Water Island condo rental - Honeymoon Beach-Bring your book and beach chair. Swim in warm, azure water.
Honeymoon Beach-Bring your book and beach chair. Swim in warm, azure water.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Water Island Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

If we do not have the availability you need, please inquire about VRBO # 331951.

Water Island was described as 'A Homeland Treasure' in the front page, feature article of the Boston Globe travel section (December 6, 2009).

Windswept 2 is a newly constructed (2009) two bedroom, two bathroom oceanfront, semi-attached condominium perched on a cliffside. It is one of five condominiums located on this 1.3 acre property with breathtaking views from every window. At night enjoy the sparkling lights of St. Thomas across the bay. Listen to the waves crashing against the rocks, the trade winds blowing and taste the salt from the ocean on your lips.

Enjoy your morning coffee on either the front or back lanai watching the cruise ships arrive in St. Thomas Harbor. In the evening, enjoy cocktails at the swim up bar, in the 12X30 shared pool, overlooking Flamingo Bay. If you tire of lounging around the pool, the warm turquoise waters of the Caribbean can be enjoyed at Honeymoon Beach, which is a short five minute ride in the four person golf cart available during your stay. You will find Heidi's Honeymoon Grill on the beach offering lunch most days of the week. New for the 2013-2014 season is Dinghy's on the beach which offers lunch, dinner and drinks seven days a week. On Saturday evenings, you can enjoy the true island experience of an excellent gourmet dinner, served by Heidi, on the beach (In season). Relax with the sound of the water lapping at the shore and the sun setting over the ocean.

For a change of pace, St. Thomas is ten minutes away by public ferry offering shopping and world class restaurants. If golf is your passion, the beautiful golf course, Mahogany Run is located on St. Thomas. After enjoying the city amenities, return to quiet, laid back Water Island where golf carts out number vehicles.

Inquire if additional space needed. This villa can be rented with VRBO #331951.

Keywords: Tropical paradise, high end, surrounded by mesmerizing views, turquoise water, gorgeous nearby beach

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I live in Falmouth, Maine. I am a retired Portland firefighter and my wife is a retired nurse. We love to travel, meet new people and see amazing places. We love living on the rugged coast of Maine most of the time. Our winters can be long and we always look forward to escaping to the warm tropics.

Charles & Karen Dumond purchased this condo in 2009

A few years ago, friends told us about a piece of oceanfront property in the Caribbean that housed an old five-unit military barrack. Our friends were looking for four other couples to build a total of five units on the site. While my wife and I never considered the possibility of owning oceanfront property in the Caribbean, this seemed like a great opportunity. Without even discussing it, my wife and I looked at each other and said 'yes'.

In 2006, we put a down payment on the property, before even seeing it. We had never heard of Water Island! If our adult children did something like this, we would call them irresponsible!

Stepping on the property for the first time was unbelievable. How could we not have known about Water Island? The pictures we had seen just didn't come close to the amazing views all around. Maybe we weren't so crazy after all! This was definitely one of those 'Once in a lifetime opportunities!' We knew immediately that owning a vacation home on this spot was going to be very special. We could not believe that we had been lucky enough to fall into this and kept waiting for everything to fall apart!

For the next three years, we planned and worked towards completing this villa from our home in Maine. No easy feat, and lots of 'oh by the ways!' Building on an island is difficult enough, doing it from a distance, adds to the fun!!!

In the Fall of 2009, our vacation villa was completed adjacent to the villa of our good friends. We started sharing it with family and close friends. Their first reactions on seeing Water Island and Windswept were: 'Unbelievable, gorgeous, breathtaking!'

In 2010, we had our first rental guests. We consider ourselves fortunate to have wonderful guests who enjoy Windswept and Water Island as much as we do. We love to hear that we have helped them have a relaxing vacation and truly get away from it all. We get a lot of satisfaction from helping people create lasting memories and hope you are our next guest!

Coffee in the morning on the front patio while watching the sun come up over the tip of St. Thomas as the cruise ships enter St. Thomas Harbor. Dinner time drinks at the swim up bar as the sun sets in the west. Riding around the island in the golf cart and stopping for lunch at the beach. Saturday night dinner on Honeymoon Beach as the sun sets and the Monday night movies at the beach. Quiet evenings with the only sound being the waves crashing against the rocks below and the trade winds blowing.

