Santa Croce - Uffizi apartment rental - Building Façade
Building Façade
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Santa Croce - Uffizi Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, 1 shower bathroom, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 4

The apartment is located on the first floor of the Palazzo Bellini delle Stelle with roof overhead, only a 10 minutes walk from the Duomo and Piazza della Repubblica.

This beautiful Palazzo was built in the 16th Century by Cosimo 1st the Medici and it was also the laboratory of the sculptor Giambologna from 1600 to 1608.

The apartment has now been restructured to its Renaissance splendour and is available to rent for weekly or longer periods. It's composed of a completely frescoed salon sitting more than 15 people, a dining room, modern kitchen , a master bedroom and a second twin bedded room.

13 Reviews of Property 3001507 in Santa Croce - Uffizi, Italy

Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
4

Classy Florence

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family of four lodged Florentine style in this truly heritage home, available as an apartment, in Borgo Pinti, which is 500 meters walk from the Duomo, the cathedral, the centre of the Renaissance city. Owner Guilio greeted us and after showing our home for the next week walked us for 30 minutes around the neighborhood. Just 300 meters away is a fabulous supermarket, and a little further a morning sell-everything market. Immediately we knew where things were, and we got on with our stay. The central location and historical atmosphere of the apartment and its great furnishings, period decoration and mod cons made it a highlight of our winter month in Italy. Even when it poured with Rona, we were immersed in Florence, we can highly recommend the apartment, as well as Florence off season, with few other tourists and no queues.
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
5

Simply outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I along with our two children had a wonderful stay in this outstanding apartment. Guilio, the owner, was helpful and made us feel very welcome. The location is great and within walking distance to all the main attractions. The apartment is spacious, tastefully appointed and the fresco in the enormous living room was museum quality. We would highly recommend this apartment and look forward to coming back.
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
Sacramento, CA USA
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were very fortunate to have found this apartment in Florence. My Husband and I had spent time in this great city and wanted to show our Daughters. We were celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary and the apartment made it even more special. We had more than enough room for the 4 of us adults to spend time together and to also find some solitude. It was an unusually hot week and the air conditioning units made the apartment very comfortable. The kitchen was perfect as we are in the restaurant business and we enjoy cooking. The Mercato di Sant'Ambrogio was just around the corner and provided the most amazing items to cook, pasta, meats, cheese and vegetables. It was a short walk to the Duomo and city center. We walked everywhere including the train station for a day trip. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone traveling with more than two adults. It is beautifully decorated and well appointed. We will stay in this apartment every time we go to Florence. Guilio is a gracious host and gave us all the attention we required. The apartment and surrounding neighborhood were very safe. We loved coming back to the apartment after a fun day and relaxing. My husband especially liked to open the grand windows and watch as the local residents headed home for the evening.
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
5

A Gem in Florence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed in this Apartment / Palazzo for a week. It was simply Wonderful. The apartment is tastily decorated and it is truly a gem in Florence. The reason I was attracted to the apartment was because it's history and was artist Giambologna's former residence. We were not disappointed I found this place is like as it described, a little Palazzo in the middle of Florence. Giambologna's studio downstairs is now an art studio.
The location is absolutely the best. Easy walking distance to all the must see in Florence. There are many wonderful restaurants around and shops everywhere. Everything you need is at your finger tip.
The apartment is very comfortable and spacious. The apartment was well equipped and provided. Soft bath towel is nice touch than many other apartments we stayed elsewhere. When we came back after a whole day of touring, I loved to sit in the 'salon" and just to soak it in and looking at the beautiful fresco on the ceiling.
The owner Giulio was a wonderful host. He would walk us around to show us everything we needed to know around the apartment. He had to be away the week we were there. But, he called several times to make sure our stay was comfortable. We also had the pleasure to meet his wife who was a gentle soft spoken woman.
It was hard to bid goodbye to this lovely place. I think this apartment has to be the best place to stay in Florence.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
5

