Snowshoe Mountain cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Snowshoe Mountain Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Enjoy our log cabin with views of the West Virginia mountains. If you want to stay in a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle, but also want easy access to a number of activities, this is the place to stay. The cabin is located in Slatyfork, two miles from the four season resort of Snowshoe Mountain. It sleeps six in three queen size beds with one bedroom and a cozy loft.

Bring only clothes/toiletries and food! This cabin has everything you need: full kitchen, sheets, towels, paper and cleaning products(not personal toiletries), and a porch with views to Snowshoe and of wildlife.

Play golf at the Gary Player designed Raven Golf Course, voted #1 Public Access Golf Course in West Virginia for the fourth year in a row. Enjoy a walk through Slatyfork Farm development adjoining our property. We love our pets and understand you may want to bring your pet on your vacation. We are pet-friendly; just tell us type and number of pets you are bringing. Linens and cleaning upon departure are included in our rates.

There is a small grocery store, gas and unique shopping one mile from the cabin. Four wheel drive recommended in the winter, but we are right off well-maintained Highway 219 leading to Snowshoe.

Seasonal Activities nearby(please check with vendors schedules before your visit to ensure availability): Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling, Snowshoeing, Cross Country Skiing, Hiking, Rock Climbing, Biking, Golf at Raven Golf Course, Snowshoe’s Outpost Adventure with BMX Track, Sporting Clays, Climbing Wall and Miniature Golf.

One of the most popular recreational activities in Pocahontas County is fishing. Eight Rivers (Cheat, Cherry, Cranberry, Elk, Gauley, Greenbrier, Tygart Valley, Williams) and countless streams originate in the area.

Take a scenic ride on the Cass railroad(check seasonal schedule and buy tickets ahead because they book up quickly), mountain bike, hike, fish, bike the Greenbrier River Trail or float the Greenbrier River. Visit the National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Lost World Caverns, Falls of Hill Creek, Droop Mountain State Park, Beartown State Park, Watoga State Park and Seneca State Forest.

Nationally recognized, the Highland Scenic Highway, is a must see. Cutting across Monongahela National Forest, this 43-mile route, much of which follows Rte. 150, the highest major road in the state- provides dramatic views of the Allegheny Highlands. This scenic byway, accessible from April through November (weather permitting) begins just south of Slatyfork and travels through hardwood forests to Richwood.

Along the way, you’ll find wildlife, waterfalls, 150 miles of hiking trails, and the 36,000 acre Cranberry Bogs Wilderness Area and Visitors Center. The county is home to two other nationally recognized scenic byways as well that are accessible year-round.

Keywords: Log Cabin, cabin, Snowshoe, vacation rental, home

More Details
Hide Details

Our family including our 25 year old daughter and 23 year old son loves to ski. We also love coastal living in our home of Savannah,GA. Since we rarely get snow, we started visiting West Virginia to enjoy snow and skiing. After visiting the area during other seasons, we realized that we loved West Virginia year-round. We bought our home with plans of renting it out to visitors. We feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to enjoy the cabin and share it with others. Visit soon in any season and enjoy all West Virginia has to offer from the comfort of our cabin!

Chrissie Burriss purchased this cabin in 2003

Our cabin is conveniently located to enjoy all activities in the area.

We enjoy our location in the mountains since we are from a coastal region.

71 Reviews of Property 29835 in Snowshoe Mountain, West Virginia

2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
average rating of 4.969697 based on 71 reviews
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
5

Lovely cabin close to snowshoe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Very private, well kept, and comfortable with an easy trek up to snowshoe. We loved the vast open roads for walking and enjoying starry nights in the nearby area.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
4

Great Stay in the WVA mountains!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Mountain Mama's was wonderful for our group during our stay at Snowshoe. We had plenty of space to sleep/eat/relax and were so close to the mountain for full days of skiing. It was a little tricky to find late at night but the directions provided proved to be perfect!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
5

Willy, Lilly, Junior and Canella's THANKSGIVING GETAWAY

Willy, Lilly, Junior and Canella's THANKSGIVING GETAWAY
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a great time @ Mountain Mama's Cabin. It was perfect for us 4. It was very relaxing and out of the way. Both our Dachshunds (Junior, Canella) loved it was well. We enjoyed Snowshoe and just relaxing and doing nothing. We will definitely be back in the fall, if not sooner. Chrissie is very helpful in every way possible. That alone made it so easy for our trip to know all that was taken care of and all we had to do was to get there.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a relaxing stay! The ski slopes are open, and there is more cold weather in the forecast!
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Washington, DC
5

Cozy little retreat from the hustle and the bustle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is a great little place to get away from the world. Chrissie is nice and responsive and really easy to work with and she is a wealth of information on the local area. We have two border collies we travel with and Chrissie was gracious and accommodating and didn't try to add hidden fees like so many others have tried to do in our other travels.

