Mariposa house rental - Our spacious Butterfly Ridge Vacation Home is 1800 sq. ft. plus attached garage.
Our spacious Butterfly Ridge Vacation Home is 1800 sq. ft. plus attached garage.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Mariposa House Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA (sleeps 8) 1800 sq. ft, full kitchen, pool table, family friendly

Enjoy breathtaking views of the Sierra foothills from our Butterfly Ridge Vacation Home at 3200 ft. above sea level! This comfortable well-maintained 1800 sq. ft. home has 2 BR/2BA and a well equipped kitchen. We can accommodate a party of 8 people comfortably with one queen size bed, 2 double beds, a queen-size sleeper couch and an optional queen-size inflatable mattress. Central forced-air heating and air conditioning throughout. A paved road and driveway lead to this quiet, private and nicely landscaped 5 acre lot. You'll have easy access to Hwy. 140, only 2.5 miles away. From there you can choose to go northeast to Yosemite National Park (only 29 miles from the home) or go southwest to historic Mariposa (7 miles from the home) for shopping, dining, groceries, interesting museums and the picturesque 160 yr. old Mariposa county courthouse, the oldest continually operated court house west of Missouri. (tours available)

Your family will never be bored here. We have a professional-grade 9 foot pool table in the game room. The living room has a designated game table supplied with lots of board games, playing cards and poker chips. We have a collection of children's books and books about Yosemite Park and local hiking trails. You can enjoy Playstation 2 video gaming on our 52 inch LCD TV, or watch satellite TV and crystal clear blu-ray movies in high definition. Included among the blu-rays are three acclaimed BBC Earth sets: Planet Earth (4 discs), Human Planet (3 discs) and Life (4 discs). These are magnificent and informative documentaries depicting the wonders of our planet and are great for family viewing. Brochures, maps and books about the area provide a way to plan your stay. Things to see and do in the area include dozens of incredibly scenic places and hikes in Yosemite Park, rafting on the Merced River, swimming, fishing, mountain biking or walking along the Merced River at Briceberg, swimming and boating at Bass Lake or Lake McSwain, and interesting walks and hikes in the Mariposa area. Mariposa also hosts concerts in the Art Park every summer weekend and has several art galleries. The county park is a great place for families to visit, providing a large swimming pool, tennis courts, basketball court, picnic areas, a skateboard park and a concert venue.

This quiet property is far away from city lights and secluded from neighbors. On moonless nights, you can clearly see the milky way spanning the sky - something that you will never see under the bright city lights. It is a mesmerizing moment that your family will never forget. We also have mature grape vines and fruit trees in our backyard. Feel free to pick and eat from them when you visit us in the right seasons!

Natural foliage on this hillside property creates habitat for deer families, squirrels, rabbits and dozens of bird species including humming birds. The back yard is chain link fenced to keep the deer away from the grape vines. This provides a safe enclosed space for small children to play without wandering off.

Linens, bedding, towels, paper goods, trash bags, dish washing and dishwasher soap and hand soap are all provided. The kitchen is fully equipped, with attention to detail, and has everything you'll need to prepare and serve your meals. The brand new dining table seats 8 in comfortable ergonomic padded chairs.

Guests are welcome to park in the attached garage. There are parking spaces for a total of 3 vehicles at the house, including the garage. A brand new crib and high chair are stored in a closet and are put out for guest use upon request. There are 2 mountain bikes in the garage that guests are welcome to use.

More Details
Hide Details

On behalf of the owner, Yosemite Vacation Rental Management takes loving care of this vacation home and it's guests. Headquartered in Mariposa, we make sure that the home is clean and ready for you upon arrival. We are on call to promptly answer any questions or needs you may have during your stay. We manage this beautiful property for the owner who lives in the San Francisco Bay area.

Magdalena Beall purchased this house in 2012

We love outdoor activities and stargazing. This property is far away from city lights. It's seven miles from the historic and charming town of Mariposa and only 29 miles from the west entrance of Yosemite Park along Hwy. 140. We love the natural peace and quiet shared with the deer and singing birds. Partake of the fruit of our grape vines and fruit trees in season. This is a wonderful family friendly home.

Magnificent views of the Sierra foothills and the setting sun. Star gazing is amazing in this rural setting without bright lights to interfere. Easy access with well paved roads. Quiet and private country setting with all modern conveniences. Located on 5 acre property. There are neighbors but you won't hear them or see their homes in these wooded hills. Lots of privacy and nature.

12 Reviews of Property 3005880 in Mariposa, California

Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 12 reviews
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

New Management in 2014!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Since January 2014, Butterfly Ridge Vacation Home has been managed by Yosemite Vacation Rental Management, of Mariposa. Since that time the owner has invested in a lot of brand new furnishings, including a queen-size sleeper couch and 2 comfortable swiveling leather recliners in the living room, a new dining table and chairs with seating for 8, new quilts and sheet sets, new towels, children's toys, and numerous items to make the kitchen truly fully equipped for cooking and dining. There are lots of beautiful new pictures on the walls and some new books about things to see and do in Yosemite. We've been pleasing guests in our vacation rental homes since 2001 and we treat our guests the way we ourselves would like to be treated. We're always available and responsive should any question or need arise during your stay. We live only 7 miles away. Rest assured that the home will be clean and well cared for when you arrive. We strive to deliver a hassle-free and pleasant experience so you can enjoy your vacation. We sincerely hope that you and your family will come with confidence to enjoy the wonders of Yosemite and other beautiful places close by, here in the Sierra foothills. We wish you a wonderful time of family fun and bonding. We keep a thorough information manual about the home and the area on the kitchen counter. Nevertheless, always feel free to call us before, during, or after your stay for advice on things to see and do, to get a question answered or a need taken care of. Wishing you the very best!
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Serene, Nice, and Fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
It was really nice to stay at the property with great views and lot of games to play with. It was hassle free stay! Thanks Billy!
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Fairfield, CA
5

