Sunset District house rental - Sunset view from the bedrooms.
Sunset view from the bedrooms.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Sunset District House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

We aim to make your stay a memorable one with comfortable beds, a spacious ocean-view home, and many amenities. Easy parking too!

Our two-bedroom home was built in 1936, and has hardwood floors, crown molding, formal living and dining rooms, gourmet kitchen, and romantic wood burning fireplace. It is quite large: 1500 square feet. In the center of the house there is a glass-ceiling atrium, filled with palms, anthuriums, orchids, and other tropical plants. There are spacious views of the Pacific Ocean and Marin Headlands from each bedroom, with gorgeous sunset views (when it isn't foggy, of course!). We love bed and breakfasts, and have included some of the amenities found there, including thick fluffy towels, high quality soaps and shampoo, a 52-inch plasma TV (for Netflix, HuluPlus and DVDs only--no regular television), and free coffee and teas. In the event you arrive late and can't shop, we provide milk and cereal to get you going in the morning.

Our comfy queen-size beds have thick mattress pads and comforters, and 500-count cotton sheets. Although ours is officially the safest neighborhood in San Francisco, we provide a small safe which you may use to store your (small) computer and other valuables. There is an inflatable bed which we will provide for a fee, in case you wish to stash a child or two on the living room floor to sleep.

Our home is furnished in a comfortable, eclectic style, with items collected over the years from travel, auctions, and gifts from friends and families. If you happen to be a PG Wodehouse fan, you are in luck; we have a great collection of his books, as well as many other authors you may enjoy.

Every neighborhood in San Francisco has something to recommend it. We love our neighborhood, the Inner Sunset, for its great shops and restaurants, quiet wide streets, and lovely parks. Garrison Keillor, host of 'A Prairie Home Companion' on NPR, recently listed the Inner Sunset as one of the four top places to visit in San Francisco, along with Golden Gate Park (4 1/2 blocks from our home), Muir Woods and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Our area is safe and quiet, with low housing density and easy parking. There is good access to other neighborhoods via the N Judah trolley line, 2½ blocks from our house. We are about 12 blocks from the renowned UCSF Medical Center, for those who will be visiting family there.

This part of the City has many large parks nearby, which offer beautiful, secluded walks, large trees, many great music events, museums, and much more. After a long day of work--or sightseeing-- it's great to walk on the beach (ten minute drive from house), then go to one of the numerous inexpensive restaurants within a short walk or drive of our home. On one of those cold, foggy nights, just hunker down at home, light the fireplace or watch a movie and order takeout.

We want you to have a great stay in the city we are proud to call home. We live in a separate downstairs unit, and are always willing to help with maps, suggestions on places to eat, and things to do. Bon voyage!

More Details
Hide Details

43 Reviews of Property 3004446 in Sunset District, California

Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
average rating of 5.0 based on 43 reviews
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Great and Safe place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This beautiful home away from home was so nice to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. My daughter and I loved the comfy beds and thick towels. There is so much to do and using MUNI was easy. There are great restaurants all over SF. Having a car for Sonoma, Napa, and Muir Woods was great. It is easy to get over the bridge and back. Easy parking on street near apartment. John and Shelley are great hosts. They have lots of tour books, etc. about the SF area. The tile stairs near apartment are a must. Thanks again for our first time to SF and your hospitality!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We couldn't believe how homey and spacious this apartment was! We were glad to have all the things that we needed. The grocery and restaurants near by were a blessing. The walk to the Golden Gate park was well worth it! A car is needed, if you plan to venture to Napa, Sonoma, or Muir Woods. Plenty of parking on side streets! We enjoyed using the MUNI system and was easy to use. Having a MUNI card from Walgreen's was helpful. We bought a 3 day pass so we could ride trams, buses, and trolleys. There is so much to see and do. John and Shelley will make your stay a great one. We loved the thick towels, comfy beds, and having the atrium for morning coffee. Loved having the SF books to see what it was like in earlier years. It shows that the hosts love their city. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Orangevale
5

A peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Everything about this rental was easy, from the rental process, contacting the owners, the beautiful apartment & the location. Owners replied promptly when contacted, answering my questions & giving helpful info. Finding the rental & parking was easy, even with sis & I both driving big vehicles. The rental is beautiful, well-furnished & very interesting; décor reminding you of different parts of the world & lots of variety. There are lots of doors, so I was able to close the living & dining room off from the bedrooms for more privacy/quiet while Mom slept. The whole place has such a peaceful feel, is quiet & was so comforting. The kitchen is spacious & well stocked with good quality dishes & cookware, & everything from a dishwasher to an espresso machine, & extras like spices, olive oil, & wine, which was great for us since we cooked & ate in. They start you with the basics (milk, cereals, coffee, teas, cream, sugar, etc) so you don’t have to rush out to the store right away. There are many thoughtful little things we kept discovering, like q-tips, perfume, & books about the city in every room, extra jackets, umbrellas, pillows & blankets, it’s obvious the owners have put a lot of love into this place. Be sure to keep an eye out for the little labels everywhere, very helpful & humorous. The bedrooms have an amazing view! You can see the sunset district, Golden Gate Park & the ocean. We watched the sunset every night but one (too foggy – so we enjoyed a fire instead) & it was spectacular! All the beds are very comfortable, even the air bed, & linens were really nice. There is a large flat screen TV in the master, with access to Netflix & something else, which I forget the name of. There is no TV service, but plenty of movies, documentaries, TV series, etc. The atrium is so filled with light, even when it was foggy. A beautiful little sanctuary right in the middle of the home. We used the Wi-Fi a lot, & it works great. There were 2 connections you could access, & I found that if I went from the front of the house to the back with my laptop, I had to switch connections, but that was simple. This is near the Moraga steps & Grand View Park; don’t miss these, it’s one of the most spectacular views in SF!! You can walk to it & it’s free. We loved this place so much, thank you John & Shelley for such a sweet haven during Mom’s surgery – we’ll be back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Orangevale
5

A Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Everything about this rental was easy, from the rental process, contacting the owners, the beautiful apartment & the location. Owners replied promptly when contacted, answering my questions & giving helpful info. Finding the rental & parking was easy, even with sis & I both driving big vehicles. The rental is beautiful, well-furnished & very interesting; décor reminding you of different parts of the world & lots of variety. There are lots of doors, so I was able to close the living & dining room off from the bedrooms for more privacy/quiet while Mom slept. The whole place has such a peaceful feel, is quiet & was so comforting. The kitchen is spacious & well stocked with good quality dishes & cookware, & everything from a dishwasher to an espresso machine, & extras like spices, olive oil, & wine, which was great for us since we cooked & ate in. They start you with the basics (milk, cereals, coffee, teas, cream, sugar, etc) so you don’t have to rush out to the store right away. There are many thoughtful little things we kept discovering, like q-tips, perfume, & books about the city in every room, extra jackets, umbrellas, pillows & blankets, it’s obvious the owners have put a lot of love into this place. Be sure to keep an eye out for the little labels everywhere, very helpful & humorous. The bedrooms have an amazing view! You can see the sunset district, Golden Gate Park & the ocean. We watched the sunset every night but one (too foggy – so we enjoyed a fire instead) & it was spectacular! All the beds are very comfortable, even the air bed, & linens were really nice. There is a large flat screen TV in the master, with access to Netflix & something else, which I forget the name of. There is no TV service, but plenty of movies, documentaries, TV series, etc. The atrium is so filled with light, even when it was foggy. A beautiful little sanctuary right in the middle of the home. We used the Wi-Fi a lot, & it works great. There were 2 connections you could access, & I found that if I went from the front of the house to the back with my laptop, I had to switch connections, but that was simple. This is near the Moraga steps & Grand View Park; don’t miss these, it’s one of the most spectacular views in SF!! You can walk to it & it’s free. We loved this place so much, thank you John & Shelley for such a sweet haven during Mom’s surgery – we’ll be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review, Leila. It was a pleasure having you stay, and we are very glad your Mom did so well with the surgery. Come again any time!
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Sonoma County, CA
5

