Marshall house rental - View at high tide from Tomales Bay
View at high tide from Tomales Bay
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Marshall House Rental Photos and Description
Marshall Cottage - 5 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, sleeps 6-10*

Come explore Point Reyes National Seashore and beautiful Tomales Bay from our water front vacation rental, High Tide Cottage, perched directly over the bay. Listen to the waves lap gently below you at high tide. Watch pelicans dive for fish and seals swim by right out in front of you. At High Tide Cottage you will find a welcoming blend of contemporary style and comfortable charm for your vacation getaway. With 3 bedrooms and 1.5 baths, High Tide Cottage will comfortably sleep 6 people. With the addition of the Boathouse Annex only available to the renter you can also add a 2 bedroom 1 bath attached apartment to help ensure the space and privacy you need for a fantastic stay!

The Boathouse Annex provides accommodations for an additional 2-4 guests (added $150 per night). $50 extra one time cleaning fee.

Main Cottage: The open-style living room/dining area/kitchen is a perfect gathering place for family and friends to enjoy time together, surrounded on three sides by Tomales Bay water views.

The kitchen features a refrigerator with separate ice-maker/freezer, a 6-burner Viking gas stove, microwave oven and dishwasher. It comes fully equipped with pots and pans, cooking utensils, dishes, silverware and basic herbs and spices. Four bar chairs pull up to the unique eucalyptus slab bar, allowing the chefs in your party to interact with the rest of the group . The living room area has a thermostat-controlled gas fireplace, satellite TV with DVD player and a deck off the southwest side. Board games and binoculars are available for your use while at High Tide Cottage. The ever-changing moving picture of sea life directly out your windows will enchant you.

Stairs just outside the front door lead down to the small beach, accessible at lower tides. It's a great place for kids and adults alike to explore the teeming sea life. A public boat launch is located at Miller Park, just 1 mile north on Hwy. 1, next door to Nick's Cove Cottages. Kayaks can be rented in the nearby town of Marshall. The quaint and charming town of Point Reyes Station is 12 miles south and the beaches of Point Reyes National Seashore are within an hour's drive, or a 15-minute kayak paddle. Make High Tide Cottage your home base for exploring all that west Marin County has to offer.

For larger parties, we have 2 other cottages within 5 minutes walking distance of this property that sleeps an additional 5 and 6 guests per property. These homes can be viewed at hightidecottages.com (visit our sister sites: High Tide Beach Cabin and High Tide Farms).

Perfect for a family reunion, wedding party and staff retreats! Multiple property discounts are available.

More Details
Hide Details

A Bay Area Native, we have spent our summers in Marshall for over 50 years. Now full time residents of West Marin we appreciate the beauty and natural splendor of Tomales Bay. We are attentive homeowners who make sure our properties are well maintained and updates providing all the comforts you need to make this a special and unique vacation experience on an 'over the water setting'. We are always nearby and available to attend to your needs.

Meg purchased this house in 1980

This property has been in our family for more than 30 years. It is well appointed, updated, and comfortable with enough space for your guests and family. You can easily accommodate 6-10 guests in this spacious home. It is a true escape with spectacular views and a remote feeling. Great oysters and dining is only 5 minutes in either direction from the home making this a unique locavore experience. You can rent kayaks, bring your own and fish right from the deck! It's a birder's paradise and seals and bat rays swim right in front of the house. The scenery is always changing and you will be swept away in it's serenity.

This house is over the water. A small bay with incredible views of Hog Island. Quiet, serene, scenic and spectacular. A one of a kind view of sea life just before the mouth of Tomales Bay leading into the Pacific.

