Longboat Key house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
Minimum Stay nights
 

Longboat Key House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps (10-14)

Set on 2 acres of land on a private island, this new home (completed in 2010) will provide an island vacation experience for you and your family like no other. The house has 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms and an outdoor shower. All rooms view out to Longboat Pass, with 300 feet of beachfront, palm trees, and private dock. Sunsets are spectacular. Great boating water and use of paddle boards, and kayaks. The two upstairs 2-room bedroom suites sleep up to 5 each, and all bedrooms open onto decks. The Master deck has a claw-foot tub with hot and cold water. The house opens on both the east and west side with 4 pocketing 12 foot sliding doors opening onto large screened decks for lounging and dining. Fully equipped kitchen with Su-Zero, Wolf and Kitchen Aid Appliances. Sound system with IPad/IPhone docking and High Speed Wifi. Surrounded by fine-dining, one of the prettiest beaches and amazing fishing, there is plenty to keep you busy – or swing in the hammocks and order Pizza to be delivered.

Your hosts built built this dreamy private island getaway within an easy 40 minute boat ride from their principle home. Mr.Ellis is an award-winning luxury home builder in Sarasota, Florida (MyGreenBuildings) and Mrs. Ellis is an RN, active Mom, focused on health and wellness, and a local leader in advocating for animal welfare issues.

Stephen Ellis purchased this house in 2011

As an avid yachting family, The home was designed like no other to capture views, breezes, and the materials and furnishings used in the home reflect their best memories of yachting in New England, Buzzards Bay and the Islands of Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, the Caribbean and San Juan Islands of Washington and throughout Florida and the Bahamas..

The view, amenities and the private location is beyond compare. The home is sought after by It has been published in 8 different local, regional and national glossy magazines, as well as news-papers and television. The anonymity of our guest list is paramount.. so perhaps the most common unique benefit for our guests -- who have included famous actors, athletes and public figures -- has been the absolute privacy of the location, completely disconnected to the rest of the world -- yet still very close to everything with a boat.

9 Reviews of Property 3006320 in Longboat Key, Florida

Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Westchester County, NY
5

Relaxing, private and fun for all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We spent a week at this wonderful home with another family. The large yard for frisbee throwing, island exploration, tree house with its own hammock and sand bar just off the beach made every moment fun. The many water toys (paddle boards, kayaks and canoe) kept kids thrilled with adventure. That is, when they could leave the rope swing. The open kitchen was ideal for a large pancake breakfast, and the screened areas were perfect for cocktails. With great restaurants a short boat ride away, meals were an excuse for fun as well. Mid-week, the property owner called to check in He graciously made us all feel at home, as welcome guests, at this spectacular property. Those of us who needed to get a bit of work done over the week had quiet spots and reliable internet access. Over all, this is a great property for togetherness with family and friends and gave us memories to last a lifetime.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Chicago
5

Wonderful getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family of eight stayed at this beautiful home for a week and had a fantastic experience. The house is nicely decorated and has everything you need to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Our three children enjoyed playing in the sand, kayaking around the island, walking to the sandbar, and riding the zip line. Captain Kathy and Harry's Kitchen were the perfect resources to make this a completely stress free trip. The owners were also very helpful. And to top it off, the sunsets from the house were amazing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Awesome property, great family fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The Island House is deserving of its many accolades. Why travel to the BVI, when you can get the same ambience and experience stateside? The house was perfect for our group (4 adults plus 5 children ages 4-9), and comfortably sleeps 10. Meals were fun and easy, using the full kitchen and large teak dining tables. Each morning we would open the large sliding doors on each side of the home to inviting tropical breezes. The kids would run down to the beach and jump in the owner's kayaks (both child and adult sizes available) and/or the paddleboards. The water is shallow close to the shore, and the kids can safely paddle over to the nearby sandbar to explore and run around. Several swings are available for the smaller kids, as is a small fort. The zip line was a big hit, as was fishing off the dock. Fish caught included snapper, flounder, and sheepshead (nearby Cannons Marina has live bait). The property is clean and well maintained. Having a washer/dryer is always a bonus. Following sunset, a campfire with S'mores is a must! We had our own boat, which allowed for visits to nearby restaurants including Mar Vista (recommended). This is the perfect property for a family vacation!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are so happy that your stay was so terrific. It's what we aim for when sharing this slice of heaven with our fabulous guests! All our best, Catherine and Stephen
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Florida
5

This is where you go to "get away from it all"

This is where you go to "get away from it all"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have rented many vacation properties over the years and this is the best one yet. We are very particular about cleanliness and the home and property were spotless. Views from both sides of the house as well as from the private beach. There was a private dock with close access by boat to restaurants, bars and shopping, although we spent most of our time right on our own private island. Perfet for your furry family members with hoses to wash them off after a day on the beach, and outside gated deck for them to dry off. Owners were very helpful in answering our questions and had great information on nearby attractions. I would not only recommend this property to friend and relative, but plan to return again. Its the perfect place to unwind!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Chanhassen, MN USA
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented this amazing property for the entire month of March. I had a need for two business retreats and also a family getaway. Not only did we accomplish both, but we had an amazing time doing it. Steve had the place immaculate, helped us arrange a rental boat for our stay, connected us with all the local sites and sounds. It was just awesome.

