Burt Lake house rental - Cedarset From Dock
Cedarset From Dock
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Burt Lake House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Easily sleeps 6 adults (2 Q beds, 1 Full)

Cedarset is a family home in quiet, upscale rural neighborhood. Cedarset is on the east side of the lake so you'll have spectacular evening sunset views across the lake fall, winter and summer. The lake makes possible a full range of all-season activities. Summer offers cool breezes and a lake that varies from smooth summer waterskiing weather to white-capped rollers providing hours of swimming or sailing fun. Lots of colorful nature to watch in quiet fall and spring seasons. Take quiet walks through sparkling, snow covered wooded trails, or enjoy bright winter days of snowmobiling and cross country skiing right from home. Nearby Nubs Nob & Boyne Highlands offer downhill skiing in winter. Golf opportunities abound in this area of Michigan too. Perennial gardens, natural wooded areas, two large covered porches (one facing the lake and one the entrance) and a paved patio / barbecue area ensure beautiful, comfortable places for relaxing and enjoying the views year-round, with satellite television and whole house sound system to enhance its natural setting.

Please refer to Amentities for detailed descriptions of specific house areas.

Travel Times and Provisions:: Cedarset is about 8 hour drive from Chicago and a 4 hour drive from Detroit. Major carriers fly in and out of the Pellston Airport (Emmet County Regional) several times daily and the airport is only a 30- minute drive along scenic roads to Cedarset.

No required long drive from expressways or the airport. Once you're there…you're there!

Cedarset is conveniently accessible but located in a quiet rural area blessed with abundant forests and crystalline, spring-fed streams, rivers and lakes. It is an easy 5 minute drive from N/S Interstate expressway I-75, so once you exit and drive into the woods and beyond the noise of the freeway you can start to relax, enjoy the lake and your vacation. Within a 10- minute drive are restaurants, gas, marinas, equipment rental facilities and groceries so you will have no worries about finding supplies and you can spend your time the way you really want to, enjoying yourself.

Burt Lake and Indian River: With crystal clear water and sand bottom, Burt Lake is the 4th largest inland lake in Michigan and is an all-sports lake. It is so big that even heavy holiday boat traffic seems light. The safe gentle slope of the sandy lake floor is perfect for games and splashing around by the dock. Burt Lake is central to the “Inland Waterway,' a system of lakes and rivers used to travel all the way through to the Great Lakes. You can even travel to Mackinac Island in about 6 hours in your own boat from our shore.

Indian River has most of the grocery, boat and supplies you may need, great tourist stores for souvenir shopping and an excellent selection of restaurants and candy/ice cream shops. In town, the Sturgeon River forms an uncommon natural loop around the town with the Indian River so it is possible to tube or canoe out of town then back into town on the rivers. For those looking for nightlife or good food several nearby restaurants and bars offer great food, and live entertainment

Region: Cheboygan: (20mins away)

More of what Indian River has to offer plus a large classic auditorium-style movie theater with multiple movie options and periodic live performance events at the Cheboygan Opera House as well as local art and other festive live events.

Mackinaw City: (20mins away)

At the top of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, home to the Mackinaw Bridge--Gateway to Michigan’s rugged Upper Peninsula. Mackinaw also offers wonderful shopping and entertainment opportunities plus ferries to Mackinac Island, a beautiful old fashioned island town with only bikes and horse drawn carriages as primary transportation (also where the movie Somewhere in Time was filmed) .

Golf: Local courses within 10 to 20 minutes from home. Boyne Highlands and Nub’s Nob (both about 30 minutes away) and other local courses offer a beautiful opportunity to golf Northern Michigan's top-notch courses.

Petoskey: (30-40mins away)

A classy little town with a gas lamp district, a full range of shopping experiences, art galleries and fine dining.

30mins or less:

· The Mackinaw Bridge

· Keewadin Casino

· ferry to Mackinac Island

Within 10 minutes:

· Cross in the Woods

· Michigan Rails-to-Trails (groomed snowmobile trails)

More Details
Hide Details

We are pleased to share our beautiful lake home & Northern Michigan culture since we’ve had to relocate for my job serving vets. Guests can enjoy a quiet nature experience and experience the feeling of having their own lake home during their stay.