8 Reviews of Property 298052 in Marshall, California

High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
Santa Cruz, Calif.
5

Quiet Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
After a delightful lunch at the Greens in Fort Mason meandered up to the house picking up cheese, supplies at the store and of course Oysters. The wind was blowing as we sat and toasted another visit to Tomales Bay but the house was warm and toasty.
This is our second visit and this time brought my brother and sister in laws. They were amazed at the views. As always a bottle of wine and a chocolate bar awaits your arrival. The house is extremely clean and well kept. Meg emailed to make sure all was good. We went to the reopened Olema House a disaster. Service was so bad I couldn't bring myself to leave a tip. The food was mediocre at best. I suggest bring some food and picking up clams mussels and oysters at HOG ISLAND the best on the bay. Eating raw oysters drinking fine wine and cooking a seafood Bordelaise with your clams and oysters on there six burner commercial cook top. If surf and turf is your pleasure then cooking up some steaks on the gas grill works also. Oh and by the way don’t forget the Brickmaiden Bread and Strauss unsalted butter to go with it. A walk thru the shops in town is always fun and brunch at the Pine Cone dinner delicious. From here a trip north to Tomales or Bodega Bay is a nice ride not a all day affair. I would highly recommend this to any one looking for a quiet get away right on the water High Tides Cottage is just a great place and will definitely continue to go back. Eat oysters drink wine and relaxation should be at the top of anyone’s list when visiting. Thank you to the owners for allowing us to share your Cottage.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your incredible comments and for sharing your experience! I'm so glad you made High Tide Cottage part of your getaway, please come back any time! ~Meg
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
5

Just as advertised - Amazing getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Hide Tide Cottage is just as advertised and reviewed. It is beautiful, comfortable and completely equipped for a glorious vacation stay. We visited 7/11 - 7/18, 2011. We had 6 people in our group and everyone had all the space they could need. The bedding was soft and cozy, and there are plenty of clean sheets and blankets if needed. We spoke to Krystin part way into our stay and we were quickly supplied with fresh towels. My husband and I chose the sleeping porch and it was delightful, we slept with the door open and enjoyed the sounds of the water. The bath took a little getting used to, but what gorgeous views as you soak in the tub! The furnishings were very nice and comfortable. In the evenings we enjoyed playing games at the huge kitchen table. There was no cell service, but there is internet and satellite TV. The kitchen is a delight also, especially the amazing Viking gas stove. There is a small refrigerator, but it is all you would need, the ice maker worked very well at keeping up with the needs of 2 adults and 4 teen boys. The dishwasher is wonderful. There is no disposal. There is filtered drinking water. Pretty much anything you would need is there, garbage bags, foil, ziploc bags, spices, coffee maker, toaster, toilet paper, cleaning supplies. We ventured into Tomales (wonderful ice cream/sandwich shop across from General Store), Pt Reyes and Petaluma several times, once for a movie, once to go bowling and for several meals. Highly recommend Cattleman's! Skewers, Bubbaques - odd location (inside a convenience store) but excellent food, great service, Lombardi's BBQ. Our daughter moved to San Francisco a few months ago so we drove there to visit with her. Easy day trip. The views were gorgeous, we even saw three otters on the day we left. We would recommend this home if you want to relax, reconnect with your family, catch up on your reading, do some venturing out in the area sightseeing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Perfect get-a-way

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Review on VRBO.com/294759:
The unobstructed 200o view of Tomales Bay was spectacular. The sun porch is perfect, if you wait until about 4 or 4:30, the warmth of the sun has the bathroom ready for an hour's soak. Not to say there aren't heaters! The bedding is divine. The kitchen is the neatest galley ever, the appointments in bath impressive. The first day was sun and no wind, off we went to drive around the bay, at Drakes Bay we watched marine rescue workers shoo an elephant seal back to the water. All it wanted to do was sunbathe too. It never made a sound in that 45 minutes until it was in the water and then over it's shoulder a big growl. Out by Hearts Desire Beach we pulled over and shared a few minutes with a lynx, face to the sun, smiling. We left first. The second day was a storm with high winds.The cottage had no drafts, no noise and no movement as the waves marched underneath. A tiny creek at the side of the house comes from a natural spring, there are small tide pools to view right under the bathroom window. Early morning is the time to find the Banana Slugs headed for their beds. We came home and told all our friends, they have already made reservations, one couple looking for a 25th anniversary spot, they won't be sorry. We felt so rested, will return soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Amazing discovery!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Review on VRBO.com/294759:
The pictures of this property do not do it justice. It exceeded all of our expectations. We had a wonderful Christmas in this cozy property watching storms and gorging on fresh seafood. It was wonderful and we look forward to going back again soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Fantastic Retreat on Tomales Bay

