Oceanside cottage rental - Comfy living room with down sofa
Comfy living room with down sofa
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay nights
 

Oceanside Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

If you are looking for that perfect, quiet, get away and enjoy a true California beach bungalow experience....this is the place! This 1940's beach cottage has been lovingly restored and provides you with all of the modern conveniences of today. The down couch can make a comfy bed for a third person but the place really lends itself to two perfectly! Open beamed ceilings, Mexican paver floors, and a large deck for outside living, dining and BBQ's. There is also an exclusive yard use for those needing to spread out a little more.

The cottage is located off Interstate 5 and just 3 short blocks to the beach. If you want to leave the car at home, fly into San Diego and take the bus 'The Flyer' to the Santa Fe train station. From there, enjoy a 40 minute ride along the coast to beautiful but funky Oceanside. Then just walk about 4 (LONG) blocks to the cottage. The train offers stops at many of the coastal beach towns as well as up the orange county coastline, then inland to LA. Disneyland is only 45 minutes away. Visits to our historic missions are as little as 10 minutes away. Nightlife in Oceanside is scarce but the weekly outdoor night market livens up the streets on Thursday night with live entertainment, foods from around the world and many artisan crafts. There are now many great restaurants, museums and live theater venues so if you choose activity on your holiday, you wont be bored. Just relax and enjoy this very special place. Maybe you will call it home too someday!

If you are also looking for a great mountain top get-a-way, then you need to visit VRBO listing 274448. This fantastic cabin is located in Big Bear Ca and offers 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, an enormous living area open to a fully equipped kitchen and a wonderful setting. It is just minutes to 2 ski areas, the lake for water sports and just an overall great property. Enjoy!

Keywords: Bungalow, Private, Spacious, Parking, Yard, Pedestrian Friendly, Near Train Station, San Diego, Flat, Apartment, Nostalgic, Quaint, Pristine

More Details
Hide Details

I am a California native but have lived in many states while growing up. One thing I always knew, I would someday live by the beach in back in California. I also love Craftsman style homes and was able to purchase one and turn it into my office. It just happen to come with a 1940's cottage which gave me the perfect opportunity to own a vacation rental. Over the years, I have rented it to guests and corporate folks in transition. Most recently, one of my employees lived there long term so it has been 'off the market' so to speak. It is once again ready for visitors to enjoy and relax by the beach. I certainly hope you like it too!

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2005

6 Reviews of Property 299622 in Oceanside, California

Classic California Beach Cottage 3 Blocks from Beach and Pier
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Classic California Beach Cottage 3 Blocks from Beach and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299622vbi
(760) 583-3987 (California, USA)
Oceanside San Diego County
Phoenix, Arizona
4

Cute little Condo Near the Beach!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Booking and checking in was a breeze! The cottage was cute and quaint, perfect for my husband and our pups for our week long stay. We traveled to Oceanside for Ironman 70.3 and the place was so close to the start line and all the action, and had storage for our bikes in the spacious garages. There was a large fenced grassy area that made my doggies very happy. My only complaint that I felt the bedding and towels were very old and a bit stained and could use a refresher....thanks again Kurt!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic California Beach Cottage 3 Blocks from Beach and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299622vbi
(760) 583-3987 (California, USA)
Oceanside San Diego County
4

Easy walking to beach and town!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband & I (and our dog) had a nice, 3-week stay in this unit. It's a great, affordable cottage with nice deck. The kitchen was really well equipped for a small cottage and the deck has an outdoor grill. The unit is perfect for a couple (and we had our dog along) or singles. There is a fenced in yard which offers some free space for your furry family member. We walked to the beach or the marina everyday. And, the library, the Thursday markets and multiple restaurants & bars were within walking distance too. The unit is above garage spaces and between businesses just off the coast highway. The location offered nice privacy, the only the downside to the location was that it has some road noise when out on the deck or if the windows were open. The owner was very responsive and great to work with while we were setting up our reservation and also with a couple of questions we had during our stay.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic California Beach Cottage 3 Blocks from Beach and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299622vbi
(760) 583-3987 (California, USA)
Oceanside San Diego County
Tucson, AZ
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We really enjoyed our spring break vacation at the cottage in Oceanside with our two dogs. The house was very clean and had everything we needed for the week. The bed and couch were both very comfortable, and we appreciated having the washer and dryer for dirty towels and beach clothes. The house was the perfect size for two, and it is even cuter in person than in the photos.

The dogs loved running around in the well-kept yard and rolling in the thick green grass! The house is close to everything in Oceanside; a 5 minute walk to restaurants and the beach, and about 15 minutes to the harbor. It's about a 45 minute drive to San Diego, which was fine for us, since we just went a couple of days, but you may want something closer to the city if you're planning to go more often.

We were a little disappointed that the Oceanside beaches don't allow dogs (not even on leash), but a 15 minute drive to the Del Mar Dog Beach made up for it! The dog beach was outstanding, and we ended up going several times. We also took the dogs for a hike up Iron Mountain, a wonderful spring day hike.

We highly recommend this vacation cottage! Thanks Kurt!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Classic California Beach Cottage 3 Blocks from Beach and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299622vbi
(760) 583-3987 (California, USA)
Oceanside San Diego County
Phoenix
5

Perfect Getaway...Wish could have stayed longer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I recently spent a week at this lovely cottage. It is exactly as advertised. The cottage is in a great location with easy walking distance to dining, entertainment, the beach and transportation (coaster and train). We stayed over the busy July 4th holiday and having private parking was a great relief. Access to the cottage is through your own private garage which also feels very safe. We were traveling with our two small dogs and found the private grassy yard to be such a great surprise. The cottage itself is upstairs and also has its own private patio so between the patio and grass yard we could really spread out. We found the cottage to be very clean, well cared for and full of little extras that made the trip even more special. I worry about pet friendly properties because they are not always cleaned to my satisfaction but this home was very well maintained. Kurt was wonderful to work with and extended warmth and hospitality from the first point of contact till the final day of our trip. We couldn't have been more pleased with our summer trip to the beach. Finally, don't forget to take the coaster all the way to San Diego Santa Fe station. Even if you have no destination in mind the trip itself is a great experience. I will be recommending this property to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic California Beach Cottage 3 Blocks from Beach and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299622vbi
(760) 583-3987 (California, USA)
Oceanside San Diego County
central Idaho
5

Oceanside Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Photos and description accurately portray this lovely little apartment. Unusual location with access from alley behind Coast Highway, but I always felt completely safe, even returning late at night. Deck with lounge chairs and little table/chair setup - a nice extra. Bed was very comfortable, plenty of closet space for clothes. I appreciated having a washer/dryer. Very clean. Kurt Kinsey, owner, was always helpful and friendly. He promptly solved a couple of small issues (I had managed to turn off the water heater). You can hear the ocean, sunsets are spectacular, beach an easy 3 block walk.I stayed for 5 weeks and could easily have stayed longer. I plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks ! Come back soon! Stay warm in Idaho!
business
Classic California Beach Cottage 3 Blocks from Beach and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299622vbi
(760) 583-3987 (California, USA)
Oceanside San Diego County
Las Vegas
5

For Our Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary in August. It was exactly what we were looking for. It included everything you needed, and was a nice easy walk to the beach and to the "main street" section of Oceanside. It was very enjoyable and we would recommend it to anyway. Sorry for the late reply on the comment, we thought we had done it already.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing