Nice home with a few drawbacks
We had a group of 15 people ranging from ages 25-30 yrs old. We've been making our annual trip up to the Poconos for a few years now and out of all of the homes we've rented this was our least favorite.
No wifi or internet in the home was a bummer....obviously these homes are meant for vacation uses and not really for work purposes so the few people in our group who had to work from home, weren't able to. They spent most of the day at a nearby Dunkin Donuts because there was no internet in the home.
The home was very well kept and was very clean except for the dishwasher. Absolutely disgusting what we found at the bottom of the dishwasher. We didn't notice it at first but after we started placing the dishes in, we saw all sorts of moldy mildewy crap just sitting on the bottom. Not a site to see, thats for sure....
With 15 people in the home, the hot water did not last. After 2 people showered, you had to wait awhile for some hot water. You would think a home that can house up to 15 people would have the hot water heater up to par and able to handle the load or most of it, but that wasn't the case. Never had this issue with the other rentals so it became really frustrating for everyone.
Kid size toilets throughout the entire home....not the most comfortable experience for even the avg size person let alone the bigger guys.
If you are looking for the grill, check the garage. There was a trailer inside the garage that housed the grill. The trailer door does not open up all the way so good luck getting it out. Took 4 guys to do this and then another 2 to carry the grill up to the deck….not the end of the world but just an inconvenience.
I still gave the home 2 stars because it is practically brand new....for the most part, the home was well kept....plenty of bedding for everyone to use and the towels were a big bonus. Unfortunately for what our group was used to and what we expected, this place was a major let down.
Owner's Response: I am extremely disappointed that anyone would leave our home unhappy with their stay, and actually slightly taken back at this particular review as Snehal had wrote to me after your party had left our house and said that everyone had enjoyed their stay.?! See letter below:
Just wanted to thank you again for letting us rent out the house. We had some minor issues with the dishwasher and hot water but overall it was a great time. One thing that I just found out is that the table cloth for the dining table from the kitchen was left in the dryer accidentally. We forgot to empty out the dryer with the towels and the table cloth. Apologies for that. Just realized this. Thanks and let me know if you had any questions
Anyway, i certainly would like to address the issues that you had.
First of all,, we do not have wifi in the house,,, it does not state anywhere on our website, that we do. People booking are aware of this, beforehand. Snehal had asked me if we had wifi, and i had said, no. So I am not sure where that confusion came from. I apologize, for anyone in your party who had to "work from home",, over that weekend that you stayed.
We now have wifi in the house,, so this will not be an issue again.
The heating system is fitted & adequate for a house of its size, therefore able to accommodate everyone, and has done in the past very efficiently, without any complaints.
Certainly after 6/7 showers the water tank may need a little time to reheat, but that's only normal. There is no need to wash towels/table clothes etc, during your stay, as we take care of all that, when you leave.
The toilets are standard size, that we have in all the houses. Personally, I've never actually seen bigger toilets?! but certainly, if there was someone in your party that was larger than average, i could see the dilemma.
We put away all outdoor equipment (grill, table, chairs, boat etc) for the winter. We lock them in the trailer ,in the garage for a reason. No one is allowed in there. Which is why you had such difficulty getting in/out of it. I've never had anyone do this before, but now we have had to post signs "Private, do not open". These are things that people do not use during winter, so we put them away to keep them in good condition for others. Again, apologizes that you did not enjoy our house, as we work extremely hard to keep the house clean & comfortable for all our guests. Thank you, Lisa
Helpful votes: 5/8
Did you find this review helpful?