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Review on VRBO.com/294759:
Honestly the pictures—lovely though they are—do not do this wonderful property justice as they do not begin to capture the the atmosphere and vibe of the place. High Tide Cottage surpassed our hopes and expectations. We come up to the Point Reyes area a couple times a year, but this is the first time we have ever rented a house. It will not be our last! The ability to cook on our own not only made the trip the more affordable, but more fun as well! We loaded the car with our favorite wine & beers and brought our copy of the Hog Island Oyster Cookbook with us, and each day after our hike, on the way back to headquarters, picked up a couple dozen or more oysters and tried a new recipe each night for our first course. What fun for oyster-loving folks who love to cook! The kitchen is beautiful and well appointed. I won't describe the wonderful bathroom—fun surprise! The owner proved friendly, professional and attentive. We will not hesitate to return. If you've never been to the area before—we recommend going to Nick's Cove for at least one meal. The Marshall store is a must. Even if you don't like oysters—blasphemy in the part of the world ; )the fish tacos & chowder are great as well. Tomales Bay Foods is also a required stop for all the scrumptious local cheeses—perfect picnic fodder for your hikes. We always end our trip with breakfast at the Pine Cone diner before we head back to reality.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
sacramento
5

Amazing home in amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Three couples rented this home for a long weekend. I was so impressed as soon as we entered. The house is beautiful and the views are incredible. We rode bikes out to the lighthouse (52 miles round trip). We rented kayaks and paddled around the bay - saw leopard sharks. We had barbecued oysters one afternoon. Dinner at Nick's Cove. Cooked dinner a couple of nights in the beautiful kitchen. The trip could not have been better. This home is beautiful and a perfect base for exploring this area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
Santa Ynez, CA
5

Family dream vacation comes true!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We wanted a cottage for our family ranging in age from 9 to 82, to have a family vacation to relax, and make new memories. High Tide cottages was the perfect spot. The two decks are perfect for enjoying the gorgeous view, trying to spot a seal, or soaking up some afternoon sun (bring some extra beach chairs!) The kitchen is a wonderful place to create in, while enjoying the view, or watching the kids stroll the beach in search of treasures. The house is comfortable, simple, bright cheerful, and the views are out every window. It is easy to find a spot to read quietly or take a nap, while others can move about with other activities. We loved lingering at the big dining table and playing games after dinner. It is a short drive to local great casual waterside oyster restaurants. It is also a short drive to either Pt. Reyes Station or Tomales. The former having great food choices (don't miss the Cowgirl Creamery) the latter having a phenomenal bakery. For a more formal dining experience, the Olema Inn is beautiful, and the food is great. Even just a visit for a glass of wine in the garden or the tiny Nantucket style bar. Local beaches across the bay are great for kids, and walking, the ocean beaches though a drive, are gorgous as well. I hear they can be foggy in the summer months though, but we brought big sweaters and enjoyed a pic-nic in the dunes.
The house is well and thoughtfully equipped. There is a very helpful guide prepared by the owners that has great ideas for activities.
Our vacation was a success, and we certainly have new memories.
We would definately go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
High Tide Cottage on Tomales Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p298052
+1 (415) 509-1507
Marshall The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Hidden Gem on Tomales Bay

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My husband and I recently spent a fabulous weekend at High Tide Cottage while attending the Point Reyes Birding and Nature Festival. We really didn't know much about the the small town of Marshall before we arrived, but we soon found out that it's an ideal and beautiful shoreline locale situated roughly halfway between Point Reyes (~20 mins) and Bodega Bay (~30 mins). The Cottage has breathtaking views and scenery from almost every nook and cranny. It's a birdwatcher's paradise with pelicans, terns, brants, loons and cormorants right in your very own "backyard" (Tomales Bay itself) along with shorebirds galore when the tide is out. The evenings are enchanting as the winds die down and the water calms. You can sit back on the deck listening to loons in the distance while basking in the moon's glow. The cottage is very comfortable, warm, clean and well-maintained located in a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood with surprisingly little (if any) noise heard from Hwy 1 above. The comforts of the cottage include a beautiful kitchen outfitted with only the finest appliances making cooking easy and enjoyable. The sun room which sits directly on Tomales Bay is relaxing, cozy and peaceful providing an ideal spot for reading, playing cards or taking an afternoon siesta. A couple items of note is that the TV's dish satellite signal can be weak at times, especially when the winds are high, so watching tv is not always guarantee. However, if you come prepared with dvd movies of your own, you'll be just fine. Also, there are no laundry facilities directly onsite, but there is a local laundromat you can drive to, if needed. And lastly, the rental does not permit the use of their private kayaks/canoes (understandably due to liability), however Blue Water Kayaking is located on a few minutes down the road where you can rent kayaks and sign-up for tours on the Bay. Overall, our experience was outstanding and we'd certainly rent High Tide Cottage again...hopefully very soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2