Virginia Beach house rental - Beach Bird
Beach Bird
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Virginia Beach House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, sleeps 16

Remodeled In 2010: Upgraded Kitchen W/ Granite Counter Tops & New Appliances, Enlarged Master Bath With Tile Accents. Two Full Bathrooms Downstairs Remodeled! Located in the quiet, low-traffic north end of Sandbridge, a short stroll to the lifeguarded beach, Beach Bird features a solar-heated 16 x 36 pool. You can relax on the wonderful shaded poolside patio with comfortable cushioned chairs and table under the 12 x 12 gazebo. There is also ample poolside lounging, outside shower, and two gas grills in the private fenced backyard. Additional features are the downstairs kitchenette with 2nd refrigerator and microwave, hot plate & convection oven off the rec room. There is a spacious Oceanside front deck with second patio dining set and ample parking in the gravel front yard. U-shaped Staircase Connects 1st and 2nd Floor inside. CAC/heat pump, 7 TVs (1 large screen), VCR's, DVD's, CD, hi speed wireless internet access, basketball, ping pong, high chair. No smoking or pets.

We took over management of Beach Bird in 2011 from an agency to better serve our guests. Thanks to Homeaway this was not as daunting as expected; it turns out everything is done online now anyway. We get to meet and know our guests and this has been very rewarding; there are some really great folks out there and providing them with a first class vacation has been a wonderful experience. When you see guests relaxing and having a good time it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Bernard du Buy purchased this house in 2001

For me Beach Bird was love at first sight; my real estate agent wanted to turn around and leave immediately. All the windows and doors were frosted and furnishings were pretty basic, but I liked the layout and location in the low-traffic North End. You would never guess now with the large pool and gazebo but the backyard was a bramble path. But there were great views, and the owner had already installed solar hot water, so we already had a start on my goal of going solar.We now have a solar pool heater and this year hope to start on our PV solar project. Every off season we were busy remodeling starting with the doors and windows. Some day maybe I'll get to stay there a few days without working and see what it's like!

Over the years as Sandbridge has become busier I have come to appreciate the North End more and more. You can walk or bike ride without worrying about busy traffic, and crossing the street to the beach path is never an issue. /the neighbors have been great and we have tried to be selective in having guests who like to relax and enjoy peace and quiet on their vacation. We have made the backyard pool area into an oasis where you can relax by the pool and keep and eye on the kids in comfortable reclining patio chairs out of the hot sun under the gazebo cooled by the ocean breeze. I'm sure that sounds like hype but we do actually get an afternoon rising convection sea breeze most afternoons when I'm taking a break from the remodeling; it's my favorite spot.

10 Reviews of Property 298263 in Virginia Beach, Virginia

Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Great spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The owner was truly responsive and the property was well maintained. It worked well for us because we had three couples (one with a young child) and the accomodations met all of our needs. The downstairs offered a separate living space when needed and the upstairs was large enough for all. The pool was definitely a big PLUS
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Lincoln Park, MI/Vail, AZ
5

Wonderful place for vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Spent a week here in early October with our son's family. The house was very well equipped. The owner was wonderful; any issues were immediately taken care of (he actually went out and bought new skillets since some of the existing ones were sticking).
Our grandchildren loved the pool, ping pong table and games. It was nice because they had their own space to do what they wanted.
We would definately recommend this house.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Awesome Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This rental had everything you needed to have the most relaxing vacation ever! The house was clean and extremely comfortable. We loved this rental so much, we plan on returning.

The owner is extremely customer orientated. Just wonderful.

I would recommend this house to one and all!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Awesome Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This rental had everything you needed to have the most relaxing vacation ever! The house was clean and extremely comfortable. We loved this rental so much, we booked it again for next year.

The owner is extremely customer orientated. Just wonderful.

I would recommend this house to one and all!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Quebec
4

Beach Bird property review

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Very nice home with all the necessary commodities. Very near the beach and the pool was an added bonus which was great at the end of the day at the beach.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Shelby Township, MI
5

Beach Bird

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Accurate description of property and location, very clean and fairly maintained, owner was super and yes, I would recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Excellent Place for Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was an excellent place for our Family Vacation. We had three families represented from NJ, ATL and TX with ages from 3 years to 67 years old. We had a great time. The owner was very helpful and friendly. The house contained all the necessities of a home. The pool was a great feature with the kids and the owner provided pool toys, boards, floats, etc in order to keep the kids busy and safe. The older kids enjoyed the WIFI and the board games. The adults enjoyed the two kitchens and I loved the Master Bedroom.
Plenty of sleeping space for 14 people. Close to major shopping areas, stores, restaurants, attractions and boardwalk. We will definitely visit again and recommend it to a friend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
n tonawanda new york
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Best family vacation ever. Six adults one grandaughter (6yr old) House had anything and everything you could need,well maintained with everything in working order. Owmer was most helpful, from renting the beach house to a follow up phone call once we were home. This area has something for everyone, the beach was one of the best I have ever seen, although we spent most of our time in the pool that was just fantastic. This is a great place for a restful vacation with everything close enough so your not inconvenienced if you happen to need something Once again the owners help was a big "plus". The Beach Bird is a great place to have a vacation
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Virginia Beach, VA
5

Retirement celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This was by far the most relaxing vacation we had. My husband retired from the Navy after 22.5 years and we had family in from out of town. We were looking to save money by having everyone stay at one place instead of various hotels. We were one block away from the beach and also had the pool in the backyard. The house is stocked with anything you could possibly need. Spacious! Our 3 and 5 year olds, 17 year old niece, and adults all loved it. Awesome pool/bbq area. Fantastic balcony to relax during the day or at night. Extremely refreshing. The owner was the best!! Came over to see if we needed anything and to make sure the pool was cleaned mid-week. We will be back!!! Thank you so much for a great way to celebrate, stress free!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beach Bird - Newly Remodeled Kitchen & Baths - Comfortable/Nautical Home w/Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298263
+1 7578706426
Virginia Beach Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Brooklyn, New York, USA
5

Christmas Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
From the beggining it was a very good experience. The owner got in touch with me very fast, signed the contract, abbility to pay with Credit Card. He was waiting for us on Dec 22 with keys and intructions. Very friendly. The house was clean,and nicely decorated for Christmas (beautiful touch.)I never saw a house with so much kitchen equipment. I coocked for a week (it was family reunion)and I did not missed one thing from my own kitchen. Ping-pong is strong in my family, so we were delighted to have a ping-pong table. I don't have any negative thing to say about the house. Enough towels and sheets, 2 stoves, to refrigerators. I'm so glad I rented this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 30/30