We want our guests to have a good time, have fun, and leave refreshed and ready to face the world with a joy-filled heart. Our home is a great place for family bonding and building memories. We intend that each new guest can enjoy the same well-maintained home and grounds as previous guests. We highly value guest relations and welcome back old friends, yet we also can understand some folks like the variety of changing accommodations year to year. Blessed by its natural setting, but still with the civilized improvements and amenities that come within a developed area, our home can provide that special retreat we all need from time to time.

Burt Lake is one of the largest natural spring fed lakes in Michigan, waiting a few steps from your front porch for recreation or quiet enjoyment. Our home, with its lawns and gardens, is at the end of small subdivision so children can play safely. Paved streets permit easy biking or you can take quiet walks strolling through woods and watching deer and other animals in the area's natural setting. Whether watching birds, sunsets or storms, you have a front row seat to nature from your family room.

6 Reviews of Property 300127 in Burt Lake, Michigan

Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
average rating of 2.5 based on 6 reviews
business
Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300127
+1 231 445-1911
Burt Lake Northern Michigan
Birmingham, MI
3

Beautiful place with reservations

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The property was beautiful on a dead-end street with hardly any traffic. Great for morning walks. You can't beat the sunset views. The owner graciously let us bring our dog if it stayed outside the cottage which we did. We also added a couple of days to the end to enjoy the Labor Day weekend. I would have given a 5 star rating, however, the owner has kept our deposit after numerous times of our writing and contacting her, although she said she would return it. She seemed like a reasonable person, so I am puzzled. A recliner chair was broken when we got there - when you recline it is dangerously all the way to the max. Also, when cooking on the Jen-Aire grill in the home hamburgers the first night, it set all the smoke alarms off and they wouldn't stop. No more cooking on THAT grill! This is our first negative experience with an owner on VRBO/HomeAway.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300127
+1 231 445-1911
Burt Lake Northern Michigan
5

Beautiful get away.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved our stay. The water view and sunsets were beautiful. The kiddos had a great time. Our family enjoyed the quite seclusion, trails, ducks and deer, fresh air and even the quaint nearby town for a little shopping and nice restaurants. We haven't had such a great time at such a beautiful place in a long time. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We will be back next year!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We receive so many positive comments from folks but rarely do they take the time to leave the positive review. It seems like the only ones to leave reviews are people we have had problems with, so we really appreciate the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. There's no place I'd rather be than at our home on Burt Lake but because of recent economic hardships I needed to go back to work. It makes my heart happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at our home that we love so much.
Sincerely,
Linda C.
Helpful votes: 1/38
business
Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300127
+1 231 445-1911
Burt Lake Northern Michigan
1

Not planning a return visit

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Although this property is very nice in many repects, it is becoming apparent that the owner lives out of state and is not keeping up with things. The owner was very particular about her expectations of renters, but upon arrival we found several problems. The shower in the second bath was not functional, the dock was unsound and unusable for any purpose and a safety hazzard, as were both advertised boat lifts. The mooring buoy had a chain which was so worn that it broke, which nearly resulted in extensive damage to an award winning classic boat. The seat on the couch was torn and an extensive wasp nest on an exterior wall posed a constant hazard. She forgot to mention that the the property nextdoor was an active construction site with dust and noise. The property was left by us in as good if not better condition than when we arrrived. We attempted to take care of the wasps. To top things off our security deposit was never returned despite multiple attempts to contect her. Her only response was "I'm on it this weekend" (that was over 2 months ago). We tried to be patient and give her more time that the promised 2 weeks. It has been 4 months. It is too bad but we certainly will not be back. Renters beware!
Owner's Response: Pleased to share our beautiful lake home & Northern Michigan culture since we’ve had to relocate for my job serving vets. Hope guests accept the nature experience for what it is & love the feeling of having their own lake home during their stay. While away, I rely on local resources nearby to help them. We deal with same issues all homes have. Guests agree to let me know immediately so fixes can begin. Sadly, some block our goal to maintain our home well from one guest to the next, failing to report issues when they occur, care for home as agreed, or ask questions even if unfamiliar with home or lake. This causes problems for us & costs more to fix. Short annual visit lets me inspect/ ready our home for guests. Some occasional complaints addressed below. Immediate steps to correct each of these would have occurred during their stay if only we’d been told: //We love to return all deposits in a timely manner; means each new guest is able to enjoy the same well-maintained home as previous guests. Issue reviews delay returns (contract breaches, damage & loss). We highly value guest relations; despite losses, we returned all guest deposits to date in full. //Most plumbing issues unfounded; corrected low pressure in 1 shower head & minor toilet rocking. //We regret installer delays made me miss 2012 dock install; poor installation left dock vulnerable to unusually strong storms, but several fixes kept it safe. During my 2013 visit, I confirmed new installers upgraded our dock to be sturdy, safe, & reliable. //Lifts help to buffer dock in winds & storms. Improper use hampers complimentary use by boat owners who know how to use lifts. We must know when lifts are not working well. Courtesy tie-off buoy STILL must not be used during heavy wave action & overnight use even with its new chain. //Unaware of full extent of neighbor’s 2012 home project until end of year complaint. Construction complete. //Reupholstered all seats in Fam. Rm. couch to correct 1 unreported huge tear in 1seat. //Birds eat bugs from woods. Monthly pest service helps to rid most pests/ removes wasp nests & spider webs on/near the house. If alerted, these experts handle new problems (ants, wasps). Mom’s protective if her nest is by a door; she’ll startle folks to pull them from her babies. Please share home with them; use different door if a problem. Gulls, ducks, geese only come close if fed, so don’t feed or welcome them! Broom & lake water fix messes.
Helpful votes: 80/81
business
Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300127
+1 231 445-1911
Burt Lake Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

