Gerra Gambarogno house rental - Entry into Main Bedroom:1 Queen bed, 2 Twin Beds
Entry into Main Bedroom:1 Queen bed, 2 Twin Beds
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Gerra Gambarogno House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 2-6

Enjoy all that Lago Maggiore has to offer from the comfort & tranquility of this lovely & perfectly located vacation home. ''Casa Barbara'' is a two story lakefront property in the heart of Gerra Gambarogno, a charming cobblestone village located on the eastern shore of the lake, only 3 kms from the Italian border & within 30 minutes of the popular tourist destinations of Ascona, Locarno & Lugano. Drive or take the train to Lake Como in 45 minutes & Milan in just over an hour.

Situated directly on the beautiful shoreline of Lago Maggiore our 2 bedroom vacation home has magnificent and expansive views of the lake from all of the large west facing windows & overlooks the historic village church square on the east. High-end amenities include free & fast wireless internet access, quality linens & bathrobes, luxury toiletries, English TV channels, and fresh flowers. Around the corner from the front door is the picturesque village beach (visible from both living room & master bedroom).

Welcome to 'Casa Barbara': Upon opening the brightly painted front door you will go up a flight of steps to reach the entry hall and first floor of the home. Here you will find a bright and open lake-facing living room/dining area. Two large floor-to-ceiling French windows offer gorgeous views: palm trees lining the lake shore, swans and ferries crossing Lago Maggiore in all directions, the resort towns of Ascona and Locarno directly across on the opposite shore, and the snow-tipped southern foothills of the Alps in the immediate distance. Also located on the first floor is the fully appointed kitchen and breakfast bistro table with French windows opening to the village church. A Nespresso machine if available for coffee drinkers along with a complimentary supply of Nespresso brand coffees. Also complimentary is an initial supply of bottled water, a variety of teas and fresh flowers. Off the kitchen is a windowed half bathroom/laundry room with washer and drying rack.

A flight of steps takes you to the top floor where you will find beautiful wood floors in both the master bedroom and second bedroom. The master bedroom looks out on glorious lake views and is filled with light streaming in from floor-to-ceiling French windows as well as an additional south-facing window above the built-in writing desk. The master bedroom is currently set up with a queen bed and two twin beds. Top quality linens, pillows, comfy duvets and extra blankets are all provided. A spacious wardrobe provides plenty of shelves, drawers, and hangers for your belongings.

Down the hallway from the master bedroom is a smaller bedroom facing the church and village & furnished with a bunk bed (suitable for adults as well as children) as well as a crib. Directly off this bedroom is a charming balcony with bistro table and 2 chairs, perfect for enjoying your cappuccino or espresso in the morning sun or a glass of wine in the evening after a long day of sightseeing.

When you want to take a break from sightseeing, enjoy the warmth and comfort of the wood-burning fireplace in the living room and relax with a good book or your laptop (the apartment is equipped with wireless DSL Internet access, free and fast WiFi). With books in several languages, a variety of magazines, maps, local guides and DVD library, the home is fully equipped for your entertainment and sightseeing needs. A regularly updated 'Local Info' binder provides you with personal recommendations on special events, local sites, restaurants, wineries,and day trips along with links to all your transportation options (lake ferry, train, bus, etc.) Available for your exclusive use are beach chairs, beach towels and picnic basket stocked with plates, glasses and silverware. As the owners of this vacation home, we look forward to welcoming you to this enchanting, unique and unforgettable corner of Switzerland and are committed to ensuring your absolute comfort and pleasure during your stay.

More Details
Hide Details

30 Reviews of Property 299354 in Gerra Gambarogno, Switzerland

Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
San Francisco, CA
5

Words Cannot Describe the Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The minute you walk into the living room and see the view of Lake Maggiore from the French doors, you know that you have made the right choice. You have your own private villa with all the beauty and comfort that you could ever want. Lisa is an incredible hostess and anticipates your needs before you even think of them. She will be happy to answer all your questions, and even offers to make a grocery run if you arrive late on Saturday; after the stores close. Remember, stores and shops are closed throughout Switzerland on Sundays. If you want location, Casa Barbara is close to train, postal bus and the ferry boats that navigate the lake. My husband and I will return in a heart beat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
Brussels
4

Beautiful spot with gorgeous views!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thank you Lisa for your kind hospitality! Our family enjoyed our stay at your lovely place. The views are amazing and the area peaceful and not too crowded with tourists. We enjoyed our day trips to Italian markets and of course Locarno and Ascona. Also enjoyed local restaurants, one a real gem in Italy that you recommended. We hope to return and see you again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
Herndon, Virginia, USA
5

A Room with a View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The moment my husband and I walked into this home, Casa Barbara, I felt I was entering the movie of this title. The Casa is beautifully (and fully!) furnished but it is the wide view of the Lake from both the living room and the master bedroom as well as the view of the village lane from the small balconey off the kitchin which took my breath away. The entire villa was extremely clean and the welcoming hospitality personal and heartfelt. We wholeheartedly recommend this property to any traveller. The lake's ferry can twhisk you to Italy for a day, to small islands and other lakefront towns. The photo in the listing is exactly what it is - your own little villa in an old village with cobblestone streets, great food, and exquisite town squares. Spend a week, spend two. Your travel weary bones will be comforted and your soul renewed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
Minnesota
5

Paradise on Lago Maggiore

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Such an amazing place, such an amazing part of this world, such an amazing hostess! Our week at Casa Barbara was all and more then we hoped for. The photos just give you a hint of how lovely the apartment and area are. This was our 3rd trip to Europe and leaves us wanting more. Please listen to all of Lisa's recommendations - she will not steer you wrong! We truly hope to return sooner rather than later.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
Monticello, MN
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lisa was an amazing host with great recommendations for dining and sightseeing. The small market in town had everything to prepare a few meals at home also. Ascona, a ferry ride across the lake, is a beautiful town in which to spend the day shopping, walking, eating, and relaxing. We enjoyed the swimming area. The amenities in the house were great for a family stay.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
5

Simply perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lisa, thank you for an incredible stay! Your home was everything we could have dreamed and more! We have traveled all around, staying in apartments, cottages, hotels, but nothing compares to this. Your home is so charning, so comfortable, so spacious....as our 7-year old daughter said, we could have lived there forever. The views from the home are truly breathtaking! The images online just don't do it justice. We enjoyed walking to the corner market and shopping for local treats. The location was perfect! We could sit & relax on the beach (just steps outside the house), or jump in the car for easy day trips. Opening the windows, feeling the lake breeze while enjoying views of Swiss paradise......it was a magical stay. Did I mention how comfortable the beds were? Seriously! The most comfortable night sleep, away from your own bed, you could possibly imagine. Thank you for your attention to detail & making us feel at home. Lisa was just the warmest, nicest hostess.....she even left a birthday surprise when she heard it was my husband's birthday. We will always remember you and hope to visit again one day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
United States
5

Wonderful stay - Too good to be true!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I stayed at this property for several nights in June and had an incredible experience. The waterfront apartment is absolutely STUNNING with unbeatable views of Lago Maggiore. The place itself has a well equipped kitchen, a washing machine, a large living room and dining space, along with spacious bedroom accommodations upstairs. The apartment is beautifully furnished and everything is clean and luxurious.

The owners of the property, Lisa and Fritz, were also lovely during our stay. When we arrived, the kitchen was stocked with complementary wine, Swiss chocolate, and espresso for our espresso machine in the kitchen. They are incredibly detail oriented in preparing the apartment for guests and will even supply the house with beach towels, bathroom toiletries, and extra power outlets - They think of everything! Furthermore, Lisa and Fritz were incredibly warm and kind and made us feel very welcome and special during our entire stay there.

I would HIGHLY recommend this property for anyone travelling to Gerra. It is perfect for families and couples alike. It was a dream come true to stay at the apartment and it was a vacation we will always cherish and remember.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
Zurich, Switzerland
5

Authentic slice of Ticino

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We were desperate for an escape from our hectic ex-patriot lives in Zurich and decided, last minute, to book a week in Ticino—a part of Switzerland we had not yet visited. We are so glad we stumbled across Casa Barbara on VRBO. Our stay was special for so many reasons, I hardly know where to begin. First of all its location is ideal. Gerra is a charming little village on the shores of Lago di Maggiore that time seem to have forgotten. (What you’re hoping you’ll find in Ascona, actually, but can’t because of the legions of tour buses.) Casa Barbara itself is one of the cheerfully painted villas on the waterfront that make up Gerra’s Old Town. You can hardly believe your good fortune when you arrive. From the French doors lakeside there’s nothing obstructing your movie-set view of the lake, Ascona on the other side, and the snow-capped Alps rising above. Town-side, your breakfast balcony overlooks the cobbled main square and ancient church. Lisa, the owner, modestly calls Casa Barbara an apartment; but it’s really a small house: there’s a kitchen, guest toilet and dining/living area on the main floor, and two generous bedrooms with a full bath on the top floor. Lisa has generously equipped the place with every imaginable cooking utensil and home-entertainment appliance; there’s also wifi, a washing machine, even a working fireplace. The décor itself is just right—great taste, but comfortable and informal. You don’t actually feel like you’re in a vacation rental. You feel like good friends have lent you their home. And like a good friend, Lisa wants you to enjoy your stay. She’s compiled her own guidebook of things to see and do, where to hike, swim or stroll; and there’s a helpful list of places to eat in town, in Ascona and across the border in Italy. In inclement weather, there’s even a library of novels and videos to raid, ranging from the classics to page-turning thrillers. I still can’t think of what would have made our stay better—except the weather a couple of days. Here are our favorite reasons to return to Casa Barbara: Wake to the sound of water lapping against the boat dock below. Walk up to the local shop (there’s only one) for fresh-baked bread, olives, hard salami, and marinated artichokes to make an impromptu antipasti lunch. Build a roaring fire at sunset, throw on a playlist of classic Gershwin songs, and waltz slowly around the living room, grinning. And I ask you: when was the last time you did THAT?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
Switzerland
5

Osso Buco 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2010
Hi Lisa, sorry it took so long to do a review, but your apartment is still in our memory, it feels like is was yesterday. We've spend a weekend in your then new guesthouse, your company, the lake, snow capped mountains, childhood memories, talk about times long gone, cooking and sharing food, it is quite some time ago, we still talk about it to day. Hope to catch up again soon. Gisela and Richard, just back from OZ
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Apartment, Gorgeous Lago Maggiore Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299354
+41 78 8967371
Gerra Gambarogno Lake Maggiore
Denver, USA
5

Heaven in Southern Switzerland!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Where do you begin when talking about this wonderful place. My family has stayed in numerous locations throughout Europe and none of them can beat this place. The pictures don't do this apartment justice and the location is magical. Many renters have an apartment that has the basics but not much more. This place has everything you could need and if it's not there, you probably do not need it. You really feel as though someone has truly opened up there home to you and a wonderful home it is. We had 6 adults and 1 child (2 years old) and we all had great accommodations including a crib for our daughter. The views of the lake are intoxicating and the gentle breeze is wonderful in the morning as you sip you coffee and try to figure out how to spend the rest of your life here. If our group had one regret it was that we didn't stay here long enough!!

Finally I would be remiss if I did not mention Lisa, the owner, and all she did for us. It is rare to find someone who has an apartment for rent and cares so much about your trip. Lisa truly wants to make sure that your trip to Lake Maggiore is a memorable one. She made herself available to us if we had questions or recommendations and she was spot on with all of them. We could not thank her enough for her kindness, generosity and all that she did for us in making our stay the best it possibly could be.

I could go on but really all you need to know is that if you are coming to this area and decide to stay somewhere else then I feel sorry for you. You will have missed out on the experience of a lifetime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4