Colonial Beach house rental - Sunset View at the Point
Sunset View at the Point
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Colonial Beach House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This custom built home was built with the family in mind. It has 9 foot ceilings with an open floor plan so the family can enjoy each other. The home has a large front porch for gatherings and a sunroom so you can enjoy the evening sunsets. A master bedroom with a queen bed and private full bathroom, the 'Captian's Room' with a couch that pulls out to a full size bed, second full bathroom, livingroom, dining area, fully stocked kitchen, and washer/dryer all upstairs. Downstairs there's a livingroom, bedroom with a full bed, the kids room with twin beds, third full bathroom, kitchenette and washer/dryer. Cook on the gas grill while the family plays table tennis.

Coloinal Beach is known for 'Virginia's Best Kept Secret'. It is a golf cart community. Enjoy putting around in a rental golf cart visiting the antique shops, coffee shops, the butcher shop, beach shop, town pier, museum, and resturants. Take a morning walk on the Potomac River side of The Point and watch the sunrise and later in the evening take a walk on the Monroe Bay side to watch the beautiful sunset. Make a day at the beach, pack a cooler, take a beach chair and don't forget the sunscreen! After a day on the beach head over to Nancy's for a Sundae. Visit Westmoreland State Park take a walk down to the Potomac River to look for shark teeth a hit with the kids. If you love to fish charter a boat with Potomac River Charters for head boat fishing and charter boat fishing. Come join us in June for the 62nd Annual Potomac River Festival Parade, art & crafts, games, stage shows and in the evening for the fireworks. Celebrate the 4th of July with fireworks from the Municipal Pier. For more events go to www.colonialbeach.org.

Take a cruise on the Breeze to Tangier Island. A little history about Tangier Island. The tiny island community has attracted the attention of linguists because it's people speak a unique English Restoration-era dialect of American English. Few cars are present on the island, tourists and islanders all get around on golf carts, boats, mopeds, and bikes. Tangier is often referred to as the 'soft-shell crab capital of the world'. There are several resturants and gift shops. The Breeze leaves at 10am and returns around 4pm from Historic Reedville, Virginia, the center of the largest fishing industry in the United States. Only 1.5 hrs away.

Or take the Rappahannock River Cruise on the Captain Thomas. Departs from Hoskins Creek in Tappahannock at 10am and returns at 4:30pm. You may want to bring binoculars to get a close-up look at the national symbol, the bald eagle. When the boat docks you'll be escorted to one of Virginia's top wineries, Ingelside Plantation. Once there enjoy a buffet style lunch, take a tour of the winery and taste some of the wines that Ingleside has to offer after the tour. Only 40 miles from the beach house.

Alittle more south visit Colonial Williamsburg's Historic Area with special events, dining and more.

Bush Gardens Williamsburg Theme Park is a fun place for both adults and the kiddos! 2.5 hr drive.

Keywords: Spacious, open floor plan, five years old

More Details
Hide Details

David and Virginia Geib. We are long time residents in the Washington Metropolitan area. We have grown to enjoy the Colonial Beach area and hope that your family enjoys it to.

This home was custom built for us as a secondary home but since then we have decided to rent this home on a weekly/weekend basis. We hope that whoever stays at our home enjoys it as much as we do

The favorite part of the house will have to be the sunroom with the large windows to view the sunset in the evening. This home is very well kept, close to Monroe Bay and a short walk to the beach.

7 Reviews of Property 298223 in Colonial Beach, Virginia

Sunset View in Colonial Beach
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Sunset View in Colonial Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298223vb
(703) 994-6426
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Sykesville, Maryland
5

Comfortable and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a wonderful vacation home. Kitchen is stocked with everything we needed and more. Everyone thought the house was beautifully decorated. Very clean, airy and light. Furniture was very nice and looked new. It was great having the kitchenette downstairs for extra drinks and food. Listing was very accurate and left no questions. Owners are beyond nice and accommodating. They gave us access to beach chairs, rafts, and a pop up tent that we could have used at the beach. A pingpong table is in the garage.

