Andes cottage rental - A hidden gem where you can relax your mind and play as long as you like.
A hidden gem where you can relax your mind and play as long as you like.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Andes Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 2

Sweet, secluded one-room schoolhouse in the hills outside Andes, NY. Cozy house, trickling stream, sparkling pond. Relax on the deck near the old apple tree. Hike in the gloriously green woods, swim in one of the nearby recreational pools or ponds, relax, stargaze, dream, smile! Grill steaks or veggies on the big Weber and eat on the deck under blue sky or big, shady umbrella. There's also a chef-equipped kitchen and a fire pit on the property for weenie and marshmallow roasts. A queen bed sleeps two in a bright lofted bedroom, filled with art. Start your novel at the writer's desk, curl up on the comfy sofa or the outside chaise and read a book. The home is equipped with wireless internet and has local phone service but no cable TV or cell service - a perfect excuse to play hooky from the world! The town of Andes, 2.5 hours from the George Washington Bridge, and neighboring hamlets, offer farmers' markets, shops, restaurants, yoga classes and lots of charm. This schoolhouse rocks!

The area:: You'll be just minutes outside of Andes - a wonderfully gentrified village with unique shopping and dining, a summer farmers' market, sparkling town pool and newly surfaced tennis courts. The house is a short drive from Margaretville, Delhi or Hamden, offering easy access to local farmers' meats and vegetables, a whole foods market, and lots more shopping and recreation, including a golf course and Catskill Park hiking trails. Just down the hill, the East Branch of the Delaware River boasts great fishing and kayaking.

Visit us!: Apple A Day is available for a minimum of a two night stay. Included are fresh linens, high-speed wireless internet access, local phone, hot and cold water, lighting, electric heat and firewood. Pets are welcome. Pricing is effective for rentals booked after March 1, 2011. This is a perfect spot for a romantic getaway or a creative solo retreat - carefree, private and well groomed, yet out in nature. It's your forget-it-all fieldtrip waiting to happen.

Arrival, departure and payment:: Check in/out times for a typical weekend is Friday after 5pm arrival, to a Sunday noon departure. We try to be flexible with your arrival/departure if you can be flexible with our cleaning schedule.

The security deposit is 30% of the total rental amount and is required to reserve the rental. The full amount of the rental is required 10 days prior to the start of the rental period. Cancellations will have a full refund, less a $50 administrative fee, if they are received at least 30 days prior to the start of the rental. Cancellations received within 30 days of the rental start will have half the deposit refunded.

Rentals under a week will have Delaware County sales tax of 8 percent added.

A $65 cash cleaning fee must be left at the house at the end of the rental.

Holiday rates cover Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's weekends. Apple A Day is closed from mid-January through March.

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 300031 in Andes, New York

Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
5

An amazing retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed in the Apple a Day cabin for a weekend as part of our 3 week honeymoon road-trip across 9 states. I was very excited about arriving (because of the photos I'd seen online) and wasn't disappointed.

We did explore the local area, but took most enjoyment from just locking ourselves away from the world at the cabin. The dappled light coming through the trees and the secluded location made for a beautiful, relaxing couple of nights.

The cabin which is tastefully decorated with eclectic art is the perfect spot to enjoy good food, a few beers, peace and quiet, a cosy sofa for reading and good company.

The place is so well stocked with kitchen items, books and even CDs, that it was very easy to feel at home.

I'd definitely recommend this cabin for a romantic getaway. So special.
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
5

perfect escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My partner and I escaped to this darling school house from Brooklyn. The house is wonderful and very well done, it is clear that a lot of love has gone into it. It is ideal for people looking to get away and relax! It is also a place to unplug and enjoy nature. For the price, this space is a CATCH! you won't be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The house fit our needs wonderfully.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We enjoyed every minute! We found the driving directions exacting and everything in the house fit our needs wonderfully. The house was lovely and lovingly equipped with all of the supplies that we could have needed, and the directions and phone numbers were reassuring since, in our case, a snowstorm was predicted.

The directions for the wood burning stove were wonderful and I lit my first fire in a wood burning stove without hesitation and proudly enjoyed it!

The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed for a cozy weekend. We brought all of our food up from the city and didn't need to shop, although we went into Margaretville on Saturday afternoon and enjoyed the extensive beer selection at the Supermarket!

