Franklin chalet rental - Enjoy dramatic mountain views from the spacious de
Enjoy dramatic mountain views from the spacious de
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Franklin Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Chalet, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a Killer View

Location: Franklin, NC (off Hwy. 441 south of Franklin)

Hidden Gem is located 5 miles from the GA/NC state line on HWY 441. It is 9 miles from Franklin. As you drive up the paved road to the top of the mountain, there is only one other house on the road. From the large wrap around deck you have a wonderful view of a mountain vista with layers of mountains.

VIEW THE PROPERTY VIDEO ON THIS PROPERTY: copy and paste the following URL into your browser window and enjoy! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=km4GI_DhudY

Inside, the stone gas fireplace provides a warm center for the large vaulted living room. There is a wall of windows looking out over the mountains. There are 2 bedrooms with king beds, 1 bedroom with a queen bed, and 1 bedroom with twin beds. In addition there is a game room with a sleeper sofa. You can relax in front of one of the two TV’s, play a game of pool, or soak in the hot tub in a separate room which looks out on the forest.

Franklin is a quaint, friendly town that loves to have festivals, parades and parties. It has a number of fine restaurants and shops. A recently completed Greenway follows the Little Tennessee River which runs through Franklin. You can hike or bike for several miles along the river. There are nature walks with guides to point out plants, birds and other things of interest. Franklin has a rich history with connections to the Cherokee Indians and to Scottish settlers. “Picking on the Square” during the summer and fall months invites everyone to come downtown with their folding chairs and listen to music and watch the folk dancing.

If your taste is for more lively things there are a number of trails to hike (The famous Appalachian Trail is only a short distance from town). We have recently added a nature trail directly from Hidden Gem. There is also white water rafting, good fishing for mountain trout, viewing some of the impressive waterfalls nearby. Franklin is known as the “Gem Capital of the World” and there are several ruby mines where you can pan for rubies and emeralds. Asheville, with its magnificent Biltmore House is about an hour away.

Come stay in our lovely chalet. Any time is good. In the spring you can enjoy the mountain laurel and other native flowers; in the summer relax in the cool mountain air; in the autumn be amazed at the color display Mother Nature puts on for you. And if you are a mind to, spend Christmas or New Years and have a good chance of having a white Christmas. Wildlife abounds. Other guests have reported seeing lots of deer, wild turkeys, fox and even an occasional black bear.

This is my only vacation rental property. I personally manage it and my family stays here when they come to the mountains. We maintain it in good condition. We would love to share it with you.

More Details
Hide Details

I was born and raised in the Missouri Ozarks. I have always loved the mountains. When I first visited western North Carolina I knew I wanted to spend a lot of time here. When I got a chance to purchase Hidden Gem I jumped at it. We have upgraded with a pool table, furniture, linens, new mattresses, additional decks, a new spa room etc. It is a comfortable, relaxing place to spend a week or a month. I love the deer trail that runs almost under the deck. We have added a lower deck to get down to the nature trail.

Owner, Jerry Porter purchased this chalet in 2002

21 Reviews of Property 297247 in Franklin, North Carolina

Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My Brother had the cabin for two weeks, we met them for the second week, and enjoyed our time as we have in the past, They have been coming up there for three years and come back each year. The cabin is beautiful and the sunrise and sunset overlooking the mountains are awesome. We come away at the wonder of God and his beauty. The cabin is equipped with everything you need to be comfortable. We experienced the kindness of the owner personally and you will never find a kinder person. I did not meet Rita however my sister-in-law said she was a very sweet person and was a pleasure to talk to her in person. We will be back again next year. Thank you for your kindness to all of us. Thank you Ben & Carolyn Brooks
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Dacula, GA
5

Great Weekend in a Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Spent the weekend with 5 other friends and had a marvelous time. The view from the deck was stunning and a perfect place for morning coffee before starting the day. There was plenty of room for all of us and the property was very clean and welcoming. I have stayed at the Hidden Gem previously, but it continues to improve with each stay. The owner appears to be constantly updating and upgrading the property. One friend commented that it felt like staying in someone's home and I have to agree. We ventured into town Saturday afternoon and enjoyed walking through some of the local shops. The people we encountered were also very welocming. All in all, a perfect weekend. We will definitely be back!
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Marion, Iowa
5

