Ouray cabin rental - Discount Rates May 15-24 & June 3-22 Call 9703181133/ Email nancyck10@gmail.com
Discount Rates May 15-24 & June 3-22 Call 9703181133/ Email nancyck10@gmail.com
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Ouray Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

OPEN MAY, 2014 - 3 NIGHT MINIMUM STAY. Faster if you EMAIL DIRECT TO nancyck10@gmail.com This new (2010) secluded, private cabin, nestled among beautiful Ponderosa Pine, Cedar, and Pinion trees, is located 3 miles north of Ouray, CO, right off the old narrow gauge railroad grade now County Road 17, and sits right next to the Uncompahgre River. The cabin has a large front deck which is great for relaxing and watching the river. Bring extra pillows and sleeping bags if you wish to sleep on the deck to enjoy the sound of the river. Views of the river and Mt. Abrams are spectacular. This is a great place for honeymooners who wish to be in a peaceful place, yet close enough to town for other activities. BUT IT IS DANGEROUS TO SLEEP ON THE GROUND BY THE RIVER, REMEMBER WE HAVE BEARS! RACCOONS! AND SKUNKS!

***Pets Cannot Be Left Alone At The Cabin and Must Be Supervised At All Times.***

Bird watchers will love this cabin where Hummingbirds, Chickadees, Steller’s Jays, Grosbecks, Nuthatches, Bald and Golden Eagles, and Red-Tailed Hawks abound. Wild animals such as white-tailed deer, elk, big horn sheep, and bears may be seen on their way to drink at the river. Caution should always be taken staying in the wild, wooded mountain areas and always watch your children and pets.

Star-gazing while watching the Milky Way, meteor showers, and other heavenly bodies here are exciting since the sky is so clear and the cabin is away from the big city lights that block the sky. Bring your telescope and/or binoculars for day and night use. The full Moon will astound you!

Staying at the Caretaker’s Cabin will give you a treasure chest full of memories that will entice you to return year after year.

Keywords: cabin, river, waterfront, secluded, tranquil, Ouray, bird watchers, vacation, rental, Colorado, Ridgway, Telluride, Montrose, adventure, hiking, jeeping, hot springs, biking, motorcycles, fishing, boating, mountain climbing, mountains, Switzerland of America, Gem of the Rockies, San Juan Mountains, Million Dollar Highway, artists, painters, photographers, horseback riding, bears, hot air balloons, rafting, fireworks, 4th of July, 4th of July Water Fights, tourist information, property for rent, honeymoon cabin, go green, secluded, private, pets allowed.

More Details
Hide Details

OPEN NOW - UNTIL CLOSING. CALL FOR DETAILS.

3 NIGHT MINIMUM STAY. We do not maintain our calendar on VRBO so FOR A REAL PERSON CALL US AT 970-318-1133.

Jim and Nancy Kendrick have lived in Ouray, CO for more than 28 years. Jim is originally from the Ventura, CA area and Nancy is from Houston, TX. They have both hiked, rock hunted, jeeped, and/or climbed practically every area in Ouray County and the surrounding areas. If they don't know how to find what you are looking for, they know someone who does. Feel free to ask for any information you might need.

Jim & Nancy Kendrick purchased this cabin in 2010

We chose to build the Caretaker's Cabin because we love the land, river and mountains here and we own a home and 5 acres right next door across the creek. It is so beautiful and has a hillside to the north that is covered in lupine flowers with delightful perfume every May and June. We offer this cabin to people to enjoy the quiet tranquility of nature in this special spot. We feel the seclusion, quiet and privacy of the area should appeal to people who want to 'get away from it all.' It is the only piece of property in Ouray County that is truly on the river out of town for rent.

The Caretaker's Cabin is unique because it is right on the Uncompahgre River and the seclusion and privacy allows one to meditate, be at peace and one with nature without being too far removed. There is still TV and news, but no phones unless you bring your cell phone. With the peace and quiet there are many species of birds and animals that pass through the property. The picture postcard views of the river and mountains are great for artists and photographers alike. The Ute Indians used to come here to summer along the Uncompahgre River and believed in its healing properties. Just south of the cabin is the Dallas trailhead for hiking up into the mountains. From Ouray there are many other hiking trails. Be advised that our trails start at around 7,800 ft and many go as high as 14,000 ft. In Ouray, you can rent a jeep or take a jeep tour, go to the hot springs pool, walk around town to see the historic mining homes, or go to the historic mining museum. There are many places to shop and eat. Ten miles north of Ouray is Ridgway, CO, where you can eat and shop, too. Head a little west along Highway 62 and at the Dallas Divide you can see the panoramic view of the magnificent 14,000 ft. Sneffels Range of the San Juan Mountains.

