Bar Harbor house rental - Front view
Front view
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, sleeps 8

Stunning sunsets and breathtaking views of Blue Hill Bay surround this upscale home with striking natural beauty. Quiet and peaceful, the house is furnished in an airy and comfortable Maine cottage style. A network of walking trails begins at the doorstep, and lead to the Nature Conservancy preserve next door. With three bedrooms upstairs, and a private suite with sitting room and full bath downstairs, this home is perfect for multi-generations or couples traveling together. Centrally located within 15 minutes of Acadia National Park hiking, biking and swimming areas, shopping and dining in the village of Bar Harbor, and the “quiet side” village of Southwest Harbor.

Details:

FIRST FLOOR: Modern Kitchen with breakfast table for two. Half Bathroom off Kitchen. Living Room with panoramic water views. Dining Area with views and table that seats up to eight people. Guest Suite with two twin beds, water views, sitting area with TV, and bathroom with shower.

SECOND FLOOR: Master Suite with queen bed and sitting area with water views, Full Bath and additional Sitting Room with TV. Bedroom with double bed and water views. Bedroom with twins. Bathroom with shower off hallway.

APPLIANCES: Well-equipped kitchen with electric stove and dishwasher. Full set of lobster and clam steaming equipment. Plentiful china, glasses & silverware for family meals or entertaining. Gas grill. Two TV’s with satellite service and DVD/VCR. Computer with internet connection. Full size washer and dryer.

DECK: Well furnished Deck with water views & Adirondack chairs.

EXTRAS: Tree-lined path to private cove along with nature trails to the Nature Conservancy Preserve.

More Details
Hide Details

Born and raised in Bar Harbor, I currently live in New Jersey with my husband and two kids. We spend several weeks a year at the house, and enjoy beachcombing, hiking and biking in Acadia National Park.

Jennifer Mandler purchased this house in 1995

This beautiful property has been in my family for generations. The house was custom-built in 1995.

I love waking up in the morning and seeing the amazing water views from my bedroom. We love to take a picnic to the cove or walk to the Nature Conservancy preserve next door. It is really our little paradise.

8 Reviews of Property 419279 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Indianapolis
5

The Essence of Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
"Treetops" is a great house, spacious and comfortable with the best equipped kitchen we've ever seen in a vacation rental. Tree top views of the bay and islands are spectacular from the living room,dining room, deck and bedrooms. A private trail to a secluded cove is a true Acadia experience.
From the house deck we watched Eagles, Osprey and Deer to the accompaniment of Loons.
Located on the less traveled side of Mount Desert Island, the house is still close to the Park, Southwest Harbor and the best home made pies at Town Hill Market.
We hope to visit Treetops again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Troy NY Rensselaer Co.
5

Eden On Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We spent a week at the house in September and aside from the weather it was perfect. My husband and I, our two daughters and son in law, and the twins had ample space to be together or apart which is essential. I especially liked not having a TV in the living room because it gave us the rare opportunity to have some wonderful conversations. The view from the deck is glorious and offered another get away. The house is just as comfortable as my own but the scenery is much more beautiful in Maine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Ellicott City, MD
5

Treetops Tremendous!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a tremendous house, a tremendous view and a tremendous time we had at this lovely Maine vacation house! The house was emaculate and beautifully decorated. Two teenage daughters, my husband and I had a fabulous vacation stay in this gorgeous rental. Just minutes from downtown Bar Harbor within minutes of all the great touristy places. The listing had a perfectly accurate description of all the amenities. The owner was a marvelous help to us regarding things to do on both sunny and rainy days and we took full advantage of all of the suggested places to visit, dine and hike. Overall pure perfection!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Omaha
5

Guests comprising six family members including adult and junior high children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This beautiful place exceeded our most imaginative expectations even though we had thoroughly researched it. You are up high with spectacular ocean views from the expansive deck and from almost every room in the house including 3 of the 4 bedrooms. Close to every thing. Isolated with no other house in site. Our family loved the evenings and mornings in the house as much as we loved any other aspect of our 8 day trip. We guarantee you will fall in love with it as we did.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Burr Ridge, Illinois
5

Incredible Vacation Home on the Quiet side of Mt. Desert Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
There are not enough wonderful things to say about this house that my family and I (2 adults, 4 kids -- 11 to 18) stayed at this summer. We had never been to Mt. Desert Island before and in researching where to stay for one week while we explored the island/Acadia Park, we found the listing for this house. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The location and setting are perfect. The property is very quiet and the views onto the western bay are stunning, both in the morning and at night when the sun is setting or fog is rolling in. The house is immaculately maintained and fully equipped for any need you might have. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are all large and very nicely furnished. The side of the house that overlooks the bay has a huge deck with table and chairs (and a grill) and we spent time there just relaxing and enjoying the views. The property has a trail leading down to a hidden cove and the walk through the woods is definitely worth doing so you can see all of the ferns and moss growing on the ground and trees while the sunshine filters through the canopy of trees. When you arrive at the cove you can watch the small crabs hiding behind rocks and occasionally scurrying up the shore. My kids really enjoyed the hike -- which is quite easy and only took us 15 minutes each way.

The location of the house is also perfect. Within 10 to 15 minutes by car in any direction, you can get to Bar Harbor, Bass Harbor or any of the other towns on the island and Cadillac Mountain summit is only a short 20 minute drive away. The house is also just a short drive from Long Pond where we went kayaking and were lucky enough to see an eagle soaring overhead. The beauty of this property is that after spending time in Bar Harbor or hiking/biking/kayaking in Acadia Park, which was understandably crowded with tourists during this peak season, arriving back to the quiet side of the island was the perfect way to end each day.

The owner is also extremely helpful. She came out to meet us on the second day and brought some additional trail guides for us to use during our visit and made sure we had found everything to our satisfaction. We also tried some of the restaurants she recommended on the island and they were a hit with our family.

This property is definitely one we would return to and are happy to recommend it to all travelers, especially those with children of all ages.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Cortlandt Manor, New York
5

New Yorkers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Amazing views from every room. This house is serene, peaceful and only a short, pleasant drive into town. Very clean with adequate linens, towels, etc. We felt comfortable and at home immediately upon our arrival. The owners were very accommodating and helpful with a list of favorite restaurants and places to visit. Would go again in a heartbeat!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
NC
5

Beautiful home and property! Just as described in the Listing.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a wonderful time in Maine and LOVED staying at this home!  The home and property were beautiful with amazing views and seclusion.  The photos don’t really do justice to what you actually see when you get there....no offense to the photographer : ). The hike down to the cove was just right for my parents and kids...enough for some good morning exercise, but not too long for little legs. The house had lot’s of games and puzzles for the kids, with plenty of books and reading material for the adults. The home was also well stocked with everything we needed for a comfortable stay (kitchen supplies/linens/towels/etc...). The property was very clean, well-maintained, and odor-free! The owner could not have been more accommodating and easy to work with. Thanks! We hope we are able to visit again in the coming years!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning water views & private cove near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419279vb
2013912839
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Panama city, Panama
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
House was in a great, clean, tidy and well equipped shape.

The setting is beautiful and enjoyed the hike to the nearby cove where we were able to watch seals during the low tide.

The owners disposition was wonderful.
Helpful votes: 1/1