Hawkins cottage rental - This huge mimosa tree welcomes you home.
This huge mimosa tree welcomes you home.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hawkins Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom with great view of the lake with dock , 1 bath, sleeps 4

This quaint, fully-furnished lakefront cottage is perfect for family vacations, guy's fishing retreats, girl's getaways, a couple of couples or a romantic getaway with your honey. Overlooking one of the clearest, spring-fed lakes in Texas (the same aquifer that Ozarka and Nestle gets their spring water feeds Lake Hawkins), this 1-bedroom, 1 bath has everything you need to get outta town and forget about the 'real world' for a while. The bedroom, with a Queen-size bed and the Queen-size sleeper sofa in the living area can accomodate a small family or 2 couples. Watch the sun rise over the lake from the deck as you're enjoying your morning coffee. Enjoy our screened-in cabana, private boat dock for securing your boat, fishing, swimming and sun-bathing and lots of room to play, walk, run, cycle, motorcycle or just chill. A public beach at Lake Hawkins County Park is down the road, just a few minutes away. You’ll want “our place” to be your “your place” for your next intimate getaway. Ask about our pontoon boat rental for a complete lake experience!

We're 100 miles east of Dallas, 100 west of Shreveport and within minutes of Mineola, Gladewater and Jefferson with scores of antique shops, lakes, wineries and some of the best fishing, boating and motorcycle riding in the country! Lake Fork, Lake of the Pines, Lake Palestine, Lake Holbrook, Lake Winnsoro, Lake Gilmer, Lake Quitman are just minutes away. So spend a weekend on beautiful Lake Hawkins or spend a week and fish them all!

Need more room? Rent our 2-bedroom next door instead, or rent them both and get a $100 discount. HomeAway Property ID 3004982

More Details
Hide Details

Allen and Rhonda are semi-retired and live nearby within the community. Rhonda is artsy and creative. Allen loves to fish and ride his Harley. Both are very involved and active their local church and both love to make music and enjoy serving people.

Allen/Rhonda Sanders purchased this cottage in 2012

We have lived on Lake Hawkins for almost 10 years in a fabulous log home and my neighbor decided to sell her little weekend place. So with a little TLC and my wife's creativity, we fashioned this great little cottage into something that looks like it belongs on a Montana river or off the coast of Maine. Its pitched ceiling, exposed beams and a tastefully-decorated fishing motiff, just feels like you're miles from everything.

14 Reviews of Property 3004923 in Hawkins, Texas

Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
5

Perfect for a quick get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Had a fantastic time at this little lake cabin. Perfect for a quick getaway from DFW. Owners live nearby and were super helpful and kind. Rented the pontoon boat, and had a blast out on the water. Fully equipped for everything we needed. Plan on bringing all your own kitchen supplies--even oil and seasonings--but the town is a quick ride away if you need to run to town for anything. Loved our stay here, and will be going back!
Owner's Response: Hi Katie - so glad you guys had a good time - I already got your reservation booked for you bringing your kiddos out (looking forward to meeting them too). I'll have the pontoon boat all fueled up and ready to go for you. See you again soon - Allen and Rhonda
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
Carrollton, Tx
5

Great cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Wonderful little secret nestled on Lake Hawkins. Bedding was new and comfy; updated kitchen and bath; terrific view of the lake. Owner was very helpful with directions; our dog was welcomed; everything was spotless. Would highly recommend-just not when we want to return!!
Owner's Response: Wow - thanks for all the kind words. Sounds like a place I would love to say in - hah. Sure enjoyed meeting y'all and look forward to your next stay with us. I'll try not to book it for someone else when you want to come back. Waddaya think - same time next year?

Thanks again and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Allen and Rhonda
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
Dallas, TX
5

Everything we needed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The cottage had everything we needed to enjoy our getaway from the bright lights and bustle of the big city. It was clean and comfortable, and came equipped with everything necessary to make it a "home away" from home. The setting is beautiful and serene, and Allen and Rhonda made us feel very welcome. We dined on the patio of the little Italian restaurant down the road and watched the night come on over the lake, and I couldn't imagine a better setting! I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for a fall getaway where you can watch the moon's reflection in the water as it rises, actually see the stars, and enjoy peace and quiet.
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
5

A Great Getaway Spot - Has Everything You Need

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cottage was perfect for us. It had everything we needed, especially being on the water and a fire pit. The kitchen is fully stocked, a dvd player, and there is even a washing machine and dryer. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend the Hawkins Cottage.
Owner's Response: Wow Don - thanks so much for the kind words. We really enjoyed having y'all stay with us and are looking forward to your next trip out.