Steve & Sue

Steve & Sue
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Such a luxurious, decadent home John and Shelley have! Five star, top of the line comfort and it came with everything. Down bedding, leather couch and chairs (yum!), beer and wine ready for us in the fridge.
I know John and Shelley love to travel and so many pieces in their home are one of a kind from all over. Just walking room to room and admiring took an hour. I then asked John to tell me about each piece and "the story". We didn't watch TV and minimal use of our personal electronics, which gave us quiet time to rummage through their collectable and rare book library. So many books, our favorites were Harry, Lost in San Francisco and Emily Post's Book of Etiquette, the original edition!
We loved our stay there.
The location was perfect. We walked to Golden Gate Park twice. Jumped on the N Train for Thai food down by the ocean. Drove a few blocks for the best bakery in town.
On our last night in the City, we experienced the best Italian food and culture the city has to offer. Trattoria Da Vittorio, 150 W. Portal Ave. They don't take reservations and are fairly small. But they said "come on down, we'll make room." There was six of us and when we arrived we knew immediately there would be a bit of a wait. Vittorio said it shouldn't be long... About an hour. By then we knew everyone's name, what part of Italy they were from and had shared complimentary Persecco and bruschetta. Once we sat down the incredible service continued. The food was fantastic.
We are looking forward to staying at John and Shelley's incredible home again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Tampa/Spring Hill
5

Old Charm, Highly Recommend, Everything provided a traveler would need

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I stayed four nights in this beautiful home for our honeymoon. We could not have asked for a more beautiful home. Antiques and interesting décor abound. I even took a picture of the crown molding because it was so ornate.

The kitchen was large and fully stocked with all the spices one would ever need to make a gourmet dinner. I made lobster stuffed salmon and wild rice the first night. We ate by candlelight using the candles on the dining room table. The fire was lit in the wood burning fireplace using a log provided by the wonderful owners. The owners thought of every detail that would be needed by travelers down to leaving shower caps for those who might need them. They left two bottles of wine for your choosing. And we ate all the chocolate left for us. My husband and I are both chocoholics and the Ghirardelli chocolates and the M&Ms were sooo good.

The bed was like a cloud. The views of the Sunset District down below and the Pacific Ocean off in the distance from the bedroom was really nice.

Parking was easy as we rented a car. We did not use the car too much in San Francisco. But we rented because we were going to Yosemite for four nights as well and also we drove down the coast one day.

In San Fran we used city transportation via the MUNI system. We used the N train that goes to Judah and 19th to go into town. It stops at Powell for the Cable Cars and it stops at the Embarcadero for a transfer to the F line that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf. My only suggestion is, if you take the N train and have a car, park on Judah or at the bottom of the hill close to Judah or you will have a hefty walk up steep hills to get to the house when you come home at the end of the day. We also figured out the regular city bus transport as well. Bus 28 will take you to several places you may want to see and stops near the house.

San Francisco is a great city and we did it all. Alcatraz, Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, walked across the Golden Gate Bridge, Alamo Park, etc. If you have a car and don't mind finding places to park and paying parking rates, or taking a taxi, or better yet, if you are not afraid to use the city MUNI system, this home is highly recommended.

We did meet John the owner only by a chance meeting. He was in the driveway when we were outside walking. Otherwise, we would not have met either owner. They are there if you need them, but they provided MORE than what we needed!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very pleased you had such a good time on your honeymoon in San Francisco. This is a great city, and we feel proud when visitors enjoy it. Thanks also for the suggestion about parking by the N Judah line so you don't have to walk up the hill when you return home. After a long day sightseeing, having a ride for the last bit would be welcome, I'm sure!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
5

