Captain Cook house rental - Your first view of home
Your first view of home
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Aloha & Welcome to Maka Nui. The name means Big Veiw which you will see as soon as you enter thru the gate to our paradise. The home sits on the cliff overlooking Kealakeakua Bay which is a marine preserve with wonderful snorkeling & kayaking. Either on the large screened in lanai or pool side you will be amazed by the wonderful ocean & mountain views!

The property is 5 acres with coffee & an abundance of fruit's of which you are welcome to pick & enjoy.

The home is equipped with top of the line appliance's & furnishing's with Indo/Asian flavored. We have made every effort to make sure your stay is memorable & enjoyable. There are many spots throughout the home & land to stop and relax /read or even take a nap. From the black bamboo sleeping couch or hammock on lanai to private secluded chairs & table scattered about .

Enjoy the sound of the waterfall /koi pond off the master bedroom & bath. As you step out of the jetted tub or double headed shower & slip into the spa quality slippers that we have furnished you will think that this is truly paradise!All the plants you see in photos are real ! No plastic or fake here!!!

We are a 90 minute drive to Volcano National Park. There are coffee museums, gardens/live theater/grocery stores/post office/great restaurants all close by. Driving to the top of Mauna Kea for star gazing is a must do! So we hope to see you soon.

FOLKS PLEASE CHECK THE CALENDER ON THIS SITE FOR OPEN DAYS BEFORE EMAILING ME.

All guests will be met with an Aloha basket of 100% Kona coffee grown here on the property/mac-nuts/fruit /Hawaiian sweetbread to start your stay. So come and experience paradise at it's best here at Maka Nui.

The property is beautiful & peaceful. It is perfect for small groups who also rent the cottage . Please check my other listing on VRBO @ # 141871 to give you even more room.

It is not ok to solicit this site

Keywords: Hawaii Vacation Home Come to your own resort!

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha , We are the caretakers of Maka Nui of which we are privileged to do. We have been on property for 18 years & lived on the Big Island for 25 . So feel free to call us with any questions you might have & we would be happy to help.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Maka Nui is country but close enough (15-20 minutes) to night life . It has all the stores to get supplies here & great restaurants so we get the best of both worlds.

First are the mascots Happy & Bamboo (dogs) They love to meet new folks as is always a chance to get treats! Then the sounds of birds & palms rustling in the breeze. Of course the pool & fruits are always a plus! And we are always around to answer any questions. As the pool /gardeners & coffee workers there is always something to do.

26 Reviews of Property 298438 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We can't quit thinking about this beautiful home and the wonderful vacation we had. We had our kids and grandkids with us and the house was perfect for 3 couples and 3 kids - everyone had their own bedroom and bathroom. Having a pool onsite was great as the kids could jump in while dinner was on the grill. The view is amazing and we loved never having to shut a door or window. Our hosts were the best - available anytime we needed anything but if not, we barely saw them. Just a perfect place to stay and if given the opportunity, we will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Yes this home has plenty of room to spread out. And having 3 generation's would surely make it the best spot. Thank you for you for the compliment as we really try to make it as slice of paradise for all. Look forward to seeing again. Candi
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Best Deal on VRBO