We took a day trip to Robert E Lee's birth place and had a great day. Love the little shops on the main drag into town. All in all had a great vacation and would DEFINITELY rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Barbara, so glad you and your family had a wonderful time in our Beach Home. Can't wait to see the gift your husband left behind in the downstairs bathroom, LOL! We look forward to have you and your family back to vacation in Colonial Beach and stay at our home.
David & Virginia
business
Sunset View in Colonial Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298223vb
(703) 994-6426
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Bowie, Maryland
5

Colonial Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The home was beautiful. We had a wonderful time. The photos of the house does not reflect how beautiful the home is. This property is well maintained. The owner answered all of our questions and was available to us our entire stay. I have recommended this property to our friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lou, David and I are gald your family enjoyed our beach house for your summer vacation. Hope the boys caught lots of fish during their stay. Thanks for your input of the house. We hope that your family will return again soon for another vacation in Colonial Beach. Thank you, Virginia
business
Sunset View in Colonial Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298223vb
(703) 994-6426
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Alexandria, VA
4

Triathlon Weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Two families with young children rented this house for 3 days. Three of the adults were doing the Colonial Beach triathlon. The house is about 1.5 miles from the start/finish lines and we rode our bikes in that morning; so convenient. Even better however is that the house is about 2 blocks off the run course! For the Sprint distance, you catch the runner on one leg, but for the International, you actually catch them on two legs of the course. This was so great, the kids just walked two blocks and could see their Mom or Dad running the race. NO getting up extra early and driving to find a viewing spot! Plus, the garage afforded a place to store our bikes until and after race day.

The house is very nicely decorated and clean. It's exactly 1/2 mile to the beach. You'll find everything you need to have a good time. The house could easily sleep 8+, but I understand they want to keep the numbers down for good reason. There is lots of room. We unfortunately had quite a bit of rain that weekend, but the kids enjoyed the indoor space including the garage ping pong table. The town itself did not look like too much was going on, but we never really ventured in. We did take the kids blackberry picking at Westmoreland Farms and that was great.

Word of caution however. If you have a young one that is unsafe on stairs, you may have trouble. The stairway is too wide for a traditional gate so we had to rig something up with a strap and a bar stool. It worked, but it was a bit nerve wracking.

The owners were easy to communicate with and gave us all information needed in a timely manner. If we do the race again next year, we would very much consider staying here again.
business
Sunset View in Colonial Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298223vb
(703) 994-6426
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
New Hyde Park, New York
5

Patti D, New York

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My family enjoyed our stay at your home -- lots of open space, plenty of bedrooms, beautifully decorated and very clean. House is much bigger than what the pictures on line show. It also had everything we needed. Close to town and beach. Will definitely look into renting this home again - we have family that live in Colonial Beach so we are down there a few times a year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Patti, we are happy that you and your guest enjoy our beach house look forward to have you visit again and maybe you will be able to sea glass hunt on your next visit!
business
Sunset View in Colonial Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298223vb
(703) 994-6426
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Sunset View Colonial Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The place was simply gorgeous. Much bigger than I anticipated, having only viewed the on-line photos. The sun room is fantastic and offered a great place to sit and talk and hang out. Tons of open space and windows with an open upstairs kitchen gave us the opportunity to visit while preparing our meals. Just a wonderful house. It had everything we needed and more.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Matt,glad that you enjoy your stay at our beach house. Hope you and your family will come again to vacation at Colonial Beach in the future.
business
Sunset View in Colonial Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298223vb
(703) 994-6426
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Nashville, TN
5

Our stay at Sunset view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our stay at Sunset View was wonderful! The house is very clean, beautiful, spacious, very comfortable and tastefully decorated; all the amenities are provided - fully equipped kitchen upstairs and kitchenette downstairs, gas grill, cable tvs with remotes and DVD players, nice furniture throughout the house, and a porch perfect for sitting out on in the mornings and evenings (very peaceful and relaxing) and the sunroom upstairs is one of the nicest we've seen. The neighborhood was friendly and quiet, and the house is in close proximity to the water and several attractions, as well as restaurants and stores. The owners of this property were very accommodating and informative, and they seem to have thought of nearly everything, and we would certainly recommend this as a relaxing vacation destination for a family looking to get away from it all. We hope to stay here again at some point in the future.......
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Micheal,
I,m so happy that you and your family enjoy our home. My husband and I hope that your family will come again next summer! Thank you for all your input on the home.
business
Sunset View in Colonial Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298223vb
(703) 994-6426
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Stafford, VA
5

Fabulous Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home is large and bright and extremely clean and beautifully decorated. We will stay again in the future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Kris
I'm happy that you enjoy our home. Hope you & your family will come again :)
Helpful votes: 1/1