Gardiner cabin rental - Kitchen/Main entrance- Hand Hewn logs built 1907 by Austrians.
Kitchen/Main entrance- Hand Hewn logs built 1907 by Austrians.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Gardiner Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 4 bedrooms + sunroom, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps (11-12)

Winner of the 2010 Historic Restoration Award from the Montana Historical Alliance , this rare 2 story hand-hewn square log cabin was built in 1907. Austrians used Broad Axes to fashion compound dovetail corners locking the logs in place for over 100 years.

It is a short 5 Minute drive to the North Entrance of Yellowstone Park.

The cabin sits on 42 acres called 'The Little Trail Creek Ranch.' It once fed tourists in Yellowstone Park. It is only 4 miles north of Gardiner,Montana and the north entrance to Yellowstone. The cabin is not visable from the highway, and has lots of grass, trees and water. Out front sit the mountains of Yellowstone Park and the Yellowstone River. In the back is the Absaroka Wilderness. The old tree stumps that built the cabin are still visable up the cliffs behind the house.

Herds of Elk, Bison,Deer and Bighorm Sheep use our land all year due to the trees and open water from abundant springs.

We like to go to 'The Boiling River' - one of the best natural hot springs in the world! We were married there 26 years ago, and still go with the kids whenever we can. It is only 7 miles from our door, and it's free once inside Yellowstone Park. The spring is closed May and part of June due to high water, but Chico Hot Springs is 22 miles north, and it has wonderful food. On Sunday, you can eat the brunch and swim for free.

For 13 years we fixed up the cabin. It was fun. There are all new appliances, a 6 burner stove with convection oven, new electric and plumbing, and heating. We used antiques and old wood salvaged from train stations and hotels where needed. The old wood in the cabin has a certain 'glow' that comes from age.

During the renovation, I found many items I put into the chinking. Pocket watches, coins, buttons, even a gun--and 3 bullets in the logs [all at waist high level].

There is a steam shower. A 4000 pound Tulikivi woodstove [for use only in winter] uses radiant heat to warm the cabin. It is made of soapstone, which will stay warm a full 2 days after a fire.

There is one bedroom downstairs, and 3 upstairs. A single bed is in the sun room, and the couch downstairs in the Tulikivi room is oddly comfortable for sleeping.

So, if you appreciate the Real Deal -- with history, wildlife, quiet and nature-- welcome to our cabin. You'll find our circle of trees cool and refreshing even on the hottest day.

Don't forget to look at the stars at night. See the Milky Way and watch for shooting stars. A pioneer superstition says, if you see a falling star and say 'money,money,money' before it goes out - you'll be rich! Lay on the grass at night--- it's the perfect place to try your luck.

Hosts- Alex, Beth, and Emma --

.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 3000748 in Gardiner, Montana

Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

Wonderful rental home for exploring Yellowstone National Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a TERRIFIC rental home! The place is just as described on VRBO - and the ducks are a great addition! There were 6 in our party, age range 29 - 79 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The herd of bighorn sheep showed up the first morning and came back later in the week as well. The view is spectacular and pictures don't do it justice. We found everything we needed in the home - linens, cleaning supplies, dishware, etc. It's a great location for exploring Yellowstone National Park and Gardiner.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
Sarasota Florida
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I spent the last two weeks of August in this cabin and thought it was great.

The owner has done a great job of fixing this historic home up and making it comfortable. We had visits from elk and mule dear a few evenings and saw bighorn sheep and pronghorn from the property.

The house is very well outfitted with most anything you would need. We fixed dinner at home several nights and usually ate breakfast there as well. Our group of six was very comfortable. The owner is also very responsive to requests and questions. We met him and told him what a great job he has done with the place.

Now, the things you need to know. The upstairs bath is only a tub, toilet and sink, which could be a problem for some groups. It was no big deal for us. Everyone used the downstairs shower for bathing.
The internet is painfully slow. You will not be streaming any videos. The owner got us some access in the town of Gardiner to cover higher speed needs. I believe the owner has done everything he can do to get good internet service, but options are limited in a remote location like Gardiner. Cell service is okay with only 3g data available. The house has no air-conditioning but has plenty of fans. My friends who live in Gardiner do not have A/C either and it was fine even though it was hot while we were there. I'm not trying to be negative, but renters should be fully informed.