The Cabin is well maintained and immaculately clean when we arrived. Everything you need from pots and pans to wine glasses and some of the thickest and most luxurious towels are all there waiting. Just bring what you wear and what you want to eat and your normal toiletries along and you won’t need anything else.

We visited during the height of the summer and the daily temperatures were right around 70% with the nighttime temps dropping down into the low 50’s.

There is very little around for shopping but a nice convenience store/gas station is only a mile away. The fiddlehead restaurant and bar is a fun and simple place that delivers a fantastic locally raised grass fed beef burger that beats anything in DC.

Everyone is friendly and the experience was really great. Water falls, great trails and all the east coast mountain beauty you could ever want is right here at a fantastic price with a private, warm and cozy cottage to relax in at the end of the day.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Plymouth, IN
5

A Real Treasure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a fantastic, relaxing vacation at Mountain Mama's. We found it very peaceful to sit on the front porch during any time of day or evenings, reading, listening to music, knitting, or playing games. The Slatyfork Farms development really is an excellent place for long walks (as long as you're into some steep climbs), with great views as you walk up the mountain. The proximity to Snowshoe, where we did plenty of swimming, was convenient.

There was plenty of space for what we needed in the cabin. The flannel quilts were really cozy. It was also nice to be free from email and other internet distractions for several days. I don't know if it's typical, but the weather in the area was cool, not too humid, and provided great sleeping weather with the windows open. Our only suggestion is to replace the teflon pots and pans, but visitors can bring their own. We miss the place already.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad your family enjoyed the cabin! New pots and pans have been ordered, and I appreciate these guests letting me know it was needed. Come visit again!
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
5

perfect cabin with perfect privacy but close to 66

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I'm from NY and drove to Snowshoe for a biker race. The cabin has a bedroom and bathroom downstairs and a loft with two beds upstairs. kitchen has everything you need and a washer and dryer in the bathroom was so helpful. i brought my dogs which i rarely put on a leash so the location of cabin was excellent because it was up high on a road and in a private corner away from the other cabins which allowed them to roam without bothering anyone. cabin is 2 miles to the bottom of the Snowshoe resort entrance.It was a perfect stay for us. The stairs to the upper loft are steep so that's why i didn't recommend this to 55 and over.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Fairfax, VA
5

cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
If you need to call while staying in this area prepare call card b/c you can only use emergency call in this area. everything else = PERFECT!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I am very glad that these guests found the cabin to be perfect except for the phone service. Local calls can be made from the cabin phone. When people inquire about our cabin, I send an info sheet with info on the cabin and area. Item #4 on that sheet is: 4) Cabin Phone is........ in case you need to provide it to your family: You will need a calling card to call long distance on the cabin phone. Cell phones often won’t work in this area due to a “national quiet zone” for the National Radio Astronomy Observatory near-by. See the scrapbook for great places to visit including NRAO!

I try very hard to provide all the info necessary for everyone to enjoy their stay! Come visit soon! I hope these guests will come again as well!
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
New York
5

Best Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The accommodations were great! We will definitely rent again. The owner was also very helpful and responsive from the initial booking to the end--answering emails quickly and actually picking up the phone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Arlington, VA
5

A Very Comfortable Stat at Mountain Mama's Cabin

A Very Comfortable Stat at Mountain Mama's Cabin
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
There were no disappointments during our stay; we enjoyed the cozy warmth each evening after a long day of skiing at nearby Snowshoe. I second the owner's recommendation that a 4-wheel drive vehicle is highly recommended in the winter. The owner was very friendly & helpful prior to our arrival. We did have a cute little unexpected guest sitting on the floor one evening when we returned. We named the little black mouse 'Sir James' and watched him lounge for about 30 minutes before covering him with a cloth and dropping him outside in the snow. We weren't surprised given the beautiful setting surrounded by woodland. Also, bring food with you if possible. The only 'grocery' in town, Par Mar, is very expensive and limited in its stock. The closest true grocery with reasonable prices is about 15 miles south in Marlinton. In summary, we were very happy with the experience and recommend the cabin to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad our guests enjoyed their stay and had snow! We are sorry that the little "uninvited guest" appeared, but it is a struggle with a pet friendly cabin. We do our best to keep them outside.

Happy New Year and visit soon!
business
2 miles from Snowshoe entrance
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p29835vbi
(912) 596-4002
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Baltimore, MD
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My only regret about the cabin is that I couldn't stay longer. It was such a wonderful place. It was so beautiful and peaceful. There were no surprises. Everything the listing said was absolutley true. Thank you so much for letting me rent the cabin. It was a wonderful experience. It was a 6 hr drive from Baltimore but it was well worth it. Even once I made it off the highway the scenary was so calming and relaxing. I will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Amanda, I am with you all the way. As soon as I see the mountains, I feel better! Take care and visit again.