The loft bedroom was charming and very comfortable. The bathroom was also fun. Because we own a 110 year old house we appreciated and enjoyed every nuance that we found at the schoolhouse and because we are both teachers, the ambience had even more charm for us.

The little Christmas tree delighted us especially because we knew we wouldn't be together for the holidays. Thank you for all of the time and care you put into restoring the schoolhouse and for making it into a lovely retreat that you are willing to share.

We look forward to another stay sometime down the road.
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

No distractions!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
The Red Schoolhouse is perfect for someone looking for modern comfort and aesthetic in a rural setting. As a writer, I enjoyed the seclusion and the quiet woods that surround the house. There are no distractions! But there is fresh espresso and plenty of magic. The surrounding towns also offer unique and interesting entertainment, shopping, food, and adventure.
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
St. Louis, Missouri
5

Cozy Romantic Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This cozy cabin in the Catskills was the perfect way to relax after our wedding. The woodstove kept the place toasty warm! We loved the creek running through the property and the woods were beautiful in the winter. We loved exploring all of the small towns around the cabin, there was plenty to do even in the winter.

We loved just cooking our supper, cozying up with the stove and watching movies after a rousing game of scrabble or one of the other games the cabin was stocked with.

We are so glad we found this cozy, private cabin. It was perfect for our romantic getaway!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Beautiful property!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Just pack your bags, bring some groceries and be ready to relax! We stayed at this rental in November and it was perfect for 2 (along with our 2 small dogs). The woodstove will heat the whole house (although there is back up heating, you won't need it) and everything you need is included - the kitchen has all the tools and supplies necessary for meals and the area is so quiet and peaceful. This would be great in the warmer weather as well, as the deck provides a great view of the stars. It is a very comfortable place to relax and get away from city life! I would definitely rent the schoolhouse again for my next trip. Beautiful property in Andes!
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
Brooklyn
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Just spent a cozy fall weekend here with my boyfriend and our dog, and it was just perfect! The schoolhouse is unbelievably charming, incredibly well-laid-out, decorated, appointed, etc. Clean, welcoming, and cozy but not cramped. It was truly the best of both worlds--we got away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and were still treated to luxurious amenities. Not to mention the beautiful scenery made the drive fly by.

Carole was quick, responsive, friendly and professional. She provided a great list of places to check out and how to operate everything in the house. Overall couldn't have asked for a better experience. Hope to come back and try it out in the summer!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
Williamsburg, Brooklyn
5

the perfect cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
we had the most incredible time in Carole's cute and cozy house - so relaxing with a toasty wood fire. It was the perfect fall getaway for us & our english bulldog who had so much fun running through the fall leaves right behind the house.

Carole is a real pleasure to deal with and provides the perfect amount of information on the house & area. There are some great hikes nearby but I'd recommend bringing up some food & cooking in rather than seeking out a restaurant (note there is no oven so use the bbq & stove top).

The house is spotlessly clean & beautifully decorated - ideal for any excuse to escape from the city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
brooklyn, ny
5

Perfect spot for cozy + romatic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My (new) husband and I rented this little schoolhouse for four days for a mini-honeymoon right after our wedding and couldn't have been more thrilled by the spot. The drive to the house is breathtaking -- we arrived to a canopy of foliage down a quiet dirt road, and the house itself is incredibly charming, well-kept, fully-stocked and incredibly comfortable. The house was exactly as presented in the pictures.

Carole provided detailed instructions on how to take care of everything from the wood stove to where you could do laundry (if needed) and also recommended local spots to visit, eat and look around. There were hiking maps left out that came in handy (we hiked at nearby Panther Mountain). She was also very communicative before, during and after the stay making sure everything went smoothly and make sure the house was clean before arrival.

There are not a ton of amenities close by so this is definitely a place for people looking for a QUIET escape. The schoolhouse is the perfect place to kick back, read, write, and have some time away from hustle and bustle.

I'd highly recommend the schoolhouse to anyone looking for a beautiful and cozy escape and would happily return myself.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish, quiet, secluded. Great romantic getaway or writer's retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300031
+1 718 395-3695
Andes Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

So glad we found it!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had a wonderful vacation at your cottage, so glad we found it! We thoroughly enjoyed the creek and pond, and were thrilled to spy a mink on the pond!

Thank you for the well-appointed kitchen and the perfect little wood stove.