Awesome Place!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house is super nice and the view is amazing :)) My kids love it and I will come back again!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Beautiful view, cozy home and perfect for a family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had adults and children staying in this home and it was perfect! Game player, books, movies, and board games for all ages... Pool table, nice kitchen open to the living room ! We enjoyed sitting outside the most at night staring at the stars. It is a drive up a few steep turns, but we had a large SUV and no problems. The owner has great communication both via email and phone and answered promptly with any questions I had. I would definitely refer and stay here again. It is past Mariposa a few miles toward Yosemite so maybe 45 minutes to the park!
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Best Yosemite Trip Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
we have 6 people and totally all of us enjoy the trip. The view from the property is just purely spetacular. Quit, peceful and top mountain view with all the games and fully equiped kitchen and living room, literally, you don't need to bring anything there. The owner is a very nice guy as well. Overall, take it while it's still available, you won't regret!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Boston, MA
5

Mariposa Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
A great place. Very convenient in all aspects.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
United States
5

Nice home with excellent views for relaxing after a long days of hiking!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The home was nicely equipped, clean and spacious! After spending the day in Yosemite, we thoroughly enjoyed eating dinners on the patio and relaxing with awesome views of the Sierras and the sunset (and later the stars). The grape vines in the back are breathtaking and we saw several deer attempting to get some snacks during our stay! The location was one of the closest we found to the Yosemite valley and the drive was beautiful along the the Merced. Billy (the owner) was very helpful and efficient to work with.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Fort Collins, CO
4

Secluded, Peaceful, Great View

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed here while visiting both Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks on our Wedding Anniversary vacation. It was a good centralized location for our sightseeing. The house is very private and quiet … perfect for unwinding at the end of a busy day. The home is spacious and simply furnished. We particularly enjoyed breakfast under the grape arbor.

The town of Mariposa is cute and has a lot of options for groceries and dining out. The property owner was easy to work with and we appreciated how easily the payment system worked. The only things we missed were more pots, pans and utensils (corkscrew, etc.) in the kitchen and Wifi for internet access.

Otherwise it was a perfect place to rest our heads while enjoying the beautiful scenery in this part of California.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and constructive criticisms. I just sent more kitchen supplies on July 26. Wifi is live, and Satellite TV on 9/1. We try our best to make sure our guests have enjoyable experience with us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Monterey Bay area
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This rental has many nice extras and is very comfortable and welcoming. Not only was it very clean, much of it looks brand new. Our young adults enjoyed the pool table and we all enjoyed watching blu-ray movies on the large flat screen TV. Great selection of high quality videos for all ages. We were lucky to be there on moonless nights. It was so dark outside that we could see the milky way in a beautiful sky. Fantastic view from the house of the Sierra foothills for miles around. We enjoyed the nearby CA State Mining and Mineral Museum and convenience to Yosemite. The availability of wifi in the house was really handy. The owners have been very responsive and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family Friendly with Panoramic Views, Close to Yosemite Park & Historic Mariposa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3005880
+1 209-200-7086
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Ventura, CA
3

Average

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Home is 45 minutes from Yosemite El Portal entrance and 1 hr 10 min from Yosemite Valley. The kitchen could use more basic utensils (e.g. cookie sheets, grater, mixing bowls, 1 and 2 - quart sauce pans, wisk, serving spoons, serving bowls); as well as more place settings, more silverware, more glassware to reduce the number of times you have to run the dishwasher. We left a wine opener for future guests. Suggest you bring basic cooking spices since there's only sugar, salt and pepper. Beds were comfortable, but more pillows are needed in master (not everyone likes to sleep on Theramapedic pillows). Also suggest adding another lamp to master room for bedside reading. Loveseat in living room - no sofa. Good selection of board games. No cable TV (real bummer since its a nice TV), so bring your laptop/iPad if you want to read/view the news/current events. Washer/dryer is a plus. Suggest owner leave a list of things to do in Mariposa and surrounding area; as well as a list of instructions (e.g. how to run the AC/water cooler; portable grill in garage; whether it's okay to park in garage; etc).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am the property owner. We are new to the vacation rental and always take our guests suggestion seriously and constantly make improvements to the house. Our kitchen equipments are on par with most vacation rentals in the area. More kitchen supplies will be delivered to the house before the end of July. Satellite TV will be available on Sep 1. In the meanwhile, I have provided blurays and dvds for entertainment. Our garage is clean and clutter free. I always provide the garage code to our guests for you to conveniently park your car. Some of your issues were never communicated to me during your stay. Please note that I have posted my personal cell phone number in the house. The professional cleaning company I hired is just 15 minutes away. I am very responsive to phone call, voicemails and emails. I always try my best to accomodate your needs.