'. Kona has mild temperatures and sunny skies most of the time, which allows us to pursue our outdoor interests. Aloha

The property is well cared for and people working here are very friendly and helpful. Our unit is located at a higher elevation than most in the complex so we get a lovely view from a secured unit. Being a corner unit with side windows and balcony allow for the marvelous cross breezes and keep us cool and happy. The elevators stop directly at the floor levels in F building allowing for easy access and are larger in size than one bedroom units in other buildings.

21 Reviews of Property 300638 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
average rating of 4.6875 based on 21 reviews
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Gainesville, VA
5

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We have stayed in this condo for the past two years and will return again in Jan. 2015. It is a bright, airy unit that is very well supplied. The owners are in the area and are a delight to work with. We have had only one small plumbing problem that the owner dealt with immediately. They are constantly upgrading the unit and are available for any questions, concerns. The location is wonderful - we were always walking into town (3 min. walk) for a meal or coffee. It is always hard to say goodby to the lovely condo and view from the lanai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Loved our stay at the Kona Reef

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Hawaii and our stay at Kona Reef. Owner's description was totally accurate and pictures depicted condo perfectly. The view from the unit is incredible and we so enjoyed sitting out on the lanai relaxing and take the beauty in :) Kona Reef property is spotless. My main disappointment was the lack of any type of fitness centre and the addition of even a small fitness room would be my recommendation to the Kona Reef property! (And, of course, Hawaii has ample other outdoor opportunities for fitness!!) Lots to do and see... you will not be disappointed with a visit to Hawaii and a stay at the Kona Reef. The condo owners were quick to respond to any inquiries and very accommodating. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Gorgeous Sunset

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed in this unit for 7 nights. It was a pleasant stay. The room is spacious for 4 of us. Linda was kind enough to provide an extra good quality air bed so everyone in our group have had good sleeps. Linda even bought a rice cooker for our needs. Thank you, Linda. The sunset from the balcony was the highlight of this unit. The location is pretty convenient for our needs. We went to Cosco/Safeway for grocery shopping. We went to "Two Steps" and Captial Cook Monumnent for snorkling, which are all within 30 mins driving distance from Kona Reef.
The thingings you might want to think twice for this unit: It's back on the Alii drive, so you can hear trafic noise which does not bother us too much but if you are light sleeper, you might want to skip this one. The appliance in this unit was pretty old. We were struggled with the oven a little bit. The floor was petty dusty and the carpet in the bedroom does not look clean to us as well.
Owner's Response: We thank our guests for their review. All of the concerns have been addressed. We want to apologize to our guests for the "dusty floor". As we live on the island, we try to get in to look at the unit before guests arrive, but we do rely heavily on our cleaning service. We noticed the bathroom floor looked dirty. We immediately called the people who clean for us to look at the unit. They promised they would take care of it before our guests arrived. Apparently they didn't keep their word. I spoke with our guests twice while they were here, but they never mentioned the dirty floor so I assumed it had been taken care of. Whenever there is a problem, we ask our guests to speak to the office or call us.
When these guests left, we immediately visited the condo only to find that the floors had not been cleaned properly. My husband and I packed up cleaning supplies and spent that evening on our knees with scrub brush and toothbrush scrubbing everything. It now looks the way it should, and we are constantly checking on the cleaning service.
After hearing that the oven was a problem, we purchased a new stove which is to be installed this weekend. We also just purchased a lovely new couch for the living area. As far as the carpet in the bedroom, it appears clean but we will give it another cleaning. We try to please our guests and keep our condo "top-notch".
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
US
5

Perfect Location with Comfortable Surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I stayed a week in the unit and I would have enjoyed staying another week. My wife and I are retired, enjoy walking, enjoy cooking, and love sunsets. The condo fit these requirements beautifully. We walked easliy to the shops and watched the beautiful sunsets each day. The stainless steel grills are in excellent shape and are great for grilling while watching swimmers or grilling steaks. I noticed that the maintenance lady was always out early cleaning the pool area as well as the grills. The landscaping around the pool area is meticulously kept and we enjoyed our walks down the sidewalks to the pool area. Everything in the kitchen worked and it was equipped with everything that we needed.The king bed was comfortable and lots of towels and swimming gear were found.

The condo complex is older but well maintained and would not be classified as a luxurious complex. One AC, mounted in the wall in the living room, is used to cool the unit. On several afternoons, when the sun was hitting the sliding glass doors, we used the AC and it seemed to work find. We didn't use it at night.

Linda, who owns the unit, is definitely responsive to emails, calls, etc. I was impressed with her timely responses even though she was in Mexico when I arrived. If you have any problems while staying in the condo, I believe that she would quickly deal with them.

