Sebastopol farmhouse rental - The pool looking over to the guesthouse
The pool looking over to the guesthouse
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sebastopol Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Loft, Sleeps 5

Knowlton Farms Guesthouse...

Down a private driveway, sitting on a hill, overlooking vineyard views and mountain vistas is a re-modeled 1920's guesthouse. We call it Casa Compostella, for 'field of stars'. Welcome to paradise in wine country!

The 2 Bd./one bath/ plus loft farmhouse has everything you need to make your wine country vacation enjoyable. Luxury sheets and towels, a gas fireplace, cozy rooms professionally designed in a sunny, comfortable style. The kitchen is set-up to cook, or sit and look out on the 5 star view of vines and mountains. The location has more sun than anywhere in West Sonoma County! Cool mornings, warm afternoons and then cool evenings make this a perfect climate for living inside or out.

A 60' solar heated lap pool is on the property, as well as a therapeutic hot tub with an outdoor shower. Adjacent to the guesthouse is a path leading to an organic garden, where raspberries can be plucked for your morning breakfast. It is all here, and so much more. Take a slow drive a short distance to some of the greatest pinot and chardonnay tasting rooms. We are minutes to Healdsburg or Sebastopol, where you can find ambitious chefs creating sumptuous meals using local ingredients.

Exercise and activities abound. You can bike on the Joe Rodata trail, just beyond the house, or take a ride over Westside Rd. Hiking is just 15 minutes away beneath beautiful redwood groves. There are two 9 hole golf courses plus two 18 hole courses a short distance away. The pacific coastline is a beautiful drive over the hill from Graton through Occidental, both great towns worth exploring. You will never run out of things to do. Wineries, art galleries, shopping and enjoying life is what Sonoma is all about!

If you are looking for a special treat, you can revive yourself with a day trip to the famous mud baths in Calistoga. If you desire something closer there are several day spas in the area that will pamper you like a princess!

Planning a special event or a smaller wedding??, this is the location you’ve been looking for. We have a big red barn and intimate gorgeous grounds to host your party. All events are handled through Maggie, our special event coordinator and require additional fees.

And - privacy! The house is away on its' own. We’ve built a screened-in sleeping porch off in the apple trees that is a perfect spot to read a book or have a massage from our favorite practitioner. Next to the porch is your own patio with barbecue and outdoor eating area. Here at Knowlton Farms you are away from town, but close enough to everything.

More Details
Hide Details

Phillip Knowlton enjoys managing the vineyard which provides organic grapes to one of Russian Rivers most outstanding wine makers. He works to support a sustainable growing environment for an apple orchard and plant conservation for at risk medicinal plants.

He has worked in the SF Bay area in the arts, entertainment services and technology ventures and retired in 2004.

His wife Suzanne is a professional interior designer working in SF Bay area and NYC. She graduated from the NY School of Interior Design. She has created several natural environments for inside and outside use. Our guesthouse and grounds is one of them.

Both love to travel and use Homeaway whenever possible. Many years of love and attention have been put into the guesthouse which is surrounded by acres of vineyards and natural gardens. We hope you relish it as much as we do, and believe it is well worth sharing with others.

Maggie works as the accounting manager and has been with Knowlton Farms coordinating the guesthouse since 2002.

Phillip purchased this farmhouse in 2002

Our farm is situated in the heart of one of the Worlds best wine growing areas, The Russian River. Both Pinot and Chardonnay benefit from the full days of sunshine as well as the cooling from the Pacific breeze.. The pool is such a wonderful place to land after a day of wine tasting. The sunsets stretch on forever over the Green Valley hills in the distance.