I gave this property 5 stars because it is a great location and a really cool house. We are considering two weeks again next year, if that gives you any idea how we feel about it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I've been told the internet speed can be increased Jan 2014-- this is from my internet providers recent e-mail. I will increase speed when possible.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
Shorewood, WI
5

Great Yellowstone Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property exceeded my family's expectations in every way! It comfortably accommodated 13 of us (aged 3 to 55+) and the surrounding property kept the kids busy. The home was beautifully restored with great attention to detail --- a true work of art. Finally the regular visits from the elk and goats at dusk were a bonus! Great memories! I highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

Montana and Ohio family visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had such a lovely time together. The house was a good fit for our two families. The yard was a wonderful place for the kids to unwind after touring Yellowstone all day in vehicles. It is a beautiful home in a wonderous setting. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

The cabin was an AUTHENIC FLAVOR OF THE AREA!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
There were 10 of us and the cabin provided us with every thing we needed. Our daughter's fiance's family joined us during our stay and the cabin felt like home. It was the perfect 'base camp' for our adventures into Yellowstone, the Grand Tetons and surrounding vistas. Walking thru the cabin and seeing the craftsmanship of the original builders was an enlightening experience. Strolling around the open yard surrounded by mountains, feeding the ducks in the pond, or sitting around a campfire under the cottonwood trees have left me with many memories that I will cherish. The hard work, dedication and love that Alex and his family put into the restoration of the 'cabin' is evident and commendable. Thank you, John & Kathy Ware, Delaware
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

Great Experience...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
When my friend and her family from Wales, UK, decided to visit Wyoming, I knew we would have to travel to Yellowstone so I began looking for cabins to make the trip more comfortable and home-like for our two families. I stumbled upon this cabin and booked it for the looks and atmosphere of the pictures and description. I'm so glad I did. It proved to be the perfect place to come home to after a long day of sight-seeing in the park or shopping at the cute shops in Gardiner. There was plenty of room outside for the kids to explore and the toddlers loved feeding the ducks and floating wooden stick (boats) down the little stream that fed the pond. We loved gathering at the large table while we ate and planned the next day activities and roasting marshmallows around the fire-pit was a perfect ending to the long days.
In previous cabins I have rented before, we had to provide everything from towels to toilet paper, but this one was well-stocked with everything you need. Staying here really took the stress out of staying away from home and let us concentrate on enjoying each other's company and the beauty of the park. Thanks for the great experience and I will definitely book this cabin again if we venture back that way.
Regards,
Patsy G. and family and friends
WY and Wales, UK
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
Pennsburg, PA
5

Would love to return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The 8 of us just returned from what turned out to be our best vacation yet, and the cabin was a large part of that! It is actually much bigger than I believed from the pictures. It was very cozy and we all looked forward to coming back to it each evening. I hadn't realized until 1/2 way through our vacation that rooms were actually added on, they matched so well with the old. Very large kitchen table and wonderful kitchen to use. All beds were very comfy. The temps ranged from 70s down to 30s while there and there was no need to put on the heat! Amazing!

We were surprised to see how close the neighbor's house was even though I had been told the distance. But she was quiet as a lamb and very pleasant.

There was nothing we all didn't love about this cabin. We all, including the little ones, would love to return someday!

We were spoiled and will have a difficult time equaling this in the future. Thanks so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
Edina, MN
5

Fantastic stay at the perfect family cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family and I traveled, in August, from the Twin Cities for a National Park / Monument vacation. We visited Mt Rushmore, the Grand tetons and Yellowstone. While in GTNP we stayed at an "in park" lodge, but were unable to do the same at Yellowstone and oh are we thankful for it! This cabin, and the experience, was incredible. This unique property combines authenticity with innovation, adds comfort and convenience and sprinkles in warmth, coziness and a bit of national history to make any vacation in Montana or Yellowstone one memorable and worthwhile. My only regret is that we did not plan around this cabin stay and wish we had spent more time there and enjoying the surrounding areas. The owners were incredibly accomodating and helpful as we planned our visit and Gardiner is a fun and funky town unto itself. We will be back and recommend this place for family or friend get togethers!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
Montana
5

What's not to like? Beautiful historic cabin near Yellowstone with all the amenities!

What's not to like? Beautiful historic cabin near Yellowstone with all the amenities!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
As we pulled into the cabin, there was a herd of big horn sheep ewes and lambs in the yard. The property is wonderful, fun for kids to explore, great views down the Paradise valley. The cabin itself is well supplied, clean, beautifully restored with lots of fun period perks to find, and yet very comfortable for any length of stay. Only 5 miles from the park boundary, yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. We had a great family vacation. I highly recommend the cabin.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic 2 Story Hand-Hewn Log Cabin Next to Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3000748
+1 406 457-9157
Gardiner Yellowstone
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest from Germany

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Liebe Alex, Beth and Emma,
Wunderbar! Simply wonderful, to enjoy staying here in your Yellowstone Cabin. We learned how not to lose the remote control- and shared happy times with our loving and beloved relatives. Many thanks.
P.S. Congratulations on the Sirr Family Award for Exellence in Restoration. You guys are Great!
Helpful votes: 1/1