Eureka Springs cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Eureka Springs Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 2

Historic Hockaday Cottage nestled behind the main house on Spring Street is right in the heart of the city cradled in a beautiful private garden and yet only steps to the action of the downtown area. The cottage is 2 story with a sitting area and bedroom upstairs which houses a four poster bed with down bedding. The full kitchen and bath are downstairs. Bath has a soaking tub and shower which sits under an antique stained glass window.

The cottage was originally a carriage house for horses and carriage storage for the original owner Homer McLaughlin and his family in the 1880's. Later he turned the top floor into a small local grocery where the gentlemen would sit beside the wood stove and play cards. When we restored the cottage we found old newspapers and playing cards in the walls as well as tobacco stains on the floors around the original wood burning stove. I can just imagine the stories that were made up in that room......

13 Reviews of Property 427434 in Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 13 reviews
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
4

Private Location Close to Town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We arrived on Friday night and found the keys under the welcome mat just as promised.
Cottage had everything we needed and was the perfect size for 2 people.
We enjoyed the privacy and the short 10 minute walk to town. We are a younger couple and had no trouble with the stairs in the cottage or the steps up and down outside to our vehicle and walk to downtown. It may be difficult for older travelers or anyone with disabilities.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
5

Enjoyable Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Great history and character of the Carriage House Cottage. We liked the layout of the kitchen and bathroom, especially the extra storage areas and cubby holes. The bed was very comfortable and the owners were very accommodating. For restaurants in the area, we would recommend Local Flavors, which is a little pricey, but the food was excellent! Also, for home coking at a reasonable price, we would recommend the city café.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
Nashville, Tennessee
5

Cozy, Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This place was like nothing we've ever seen. So cozy and quiet. Very unique! So much history. Great host. Great with communication prior to and after our stay. We celebrated our 35th anniversary while we were here. Perfect location. We will remember this place and promise to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
Where do you live?
5

Highly recommend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife, our four-month old son and I stayed here for a full week in October and enjoyed every bit of it. The location is great and in good walking distance to downtown. Their is actually a trolley stop just a short walk away.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
5

Relaxing get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you so much for providing a delightful little cottage that is just the right walking distance from downtown, but on a level with downtown! It is just a pleasant evening stroll to the heart of the action, but being a carriage house, has a home between the cottage and the street, so there is NO noise to disturb in the cozy upstairs bedroom. Loved the stained glass in the shower, beautiful touch! Sleek modern kitchen made it just perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
-
5

Lovely Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you so much for providing a delightful little cottage that is just the right walking distance from downtown, but on a level with downtown! It is just a pleasant evening stroll to the heart of the action, but being a carriage house, has a home between the cottage and the street, so there is NO noise to disturb in the cozy upstairs bedroom. Loved the stained glass in the shower, beautiful touch! Sleek modern kitchen made it just perfect.
We have already been referring you out to our friends.
Loren and Janet
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
5

Carriage House Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We arrived in the dark. We almost made it without having to call for help but we were two houses from it and didn't realize we were that close. At night the little carriage road is dark but we made it just fine.
We unloaded and got into the cottage and it was just darling. You enter upstairs into the bedroom/sitting room. Off to the side is a tiny stairwell that takes you to the kitchen and bathroom. The stairs are a bit tiny so be sure and hold the hand rail and watch your footing. It didn't bother us in the least bit and just added to the charm of the place. Kitchen was roomy enough for two and there were two muffins and orange juice in the fridge for us. How nice! We made coffee each morning and the coffee, sugar and creamer were provided for us. The bathroom was clean. The only thing that kind of made me uncomfortable was the stained glass window in the shower. I assume no one could see anything but a shadow taking a shower. LOL The towels were nice and fresh and there are places and bins for all your toiletries while you are there. We drove to town and couldn't find a parking place one day so we drove back to the cottage and walked to town. It ended up being about a mile to and from and walking all in town. It was not bad at all plus you can see all the springs along the way and look at all the cute houses. It is just so beautiful in Eureka Springs.
Our favorite restaurants were "The Local Café" where they serve fresh clean foods, "The Mudd Street Café" where they serve breakfast and lunch, and "DeVito's which is Italian and a must to eat at. We just didn't have enough time to eat at all of the fine establishments.
Stay in the Hockaday Cottage...you will not regret it. If you have a group of more than two...there are several rentals on this one little carriage road. Call Joe or Dani and I am sure they could find places for the rest of your group so you could all be close together.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We are very happy that you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
5

Great spot and nice place for the money

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Good spot and great price. Very private setting and close walk to downtown / shopping area. Very nice decorations/ clean and smelled great inside. Got to meet Joe at the local restaurant Casa Colina. Nice guy.
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
Abilene, KS
5

A Quiet Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We just spent four wonderful nights there. It's so peaceful, and within walking distance of the Crescent Hotel (for the ghost tour) and the shopping and restaurants of the downtown area. The air conditioning worked well.and we slept great. We didnt use the kitchen much, but it was very nice too. I loved that the place has history and is so charming.
We would definitely stay there again. We had a great experience!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427434vb
+1 479 981 0055
Eureka Springs Arkansas
Little Rock, AR
5

Loved this romantic carriage house!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved the renovation on this carriage house! My boyfriend and I have been to Eureka a few times and this was a very romantic rental. The renovation and interior design of this historical carriage house was very well done. The furniture, decor, and bedding was high quality and created a very home like feel. I also have neck and back problems so I am always concerned about mattress quality when I travel. However, I found the mattress to be very comfortable! One recommendation I have is for different towels in the bathroom. The towels were very soft and plush but not very absorbent. However, this was just a small thing that we noticed. We felt like the description and pictures provided on VRBO was absolutely accurate! We were also very pleased to have fresh flowers in the room when we arrived. We found the heat and air to work perfectly and there was a lovely smell in the room each time we entered. It did get cold at times downstairs but we used the baseboard heater and extra heater in the bathroom and it warmed right up. Overall we had a lovely time and were very pleased with this property! We love Eureka and we will absolutely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2