19 Reviews of Property 297097 in Sebastopol, California

Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
5

Annual Sonoma Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We annually make a trip to Sonoma and generally stay in Healdsburg. This year, we decided to rent a home in the Russian River Valley to provide more flexibility for our kids. We were drawn to Knowlton Farms by the combination of its location, amenities and apparent charm. Knowlton Farms exceeded our expectations in all respects. It is a fabulous property and home, and we would stay at Knowlton Farms again in a heartbeat. Top notch location, warm hospitality, terrific amenities and great house!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
San Francisco, CA, U.S.A.
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What an incredible place to stay! I spent my best birthday yet here. If you are looking for some rest and relaxation, you will not find a better place to stay.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
5

By Far My Favorite Trip to Wine Country!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A weekend getaway for moms and this was the best place to stay for us! The grounds were peaceful, quiet and therapeutic for us busy moms wanting to relax. We had access to the beautiful gardens to pick to our hearts content. All the veggies in season and the apples were delicious. The pool in the afternoon was very relaxing. We had massages in the morning and wonderful restaurants within a few miles. All local and fresh. The house was very comfortable, clean and bright! Lots of windows to take in all the beautiful scenery. The owner Phillip was amazing. Very generous and welcoming. He walked us through the garden and vineyard and had wonderful stories about the property. I can't wait to go back with the family and another girls weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
5

Little slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This place is enchanting. I let all my stress melt away as I listened to the birds (hummingbirds and hawks were flying all over the property) as they visited all the flowers and farm goods on the property. The solar heated pool and jacuzzi is a treat to swim in with a great chaise lounge overlooking the farm and wine country. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated yet feels comfortable and like home with lots of pillows, towels and there is even a napping porch! There are a ton of great vineyards all around but I only got to visit a few as all I wanted to do was sit by the pool and look out at the valley. I would highly recommend coming here, I am certain I will be back before too long.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
5

Little slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This place is enchanting. I let all my stress melt away as I listened to the birds (hummingbirds and hawks were flying all over the property) as they visited all the flowers and farm goods on the property. The solar heated pool and jacuzzi is a treat to swim in with a great chaise lounge overlooking the farm and wine country. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated yet feels comfortable and like home with lots of pillows, towels and there is even a napping porch! There are a ton of great vineyards all around but I only got to visit a few as all I wanted to do was sit by the pool and look out at the valley. I would highly recommend coming here, I am certain I will be back before too long.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
Shoreline, WA
5

Welcome home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I stayed at Knowlton Farms for four short days and wish it could have been much longer. We were just getting into the groove of vacation, settling into discovered pleasures: the breakfast nook with the view of the vineyards, books tucked onto the shelves wrapping around the fireplace, a vase of sweet peas, and incredibly soft blankets.

Then we had to leave, when what we wanted to do was live there.

Architecture: Fans of 1920s cottages, with double-hung windows, woodwork, shady porches, and hardwood floors, will feel right at home here. There is a back stoop off the kitchen. Tons of light. An O'Keefe & Merritt vintage stove and glass-fronted dish cupboard. Nearby, a barn-wood screened sleeping porch offers an airy place to relax.

Colors are cheerful: blue-green walls and Marmoleum checkerboard tiles in the kitchen, a glossy yellow fireplace, a red front door. A pair of lime Adirondack chairs out in the garden.

Cooks should be happy: the kitchen is fully stocked with all the equipment you might need. Eat inside or move outside and dine at the table under the apple trees. There are lemon trees next to the house!

We were well-located for trips to wineries, the beach, the Russian River, and even farther-afield locations like Point Reyes lighthouse. But always, we had "home" to come back to: an afternoon dip in the pool, stroll in the gardens, a glass of wine outside with the birds.

The Knowltons are nice as can be, welcoming, and available for questions if needed. We talked with Suzanne about how they had purchased both houses (the guest house and their own) 11 years ago and renovated them. I mentioned that we are looking to relocate and renovate a home for ourselves, and she encouraged our choice. In a chat near the pool, Phillip showed us the greens he had picked in the adjacent garden for their dinner. The gardens all around are gorgeous, colorful, and immaculate. Thank you, Phillip, for the flowers you left for us on the breakfast table.