Amazing home and host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Exactly as described and photos are 100% accurate. An absolutely beautiful, accurately restored 18th century home with modern amenities. Wonderful location within very easy walking distance of all of the amazing sites of Florence. The owner, Giulio, was most accommodating and a wonderful conversationalist. He gave us excellent tips on dining and travel to nearby cities. His recommendation of Gilda's Bistro turned out to be our absolute favorite dining experience. Highly recommend this vacation rental!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
5

Live like a famous Florentine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed for two weeks in this lovely apartment, and it was truly a wonderful experience. The owner, Giulio, gave us a tour of the neighborhood when we first arrived, and suggested fabulous places to eat and shop. He helped with arranging a driver so we could go to a wine tasting in the countryside, and was a generous and knowledgeable resource throughout our stay. The location is extremely convenient to the Duomo and the train; from the apartment, you can walk to all the major sites in Florence. The apartment is well-maintained and elegant, and its history and connection to Giambologna make it truly special, especially as you see his sculptures located around the city. Eat dinner at Gilda's, shop for wine at Andrea Amadei's Enoteca a couple of doors down, and hunt for Elizabeth Barrett Browning's tomb in the English cemetery at the end of the street. Magnificentissimo!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
5

At Home in Florence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I spent eight nights in our wonderful temporary home in the heart of old Florence. The apartment was beautiful, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We kept all of the huge shuttered windows open whenever we were home and the thick walls of the building kept the rooms pleasantly cool. When the sounds of the neighborhood drifted through our second story windows we really felt like we were experiencing Florence in a way we never would have if we had stayed in a hotel. When we arrived, the charming owner, Guilio Gentile, took us on a walking tour of the neighborhood. Day or night, I felt safe there in a way I didn't in other Italian cities. Guilio showed us the open air market, where we could buy fresh produce and flowers, and the indoor market, which had a vast array of meats, cheeses and bakery items. He also recommended several small neighborhood restaurants, including Gilda's, where we ate three times. At the end of our stay when I hugged Guilio goodbye I had a tear in my eye because I was truly sad to leave. We hope to return to Florence and will never stay anywhere but the palazzo on Borgo Pinti. (Tip -- The Hotel Monna Lisa, across the street and a couple of doors down, has a lovely garden where we often had drinks in the evening before going out to dinner.)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
4

Bellisimo

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful flat over the Easter holidays with our 2 daughters. The girls felt like princesses staying in a castle! The large salone was great for our Easter egg hunt! The location was spot on! One could easily walk to all the major tourist attractions, great restaurants, supermarkets, and quiet in the evening! There is also a small play park near by which was very handy for our us. Guilio was away on business but he assisted us with our internet problem and his daughter Rosella was also on hand if we needed anything. We had a great stay!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
If you come to Florence, you HAVE to stay here. Beautiful/stunning apartment with a GREAT location. Giulio and his daughter Rosella were wondeful hosts. I lost my wallet upon arriving and Rosella stayed with us for two hours while we sorted things out. They were always available throughout our stay to help or assist. We stayed here with our three young children and they LOVED the apartment too. Location is superb to explore the city -- easy to get anywhere especially with the little ones. Kitchen is perfect with everything you need. We hope to come back to experience it again during the summer/fall. THANK YOU!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historical apartment, home of the famous artist and sculptor Giambologna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3001507
+39 3358482949
Santa Croce - Uffizi Historic Center
5

Outstanding apartment in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I along with our two cousins stayed in this wonderful apartment for a month in October. We found it to be as described with accurate photos and descriptions, very clean and well maintained. The pictures show the large size of the beautiful rooms and even though the place was grand, it felt like home.
The beautiful living room has a 16th century frescoed ceiling, an up-to-date high end kitchen, two large bedrooms, internet access, phone, TV.

The owner, Giulio, was very personable and helpful, pointing out the near-by Market of Sant’Ambrogio where fresh fruit and vegetables are delivered every day, wonderful restaurants like Gilda’s Bistro, shops and everything we needed for our home away.
He was like having family in Florence.

The location is in the heart of all to see in this beautiful city. We walked everywhere- the Duomo, Uffizi, Academia and San Lorenzo street market.

I highly recommend this apartment for a vacation in Florence.
Helpful votes: 4/4