My wife and I are 70 y.o. but we decided to try the Kilauea Iki Trail at Volcanoes National Park. We made it and I would highly recommend this adventure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vancouver
3

location location location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
First, the good parts: fabulous location that allows an easy walk to town, full of lots of restaurants & little gift shops. Also, great view, nice to watch the sunset over the ocean every evening on the roomy lanai. Overall the condo is pleasant.
Now, the problem areas: we arrived late in the evening. The air conditioning (one unit in the living area) had not been on all day, and the place was *suffocating*. This wasn't helped by the fact that there had clearly been a smoker in there recently. In reality, even with the air conditioner on, the bedroom was always on the warmish side. I would *URGE* the owner to replace the drapes in the bedroom with some kind of blinds (and add blinds to the windows in the kitchen as well). The sun pours in every morning, heating up the place. We looked at all the windows, and almost all the other units had some kind of sun-blocking blinds.
Also: the pull-out bed in the living room (needed some use because of the heat in the bedroom) was lousy. Like sleeping directly on the springs.
Fixing these 2 items would make this a 5-star review.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thank our guests for their reviews. It is important for us to continue to find out if there are any areas of concern for our guests. When a guest does have any problem, we would appreciate it if they would let us know immediately so we can take care of it at that moment.
I can understand how someone who is used to the cool weather of Canada might find Hawaii to be very warm especially at first. The unit was occupied and cleaned that same day so it shouldn't have been that warm. Air conditioning should only be on when a guest is in the unit. Just opening the patio door and all windows are usually enough.
As far as new window coverings, we are looking into a change. We just used heavy tinting on the BR windows to keep out the sun. To allow for air flow, the drapes might still be the best thing. The kitchen has a louvered window, blinds would not work, but we will try a shade.
Lastly, we did not know that our guest might be using the living room sofa bed. It is almost impossible to keep that a comfortable bed. We have replaced mattresses and parts. If we had known they were going to make use of it, we would have offered them the use of a new comfortable queen size air mattress. Many owners have done away with the sofa bed, and we will probably do that also.
Again, thanks for your comments. Please remember we live on island and are here to help.
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vancouver
5

Great vacation get-away spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful apartment. The condo was perfectly located, both inside the property and in relation to nearby restaurants and shops. The lanai—with its fabulous sunset & ocean view--got lots of use, and the attractive kitchen was well-equipped. Parking was extremely convenient, and the check-in was quick and easy. The grounds of the property were beautiful and very well maintained, and a terrific beach was right across the street. We were there with our adult children, who also loved the place. They enjoyed playing tennis as well as the hot tub and pool, and were able to snorkel at the nearby beach. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Kona Reef F11

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The room was a nice room, some upgrades but not the entire condo. New counter tops that were beautiful.The bathroom drawers couldn't be used because they were broken.The bedroom carpet was in need of replacing or at least a very good cleaning.The aircondioner didn't really reach the bedroom so there was a fan which was much needed. The view was wonderful and the lanai as well. Great corner unit. Other reviews mentioned the road noise, this was never a problem.Great location.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate all reviews. If something seems broken, we would appreciate hearing about it immediately so we may fix it. We checked the bathroom drawers. There was nothing wrong with them, except someone had taken them out and not put them back on the track. We try to keep everything very clean for guests. We only have carpet in the bedroom. It gets alot of use. We will soon put a wood floor in that room as we did in the living area. Remember let us know about any way we can help you while you are in the unit. We live on the island and can take care of your needs in a responsive manner.
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Ventura, CA
5

Great view, comfortable living

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This vacation property is great. Everything is very clean and up to date. Great view of the waves crashing on the shore from the lanai. The office management was helpful, just now check in is after 3. We had one mishap but Linda and Tony gave us a call and sent someone over to take care of it. Excellent walking distance from downtown Kona (shops and dining).
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

The perfect vacation in Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The minute we walked into our unit at Kona Reef we knew we had found the perfect home-away-from-home. The view is really lovely. One of our favorite early morning and late afternoon pastimes was to watch the waves from the lanai. We enjoyed the pool area, the grass between the pool and ocean, and the little beach next door. Kona Reef is situated just far enough from the center of town so we could enjoy a walk and yet not be too far from all amenities. Tony and Linda were wonderful to work with; we couldn't have asked for a nicer reception, more care, or a better furnished unit.
Lava Java and Bongo Ben's were great breakfast places; Sam Choy's was the perfect night out for dinner. When we return to Kona we know where we will be staying.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kona Reef--Beautiful Oceanview, Corner Unit,WiFi, King size bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300638vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Half Moon Bay, CA
5

Kona Reef Unit #F-11

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed in this unit for 5 nights from Dec 19, 2012. Location is excellent - it's close enough to the downtown and shopping area, yet it's in the quiet area. The unit has ocean view, nice pool, clean and well maintained. The booking was easy. If we have a chance to go back to Kona in the future, I would certainly stay in this condo. Thank you Linda.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2