18 Reviews of Property 265978 in Water Island, Virgin Islands

Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Cape Porpoise, Maine
5

The perfect spot on Water Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Everything you could want or need is provided, the water views are equally captivating from the back or the front of the condo, and the breezes are delightful. Upon arrival, the cleanliness was immediately apparent and the entire property was meticulously maintained.
There is nothing you need to do, but relax and enjoy your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Biddeford, Maine. USA
4

Self, wife and cousins

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We found that the Villa was exactly as described when we decided to rent it. The views were spectacular. Everything we needed for the week was there. Very clean. Honeymoon Beach was really nice and quiet even when people from the cruise ships were there. Katie was very helpful when we needed her and made us feel at home right from the time we arrived on Water Island. The only thing we had difficulty adjusting to was the high winds and the time of the last ferry in the evening. Couldn't have asked for better weather as was full sun and mid to high 80's for the entire duration of our stay. Had a very good time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Connecticut USA
5

Windswept II Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Wonderful property in a beautiful location. Views from every window, and the breeze is amazing. The condo was spotless and appointed beautifully. There is nothing to want for, other than to spend more time there ! The pictures do not do it justice. It is perfect. The property managers Katie and Warren are gems and respond to your every need promptly and are just wonderful folks. Highly Recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We feel fortunate to have such great on island property managers for Windswept as Katie and Warren. They take great care of our guests and the property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Bowling Green, Ky.
5

Smith's from KY

Smith's from KY
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a GREAT place to vacation. Everything was perfect. The views are awesome , 2 completely different views & all you have to do is turn around. Katie & Warren , the property managers, were very helpful & answered any questions we had. We loved driving around in the golf cart & checking out the scenery. We would highly recommend this rental. We hope to make it back again. The beach never had more than a handful of people on it even when the cruise ships were in.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Boston, MA
5

Top notch family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Windswept 2 was a perfect spot for our recent family vacation with our 2.5 year old son and 10 week old daughter. The condo is beautiful, clean, and offers more 'extras' than we have ever seen in our many home rental experiences (for example, batteries, beach coolers, flashlights, ziplock bags, tupperware, snorkel gear, baby bathtub, stair gate for children, duct tape, spices, and I could go on and on). The extras are super helpful because there are no restaurants, grocery or other stores on island (though they are easily accessible via the 12 minute ferry over to St. Thomas).

We loved the pool, which is treated with salt and is very gentle on the skin, and used the excellent BBQ almost every night. The steady breeze kept us comfortable day and night. We literally watched the sun rise over the water each morning from our bedroom, then on the other side of the condo while sitting at the outdoor dining table we watched the sun set over the water each evening (AMAZING!). The owners, Karen and Chuck, were very helpful and gracious (we received a beautiful thank you card from them when we opened our mail on our return home!), and the property managers on island are top notch. We look forward to returning in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Keller, TX
5

A Week in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a wonderful place to stay on Water Island. We actually spent our first night in St. Thomas in the Presidential Suite at the Marriott and all agreed we preferred Windswept. The couple that manages the property for the owners was fantastic to deal with, met us at the ferry dock on time, helped us with our luggage and anything we needed during the week. The owners of the condo were incredible to deal with right from the first contact to the handwritten thank you note we had waiting for us when we arrived back home.

It was my wife and I and our 8 and 10 year old daughters on this trip and the condo was perfectly appointed for us. The beds are comfortable. The house has A/C only in the bedrooms but even in the middle of Summer you didn't need it elsewhere in the house. The breezes are magnificent and keep you cool and keep the bugs away. The pool was great and the kids spent most of the time we were at the condo in it. The condo has wonderful sweeping views of the Atlantic and the Caribbean from each side and St. Thomas in the background. There is not an amazing view from any angle. The house is appointed with great furnishings and actually had spices and some cooking staples, which was really nice as there are no restaurants not the island. We got all of our food from the small store at the Crown Bay Marina. It was half as fresh and 3 times as expensive as normal but you can't beat the convenience.

We took the golf cart down to Honeymoon beach most days by late morning and usually stayed until Sunset. All of our new friends at Heidi's set us up with an account for the week so that we didn't even need to remember to bring money to the beach with us and we ate their great food and tasty drinks all week while the kids played in the sand and swam in the warm and very calm water of Honeymoon beach. Other than the times the tour groups were docked at the beach, there were often only a handful of other people there. Sunsets were amazing.

