Mount Desert cottage rental - Cottage by Sargeant Brook
Cottage by Sargeant Brook
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Mount Desert Cottage Rental Photos and Description
One bedroom, one full bathroom, sleeps 2

The nature enthusiast will enjoy the comfort and location of this charming new cottage on 11 acres beside Sargeant Mountain Brook and bordering Acadia National Park. Follow the brook to Acadia National Park's 45 miles of rustic carriage roads for hiking, birding, snow shoeing or cross country skiing. Minutes from your front door is the Giant Slide Trail which follows a ravine thru evergreen forests to the top of Sargeant Mountain. The free Island Explorer Bus stops at your front door for further explorations of Mt. Desert Island. Just a half mile away is the more remote village of Northeast Harbor, recognized as one of the prettiest villages on the coast of Maine. Asticou Azalea Gardens are a half mile away, known for its visual delights and Japanese sand garden. After a wonderful day of adventure, relax in your sunny cottage, brew a cup of coffee or tea in your gourmet kitchen, read many of the books by Maine authors or play games by the wood stove.

Next door neighbors: The owners of Sweet Cottage live right next door and operate a timber framing business. We would be happy to give you a tour of the shops and the house . We are always interested in meeting our neighbors. Directions on cooking and eating your lobsters will be given, if needed.

The Village of Northeast Harbor: Sweet Cottage is only a 1/2 mile to Northeast Harbor. Northeast Harbor is one of the more remote villages on Mt. Desert Island and does not experience the same crunch of tourist activity found in the neighboring town of Bar Harbor. It is considered one of the prettiest villages on the coast of Maine, highlighted by a remarkably beautiful harbor. It's local waters offer some of the finest sailing conditions in New England.

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 297398 in Mount Desert, Maine

New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
average rating of 4.818182 based on 12 reviews
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Sweet Vacation at Sweet Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The location of Sweet cottage was perfect, with easy access to all of the area's attractions. A short hike in the woods brought us directly to the carriage roads. Hiking trails within walking distance. A very well-kept and comfortable cottage and very hospitable hosts made our vacation so enjoyable.
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Orlando, FL
5

Excellent home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I stayed here for a week in early July. The cabin proved to be more than comfortable, well laid out, and a perfect location for all the activities the area has to offer. Having a fully functional kitchen made for convenient breakfasts, while the washer/dryer allowed us to pack light. The cabin is very homey and quaint. Sleeping with the sound of the brook near the window proved to be very relaxing! The Sweets are very accommodating hosts and always available to answer questions, provide suggestions, or help out with any issues. All in all, a great place to spend a vacation - wish we could have extended it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Sweet Cottage Review

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The charming Sweet Cottage is located right in the heart of Mt. Desert Island - making touring in Acadia easy - with most sites, trails and Bar Harbor within easy access. We stayed a week and would love to come back! The cottage is a place you actually have to experience to fully appreciate it - photos don't do justice to the forethought, impeccable quality, simplicity and comfort that welcome guests. Thank you!
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Awesome Cottage! Centrally located!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was the first time renting from the Sweets and it was perfect. The 3 of us (husband and 11 month old daughter) had a fantastic time! It is centrally located, so we were able to visit all of our destinations without a lot of travel time.
The cottage was VERY clean and it came with everything we needed. I LOVED having the laundry in the unit as with a baby one needs it. They also had everything we needed for our steamers and lobster dinner. The big pot was perfect!
We highly recommend this place and you will enjoy every minute of your stay!
Oh and Ann is GREAT with email communication too! We asked lots of questions and she was quick to reply to us with the information we needed.
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Lovely, cozy cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I enjoyed our stay immensely. This cottage immediately felt like a home away from home. As other reviewers have noted, the craftsmanship is excellent. The decor was just lovely. There were a lot of great touches (organic spices, teas, sugar waiting in the bowl, a selection of books, games, local maps and guides) that made this place so homey. It was spotless when we arrived. The brook was lovely to listen to while relaxing or sleeping. The location is great for getting into the center of Acadia or checking some of the trails outside the park and closer to Mount Desert. It was a short drive to Bar Harbor for dinner or shopping. The owners were very responsive and helpful. We hope to stay here again in the future.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for all your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you come again. Thank you for taking such great care of the cottage.
All Our Best,
John & Ann
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
North East, Maryland
4

Loved it.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The house is beautiful and the craftsmanship is amazing. House has top of the line appliances. We enjoyed the location in terms of proximity to Acadia and North East Harbor. Easy to get to Carriage Road from property. We would happily return, but it is too small for our growing family - perfect for a couple or a family with one child.
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Sweet Cottage: Sweet it is!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We loved this cottage. Not only was the cottage a lovely retreat, but it was a wonderful work of art. As an architect, I really appreciate quality of workmanship and in addition to enjoying our stay there, I spent the week admiring every little detail that was painstakingly crafted to restore/rebuild this little gem by the brook. The choice of materials and quality of craftsmanship is top notch, which wasn't a surprise once I learned that John is a mastercraftsman who has worked on some of the most beautiful houses on the island....and Ann did a fabulous job decorating in a simple, elegant manner which beautifully complements the awesome craftsmanship. It is outfitted with everything you need and if you want to have a good sampling of Crate and Barrel housewares, this is it! Ann and John live next door, although totally out of view of the cottage, and are available to answer any questions or to transport the canoe for your use. We are hikers and enjoyed the close proximity of the cottage to the Park (not to mention the lobster restaurant just a stone's throw away which was the quintessential Maine lobster restaurant)! What an ideal location, quiet and relaxing spot to vacation. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks for the wonderful week!
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
House is centrally located on the island. Great place to stay. Outstanding craftsmanship in house. Enjoyed our stay. Would return to rent in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Pittsburgh
5

Beautiful, centrally located cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I just spent the last week at this wonderful cottage that had everything you could possibly want in a vacation rental. Peace, quiet, convenient to everywhere on the Island. Ann and John have created a wonderful place that is probably the most relaxing vacation I have had ever! The cottage itself is beautifully crafted, situated next to a gurgling brook. Each night I went to bed with the windows open listening to the brook and having a cool breeze come in. One night it was so quiet and peaceful you could hear loons on the sound. You could not ask for a better place. While convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park it was far enough away from the commercialism of Bar Harbor that you missed the crowds unless you went into Bar Harbor. Northeast Harbor is just a short ride away with cute shops and beautiful scenery. In my opinion this is the most convenient area on the island to stay and the Sweet Cottage couldn't be a better place to spend a vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Nate for your kind words. You left the cottage so clean. I put your refundable damage deposit in the mail yesterday. You are always welcome here at Sweet Cottage. Thanks again John and Ann
business
New Cottage, beside Sargent brook and Acadia National Park for nature enthusiast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297398
+1 207 276-3254
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
chicago area
4

Great Central Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights in August while we explored Acadia National Park. It was a great location; away from the crowds/congestion of Bar Harbor, yet easy to get to any of the trails and small towns that make up ANP. We especially appreciated all the "green" touches the home had from the recycling center to energy efficient washer and dryer. One rainy night was spent on the sun porch playing the board games that were provided. The home was in pristine condition and the owner was very knowledgeable about the area. There was even a canoe that we could have used had we had more time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1