Kahaluu condo rental - view from balcony
view from balcony
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kahaluu Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-6)

Fabulous condo with 180 degree unobstructed oceanfront view, across street from best, kid-friendly, snorkeling bay/beach in Kona which is frequented by giant green sea turtles. It has a great surfbreak as well.

Condo is sumptuously decorated and has recently been completely redone with granite and koa wood throughout. It has two large master suites (one with king bed and one with queen and single beds), 2 full baths, and fully equipped kitchen. Queen size foldout bed in living room. Pool on premises, with ocean view barbeque area. 2 blocks from Keauhou Shopping Center and golf course, so restaurants, movies and shopping galore - book your getaway today !

Keywords: Kahaluu Bay Villas

I was previously a full-time Kona resident, and carefully chose the perfect location to return and enjoy with my family, all of the fabulous things Kona has to offer.

Registration ID #: W01137102-01

7 Reviews of Property 298783 in Kahaluu, Hawaii

Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298783vb
(310) 766-8441 (California, USA)
Kahaluu Kona Coast
-
5

Perfect location for active family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This spacious condo was a perfect solution for a week-long get-away with our adult children. The two separate bedrooms and full baths gave us all the space we needed. Table on the lanai with overhead fans was perfect for watching the sunset. Proximity to the Turtle beach for snorkeling was terrific, as was Alii Drive for morning walks/runs. We loved being out of the bustle of touristy Kailua, but close enough to drive in for drinks (and to watch the 4th of July parade and fireworks!).
The photos accurately represent the appearance, and it was clean and well maintained. The owner provided a great information sheet on the unit, as well as tips on adventures around the island.
The unit is designed to take advantage of natural ventilation, with louvered doors on bedrooms and baths. While keeping us cool, this was the only disadvantage as noise carried easily within the unit. However, we would definitely recommend staying here with family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the amenities that I provide. I hope that you will visit again in the future.
business
Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298783vb
(310) 766-8441 (California, USA)
Kahaluu Kona Coast
Kirkland, Washington
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Recently, I returned to the Big Island after several long years. In the past, I have stayed a variety of places. This time, I truly wanted to find a place near Kahalu'u Beach which is known for the best snorkeling on the Island. Finding this condo was a total gift from the universe.

First of all, it is located literally across the street from the kind of snorkeling with a protective reef which appeals to the young and old alike. Having snorkeled around the world, I am drawn back to this great place. Kahalu'u Bay invites the large, feeding sea turtles, schools of yellow tang and groupers, shy coronet fish, bright Moorish idols (that tend to look like large angel fish), rainbow colored parrotfish, many types of butterfly fish, some snowflake and morray eels, pufferfish, spotted boxfish, reef triggerfish, saddle wrasse, humuhumu le (triggerfish) and many more. Best time to see all of these characters for me has been around 8:30-9:00AM. However, they can be found on and off all day long as well.

The location of this condo is superb. Being on the second floor, it puts the lanai high enough to hear the morning birds singing in the palm trees and gives you the perfect overlook to see the whale spouts off in the distance. I appreciate the fact that it is 5+ miles from town because its quiet, peaceful ambiance allows you the opportunity to truly relax. Yet, shopping at the local outdoor market, exploring nearby beaches, and restaurant hopping with partylike atmopheres are readily available and just a short drive away.

Yet, my Paradise Found for 7 days included the complete package. I loved this condo. When at the last minute some teacher friends decided to join us for spring break, we realized this condo was great for the four of us. The spacious living room allowed us the opportunity to share our day's journey discussions and plan on next day's expedition. As a culinary teacher, I am happy to report the kitchen came stocked with everything I needed. The large lanai afforded us all the opportunity to welcome in sunrises with coffee or mimosas and bask in the sunsets with cocktails and snacks.

I haven't stopped telling my friends about this place and can't wait until next year to visit again my Paradise Found.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298783vb
(310) 766-8441 (California, USA)
Kahaluu Kona Coast
Tacoma, WA
5

Great location for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This condo is in a great location for families not interested in being close to the nightlife of Kona, it is about 4 or 5 miles from the hustle and bustle of downtown Kona. A grocery store and longs drug store is less than a mile away, so for those looking to cook for themselves it's in a great location. We walked to the beach across the road from the condo a couple days during our visit, this is a great place to snorkel for the first time since it's in a protected bay and easy to get into and out of the water.

The condo was very clean, the view from the balcony was outstanding, got to see the sunset each night we stayed there. Swimming pool was great for the kids, and the covered outdoor grill was convenient when we cooked steaks for dinner a couple nights. Very spacious condo.

The main drawback we felt was the bathrooms, they are both very dated and in somewhat poor shape. Cracks in the grout, rust around one of the sinks, builder-grade fiberglass showers, outdated fixtures and lights. Everything was functional, but the bathrooms could definitely use an upgrade.

Overall a solid value, great location (unless you want to be close to the nightlife), would definitely recommend it to friends!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298783vb
(310) 766-8441 (California, USA)
Kahaluu Kona Coast
5

Great condo in great location, pleasant owner.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family of four, with kids aged 10 and 8, just spent a lovely short stay in this condo. My wife and I "discovered" the Kahaluu Bay Villas building 11 years ago when staying a few miles away. We had a fantastic time snorkeling at Kahaluu Beach and wanted to stay within walking range on our next visit. Most of the buildings along Alii Drive are not an easy walk to a good beach. This one is right there.

We have visited the Big Island maybe 6 times since then, and always try to get one of these condos. It's a smallish building, just up the hill from the beach, and rental rates are very reasonable. In previous years we have booked through an agency on the island, but this year they were fully booked by the time we got our act together.

I was very happy to find this condo on VRBO, and am very happy to say that this is our favorite of the ones we've stayed in in this building. It is noticeably better maintained and cleaner than the others, not that they were bad. The building is not brand new, and the owner has clearly updated this condo, excellent appliances, furniture, plumbing... Everything we needed was there. There's a terrific view down to the ocean, and you can get inspired by the outrigger canoes in the morning and, if you're lucky, the odd whale.

There's plenty to do, notably the island's best snorkeling beach 100 yards away. Our kids loved the pool, but once we dragged them down the road they loved the turtles and amazing fish. They weren't quite up to snorkeling, but at the beach there's a stand renting out gear including boogie boards with clear windows. So our kids happily kicked their way around the bay peering at the wonders below.

So we had a great time on the island, as always, and loved the condo. It's a credit to the owner, and she was very easy to work with, always quick to respond. And she was very fair with us in resolution of a question over property damage during our stay, one of those situations that can get unpleasant. Again, communication was frank and friendly and we quickly came to a satisfactory conclusion.

We love the location and the condo, and following our very good experience with the owner we look forward to returning. No hesitation at all in recommending it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298783vb
(310) 766-8441 (California, USA)
Kahaluu Kona Coast
Portland, OR, USA
5

A charming getaway in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We spent the first week of a three-week visit to the Big Island at this condo with our two kids, ages 9 and 7. The condo is tastefully decorated and well maintained, and we very much enjoyed the pool which we usually had to ourselves. Perhaps the best feature is its convenience to many activities and options. We could walk to the turtle beach at Kahaluu Beach Park, and a little bit longer walk got us to boogieboarding waves at White Sands. Ali'i Drive is right there for an evening run. Driving to either Kailua-Kona or Captain Cook is quick, and Pu'uhonua o Honaunau is an easy day trip. We also checked out the petroglyphs near the Outrigger across the street and walked up to the Keauhou Shopping Center for shave ice at Moo Betta at least three times. This is a nice, convenient property that provides good value for the cost.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words about our Condo and we are thrilled that you were able to stay with us. You are so right about the convenience of the property which is exactly why we made it our family get away also. We hope that you will keep us in mind for future visits.
business
Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298783vb
(310) 766-8441 (California, USA)
Kahaluu Kona Coast
Kansas City, MO
5

Great condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I stayed at Susan's condo for 6 weeks and can't say enough good things about it. The location and view of the sunsets and ocean were incredible. Close to town but back off the street with very little noise, the pool right out front and the best snorkeling beach on the island across the street. Everything was simply great.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The sunsets get me every time! I too can sit for hours and watch the beautiful view from the patio. Thank you for your visit and please come again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Condo at Fabulous Snorkel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298783vb
(310) 766-8441 (California, USA)
Kahaluu Kona Coast
Monument, CO, USA
5

Perfect Location - Lovely Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This place is perfectly situated within a short walk to the most awesome snorkeling on the Big Island. The condo is stocked with all of the things you need to survive. My six children and I stayed comfortably and didn't have to eat on the economy since the full kitchen with everything you need is in the condo. It can get a little warm without A/C but the breeze cools things off at night. I would definitely stay in this place again. We watched the Ironman and the 5-mile turn-around for the marathon running portion is right down from the condo. You'll love this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you and your family were comfortable in the condo and felt that it is well supplied. I try my best to keep it up to date and filled with all the things that make it a home. Please come see us again next time the island is calling you back!
Helpful votes: 2/2