Sayulita house rental - Sunset at the Barefoot House.
Sunset at the Barefoot House.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sayulita House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

'Check out our Video' The link is above the main picture on the left.

Introducing the Barefoot House! We finished construction in 2010, and, we like to think, it's an excellent value for your Sayulita vacation. It has a lovely, quiet location atop Gringo Hill; just an 8 minute walk to the plaza and 2 more minutes to the beach. Sunsets are stunning and the views of 'Monkey Mountain' and the Sayulita jungle are simply gorgeous. With two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a sleeping loft, it is perfect for a family or two couples. It can sleep 4-6.

Barefoot House boasts a large, salt water, solar heated pool with a shallow 'splash zone' for the kiddies. If you're not familiar with salt water pools, they are a luxurious alternative to traditional chlorine pools. They use low levels of salt to 'chlorinate' and maintain the PH of the pool. Without harsh chemicals the pool water leaves skin silky smooth and doesn't sting kiddie eyes.

The high quality teak and Sunbrella patio furniture is perfect for soaking up the rays or whiling away the lazy days under the shade of the pergola. The property is tastefully landscaped with tropical foliage and fruit trees including jasmine, gardenia, hibiscus, mango, banana, papaya, lime, coconut, lemon, kiwi, pomegranate, and mandarin. There is a propane barbeque perfect for grilling the day's catch. And, my favorite, is the outdoor shower. Showering under the night sky bright with stars, is simply dreamy.

The fully equipped kitchen is open to the living room and has a 6 burner gas stove, a full size fridge/freezer with ice maker, and even a dishwasher! (A rare treat in these parts.) There is a whole house water purification system allowing our guests to drink the water from any tap in the house. The dining table can seat up to six and the kitchen bar has seating for four more. There is a flat screen TV with Satellite (English programming), DVD player, as well as an XBOX game system with games. There is a portable BOSE sound system to use with your ipod or mp3 player. We have a delightful assortment of movies, books, games, and kids' toys.

The master bedroom has a king size bed with 600 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets and fabulous pillows. Two sets of hand crafted French doors open to the pool as well as a private veranda. The master bath has gorgeous Parota wood counter tops, dual sinks, and a custom rock shower with rain head.

The second bedroom has a queen size bed, as well as a sleeping loft with an additional queen bed. The sleeping loft is ideal for kids (or limber adults). The second bedroom has a private bath with a stunning rock shower and rain head. The two couches in the living room can double as twin beds (although one is shorter than a normal twin - again, perfect kid size). Both bedrooms and the living room have their own air conditioning units with remote control. Each bedroom has a safe that will fit your laptop.

Barefoot House in Sayulita is equipped with all varieties of beach gear available to our guests including beach towels, chairs, sand toys, and even a long board for the Sayulita surf. We hope that you'll be able to 'unplug' as much as possible while on vacation, but we do have Wi-Fi available to our guests. We also offer the use of our washer and dryer.

We're super excited to announce that the Barefoot House is on the move toward becoming Green! We recently added an extensive rooftop solar system that helps to offset our carbon 'barefoot' print.

Wherever you decide to stay, we hope that you enjoy Sayulita as much as we do.

Saludos,

The Stewart Family

Dave & Heather

Cole, Emerson, Eve & Soleil

Keywords: House, Pool, Wi-Fi

More Details
Hide Details

We're the Stewart Family - Dave, Heather, Cole, Emerson, Eve and Soleil. We live on the Central Coast of California. We own a small business and we try to live a lifestyle that allows us to visit Sayulita as often as possible. In 2009 and 2010 we spent 6 months living in Sayulita. The kids went to school at the public schools in town, and we built the 'Barefoot House'. We had the time of our lives. We surfed and ate fish tacos to our hearts' content. We hope to live there again someday. But, in the meantime, we are offering our cozy casita as a vacation rental.

Dave Stewart purchased this house in 2010

We bought our 'little piece of paradise' in March of 1998 when our oldest (now 13) was just a baby. We visited a few times after that and then got busy with life. You know how that goes. Four kids and 10 years later we came for a visit and remembered just how special Sayulita is. We made plans to return for a 'cultural exchange' and to build our little casita on the hill. We've just completed our six month stay in Sayulita and were lucky enough to spend the last two months in our newly finished casita, that we affectionately coined 'The Barefoot House'. You'll have to visit to find out how it got its name. Hint: You'll love the salt water pool.

We like to think our house is rather cozy. The beds are plush and beautiful with lots of pillows. Since we were here during the construction we were able to add a lot of personal touches that make the house homey. Also, since we built the house to accommodate our family it is equipped with comforts like a dishwasher, full size fridge with ice maker (heavenly), and a whole house drinking water system so the kids can brush their teeth with no worries. These are really nice features when traveling with kids. We also provide access to our washer and dryer for your convenience.

