Galax cabin rental - Cabin with Porch That Faces Mountain
Cabin with Porch That Faces Mountain
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Galax Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Previous renters said: 'This is a lovely spot away from it all! We were seeking a 'quiet' get-away and Fernwood Cabin fit the bill perfectly....a gem...we enjoyed your cabin so much.'

On a hill in Carroll County, Va. and just 1.5 miles to the Blue Ridge Parkway is Fernwood Cabin. The cabin is just 15 minutes from Hillsville and Galax, Va. and sits on the edge of the Crooked Creek Area. Come walk or bike the New River Trail. Stay in a log cabin which is new, nicely furnished with hardwood floors and an oriental rugs in the living room/kitchen area and the sitting area on th second floor. At the entrance,a camel back sofa and upholstered chair sit next to a stacked stone electric fireplace with remote. An antique reproduction kitchen table and four chairs are in the kitchen which has pine cabinets. There is a walnut three drawer chest against the wall steps. The down stairs bedroom has a queen size poster bed and a ball footed chest which sits on a room sized rug. The full bath is on the first floor. A large flat screen tv sits above the rock fireplace mantle with a dvd player available. There is a radio and cd player available.

Robes, coffee and a welcome basket are provided. Wrap in a cozy robe and sit on the back deck. The back door of the cabin takes you to a covered deck that overlooks the mountains. Sit on rockers on the porch or eat your meals on the porch table. A rock walk leads to the front porch which faces out toward the entrance road and a wooded lot across the road. Four large rocking chairs are available to sit on the two porches. The road is paved to the house which has a gravel driveway that runs next to the house.The home has a heat pump and is comfortable both in the summer and winter.

There is a loft and the rails surround the top of the second floor. The second bedroom which has an opened side toward the main living area, has a maple bedroom suit, desk and chest of drawer. On this floor there is also a 1/2 bath. On the main loft area there is a small love seat and chair sitting on an oriental-like rug.

The home is located only minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Crooked Creek Fee Fishing Wildlife Area and New Equestrian Center. Crooked Creek includes six miles of trout streams (some sections are stocked) plus 1,600 acres of mountain land available for hunting deer, turkey, rabbits, squirrels and grouse. The area is home to the New River Trail which is recognized as one of the top ten mountain bike trails in the United States. The cabin is less than two miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway. You can hike, bike or ride horses along the New River. The New River Trail is approximately 20 minutes from the cabin.Close to many mountain cultural events, we hope you will chose us for your visit to the Blue Ridge Mountains. Also nearby is the Blue Ridge Mountain Music Center, the Hillsville Va. Labor Day Flea Market, the Galax Fiddler's Convention and many numerous events. You are only a stone's throw from Mt. Airy which is the home of Andy Griffith. The cabin is approximately 9 miles from Interstate 77 and Highway 52 at Fancy Gap, Va. Convenient to Galax and Hillsville,Va.---We are members of the Twin County Chamber of Commerce.

Hike, bike on the New River Trail ,canoe on the New River, golf, fish, ride horses, float down a river. Return to a simpler way of life.

Keywords: 2 bedroom log cabin

More Details
Hide Details

As lifelong residents of the area, we hope to provide a retreat for those who long for a beak from the rat race we all experience these days. We're now retired from busy, stressful careers, and we know that a weekend or more away in the beautiful rural Blue Ridge Mountains will rejuvenate your spirits.

Judy Alderman purchased this cabin in 1998

The cabin is on a hill overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. Roughly hewn logs lend a feeling of going back to the past. It is a perfect place to slow down and think or to just take a walk.

21 Reviews of Property 263680 in Galax, Virginia

Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The cabin was warm and inviting and certainly the cleanest vacation place I have ever visited! We enjoyed the area, although there isn't much to do in the immediate area. As long as you don't have a problem driving 30 minutes to an hour, you will find plenty of activities and beautiful views! The cabin owner shared a wealth of information on where to eat and things to do as well as directions. She even gave us fresh bread for the visit! My husband and I had a great time and look forward to visiting again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting and I am glad you enjoyed the cabin. We try to direct visitors to activities in the area. Galax is about 9 miles away through the country. Mt. Airy is about 30 minutes away. Lots of people like to visit both towns. Andy Griffith's home was Mt. Airy and there are activities there that associate itself with his show. Hope you visit again soon.
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
Townsend, DE/east coast
5

va cabin 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The cabin was a cabin in outward appearance, but had all the comforts of home inside. It is small, but has plenty of room for a vacation house. Description was accurate, and the photos reflected exactly the beauty of the site and the cabin's appearance. Very clean and well-maintained. Attractively decorated, with comfortable beds, and enough privacy with the nice sitting room upstairs. Not soundproof from bedroom to bedroom, but as to be expected. Water tastes good, not city water. All recommendations by the owner as to restaurants and activities appropriate for my family were very well received by all. Highly recommended is the Blue Ridge Music Center; we would return to see more of it and hear more bluegrass music. Delightful! Would have liked to stay longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad your family enjoyed the cabin and hope you will return again in the future. We try to make visitors welcomed and informed about the area and it's activities.
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
5

A very pleasant stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a great stay and found the cabin very "cute" (or charming). The cabin is very nice - very efficient use of space - felt just perfect for four adults. The pictures probably don't even do it justice, you really won't be disappointed with it.