August 2011

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Linda,
We have loved staying at your place the past few summers. The place is always clean and neat, comfortable with the AC, and the bath/shower in both areas is EXCELLENT! … the furniture is very clean and confortable - especially the beds! We have found everything we need waiting for us when we arrive. …We have stayed in several different places over the past decade or so and the fact that we have returned to yours speaks for itself. Count us in for 2012.
My best,
Helpful votes: 2/73
business
Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300127
+1 231 445-1911
Burt Lake Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

July to August

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We would highly recommend this home.The home is in the perfect location for boating, sightseeing, swimming, or just watching the sunset and listening to the waves.Well maintained, clean, beautiful home inside and out, very comfortable. The neighborhood is very quiet with paved streets for walking or biking. Far from the congestion but a short drive to everything you could possible need in Indian River or the surrounding area.Owner was a joy to work with and very helpful - very positive experience.
Helpful votes: 3/74
business
Benefit from Fall Rates for Your Stay at Beautiful Burt Lake Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300127
+1 231 445-1911
Burt Lake Northern Michigan
Chelsea, MI
1

Would not rent again

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Beautiful home and property, but 6 weeks later, still have not received security deposit, after several calls and emails. Smoke alarms all went off in the middle of the night, with half the house locked up "off-limits" so could not tell if the place was on fire or a false alarm. No compensation offered except to pay for a hotel if we wanted to leave a day early. Unorganized and unprofessional owner.
Owner's Response: We have done everything we could for this customer. We rented to them for a considerably reduced rate because they found a loophole in our listing and we felt we had a moral obligation to honor it (they got the cheapest winter rate possible in the middle of our peak summer holiday season). The contract they signed said that we would hold the security deposit for at least a week after their stay ended. This was only four weeks ago and the security deposit and a credit for their inconvenience has been sent back to them. The whole-house fire alarm system had one low battery chirp going off every 2 minutes in a remote part of the house; this is obviously different than a fire alarm going off. When we were informed of the problem we apologized profusely and sent maintenance out immediately to fix the problem. We received a call at 10pm that night and were told that the fire alarm was "going off" (chirping) again, that they had contacted their attorney and wanted to climb through a window into the unfinished top floor of our home to fix it themselves. We asked them not to do that and offered to send maintenance over again to ensure the problem was fixed. We were then told not to send anyone over, the doors were locked and they would not be let in. We offered compensation for the night and got hung up on but we sent it with the security deposit anyway. We will bend over backwards for all of the folks that stay at Cedarset because we love to share our home, but it is not a discount motel with a caretaker on the premises and that is apparently what these folks wanted. These folks were only the second guests to stay at Cedarset since we opened our doors to the public and we are disappointed that they were not happy with their stay. We would like to assure our future guests that we will do everything we can to ensure they have a relaxing and enjoyable stay..
Helpful votes: 96/99