20 Reviews of Property 298436 in Sayulita, Mexican Riviera

Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
5

Top Notch Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Wish we could have stayed longer in Sayulita. The house is beautiful, well appointed, comfortable and casual, immaculately clean and a perfect place for fun and privacy. We were a retired couple and a young family with infant...couldn't have been better with kiddie pool, swim pool and a loft for one youngster. Nice covered veranda, lounges, full kitchen w/filtered water and spacious bathrooms.
Sayuilita itself has a great beach, great restaurants (don't miss breakfast at Rolli's) and a fun marketplace. Driving and parking can be a challenge downtown and steep roads to the house are thrill rides until you find the new road to the house. Just being completed as we left which makes it a breeze. Host Dave was a pleasure to work with and very helpful with info on the area and house. YOU WILL ENJOY YOUR VISIT.
Nancy the housekeeper was very helpful/cordial and prompt to respond with help and info.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Swanage UK
5

A perfect house in a stunning location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My partner and I booked the Barefoot House for a first time visit to Sayulita. What can we say? The accommodation was stunning with everything we could wish for, and more, to make our stay something that will live long in the memory.
The garden and pool were perfect for lazing on hot sunny afternoons, perfectly secluded and with a wonderful outlook, not overlooked at all. The location is only a 10 minute walk from the wonderful Town and beach...this vacation exceeded all of our expectations and we will be back just as soon as we can!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Return Renter!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Hi Dave,
We would love to head back to your little piece of heaven in Sayulita 4/12-20 (we'd actually been planning on Feb 15-23 but switched dates since you are already booked - we love your place...and I almost never go back to the same place twice so that says a lot). Please pencil us in if it hasn't booked since I looked at the calendar.
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Vancouver
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our first time to Sayulita. This is the house to rent. Nicely removed from town and very private. Great pool and house. Very clean and the ability to drink the tap water was a huge plus. I would recommend this house to anyone looking to stay in Sayulita!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Seattle, WA
5

Sayulita piece of heaven at the Barefoot House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I vacation - a lot. It's my family's favorite past time. We loved the Barefoot House... and Sayulita is what Mexico used to be like to visit - that perfect mix of quaint and local while still having great places to eat and plenty of conveniences (usually inspired by turism). I usually have a fairly firm rule about not returning to the same place twice (same town, no problem but I usually want to relax in it from a different perspective). I may have to break my own "rule" next time we come to Sayulita. Great little pool which is heated (or not if you prefer) on a wonderful patio overlooking the hillsides and valley. Iguanas and birds to provide interest. Comfy lounging area on patio (something we're always looking for - a book on a tropical vacation is so much more delicious in a cushioned chair). Close walk to town and beach (8-10 minutes down cobblestone, slightly hilly streets - or you can drive, parking is still possible in town). Note of caution - do not rent from Thrifty near the airport in PV - 1 st time in all my many years of renting cars in MX that I have been fleeced. Sleeps 4 adults and 2 kids most comfortably but you could definitely add in 2 more. Comfy beds, great linens, lots of towels, house is super quaint while being upscale. Very gracious and on top of things house manager. Great owners to work with. Our friends, who were staying at a place on the beach, came out to visit and loved the place too. The only thing that we took note of is that there wasn't a single spice in the house - I am accustomed to most places having salt, pepper and a few spice type leftovers when I arrive in most condos or residences. Due to usually finding them we didn't pick any up which was easy to remedy in town and probably accounts for how clean and ant free they were able to keep the place. So... pick up your spices while grabbing your food and bevs and come enjoy the Barefoot House. You won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Carlsbad ca
5

Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at the Barefoot house for a week and had the best time. The kids never wanted to leave the house and pool because it was so inviting! The owners were great to work with as well as Rene and Pedro at the house. The water filtration system was a great bonus since we ended up eating most of our meals at home. I would recommend getting a golf cart because the road to the house was steep, especially with young kids. Definitely want to go back to the Barefoot house!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
5

Family stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband, 2 teens and myself stayed for 5 days at the Barefoot house. The place was very beautiful and well decorated. The pool was lovely and well utilized by everyone. The beds were very comfortable and the dishwasher a nice ammenity. It was very clean and didn't see any bugs. We didn't use the loft and but would be ok for 1 person. It is a bit of a walk up from the plaza but I like the excercise so we didn't use the golf cart. The caretaker was helpful and the directions given useful. Would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Redding, CA
5

Redding family of 5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We fell in love with the Barefoot House and with Sayulita! The kids loved the pool (not fenced though so families with non-swimmers/very small kids may not be able to relax as much and not ideal for those with limited mobility). The house was clean and beautifully decorated. We walked everywhere and should have taken a taxi to/from Puerto Vallarta airport. We only used car once during the week to get groceries in Bucerios. We played in the ocean, ran and rode horses along the lush trails, shopped, etc. The restaurants were great and the weather perfect. Everyone in town was friendly and welcoming. We will definitely go back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Rocky Mountain area
5

Barefoot House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We spent 2 very relaxing, very comfortable weeks at the Barefoot House. The house is exactly as pictured and is well stocked for a family vacation. The inside is well done with English language TV and the whole house water filtration system is a definite plus (no bottled water necessary). The outside pool area is a real treat with plenty of chairs for lounging and a large shaded area for when you have had enough sun. A short walk (8 minutes) to the town/village of Sayulita with its many interesting shops and great places to eat. Dave and his assistant Tiffany were very helpful with our questions and his house manager Rene was very easy to work with. We would definitely return to the Barefoot House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Great 4 Kids! Solar Powered, Pool, Ac, Wifi, Sat TV, Xbox
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298436vb
+1 (831) 901-9665
Sayulita Nayarit
Seattle
5

Great December Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a great time at the house. We have one child and this was perfect. He could work on his swimming in the pool which made him way more confident at the beach. The staff was helpful. The book the owners put together really got us off on the right foot including any things to watch for. We got to see a crazy iguana outside the house in a tree. The location worked for us (Gringo Hill). It was quiet but a quick walk down to the plaza. You can rent an electric cart in town if the hill is too much. I would heartily recommend this for a small family or 2 couples. I also love the open kitchen so everyone can hang out together.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1