We held the business retreats first (what a great and productive environment). So many large hangout areas which I love and with both of the huge sliding glass windows opening up the entire space and two massive decks, there was always a beautiful breeze. We would do business for a few hours and then our business partners could go on the boat, paddle board, walk the island, lay in a hammock, go kayaking, fish off the dock, hang out or lay in the sun. Then back to work. Then back to play. It was just great.

When the business was done, the family started showing up. Overall we had maybe 20 people in and out over the remaining 2 weeks. Ten people can sleep there very comfortably. We created tons of memories with my kids and extended family. My mom and dad were there practically the whole month which made me happy.

I actually thought we'd go a little nuts being on the island so long but we didn't at all. We'd take the boat to a great restaurant close by, or go into Longboat Key. One day we took the boat all the way down to Siesta Key which was fun.

So much happened, it is kind of hard to get it all in. The kids loved the zipline. We caught probably 20 different kinds of fish right off the dock. We loved playing on the sand bar when the tide went out. The sunsets were amazing. I could go on and on. Actually I guess I already have. :)

The bottom line is, if you want a great place for a business retreat, this place is magical. And if you want a great place for your family, even a large one like ours, it's just perfect.

I couldn't recommend it or endorse the owners more highly.

Hope this helps!

Eric & Marina Worre
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

AMAZING PLACE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We spent 9 days at this amazing house on this amazing Island. We had a range of ages, from 80+ down to a 6 month old baby. Great common spaces for meals, hanging out and relaxing! All the toys you could ask for and more! Dog friendly, close to many restaurants and shopping, but very private. You need to rent a boat, but very easy to dock... recommend pontoon boat for beginners...

The owners are incredibly accommodating and friendly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
5

Executive retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The property was excellent, beautiful and worked really well for all of us. Captain Kathe, Jimmy the Limo driver, and Nathalie all did very well and made the trip very relaxing for all of us.

One of my guests asked me how long I had known all of you because everyone was so friendly and they thought we had known each other forever.

Great trip and I hate to leave. I would certainly go back. The owner was very accommodating and great to work with.

Thanks again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Chicago
5

Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This is a truly magical place for all. The attention to details in this house are amazing, the owner (Steve) thought of everything imaginable for a family stay. It's truly a unique and authentic experience. This place is perfect for families who are vacationing with other families.

We stayed a week with our three young children (ages 9, 7 and 6) and it was the best vacation we have ever taken. The kids had a blast and wanted to stay longer - they even said it was better than Disney World. If you are thinking about taking a tropical vacation, this is by far the absolute best choice. There are so many things to do and your in the best location in Florida.

The home was clean and well maintained. There was plenty of room for our family and it was fully equipped from the furnishings to the kitchen amenities. We had a gorgeous view that inspired our entire trip. The pictures don't do it justice. We had a boat, so we were able to enjoy many sites from the water. I want to especially thank the owner (Steve) and his wife (Cath) for their kindness in answering all of our questions and making themselves available before, during and after our stay. If you want a relaxing, enjoyable, and luxurious vacation on Longboat Key then stop looking for a place to stay. This home is the perfect spot for your vacation needs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your gracious review. We are delighted that your stay was so much fun. What more can we ask...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Private Island Retreat - a Luxurious Getaway for Memories of a Lifetime
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006320
+1 9419287991
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Spectacular Get-Away - Not easy to leave!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed at this beautiful home with two other families and loved every minute of it. It was much more than we expected.

The owners are incredibly nice and go out their way to make sure everything is to your liking. The house is very well designed without a single unusable space. The beds are very comfortable and the kitchen is amazing. Then there are the spectacular sunsets, the well-maintained property and the surrounding area.

I don't know where to begin to describe how well suited this place is for a get-away. The island is just across from Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island, and only a short drive into downtown Sarasota. But because the house is only accessible by boat, you feel as if you're in the Caribbean, thousands of miles from the big city. You won't want to leave even after a month.

The kids were never bored either. There was fishing, tubing, paddle-boarding, jet skiing and some of the best beaches in the country.

We will definitely be back next year. We all agreed this could easily be a yearly ritual for us.

Thanks again, Steve and Catherine!
Helpful votes: 2/2