Boothbay Harbor apartment rental - The fully equipped kitchen leads into a living area and the bedroom just beyond.
The fully equipped kitchen leads into a living area and the bedroom just beyond.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Boothbay Harbor Apartment Rental Photos and Description
One large sunny bedroom, full kitchen and bathroom.

“Mackerel scales and mare’s tails ships fly high sails” is an old fisherman’s saying that refers to the weather and fishing conditions. Generations of fishermen have called Boothbay Harbor home and that heritage is what makes this town unique. When you book a vacation rental with Mackerel Sky, not only are you getting a great place to stay but you are getting the insight of a local fishing family and the satisfaction of knowing that you are helping to continue a way of life that is becoming more and more difficult to sustain. Lobsters fresh from the boat are available to you at dock prices.

The apartment is the only residential rental in the building so no noisy neighbors on either side of you. With more than twice the space of a typical hotel room and all the amenities of home you can cook your own meals or dine out, catch some local entertainment or watch a movie in. The apartment has everything you need at a rate lower than most hotels and B&Bs.

Two Blocks from the Harbor: Sitting on the outskirts of a quaint coastal town, the apartment is conveniently located near restaurants and shops. The public library is less than a block away. Just down over the hill you will find ferry boats for Monhegan and Squirrel Islands as well as boat rentals, fishing trips, and scenic boat tours. The Boothbay Region Land Trust provides the area with a wealth of hiking trails and scenic natural spaces. The Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, the aquarium at the Department of Marine Resources, and the Burnt Island living history lighthouse tours make the harbor a destination for Mainers as well as people from away. Year-round businesses include Sherman's Department Store, McSeagull's restaurant, Jansen's clothing store, Ebtide restaurant, The Thistle restaurant, Mung Bean (gifts), House of Logan clothing, The Opera House, and the Harbor Theater.

Cozy Apartment for Two: The building was built in the spring of 1999. The downstairs is now About Face Skin Care Salon. They offer skin care services as well as a massage therapist. The property is nicely landscaped with ecology in mind and our birdhouses provide nesting for chicadees, the Maine state bird. The one bedroom apartment has been painted throughout with white paint for a clean, bright, cheery finish. The kitchen has beadboard cupboards in a sunny yellow. The furnishings are a mixture of traditional antiques and modern pieces with local artwork added for a flavor of the area. Hardwood floors run throughout the space. Two ceiling fans, four skylights, and two windows keep the air circulating throughout the rooms and help to keep it warm in winter and cool in summer. Air conditioning is also provided. The owner is on site so you can be assured that the apartment is well taken care of.

Year Round Accomodations: Boothbay Harbor is a popular destination in the summer months but consider a visit during the quieter fall, winter, and spring seasons to experience what life is really like in a small coastal town. Go to the Thistle on Friday night for their standing room only happy hour. Have dinner at McSeagulls and enjoy some of the best fried haddock anywhere. Watch trick-or-treaters parade down Townsend Ave at Halloween. Wear your pajamas to the early bird sale always held on the Saturday before Thanksgiving. Kick off the holiday season with the Harbor Lights celebration the first weekend in December. In the coldest winter months you can peruse the latest best sellers at Sherman's, catch a movie at the Harbor Theater, see a show at the Opera House, or take a winter walk along our quiet coastal roads. Spring brings local road races, Fisherman's Festival, and ladyslippers at the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. Come and enjoy the quiter side of the Boothbay Harbor Region!

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 300229 in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Johns Island, SC
5

Super!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We enjoyed our stay in Boothbay Harbor. This apartment is ideal for a couple and is well appointed and as described. Outstanding location and great owners! We enjoyed walks around BBH and the local restaurants. Of note was the excursion to Monhegan Island. A wonderful day! The Botanical gardens were quite spectacular. We hope to be back one of these days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Relaxing and wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The apartment was charming! It was welcoming, sunny and had all the amenities we needed. It was clean and the space is decorated beautifully with a lot of thought going into it all. We were able to completely relax here. It was just as described and the owners are wonderful! We got to talk to them a bit while we were there and they had a lot of great recommendations for places to go and things to see. Boothbay Harbor is a quaint town and people are friendly. The apartment is an quick walk to shops, restaurants, and the water. It was the perfect place to stay for the week! I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Charlotte, North Carolina
5

Perfect for two people!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Nice,clean,well equipped. Located in the perfect spot in town. Bring iPod for the iPod dock they have. Very romantic. Couldn't ask for a better value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Charming Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We stayed at this property for a week in August. The property was so clean and well kept. It was our first experience with rental property and we were just wow-ed! The apartment was very well decorated and emitted a clean and relaxing vibe. Having a desigated parking spot in the downtown area of Boothbay Harbor also proved quite wonderful.

The town itself was fantastic. There is a ton to do and see and the rental property is right there within the action, so you don't have to drive far to experience the festivities.

The business below the apartment is a spa and so they are nice and quiet, as are the surrounding businesses. I would highly recommend this rental property to anyone considering a vacation in Maine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Phoenix, Az USA
5

PERFECT ACCOMMODATION!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is a hidden gem in Boothbay Harbor! Having a fully furnished apartment gives you so much more for your money than a hotel room or a B&B. It is a 2 minute walk to all the action down on the waterfront. A grocery store is less than 5 minutes away. It was so nice to wake up in the morning and make coffee and cook our breakfast at our leisure instead of getting dolled up and finding a restaurant. The owner's live next door and were very accommodating and gracious. I hope to return soon to this magical little coastal village!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Bucksport, ME
5

Perfect For A Romantic Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My boyfriend and I stayed over the New Year's holiday. Everything was clean and bright. Centrally located to a lot of nice shops and restaurants. The Netflix player and tv were a great feature when we felt like staying in. Would recommend this cute apartment to any couple looking to stay in the Boothbay Area!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Cambridge, MN
5

Autumn get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Mackerel Sky apartment is very nice, very comfortable, very clean. The owner's listing provides an accurate description of what you can expect when you stay here. It is only a 2-3 minute walk to the picturesque harbor, shops, restaurants. We walked/hiked around town and just enjoyed the beauty of the area. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend--it will be on our list of properties where we would like to stay again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Greenfield, MA
5

Perfect for Two!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This place was so nicely decorated. It was clean and cute. Just what we needed to get away for the weekend. We walked down to the harbor and into a restaruant for breakfast in the morning sun. Everything was so close. Thanks so much. Darleen
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Dover, MA USA
5

In heart of Boothbay Harbor- perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We highly recommend this apartment in Boothbay Harbor. It was very clean and tastefully as well as artistically furnished. Well-equipped small kitchen, comfortable queen size bed with reading lights. Cute sitting area with new 32" flat screen TV, plus basketful of maps and local brochures on restaurants and things to do in the area. Fun artwork on the walls. Overhead ceiling fans for hotter days and AC. Skylights bring in cool night air too.
Perfect for a couple. The owner was very responsive and helpful.
You can easily walk to any of the restaurants in the harbor area.
We went on a sail on the Eastwind Schooner with a group of friends. It was a great way to see the islands and the whole harbor area from the water. We also had lunch at the Lobster Dock which is just across the harbor via the footbridge. It has great views of the harbor and delicious fried oysters.


We loved it and would go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Year-Round Accomodations Within Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300229
+1 207 633-4283
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Vermont
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The apartment is just the right size for two people. It is located close to the center of town and within walking distance of the harbor, restaurants, shops but very quiet nonetheless. It is beautifully decorated, and everything is new and very clean. I would definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5