We also took the owners recommendation to have Captain Joe take us out on his boat for a half day of snorkeling at Buck's island. He picked us up right at the Ferry dock on Water island. This was a great alternative to the crowded party boats that you have to go to St. Thomas for. Captain Joe was filled with great info and gave us a great tour which allowed us to see a shipwreck, tons of sea turtles and other great wildlife.

We won't hesitate to come back to Water Island and Windswept.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Minnesota
5

Honeymoon Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We spent 7 days of bliss on Water Island at the Windswept 2 property. The property manager, Mark, was very helpful. hospitable and friendly. The accommodations at Windswept 2 are superb. Everything needed was there ... tourist information, quality linens, air condiitioning in the bedrooms, snorkel gear, spices for cooking, outdoor grill, a golf cart for island exploring, laundry in the condo .... etc., etc. No expense was spared when this property was built and decorated. The outdoor space was unbelievable and the views spectacular. We took a dip in the beautiful pool on the property a couple of times each day and spent several afternoons on Honeymoon beach just a few minutes away. All the "islanders" we met were very nice and we felt comfortable and safe at all times. Needless to say, we fell in love with Water Island on our first vist and have many fond memories staying at Windswept 2. We look forward to returning to this wonderful island and property. We feel we could not have picked a better place to honeymoon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a wonderful experience. We arrived to Water island for a romantic honeymoon and could not have asked for anything better. Mark met us at the dock and made us feel right at home. The condo is absolutely beautiful and immaculate. The views are spectacular from the front to the bay and the back to the caribbean. The first day we made our way to St. Thomas to stock up on provisions and once again a quick call to Mark and he was more than helpful with tips and suggestions for stocking up. The pool is absolutely perfect. We would spend the day exploring St. Thomas and return to cool off and relax in the pool. The golf cart was great for getting around the island or for just exploring the beautiful island views as we did one day. The masterbed is 5 star! Absolutely the most comfortable and what a view watching the sun come up in the morning! Thank you for allowing us to enjoy this experience and be sure to give Mark and Vicki our thanks for all their help and friendship.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Bright's Grove, Ontario
5

Tim and Jennifer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Windswept was absolutely amazing. The property is well maintained, and stocked with all of the comforts of home, including very comfortable beds. It is exceptionally clean, with fresh linens. The views were absolutely stunning, with both back and front views of the ocean and the bay to see all of the cruise ships arriving and leaving. The verandahs are huge, and allow outside access on both levels to enjoy the incredible vistas. There was always a lovely breeze to keep us cool at night - little need for the air-conditioning. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool - it was kept at a refreshing temperature and very clean. The couple who take care of Windswept were very friendly and helpful. They met us at the dock and helped transport luggage, and intermittently 'checked in' with us to make sure everything was ok. They offered all kinds of tips about where to explore and the upcoming 'events' on the island. We were concerned that our two kids (aged 8 and 10) might be bored - however the island offered lots to do and see. We have been on 11 Caribbean-based cruises over the past, and Honeymoon Beach is one of our favourites. The water is warm and calm, and teaming with tropical fish. The snorkelling there was a lot of fun, and there was a great variety of sea turtles and birds to check out also. The grocery stores in St. Thomas were well-stocked. The bbq grill on the property really helps with easy dinners. Heidi's on the beach also offers freshly grilled burgers and hotdogs that are excellent - it's like a 'cheeseburger in paradise' experience!! The owners of Windswept were very accommodating and helpful - an absolute pleasure to work with. I highly recommend this property - we couldn't think of anything that disappointed us. We can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Windswept 2: Oceanfront, Spectacular Views, Pool, Nearby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265978vb
+ (207) 838-6521
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Park City, UT
5

Everything and more!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This place was perfect! We went on a girls trip to relax and get some sun and Windswept was everything we had hoped for and more. If you are looking for a place where you can walk out the door a few steps to a great pool and a short jaunt to honeymoon beach this is it. The furnishings are amazing and comfortable, The beds are first class as well as the bedding. The beach was great for relaxing and swimming. The kitchen is stocked with good equipment, and basic spices. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax by a great pool, have coffee while watching the sunrise and hang out on an uncrowded beach-- this is it! I can't wait to come back with my family!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway