Alford house rental - View from side yard, gym in top of barn
View from side yard, gym in top of barn
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Alford House Rental Photos and Description
House, 7 Bedrooms + Loft + 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14-16)

This is a unique property located on more then 1000 feet of the Green River, one of the best Trout rivers in MA. Over a hundred and fifty acres of woods and fields. Large indoor gymnasium with full basketball court. Babbling stream with pond right out the side door.

A summer time wonder.

No Smoking, Please.

Keywords: House

25 Reviews of Property 63759 in Alford, Massachusetts

Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
average rating of 4.64 based on 25 reviews
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
Cape Elixabeth ME
5

Great Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Awesome property. Huge expanse of land with no neighbors. Great farmhouse. Awesome barn and gym in barn is just a great touch. We loved being able to play basketball. Perfect spot to be away from the rest of the world. Short drive to great barrington and Stockbridge. Would highly recommend this property for a large group reunion or multi family vacation. House was clean and well maintained. Great kitchen for group meal prep.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
Brooklyn, NY
5

A great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Know that the house, also known as Sweet Pea Farm, has no cell phone service. So if this matters to you, stay elsewhere. We didn't care. It does have a land line and it has wireless internet that worked well. If you need to make long distance calls, come prepared with a calling card.

We stayed here with our four children, three significant others and one grandchild. The property is magnificent and the house is very comfortable. Downstairs contains mud room, laundry room with half bath, very large and well-equipped kitchen with Viking stove (6 burners plus griddle), dining room, living room, one bedroom with a queen bed, another bedroom with a twin bed, and a full bath. There are also two working fireplaces.

Upstairs is a very large master suite with a king sized bed and a full bath (separate tub and shower), two loft suites with upper floors with queen matresses. Below one loft is bunk beds and a full bathroom. The other has bunk beds and another twin. There is a full bath in the hallway for these rooms. There is also another bedroom with a computer (we didn't use it) and a double bed and another very small room with two twins. Note--the legal limit for the number of people in the house is 16 although there are more than 16 beds.

The barn was fantastic. The space is huge and we all ran around and played. When we were there the barn contained numerous basketballs, a unicycle, a pogo stick and some roller blades. If you like to roller blade, bring your own as there is no guarantee there will be a pair that fit you. But it didn't matter. It was a wonderful place to let off steam after a busy day of sightseeing and the great dinners we cooked and shared.

We also took long walks beside the stream that borders the property. The trout weren't running but it must be awesome when they are. Catamount (for skiing or zip lining) is minutes away. Great Barrington is about 10 to 15 minutes. There is a small general store just down the road for emergencies and newspapers.

On the whole, this was a perfect choice for our large and growing family. We will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
NYC
5

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This property is beautiful. The house can fit a large number of people (although it was just the 2 of us for the weekend). The kitchen is very large with ample room for a nice home cooked meal. The rooms are cozy. There is a trout stream in the front (yes, there are trout in there). The owner communicates effectively over email and makes the renting process easy. Would definitely rent again in the future, this time with a few friends and family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
5

Very unique property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were 3 families with 8 kids. There was something for everyone including an indoor gymnasium in the barn. The kids were constantly torn between basketball & swimming (pond & stream on property). The adults spent hours cooking & hanging out in the wonderful open format kitchen. We went on some beautiful long runs and the surrounding countryside is dotted with farms & cows. Lovely stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
Arlington, TX
5

Great Holiday Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Three generations of family spent Christmas at Sweet Pea Farm - and we loved it! The house is wonderful; we spent many hours in the kitchen sharing stories while everyone took a turn at cooking. The size and layout of the house allowed us each to have a quiet place when we wanted it, but plenty of room for us to be together for games, enjoying the fire and delightful meals. We had expected to venture out for some sightseeing and shopping, but it was so much fun at the farm that we pretty much stayed home!
We hope to come back again for another family reunion!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The perfect spot for a reunion of college friends and families. Wonderful grounds. Spacious. Babbling brook and river heard from every room! We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
5

Beautiful Property, Would love to go back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a great time at Sweet Pea Farm! The house is spacious and decorated beautifully. The gym is really a great addition and it is very well taken care of. The fans and exhaust keep it very cool on hot days. Don't be fooled by the lack of pictures it is a great place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
United States
5

Lovely home, gorgeous setting, felt like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We rented the house in Alford (also known as Sweet Pea Farm) for Columbus day weekend. We loved the house and the property. The house itself was so comfortable, we felt like it was our own home. The viking stove was also so much fun to cook on! There was more than enough room for my family. The barn has a big gymnasium, and we played badminton, pickle ball and basketball in there when it was drizzling outside.
The house is so close to Great Barrington, and there is good fishing and apple picking nearby. All of the restaurants in GB are amazing, and the town is fun to wander about. However, we spent most of our time at the house, since the property itself is so beautiful. We went around taking photos and took long walks since everything is so picturesque!
Mike (the owner) was very accommodating and was always quick to respond to our questions, which was a factor in our deciding to rent the house.
We loved staying at the Sweet Pea Farm, and will definitely be renting it again in the future!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
Shoreham
5

Family reunion in the early fall

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our group had four couples and five small children. The kids had an especially great time in the water (small stream, small river, pond). They also enjoyed the basketball court. The cooks enjoyed the good kitchen facilities. The house was clean and the lawm mowed.. The location description was accurate. (However, some of ouor GPS devices were off a mile or two.) There is a good grocery store in Great Barrington, 15 minutes East. We would recommend it to friends.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Large Restored Berkshire Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63759vb
Cell: (201) 522-5995 (New Jersey, USA)
Alford Berkshires
Brooklyn, NY
4

Great house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Stayed here in a group of 4 couples and 6 kids and we all were comfortable and had a great time. The kitchen was relatively well stocked and any questions were quickly answered by the owner. The internet connection is a bit spotty, but you are there to get away from it all, so it doesn't matter. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1