Thanks again,

Allen and Rhonda
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
Aviano, Italy
5

Comfortable, quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
It was providence that we contacted Allen about another of his properties for a last-minute weekend getaway to celebrate my husband's birthday and he told us about this little gem. We found the cottage to be clean, well-equipped and very charming. The pier, with its screened in area, was perfect for our two-year-old son. When he tired of fishing, he could go in there and play with his toys or even watch a movie on our laptop and we didn't have to worry about his safety. We enjoyed the pedal boat and the fire pit was my son's favorite part of the entire weekend because he got to make Smores. We would return without hesitation! Allen and Rhonda were very accommodating to us. The little Italian restaurant down the road was some of the best Italian food we've had since we lived in Italy (please note, it's bring your own beer or wine). Overall, the cottage was a great way for us to get out of town and getaway from it all. We would love to visit again!
Owner's Response: We so enjoyed having your sweet little family here and really glad that your husband could build a roaring fire for his family on his birthday. Making smores (or snores, as my grandson calls them) in the firepit is always a hit. Isn't the Italian restaurant awesome? I just love the owners and their kiddos. I'll never forget the first time I met their son fishing off the dock with a rock tied on his line. I tied a hook and a plastic worm on his line and you would have thought he won the lottery!

We really hope that your getaway plans include us again in the future.

Blessings,

Allen and Rhonda
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
5

Quiet, quaint, getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We wanted to get away, but, our children are not welcomed everywhere (Johnnie Quest-Siamese & Bandit-Pekechee). Allen and Rhonda didn't have a problem with us bringing our children along. We stayed for almost and week and enjoyed every minute. Allen and Rhonda go out of their way to make you feel at home and make the most of your "down time". We look forward to returning often to enjoy the beauty of Lake Hawkins and this beautiful little cabin. You'll feel right at home!!

If you need something a little larger there is another cabin next door.
Owner's Response: Sure enjoyed having y'all come and chill with us for a while. Pretty hard to work up the energy to head back into the Metroplex after "detoxing" for a few days isn't it? Look forward to having you and your crew back in a few weeks.
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
5

We so prayed to find the right spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I literally called and reviewed 50 plus cabins and lake areas for the right spot for a much needed family getaway. I kinda felt like Goldilocks - not too big, not too small, not too cheap, not too expensive.... this was it and JUST right...lol! But seriously this was the perfect place to get away from it all - even my cell phone hahahaha. My husband was happy about that.

Anyway, I can't say one bad thing about this and it would take a whole page to say all the good - but everything described was absolutely on point and surpassed our expectations. We loved it and we will be back several times over. So, Allen & Rhonda we need a frequent vacationer card next time. :) Thanks guys for sharing your piece of heaven with us!

Prayers & Peace~

Rachael, Troy & "I caught a fish first" Layla
Owner's Response: Rachel, we sure enjoyed having you, Troy and Layla stay with us. AND, I'm so glad that Layla caught that big ol' bass!! It was still a little cool when you guys were here, so get your reservation in for the cottage and for the pontoon boat for when they're biting a little better. I'll get busy on that frequent vacation card - hah. Look forward to having y'all back real soon.

Allen and Rhonda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
5

Fabulous Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed here during the winter and it was amazing. Peaceful and charming. I can only imagine how wonderful it must be in the summer. We are city folk so it was so nice to be in this setting and see the stars at night. The cabin is cozy and has everything you could want for a lakeside stay and the hosts are gracious and welcoming. We certainly are eager to go back and stay again.
Owner's Response: Well stop imagining how great it's gonna be in the summer and come on back out. I agree, on a clear night the stars are just breath-taking. I wasn't born out here in East Texas, but I got here as soon as I could - and I definitely consider this home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
5

A great get away cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was a very nice place! My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. It was quiet and the owners were really nice to both of us. The cabin is a great place for a couple or a small family. The interior was very neat and taken care of. The view of the lake was fantastic! Especially at sunrise in the cabana. I would most definitely stay at this place again in the future!
Owner's Response: My wife and I are huge believers in marriage and family and we love to have honeymooners stay with us. We pray God's best on your future together. We'll be expecting you back for your anniversary - hah! Just kidding...not really.

Warm regards, Allen and Rhonda
business
Lakeview Cottage Sleeps 4 with Great Amenities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004923
+1 903-769-3999
Hawkins East Texas
5

Perfect in every way!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We loved everything about this place. We stayed here for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer, more beautiful location, or to have rented from nicer people!! The owners are the nicest people we have ever met and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.The cottage has everything you need in it. Beautiful cabana. Perfect for just you, a couple or even parents and kids. The view was spectacular!! We WILL be coming back in the summer!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow Lindsey, you're too kind. We sure loved having you and your honey honeymoon with us - well, not with us, just with our place - hah. Like I told some other honeymooners, we're expecting you back on your anniversary. Blessings on your marriage and your future - Allen and Rhonda