The area was nice, just a few minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway and about 10-15 minutes from town. It's very quiet out there and that's exactly what we were looking for.

You'll enjoy your stay and Judy is very responsive and easy to work with.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. I am glad you enjoyed the cabin and hope you will return again. Judy
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
Raleigh, NC
5

Galax getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We enjoyed our time at this adorable, clean and peaceful cabin. We loved the open floor plan, lovely porches and beautiful yard. The owners were great - easy to deal with and accommodating. The location was equally convenient. We highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Susan, So glad you enjoyed your trip to the cabin. Sorry you missed the beautiful leaves and weather. We hope you will come again and tell your friends about us.
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
Beautiful downtown Whitsett, NC
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I loved the cabin! On a scale of 1 to 10 it was a 20. Just beautiful. Had everything we needed. Very clean. Well furnished. The TV was easy to use. I would recommend this property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Harry, We're so glad that you enjoyed the cabin. Hope you will come to see again soon. Judy and Richard
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
-
5

What a charming wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
WE stayed here in August Judy was great to work with and she even had a fresh loaf of Zucchini bread for us on arrival. The cabin itself is very cozy with all modern appliances. The cabin was very clean and well taken care of. I would recommend this to anyone I now. If you want peace and quite well this is your place. We hope to come back soon..They have a back porch with four rockers that you can sit out at night and look at the thousands of stars and view is breathtaking. There are plenty of good restaurants in town and of course a few grocery stores. If your a fan of Andy Griffith then his hometown is close by and the show was based off his home town. We were gone for 15 days and this was the most enjoyable stop we made. Thanks Judy!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed the stay. We love it in the mountains. I hope you will return again. Thanks for the review. Judy
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
Washington, DC
5

Great setting and great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We really loved our stay at the cabin. The amenities were great and the house itself is very nice, and seems very new. The setting was just perfect as well; secluded, great views of the mountains, and terrific decks on the front and back from which to enjoy it. We look forward to coming back!
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
Austin, Texas
5

Mountain Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
So many good things to say about this cabin, but most of all was the quiet, peaceful privacy. The back covered deck overlooked a sloping, grassy lawn with the mountains behind it. Rocking chairs, a table for meals or snacks, and delightful breezes made it a spot which was most enjoyable.

The Blue Grass Music Venue was just about 15 minutes away on the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway. The owner lent us lawn chairs which we used to sit out and listen to the music in what seemed like the perfect place to enjoy Bluegrass music.

We were provided with home baked bread, perfect directions, and a list of helpful ideas for things to do. I rode 30 miles of the 56 mile bike trail that starts in Galax, and rented my bike from a friendly store on Main street. A great way to get exercise and sight see.

I will definitely return to this cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
Manassas, Virginia
5

A Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
If you're looking for a place to lay back and relax, then this is the place for you.
Catch up on your reading using the rockers on the back porch. Bring a blanket or lounge chair to get some sun in the spacious back yard. My wife and I ate most of our meals on the back porch table while enjoying the scenery. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The cabin is very clean and well kept. We would definitely recommend this cabin and hope to return to this cabin in the future.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive comments. We hope to make each person feel welcome. Hope you can return again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Close to Heaven -- Away from It All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263680vb
+1 276-236-3335
Galax Blue Ridge Highlands
Wewahitchka, FL USA
5

Close to Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Fernwood Cabin is not a rustic cabin, it is a beautifully designed home in a rural setting. You immediately notice that great detail and attention, and love, went into the building of this home. Tucked deep into the hills of Virginia, you are able to sit in the back porch rockers, and know that you are at one with nature. It's quiet, and the stars are literally right above your head. The owners are friendly, prompt, and professional people. They go out of the way to make your stay enjoyable. For us they furnished fresh baked bread in a basket along with maps, directions, and a catalog of local attractions and things to do. They even will have some fluffy robes hanging in the closet for you. They will route you to the cabin through Galax, so you will have an understanding of the location of groceries, etc, and that route will seem like a long way the first time you drive out. But after you get your bearings, and look at the local map, you will see that you are only a short distance from the Blue Ridge Parkway and the interstate. We loved being right in the middle of The Crooked Road, Virginia's destinations for old time music. Don't miss the midday free music at the nearby Blue Ridge Music Center. Here you get an up close experience with the musicians, not just performing on a stage, but interacting in small group settings. Fernwood Cabin is indeed a hidden jewel. We can't wait to return!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for you kind words. We would love to have you back soon. The Aldermans
Helpful votes: 1/1