We will be back as soon as we can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi! That is the sweetest, most well written review. Thank you for you lovely review and we hope you will return to us soon! This time to stay!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
Montana
5

Feels like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Waking to the sound of songbirds, sunshine streaming in my window, I would drink my morning coffee in the dining area and watch the fog on the hills across the lush green, vineyard-covered valley. Through the kitchen window, I looked into the huge organic garden, which was transforming weekly before my eyes. Organic veggies galore! Past the garden, glimpses of the wonderful bike/running trail, leading all the way to Sebastopol, through the quaint town of Graton with its galleries and restaurants.

Suzanne has created a botanical paradise. In spring, each day brought something new in bloom - my favorite, the beautiful pink roses wrapped around one of the four giant palms lining the path to the guesthouse.

From the relaxing front porch I watched bud break in the vineyard and tiny grapes appear on the vines. In the evening, at dusk, like clockwork, the resident barn owl would appear on a perch built into the new red barn adjacent to the guesthouse.

At day's end, a glass of wine on the private patio area (complete with cute gazebo), surrounded by beautiful flowers, roses and shrubs, while watching the most magnificent sunsets.

Life at Knowlton was pure heaven. I had the life-changing experience of becoming part of the Knowlton family for 3 months this past winter. Knowlton Farms truly stole my heart and soul. Family and friends who visited exclaimed at what a magical place the farm and guesthouse was, and how much they cherished their stay there. From Adrian, the Hispanic gardener who helped me brush up on my Spanish, to Maggie and Lisa, the office ladies, I never wanted for anything. Everyone was so attentive to my needs, and shared the joys of Knowton with me. And Phillip and Suzanne, the most gracious of hosts, headed the top of the list of my Knowlton friends.
Staying at Knowlton Farms was one of the happiest times in my life. I hope to make this my annual winter home - it truly feels like home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
NYC
5

I left my heart.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Forget about leaving your heart in San Francisco. Drive a few miles north to Sonoma, and leave your heart, soul, and next year's deposit at Knowlton Farms in Sebastopol. This is the most beautifully appointed guest house in the most splendid setting one could ever imagine. Yes, there is a God, and this is his country! The innkeepers have not forgotten a thing, or missed a single detail. Not only will you stay in the most comfortable, fully equipped home you could wish for, but also you will have access to the pool and whirlpool, not to mention lush gardens and vineyards bearing the most delicious fruits and vegetables you will ever eat. If you ever wish to leave the premises, you are within minutes of some of the best wineries in the Valley as well as outstanding dining,shopping, and live music in an array of quaint towns. The drive to all, through majestic trees on winding roads, is breathtaking. I have already made plans to return next year to what has become my annual rejuvenation destination!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
Houston, TX
5

God's Country

God's Country
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I spent an amazing 5 weeks in this wonderful home! It was a true reprieve for my soul! To say it had a million dollar view would be an understatement. The gentle caress of natural beauty enveloped me at every turn. And the salt water pool, wow! It was the most wonderful pool I have ever had the pleasure of swimming in -- can you imagine doing laps and watching the sun tint the sky purple as stars emerge in the summer night sky? Truly magical! I would definitely go again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Farmhouse Vineyard Estate with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297097
Sebastopol Sonoma County
HUNTINGTON BEACH
5

Wonderful holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family (myself, my husband and two teenage girls) stayed at the farmhouse for a week. The setting is amazing (reminds us of France/England where we come from) and the farmhouse itself is so cute and comfortable. The view from all windows is wonderful - just vineyards, trees, plants etc. You instantly forget about work, living in an urban town, etc. Suzanne and Phillip (the owners) made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. When our car broke down on our last day, Phillip was so kind to drive my husband to Santa Rosa to get a rental car and Suzanne baked us some cookies to make us feel better !!! I highly recommend this rental property. We know where to stay next time we come to Sonoma County !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway