Ancram cottage rental - 2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, Sofa/sleepers sleeps 6
2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, Sofa/sleepers sleeps 6
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Ancram Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, full bathroom, sleeps 6

Take a weekend drive, enjoy the colors of the fall, and spend time in our cottages. We are located just off the Taconic Pkwy. Nestled in the woods off a quite dirt road. Trout fishing (NYS license is required) Pond fishing. You can also go canoeing upstream through the woods. We border 600 acres of State Forest for trails. We are only 15 min. from Hudson for antiques and dining. 1 hr from Albany for shopping with many stores including, L.L. Bean, and dining. 2 hour drive to Saratoga Race track/casino.

Rhinebeck/Redhook just 25 min. 30 min. from Catamount Ski area and many other ski resorts not to far away.

If you want to get away from the city and relax in the beautiful country this is the place for you.

No smoking please, dogs are allowed but kept leashed please, or I have a run that is 6 x 12 w/dog house available for your pet by the cottage.

Availability: If the dates that you are interested in are not available on my calendar, please email for availability

I do have two cottages.

Location: Think Snow....Get ready ski season. We are close to Catamount ski resort, and Windham, book your winter ski weekend getaway now... We have trails great for cross country

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 298707 in Ancram, New York

Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
United States
5

An amazing girls weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I booked Fran's cabin as a group of 6 for a girls weekend and we had an AMAZING time. The home is spacious and as mentioned in other reviews photo's do not do it justice! There is tons to do in nearby Hudson and it was so relaxing to get out of the city for a weekend. Fran is extremely accommodating and helpful with regard to planning and sending me directions. We hope to come again soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
5

Lovely Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My family stayed here for the weekend in October and we were all very pleased. The cabin is very well maintained and comfortable and the property is beautiful. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
Brooklyn, NY
5

Perfect weekend escape from NYC!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was a wonderful cabin tucked away on the owner's property. My girlfriend and I wanted to leave NYC for the weekend, and it was a quick 2 1/2 hr drive away. The cabin was SO CLEAN. Fran does a wonderful job. There is everything you need, kitchen utensils, bath towels, plenty of pillows and blankets. It was great to be in the woods, we saw deer on the property a couple of times. There is a beautiful river that runs behind the cabin and it has two waterfalls that are within walking distance. We went to Hudson a few times during our stay, it is only a 15 min drive away and there is plenty to do--good food at baba louie's, awesome bar/bookstore called the spotty dog, and fun dancing at night at the half moon. We plan to come back in the summer time and bring friends!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
5

wonderful time away from the city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My roommates and I decided to take a quick weekend vacation out of Brooklyn and were so lucky to find Fran and Peter's cabin to stay in. The cabin itself had everything you could possibly need, lots of room for guests to sleep, a really nice porch on the back overlooking the woods and a creek, and overall contributed immensely to our nice trip north. Fran and Peter were very welcoming and I would highly recommend a vacation to stay in their cabins. We all hope to be back sometime in the Spring or Summer to enjoy other activities in the area!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
United States
5

As Advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Immaculate and well-appointed, this cabin had lots of charm on the outside but was new and clean on the inside. All the appliances you would expect in a modern home including Satellite TV. Beds were were very comfortable and the layout accommodated four single people easily.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cabin was immaculate! The landscape was beautiful. We saw deer, played in the creek with our 4 year old, marveled at the waterfall, cooked out on the grill, went for walks with the dog, and swam at the nearby Lake Taghkanic Park.
Fran was fantastic -- we knew she was there for us, but she was not at all intrusive.
I just can't say enough great things about this place. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
Long Island, NY
5

The cottage at An

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We were only able to stay two nights, but we totally enjoyed the cottage. It was clean, comfortable and very cozy. The owners provided everthing we needed... comfortable beds, big fluffy towels, plenty of great movies to watch and lots of peace and quiet. My teenage son really liked the upstairs loft and spiral staircase. I look forward to visiting in the summertime and try our hand at fishing. I'm sure it's lovely that time of year. About the other cottage...it's far enough away that even if someone had been staying there (which there wasn't), it would not have mattered one bit. You really had the feeling of being away from it all, in a secluded, woodland setting. What a wonderful cottage!
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
5

Perfect escape from NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Cottage A was a lovely woodsy retreat for us two people and two dogs. All four of us loved traipsing around the nearby streams and waterfalls, hiking trails and the state park (a drivable distance away). The cottage itself was clean and cozy, and the kitchen was fully stocked with cookware and utensils. We slept and ate very well. Fran was very helpful and accommodating, with advice on what to do and where to go. Would absolutely stay here again!
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
5

Wonderful cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This cabin was perfect for a natural and quiet get-away. The setting is ideal, with a waterfall and stream flowing through the heavily wooded property. The cabin is cozy, comfortable and exceptionally clean! Lots of deer come to visit. The owners are friendly and very easy to work with. We look forward to a return visit.
business
Charming, quiet Cottage in a country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298707
Ancram Berkshires
5

Lovely Summer Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This is a great little cottage in the woods, behind a beautiful farmstead. It was IMMACULATELY clean and well appointed with sheets/blankets/towels, etc., as well as a helpful book of tips by the owner about the surrounding area.

The location is great as well - about 10mins away from the lake and 20-30 from Hudson, where we visited the Saturday farmer's market. (We also recommend the short drive to Hernondale Farm -- off 82 on Wiltsie Bridge Rd -- for some fantastically fresh, organic, grass-fed local steaks and chicken that we brought back and cooked on the grill.)

The one thing about the cabin to be aware of: there are actually 2 cabins right next to each other (less than 100 yards). We were lucky that no one was staying in the 2nd cabin when we were there. If they had been, I don't think it would have had the same lovely, isolated, woodsy feel.

Still, all in all, it was a great visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: In response to the two cabins next to each other, to date I have not had two different families renting at the same time, I do my best to schedule my guests so this does not happen, and if it does my cabins have their own yard and own driveway and alot of land to still have a relaxing and peaceful vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1