14 Reviews of Property 299641 in Ouray, Colorado

Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Just spent 3 nights., and can't say enough about this property. Virtually brand new, very clean and well maintained. Perfect location - 5 minutes to Ouray, 10 minutes to Ridgway. Jim greeted us right when we got to town and went over everything. Very helpful and accommodating. We've stayed in Ouray before, but our first time at the Caretaker's Cabin. We will definitely come back. Just perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We are so glad you liked the cabin and surroundings.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Nancy and Jim Kendrick
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Austin, TX
5

Mountain relaxion at its best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I wanted to get away from it all. And we did. Property was peaceful, quiet and the river serene. We did some hiking and jeep trails, but spent most of the time at the cabin to relax and enjoy what life has to offer. Our dog loved the trail down to the river and exploring new sights and sounds. The location was perfect! At two miles from town, just far enough away to only hear to the sounds of the roaring river and birds nesting on the porch, but close enough to get supplies if we needed. Thank you Jim and Nancy for letting us stop to smell the roses at your cabin, and for being wonderful hosts. Your generosity reminds us that first-class customer service is still out there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We take pride in our property and are so happy that you do too. We always get the best people that come and stay with us. Please come see us again.
Jim & Nancy Kendrick
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Phoenix, AZ
5

Caretaker's paradise!!

Caretaker's paradise!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed here in late July and absolutely loved this place and Nancy and Jim are wonderful hosts. We loved sitting on the porch and listening to the river. 5 stars!!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. Hope we see you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Smackover, AR/USA
5

Perfect Getaway Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Not only was the description listed about the Caretaker's Cabin true - but it was so much more!!! Beautiful setting, well maintained and set up great - had everything you could possibly need. This is not a brand new cabin - but it looks brand new. Being able to hear and see the river, hear the birds, butterflies, see the mountains from the living room and deck (the picture on the web site I believe is Mount Abraham and you can see it from the sofa!) - was perfect. I was seeking solitude, peace and rest - perfect. Also town was close as well as many attractions from sight seeing to bands/festivals. So close to Ouray - toured a ghost town, just 10 miles from Ridgeway and scenic routes including where True Grit was filmed - (I am from Arkansas so seeing the store front in Ridgeway done to be Ft. Smith was kind of cool), so close to Silverton (in my opinion the most beautiful scenery) Jim is always available for whatever question you may have. He went above the call of duty by helping me find assistance for a flat tire while sight seeing and even stopped by the buisness where I was getting my tire fixed to check on me. Met some great local people. If a cabin in the mountains, by the river is your thing - this is the place for you. Thanks, Jim!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We hope our guests feel like a part of our family.
Thank you, Jim & Nancy Kendrick
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
St. Petersburg, Florida
5

2nd Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Love the place. Enjoy hearing the sound of the river, being visited by Deer and hearing the birds during our morning coffee on the porch.
Very clean, and private. Owner is very nice and accommodating.
Good location to Ouray. We spent a week 4x4 trailing in the San Juan mountains and enjoyed the cabin. Highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We always have great people who stay with us.
Thank you,
Jim & Nancy Kendrick
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Omaha, NE
5

Wonderful time in the San Juan mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our second vacation in Ouray and we had a wonderful time! The cabin was great, the surroundings were beautiful, and the sounds of the river were relaxing. The cabin was perfect...we were away from town yet close to Ouray and the surrounding mountains. We had a very relaxing time and would recommend this cabin to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. So glad you enjoyed our plush cabin, and look forward to seeing you next year.
Jim & Nancy Kendrick
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Fllint, TX
5

Great place to "get away" from it all and yet convenient and easy access to Ouray

Great place to "get away" from it all and yet convenient and easy access to Ouray
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin was a great place to just relax on the deck and watch for the birds and deer. The sounds of the Uncompaghre river flowing by were great! However, if you want to go and visit Ouray, it's just a few miles down the road and easily accessible. Jim and Nancy were very helpful and right there if we needed them. Wonderful, relaxing get away and a nice change from the Texas heat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We always have great people that stay with us. Thank you for your review and we hope you will come see us again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Moab, Utah
5

Tranquil bliss!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin is a wonderful secluded relaxing place to stay. Don't stay here if you crave the lights and action of being in town. You won't find any of that nonsense at the Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin.
While the cabin is private and quiet, the town of Ouray is only minutes away. Swimming in the Hot Springs pool, shopping, dining, jeep tours, sightseeing are all available for your enjoyment.
My husband and I enjoyed staying at the cabin. It's the first time in a long time we have gone away from the family by ourselves and we loved it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. We would love to have you visit us again sometime.
Jim & Nancy Kendrick
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
St Louis
5

The Best Place Ever!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I stayed at this cabin for some time away just the two of us. It was perfect. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The cabin is very secluded and we enjoyed sitting on the deck and just enjoying the nature around us. The sound of the river was very invigorating. The cabin itself is very cozy. We could just not have asked for a better place to stay. Thank you!!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always pleased that our hard work to present an environment of peace and tranquility to our guests brings enjoyment.
business
Ouray Caretaker's Riverfront Cabin North of Ouray MAY SPECIAL
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299641vb
(970) 318-1133 (Colorado, USA)
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Decatur, TX
5

Marilyn - Decatur, TX

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I just stayed at the cabin a couple of weeks ago and it was the greatest place we have ever stayed in Ouray. We normally stay in a hotel and wanted to try something different this time. It was the most peaceful and restful place ever. The front porch with its table and lounge chairs is the perfect place to eat or read a good book. The scenery was beautiful and the cabin was just awesome! Jim was so helpful and very informative and every time we saw him in town it was like seeing a neighbor we had known a long time. We had our little dog with us and he loved it too. We plan on visiting the cabin again and again......Best vacation ever !!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Marilyn,
Thank you so much for your great review and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Jim and Nancy
Helpful votes: 1/1