Duboce Triangle apartment rental - Old magnolia trees line the street
Old magnolia trees line the street
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Duboce Triangle Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2; additional bed available)

Located in the heart of San Francisco, This unit is located in a perfect setting for exploring the City. Visitors without cars will find a wide range of transportation options: all MUNI train lines are within a couple blocks, including the Historic F line which travels down Market Street to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, farmer's markets, shopping, museums and more. For travelers wanting to visit Union Street, the Marina and Presidio MUNI bus service is available on the same block; the same bus runs through the Castro and Noe Valley in the other direction. Even traveling to and from the airport is just one train connection away. Rental cars are available from several ZipCar locations within a couple blocks. Car owners will find street parking and a public garage is one block away. The clean (newly painted, new wood flooring) apartment is located in a historic Queen Anne Victorian in the Duboce Triangle neighborhood with a wrought iron gate.

A Comfortable Place in a Great Location: This apartment has its own private entrance. This studio apartment features a comfortable queen size bed, designer sheets, a separate, private bath and separate, kitchenette and a fireplace. An additional twin bed is available for an additional fee. Stroll to nearby outdoor cafes, a French bistro, a wide range of diverse bars and dance clubs, the historic Castro Theater, the historic Mission Dolores and much more.

Amenities: Your hosts will welcome you with fresh linens and towels and freshly ground coffee, and are happy to direct you to all of the wonderful amenities San Francisco has to offer. Your hosts both speak English, and one speaks German (Deutsch), and the other speaks Mandarin and Taiwanese.

More Details
Hide Details

A trained hospitality and restaurant professional, the owner lives in the same building and manages multiple rental units.

Laurence Chang purchased this apartment in 2004

This building is located in the very heart of San Francisco, with access to great transportation all over the city and much to do within walking distance. The neighborhood is safe, pedestrian-friendly and public transportation options are abundant.

This Queen Anne Victorian is located on a street lined by old Magnolia trees. The Castro district, restaurants, shops, parks all surround this location.

80 Reviews of Property 297503 in Duboce Triangle, California

Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
average rating of 4.85 based on 80 reviews
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
4

Great Castro Location. Perfect for travellers!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Lawrence + Nick we're fantastic hosts. We had everything we needed. The downstairs room suited us perfectly. Good attention to detail by the hosts. They provided great reviews if local hotspots. And everything was well stocked. Highly recommend this as a great home base in San Francisco. Super close to transport and shops.
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Walnut Creek, CA
5

Nice Place, Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and in particular loved how close the apartment was to the MUNI station. I used to live in the Castro many years ago and so it was like coming home almost. Part of what makes the area so charming are the numerous boutique type restaurants and shops that are available. This location is really special in that way and the neighborhood is extremely friendly. With MUNI so close you can hop around the City with ease. We drove into the City and were able to park our car on the street over the weekend without issue. Monday-Friday, you do need a parking permit to stay longer than 2 hours at a time but on those days, we used the car to tour around. The apartment that we stayed in was located on the bottom level with a private entrance. The house itself is gated so you feel very safe on the bottom level. The studio apartment has a small kitchen but a very nice sized bedroom/living room area. It was very clean and well maintained. Even though the owners live on site, they are extremely respectful of giving you maximum privacy but are available to assist if you need them. No inquiry goes unattended to. Few areas in the City have all that the Castro has to offer - reasonably priced accommodations, great restaurants and plentiful coffee shops, boutique shops, some night life, street parking, a neighborhood feeling, friendly people and fabulous access to public transportation. If you are from out of town or locals like us who want a genuine SF City experience, I would highly recommend this place.
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
4

Great couples retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We were overall VERY pleased with our stay! From the very beginning N & L were very accommodating and quick to communicate. We found the studio to be more than enough room for 2 people to stay, unpack, and be as comfortable as home. The location is great, very convent to the muni, easy walk to great shops and restaurants, and the area seemed very safe! As far as the interior goes we found it to be very clean, every amenity we could have needed was provided, great wifi and cable, perfect kitchenette, and the bed was very comfy and clean. Even had an iPod docking station!

Warnings (not negatives):
1) because it is a basement apartment the air is controlled by the main house I believe. Which means if you're hot or cold natured you can't crank it up or down. WITH THAT BEING SAID the owners have thought of everything and already provided in unit a fan and heater, and if your are extra cold there is a wonderful working fireplace!
2) For anyone who doesn't get around so well or has really large luggage, there are a few steps and narrow walk way down to the studio. We didn't have a problem with it, and it's probably on the rental agreement, but it just wanted to give everyone a heads up.

One GREAT thing is if you are using the buses there are stops going each way right out front which makes the climb back up the hill when you're full, tired, or drunk much much easier .
One BAD thing is there is bus stop right outside and buses run at 7am even while you are on vacation lol. Honestly wasn't really loud enough to wake you up, especially with the fan or heater on.

One personal note ,not that it wasn't spotlessly clean, the bathroom could use some updating to go with the well appointed rest of the place. But hey it's not home and there was nothing broke or dirty.

All in All it was a great, safe, and clean place to stay with fantastically polite and helpful owners! Can't wait to stay here again!

Thanks M&J
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
4

This apartment is wonderful!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
It is a very quiet and charming apartment wIth super accommodations: comfortable bed and pillows; towel warmer, coffee for guest, small kitchen, etc, and a perfect size for two guests. Nick and Laurence are very gracious hosts and go beyond anything expected to make one’s stay enjoyable. It is in a good location with easy access to public transportation and in a neighborhood full of great restaurants.
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
5

Absolutely lovely - a real gem in the Castro

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The room was a delight - lovely appointments, high quality bedding, large bathroom, internet and cable television, shampoo and soaps provided, and a thorough guide to the area's attractions, with maps.
The owners, Laurence and Nick, are equally delightful - unobtrusive while ensuring that they are available in case you have any needs.
The location is a quiet street just off the heart of the Castro. Everything one could want is just a short walk away.
This stay was lovely and my only regret is that it was not longer. I can definitely recommend this rental for anyone wishing to stay in the Castro.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
4

Great hosts and great location in SF.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The property was clean, comfortable and well kept. We really enjoyed our stay there and found the location perfect. The neighborhood is full of restaurants, coffee, night spots and Nick and Laurence do a great job mapping these out in their guest book (used this more than once during the stay). It is easy to get to a lot of the city from here and although we didn't have occasion to use it the Market streetcar runs down to the Embarcadero from nearby - very convenient.

We arrived much later than planned (by several hours) and the owners were gracious enough to meet us later than expected and welcome us. They are genuine and gracious hosts.

Would recommend the location and would like to come back again in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Prescott, Arizona
5

Beautiful home and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Perfect place for two! Easy access to public transportation (24 bus and the train station) and lots of great restaurants, walks & cafes. Lovely small apartment with everything you'd need--coffee, large tub/shower, and comfortable bed. Very safe location if you're traveling alone. We especially enjoyed climbing Buena Vista Park to see the view of the whole city. Nick & Laurence are very gracious & helpful (but they won't bother you). I felt very secure renting from them & would be back in a second to do it again. Enjoy your stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
5

Great little place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The owners were really quite wonderful and helpful. I felt that they went above and beyond to make sure we had a nice trip and that we were comfortable during our stay in SF. I even got a thank you card in the mail afterwards, which was very sweet. Overall, the apartment accommodations were nice. The bed was wonderfully soft and plush. It's the perfect size apartment for 1-2 people. We had three people and used a roll-out bed that they provided. They have a very small kitchen area (basically a closet area), with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, and possibly even a stove (my mind is blanking). I can't imagine that you'd do much cooking during your stay in SF, but it worked for our needs. The house is very close to many restaurants and public transportation. Overall, I would recommend this accommodation to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
5

Perfect weekend!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. The room was perfect with everything we needed. Thanks for everything.
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
5

Amazing location, fantastic apartment great hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The apartment was fantastic in an absolutely brilliant location. It had everything we needed and was a real home from home. The hosts were very welcoming and left us to explore the city but made sure we were catered for and had lots of advice and travel ideas from them. Would definitely return and recommend!