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The pictures of the house do not do it justice. It is beautifully decorated, roomy, and immaculate inside and out. The location is the best part. My family and friends were amazed every day by the activities just minutes away. Place of refuge had clear clean water for snorkeling, tons of fish, turtles, eels and beautiful coral arches you could swim through($3 for parking) Kayaking by Captian Cooks monument where we got to swim with 30+ dolphins, even babies($60 for a 2 person kayak). The boys favorite activity was cliff jumping, 30 foot cliffs, crazy fun.(free). Restaurants around town were wonderful and affordable, but the house had such a great kitchen we enjoyed most of our meals there.
The weather is cooler than the resort area by at least 10 degrees, making it just perfect. I can't thank Candi enough for her hospitality. She takes the time to point out the highlights of the area so you can plan your stay. We had 5 teenagers, and they said it was the best vacation they have ever had! That is the most amazing thing of all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As a Grandmother of 5 teenagers 3 of which are young adults. I know how hard it would be to keep all busy & having fun. But you are right , there is so much to do very close that most ages can find an enjoyable day. So glad they & you had a great time. And hope you tell friends & family about our paradise here on the Big Island of Hawaii
Mahalo Candi
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Thanks Candi!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A large group of family members wanted to go to Hawaii but stay together and not in motels. This large home was perfect! Separate rooms with adjoining bathrooms, large family rooms and huge lanai, top and bottom, swimming pool - it has everything. The very quiet setting, beautiful sunsets, view of the ocean, can't say enough about it. Thanks to Candi and her husband that came to take garbage and were available for questions, otherwise we didn't know they were there. What you see in the photos is exactly what you get, and to have fruit and coffee ready for us the first morning was very much appreciated. I would recommend this house to anyone and already have to a friend that travels to Hawaii every year and couldn't believe how beautiful this home was. Thanks so much for creating the corner post for our terrific vacation.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Great, amazing, very very cool!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were party of 6 adults plus two little kids (1.5+4.5y). Grandparents and our friends came from central Europe allowing a one-day stop in Colorado, so they desperately needed some rest and relax before starting to explore all the Big Island's beauties - and they got plenty of it here. The house with surroundings are just perfect. It's really huge, spacious and you can see it all the way from below as a dominant on the cliff, thus the views from the lanai are outstanding. If you wish you can watch these photoshop-like sunsets above the ocean every day. Candi is very nice and great; as she promised, we barely noticed her presence after she toured us around the house, but she was there within minutes any time we needed her. She was even so kind to send us some little things we forgot there after we left. Every morning we depleted the fruits (bananas, grapefruits, oranges, papaya) from the property and made fresh juices before heading for beaches, volcanoes or deep valleys. The house was professionally designed offering enough opportunities to spend time together, chasing around with kids or if you wish, enjoying some time aside, contemplating in solitude (ok, I mean napping:) Kids loved the pool and I was really excited about the beautiful geckos (hey, these guys are supposed to be endemics from Madagascar!). Btw. the house was pretty neat when we arrived. We have experience from hotels, hostels, cottages from all around the globe, but we have actually never seen anything so clean and spotless! Renting this house, you just cannot go wrong! Also thanks to staying exactly there, it was one of our best holidays ever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your wonderful review. So glad it was all you wanted & needed. It was great to see the different generation's enjoying time together as a family. We always try to make sure it will be the vacation you dream of & want.
Look forward to having you again as a group or just a part of you. Again Mahalo Nui Loa!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
5

All we wanted and more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We are a family of 5, kids aged 14, 13, and 9, who met family coming to Hawaii for the first time from Germany for a much-anticipated family reunion. The house, grounds, and caretakers exceeded our expectations. The pictures, while beautiful, don't do the house justice! It is spacious and spotless, with plenty of room for the 8 of us to spread out or come together. As luck would have it, tropical storm Flossie decided to show up within a few days of our arrival. Candi and Michael kept us updated on the plan of what we would need to do should we be hit, they arrived before hand to move the beautiful furniture and rugs out of the way of any rain coming through the screens, and were at the house in the morning with a cleaning crew to be sure that all was in order again. All done with absolutely minimal disturbance to us. We were impressed with the care they took of this house, securing it before even securing their own. We enjoyed some fresh flowers, bananas, avocados, mangos, papayas, and coffee, all from the property. There is a lovely little park at the end of the road that is perfect for getting an early-morning snorkel in before breakfast. The Big Island truly has so much to offer and it was a very sad day when we had to say good-bye. We have rented many houses in many parts of the world -- Europe, Africa, Asia, Central America, the US -- and this was definitely one of the very, very best!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We enjoy helping make vacation's & reuion's happen with no problems. And even tho we had an unexpected guest (Flossie) Are happy that your time here was all you had hoped.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Boulder,CO
5

