Lancaster house rental - Sylvan Retreat
Sylvan Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lancaster House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 9)

Retreat back into time in this 1867 vintage schoolhouse. Having all the amenities of home, it is nestled on 3.5 acres of woodland and meadow. Sit on a rocker on the front porch and take in the view of the valley, or walk the trail and see nature firsthand. Kids will like their own special area in the pine grove. House has an open layout with the living room, dining room, and kitchen all part of a common area. 2 bedrooms are off of this room, 1 with a large sleigh king bed, the other with a queen bed and view of the meadow. A full bath is on this 1st floor, as well as a laundry room. Kitchen is fully equipped, should you wish to cook. 2nd floor is another large room with old-style knotty pine paneling and wall-to-wall new shag carpeting. With a built-in queen bed, single bed, and bunk beds, it sleeps 5. There is a full bath on this 2nd floor as well. Walking Paths, Outdoor Children's Play Area. TV and DVD in each bedroom. Has Wifi.

Why the Owner Chose Lancaster: : I purchased this home from my uncle and aunt, who lived there for 58 years.

The Unique Benefits at this House: : Year Purchased: 2008 - You are close to nature in this setting. The house is very cozy, with a fireplace and large windows to look out. The second floor 'bunk room' has wall to wall carpeting and real knotty pine walls. A hiking trail runs through the property.

Owner Description/Comments:: This property has been in the Holzinger family for 60 years. As the owner, I bought the property 3 years ago from my uncle and aunt. They initially bought the property in 1948 and had it converted from a schoolhouse into a residence.

More Details
Hide Details

48 Reviews of Property 297931 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Sylvan Retreat Getaway
average rating of 4.9375 based on 48 reviews
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Bentleyville, Pennsylvania
5

Perfectly secluded and quiet with plenty to do

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The property is wonderful and spacious! Even in early April with only the crocus blooming it was worth the visit. It is quiet and secluded. We took our sons and parents and having sleeping quarters on the first floor is perfect for older folks :) although the fireplace smoke still smelled quite a bit so if you have breathing problems just tell Phil and we will make sure all is aired out. Thanks again Phil!
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Great getaway, feels like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A very nice, unique, home for your stay away from home. Upon opening the door we felt right at home with all the ameneties you hope to have when traveling. The location is close to everything, although you feel like you're away from the crowds, nestled on a large, quiet wooded lot, overlooking the valley below. Phil has taken care of all the details to make your stay comfortable and informative, with lots of information on local businesses and activities to enjoy. I highly recommend Sylvan Retreat Getaway and would return if ever in the Lancaster area again.
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Beautiful, cozy getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I stayed at Sylvan Retreat Getaway with a fairly large group of friends for the weekend. We had an amazing time. The house was charming and extremely cozy, and we especially love the loft-like upstairs with a thick, comfortable carpet and four beds. The kitchen had all the pots and pans we needed plus staples that we didn't think to bring, like salt, sugar and oil. There were directions for everything in the house as well as recommendations for places to eat, get groceries, etc. The property was large and extremely well taken care of. Phil was fantastic and extremely accommodating. I would 100% recommend this house for anything who is looking for a charming place to get away for a weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Wonderful Way to Welcome the New Year!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Such an historic home and so cozy with the fireplace and very comfortable. Had everything one would need on vacation. Area was beautiful with lots of fun places to visit. Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg all very close by and easy day trips. The Sight and Sound Theatre is to good to be true...fabulous! Great shopping and hiking/walking areas as well. John Wright Restaurant delicious and beautiful view. Would highly recommend, and Phil (owner) was a pleasure to deal with. Wonderful vacation getaway!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
McKinney TX
4

Lovely and Blissfully Quiet!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We enjoyed our week's stay at Sylvan Retreat! Perfectly located as the center of an hour's drive radius to very important tourist attractions such as Hershey, Intercourse, Gettysburg, Antietam, on and on. We hit the leaf change period just perfectly....the leaves had reached their peak and were beginning to fall from the trees and some days it would "rain" leaves. Since we're from Texas where that doesn't happen, it was blissful! We packed in a single carry-on since there was a washer-dryer combo at Sylvan and just kept washing when needed. Made for light travel which was very nice. Lots of room for large groups here with much to do, especially families with kids. Wish there had been a TV in the living area, but there was one in each bedroom, the only reason I marked Sylvan down. A fire and a football game in the same room would have been perfect. Plenty of wood available for fires which was nice. Very quiet and away from the street. We had a lovely time there for our 30th anniversary celebration while learning more about the Amish and Civil War and Chocolate!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Milton, FL
5

Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My parents, sister, husband and I stayed in the Sylvan Retreat home while visiting relatives in the area. What a wonderful home to return to at the end of long days of sightseeing, eating, etc! We also enjoyed some rowdy games of ping-pong and pool in the gameroom/garage. The kitchen was well stocked with the essentials (condiments, trash bags, coffee filters, etc) and was beautifully furnished. Thank you so much for a delightful "retreat", we will be back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
New Jersey
5

What A Great Place To Stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
a wonderful VRBO. Would recommend it to all. So much to do, So well decorated and clean and the owner has thought of EVERYTHING!!!!! so glad we chose this spot for our girls get-away weekend!! hated to come home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
NY, NY
4

Beautiful Country Escape

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at the Sylvan Retreat as our first VRBO experience and were extremely impressed! Phil thought of everything to accommodate our needs and to make sure we felt completely at home throughout our stay. The Sylvan Retreat is lovely. It is very well located, spacious, clean, and comfortable. The space will surprise you because when driving in you might feel like you are in a suburban neighborhood, but once you turn onto the driveway the entire environment changes into a secluded retreat surrounded by nature. The added bonus is the grill, fire pit, and fireplace which we used the entire weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We pulled up to the house after a long drive and all our stress went away. The grounds are beautiful and the house is clean and full of charm. This was a multi-family vacation with 4 adults and 5 children. The kids were in their own world upstairs and didn't want to leave. The owners think of everything and were very easy to get a hold of. It was a beautiful scenic drive to Hershey Park and just a few miles from Lancaster. We will definitely plan to stay there again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Sylvan Retreat Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297931
+1 717 413-1665
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Syvan Retreat Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful three night stay at Sylvan House. It had a very private, woodland feeling since it is surrounded by trees. The house has character. The six year old said that she didn't like the house...she loved it! The seven year old told his Daddy that Grandma plans the best vacations. The kids loved the loft bedroom bunk beds, catching fire flies, exploring the many paths on the property and just being together. Our Son-in-law cancelled his hotel room after the first night and joined us at Sylvan House.
It was perfect for our family get-to-gether with stores etc. close by and it was not that far from Hershey Park. We would highly recommend this property for a memorable experience.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children