Best of Two Worlds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our time at Hidden Gem was the best of two worlds. Isolated on a mountain top in a beautifully decorated and welcoming home with killer views and comfy beds and never seeing other people gave us the get-away we needed. But when we were ready for action, we were close enough to fun activities. We rented bikes and rode along the Little Tennessee River, went to Ashville and visited the North Carolina Arboretum, drove on the Blue Ridge Parkway to it's highest point, toured waterfalls, walked on the Appalachian Trail and went whitewater rafting on the Nantahala River. Shopping in nearby Franklin was fun as well. Our group included a mom and dad with three adult children (18, 22 and 24). A wonderful time was had by all. You will love Hidden Gem, the gracious owner and the delightful area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Great cabin. Perfect for a couple of families!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This cabin was absolutely beautiful and had everything you could possibly need. It was great that the basic (toilet paper, trash bags, laundry detergent, etc.) were provided. The cabin was very clean and beautifylly decorated. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

All the Comforts of Home with a GORGEOUS view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This vacation home is absolutely beautiful! The attention to detail is wonderful. Everything was very clean, high quality and comfortable. Customer service with the owner was excellent as well! I've been a repeat vacationer here for a few years now and will continue to visit for many years to come. We always look forward to our time here and we always have such fond memories once we leave. I wholeheartedly recommend this home and give it an A+++++! Trust me, you won't be disappointed. :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The house is spacious and was perfect for our family of 10. The location is secluded and quiet, yet convenient to mountain attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you like barbecue, try Cash's att he Whistle Stop. The amenities at the house are more than sufficient. The owner is very responsive and cooperative. All in all, it is a good value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Fuquay Varina NC
5

friends rideing ogether

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I should have wrote this awhile back but I am slack The Hidden Gem had the most beautiful view from the deck off from the main living area. The house was spectacular We stayed 4 nights and would love to stay again. The basement area was where My husband and I slept. We had our on bathroom. The pool table was just out our door and the hot tub was on the enclosed deck. There was a living area and bar down there also. The 2nd floor had two bedrooms and one bath.
the dining and great room area were all in one and great. the 4th bedroom was on the 3rd level with its on bathroom. I loved it It was clean and welcoming the owner and Rita were great to work with. I could talk to them like I had known them for ever. The hill going up to the house is very steep, once you get there you know it was all worth it
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Hidden Gem is a perfect vacation rental.

It sits on a high ridge with unbelievable views.

Our three families felt comfortable and relaxed here. In the mornings we sat out on the porch and enjoyed the sweeping vistas of the cloud-covered valley below. In the afternoons we went out to discover the area: hiking trails with waterfalls, gem mining for the kids, and the quaint town of Franklin. In the evenings we came back to enjoy the house: playing pool, using the hot tub, and just relaxing.

Also, the owners were super-nice and helpful.

I recommend this house to anyone wishing to get away from it all.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Lake Hamilton, FL
5

Summer visit 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This cabin was everything we needed to have a wondeful visit: comfort, convenient, and clean. Easily located and very pleasant area in NC. All supplies were available, close to our planned visits, including N. GA and the Smokies. Very spacious with beautiful views, an exceptional home. Thank you so much for sharing with us and are looking forward to visiting again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Dan and Stephany,

I am so glad that you enjoy your stay in the mountains. I appreciate your kind response. You were the first guests to enjoy our new spa room. We think it is a great improvement over the crowded room we had before.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Jerry Porter
business
Spacious Smoky Mountain Chalet with a View of Mountain Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297247
770 315-3009
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Naples, Florida
5

One of our best vacations ever.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We met my husbands brother and wife from Wisconsin at Hidden Gem for a week of fun and relaxation. All we can say is wow. The place is well appointed and the location is wonderful. From gem mining, to waterfalls, to antique shops, the area has something for everyone. We loved the new decks and were able to watch the deer late in the afternoon. The views of the mountains were some of the best I've ever seen. Cool mornings with coffee in a rocker on the deck over looking the mountains is both relaxing and refreshing. Even the mid June hail storm provided for a little excitement as all the ground and trees were covered in white. It only lasted a short time but we got some great photos. The accomodations were really comfortable and I for one was sad to have to leave at the end of our week. The amount of room was great and the extra game room and tv room in the lower level allowed a little get away and late night tv watching without disturbing others in the house. I am disabled and the first floor bedroom and bath accomodated me very nicely. We loved this so much we are actually considering buying a vacation home here. I think I may want to live in the area some day. Rita and Todd were very helpful the one time we needed them. The bottle of wine and card when we arrived was icing on the cake. Thank you Jerry for providing us with a very special vacation. I look forward to coming back to the Hidden Gem in the future, I hope you'll have us. Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sharon,

Thank you for your kind words. We were so happy that you enjoyed our beatiful mountains. You were the first to get to use our new decks and I am glad the deer came back to their old trail. We will look forward to having you again soon.

Jerry Porter