Exceeded our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wow, this house was fantastic! The online pictures didn't do it justice. My family met here in Hawaii from opposite sides of the world (Australia and Colorado). The house was perfect for the kids as they loved feeding the goldfish in the Koi pond, picking fresh fruit around the property, playing foosball, and swimming in the gorgeous pool! We were thrilled to discover boogie boards which we made good use of. The grandparents couldn't get enough of the expansive views and lovely house. A glass of wine was enjoyed in the evenings while looking out at the ocean or sitting under the banana trees by the pool. Did I mention that the house is huge? It took me a good while to keep discovering new sitting areas around the many lanais. I can't recommend this highly enough. This gorgeous house and the tropical surroundings made our vacation extra special!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Michael & I are happy that the Birthday guy enjoyed! Glad you all enjoyed Maka Nui, there are a lot places to sit & reflect. It is a great place to be. We hope to see you back here someday.
C&M
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Chapel HIll, NC
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The pictures of the house are great, but the house in reality is amazing! Everything you could need and more. The property is beautiful and the view is breathtaking. After a day at the beach it was glorious to come home and sit on the lanai, or poolside, and there was always a breeze. We spent two wonderful weeks here. Definitely one of the best family vacations ever! We hope to make a return trip some day.
Thank you Candi and Michael!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Corvallis, OR.
5

Our best family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Maka Nui is a perfectly beautiful home in paradise. I can't think of a single thing I'd change. The breath- taking views, large and beautifully decorated rooms, incredibly comfortable beds complete with trade winds to cool the evenings, everything you can imagine in the kitchen and comfortable places to escape made this vacation the best we've ever had. The kids could have been happy in the pool all day, but there was so much to see and great beaches to explore!

Candi was a wealth of information and very welcoming. We'd love to come back - the kids are still talking about the geckos. Many, many thanks. Carol and Dave
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Sharon, MA
5

Fabulous place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The house is designed with great taste, high end furniture and decor, and all the features to make you feel very comfortable. Almost like you see on the pictures, only better in reality. Beautiful wrap-around lanai with the views of the bay. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook any meal. Owners provided beach coolers, umbrellas, beach lounges, basic snorkeling equipment. Bedrooms are spacious, each has it's own en-suite bathroom and lanai. Plenty of fresh air, and quite cool at night. We had 6 people in the party, but there was plenty of room for more people. We chose to have a very active vacation, so this home was a perfect place to come back and relax. Most of the Kona side places are within 30-45 min. Snorkeling at the 2-steps or Kahalu beach is 20 min, white sand beaches are 45 min. Wish we could spend more time on the lanai or by the pool! Candi is very sweet, and very helpful in all respects. The coffee they produce on the property is better and less expensive than in the stores. So, if you come across this property, and it fits you by size and price - grab it, you will not regret it. If I have to give you a word of caution - beware of the public parking in Kailua-Kona, if you have something in your car it might get stolen - so pay and park at the hotel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Altho you came a great distance we hope to have you back & with the rest of family. I am sure you must have missed a few beautiful places while here!
And we were so disapointed that you had trouble in Kailua-Kona. What a shame to have a great time & for it to be ruined on last day! Again please do not let a few ruin your idea of paradise.
Thank you for commenting on our coffee. We try to have the best of all things for guests. And so until we meet again Aloha!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Maka Nui Exquisite Executive Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298438vb
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Alaska
5

Fantastic Vacation Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Wow! What an outstanding vacation at Maka Nui! We are a group of friends who got together to vacation on the Big Island. One of the couples had taken a cruise of the Hawaii islands and they said that Maka Nui was the best thing about their entire trip. It was such a relaxing environment. We spent most of our time on the lanai. We were able to pick the oranges, lemons, and bananas - they were so fresh and delicious. Candi and Michael were exceptional hosts. We highly recommend Maka Nui.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you were all able to come together here at Maka Nui. For you to enjoy our slice of paradise is a great feeling to pass on to all our guests.
Aloha and would love to have you again!