Excellent location and lovely accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We travelled to the USA from England, in September 2013. There was me, my partner, her mother and father. And also our 14 month old daughter. We came to San Francisco after a week in LA. We searched for accommodation that suited our needs and this one seemed to tick all the boxes. Great location, close to buses and the rail network. Our communication with John and Shelley prior to arriving was great. They were quick to respond and very helpful. On arrival, we parked outside and unloaded the car. The rest of the time we parked our car only 100 yards away on the next street. The house was clean and tidy, with everything we could have hoped for. John and Shelley were kind enough to buy a child's cot for our stay, which saved used other bringing one or buying one when we arrived. And they also bought us a high chair once we arrived, which again was very helpful. I cannot fault their hospitality one bit. There were plenty of leaflets for local attractions and the welcome book was also very helpful. The kitchen is lovely, with everything we needed. The rooms were also lovely and have great views of San Francisco. We were all massively impressed. As for San Francisco, it is a wonderful city, with plenty to offer. If I were to stay in San Francisco I would definitely stay here again without hesitation. Many thanks to John and Shelley for making our stay so memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Baltimore County, MD
5

A Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a great find this house was! John and Shelley have really gone all out to make this a comfortable home away from home.

As soon as we entered, it was like a treasure hunt with many fascinating and interesting articles of décor to find and examine. All of the necessities are there waiting for you too, plus some luxury items you would not expect in a rental, plus delicious surprises here and there. This house is beautifully and architecturally unique. Our favorite spot was the patio (with sun roof) in the middle of the home. Each morning we had breakfast there “in Paris.”

The beds are very comfortable, and plenty of pillows are supplied. My son had the living room with air mattress as his room and it worked well, even when we let him sleep in a bit, since the room was easily closed off with doors. He still talks about how comfy that queen-sized air mattress was!

The bathroom is easily shared among family members, particularly with the separate toilet area that can be closed off by yet another one of the many doors in this creatively-designed home.

The neighborhood is safe and quiet, and with the tiled steps right around the corner, it’s easy to get a bit of exercise each evening, just in case you did not walk enough miles and hills during the day! It is also convenient to the sights and activities, so that you can easily come home for a couple of hours to rest and cook dinner before heading out on another adventure, such as the nighttime Segway tour (thrilling and fun!)

My daughter forgot her camera charger in an outlet and the owners had it in the mail so quickly it almost beat us back to the East Coast.

Our vacation would not have been so wonderful without this home and the owners’ many personal touches. We would surely love to stay here again if we ever go back to San Francisco.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Not Specified
5

Great place to stay for both touring SF and local college visits!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I'll try to highlight some things not mentioned in the other reviews. First, it is important to note that we are VRBO owners of a house on the Central Coast, so we have very high expectations when renting another property. I'm pleased to report that this home exceeded our expectations! It was extremely well equipped and comfortable for our family of five. The location was perfect for our dual purpose trip: accessible for several college visits (since we have two high school students) along with the desire to be close enough to the city to also do some SF site seeing/touring. This location was great for both objectives. And, if you worry about parking...don't! There was plenty of room in front to drop off our stuff, and there was easy street parking around the corner on Moraga for overnight. If you got as confused as we did about public transportation to downtown when reading the Muni/SFMTA web site, I'm pleased to report that it is actually quite easy after you do it once. We took the N Judah line from 19th & Judah (the stop is easily walkable from the house)...$2 for adults, $.75 for kids. Have exact change if possible when you pick it up at this stop since they won't make change on the train, but at many of the underground stops downtown you can buy your return tickets with a credit card. It took about 30 minutes downtown once on the train. Other things worth mentioning about the house but not yet highlighted much: super comfy beds, great video library, spacious dining room for meals, shampoo/body wash for shower provided, and the atrium...don't underestimate the value of the atrium! We enjoyed happy hour in it, with the warmth and light of being outdoors but without the wind and cold. And, the architecture/style of this home is worth seeing, especially with its 15 doors (at least according to my son's count).
Overall, you can't go wrong renting here. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful and Quiet Home with Ocean Views, Easy Parking, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3004446
+1 415 902-5374
Sunset District San Francisco
Australia
5

What an excellent place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed for 5 nights with a young family, and we really enjoyed our stay here.
The house is excellent, and exactly matches up with the owners' description and those of the other reviewers. It was very clean, and the beds are great.
A nice touch are all the little labels everywhere which help explain how things work!
The owners live underneath and are there to help if needed. Communication was easy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway