Pemaquid Point house rental - Welcome to the 'wall of glass'!
Welcome to the 'wall of glass'!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Pemaquid Point House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

'Seas The Day' is a TOTALLY remodeled Oceanfront property facing John's Bay and the open Atlantic ocean. As experienced VRBO renters we acquired and remodeled this classic Maine Saltbox with VRBO renters in mind. No expense has been spared on this complete ground up inside/out renovation. Our lobsterman delivers fresh to the deck!!!!!

Upon entering you will be treated to our expansive 'wall of glass' water view. Sitting on the western side of Pemaquid Point you will look out across John's Bay at Miles Tower and over 1000 lobster pot buoys which are harvested in the morning. Keep an eye out for seals, dolphins and minke whales off shore. Evening brings spectacular western sunsets. Looking southwest you will see the open ocean and islands named Threads of Life, Thumb Cap and Christmas Cove. Enjoy all this from the 33 X 12 deck, featuring a 12 X 12 motorized retractable awning, gas grill, wall lanterns, Adirondack chairs and stereo speakers.

Take 4 steps down to the new lawn and walk just 40 feet to the shore. Located here you will find a big fire pit for cool night gatherings. Inside the open floor plan was designed for entertaining and easy vacation living. The kitchen features granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, a glass front wood burning stove, walk in pantry and spectacular water views. We have added a breakfast table and chairs. The living and dining area feature James Harrill art with matching nautical decor, Sony flat screen TV, stereo sound system and a beautiful stone fireplace. The master bedroom features 'the room with a view' where you will sit up in bed and see the water everywhere. This bedroom also features a king size bed, walk in closet and flat screen TV. On the main floor is a large bathroom with a bath tub/shower and a separate laundry. Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms. One has a queen bed and the other has a double and a single bed. The bathroom features a large glass shower, pedestal sink and a claw foot antique tub. Every room has large ceiling fans and the original gorgeous, wide, Maine Pumpkin Pine floors. Every appliance is new as are the electrical and plumbing fixtures. Recessed lights abound and every light switch has a dimmer allowing you to set the mood.

The home is located in upscale Seawood Park featuring safety for all and beautiful walking paths. The property is surrounded with tall fir trees and abundant wild roses, raspberries and lilacs to insure privacy while you enjoy over 1200 feet of oceanfront. Near the flag pole you will find lobster traps and buoys that have washed up on our shore. We are very near Shaw's restaurant where they filmed 'Message In A Bottle'. Here you can buy lobster right off the boat. The famous Pemaquid Point Lighthouse is just down the road. Make plans now to visit this beautiful piece of paradise and make beautiful memories for you and yours. Cleaning fees, linens and firewood are included. We are the house with the red front doors! Be sure to scroll all the way down to see all the great photos. More master bedroom and kitchen furniture has been added since photos were taken. In mid July 2013 we added a great hammock on the waters edge that our clients love! Our week runs Sunday to Sunday, due to clients request, beginning in 2014.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Although we make our home in Nashville Tennessee, we have rented 2-3 times a year through VRBO for the past 8 years. Through our wonderful experiences we learned what we needed, wanted and really appreciated in a vacation rental. In 2008 we decided to cross over to 'the other side' and become owners. We looked at southeast beach properties and Rocky Mountain ski resorts. In the end we fell in love with the breathtaking coast of Pemaquid Point Penninsula in New Harbor Maine. We tell our friends and family 'our vacation home is up in the middle of the woods on the ocean in Maine'. It truly is the best of all worlds. All the benefits of the ocean (can you say lobster?!) without the stifling heat. As an avid runner Bon loves logging the miles on the quiet tree lined roads while Bill fishes for striper and blues off the rocky outcropping on the beach. The kids explore the bay and outer islands by kayak looking for seals. We all love walking down to the lighthouse and having breakfast in the restaurant while watching the crashing surf. And of course there are the morning coffee, and evening cocktail walks along the groomed shore path. So calming, so peaceful, so absolutely wonderful. We have done absolutely everything possible to make our home exactly how we would want a rental for our family. To top it off, Mark and Lori Chesebro, owners of the Chesebro Gallery, serve as our caretakers providing a warm welcome and local information and color.

The Owner purchased this house in 2008

24 Reviews of Property 210347 in Pemaquid Point, Maine

'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
TN
5

An incredible vacation property.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The rental property is everything that the owner claims it to be. The views are picturesque and the house is well organized and clean. What truly sets this rental apart is the effort the owners put in to making your stay an experience. It is obvious that they enjoy their property and want you to experience the same. For example, they provide a detailed list of places to go and people to see. Follow up on their recommendations or simply sit on the back deck by the sea. Either way, your time spent at Pemaquid Point will become a cherished memory.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
5

One word..........PICTURESQUE!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was by FAR the most relaxing, not to mention GORGEOUS, vacation we have ever taken barring none!!!! From the moment we opened the door, we could see the owner had paid attention to every little detail. The house was spotless, the bedrooms were comfortable and roomy and the living and dining areas had everything you needed or wanted. It was exactly as pictured and described. The sound of the gentle waves lapping at the rocks below lulled us to sleep every night and the sunsets in the afternoon were just spectacular! There was plenty of wood for the fire pit each night, and the sound system on the deck was the cherry on top of an already picture-perfect house. The owner was very attentive and had given us suggestions of places to go and things to do. In fact, one person he suggested we visit turned into someone we ended up forging a friendship with. He also gave us the name of someone that would deliver steamed lobsters for less than the price of hot dogs and it was TRUE! I personally ate 27 lobsters during that week! We did most all of what the owner had suggested and it made for a really great time. There is SO much to do and see here but THIS house really was the key to our perfect vacation ....and was where we spent the majority of the time because it was just so beautiful and serene that you didnt want to leave. After all, if you could eat all the lobsters you want for less than a hot dog and at the same time be on the ocean with a drink in your hand, music playing on the back deck as you watch the sun slowly sink behind the horizon, AND with family and friends at your side......why WOULD you leave the house?? We will MOST DEFINITELY be renting this home again and will be counting the days. It doesn't get better than this!!!!!! Thank you Bill and Bon for letting us share your dream spot for that week!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Warwick, RI
5

Takes Your Breath Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have stayed 2011, 2012, 2013 & yes 2014!!
Seas The Day was referred to us by a relative when we were looking to return to Maine once again. We had been going to Maine for more than 20 years and always stayed in cabin type homes. When we went on the website for Seas the Day, we were blown away. We have never stayed directly on the ocean as this house is. Our first night there was a breath taking sunset. From that moment on we have continue to return. Bill and Bonnie have been extremely accommodating and have always been there to help us make the most out of our stay and make sure that everything is satisfactory. They have recommended places to visit and places to eat. Yes the “Cupboard” does have the best sticky buns ever and a very affordable breakfast. There is nothing like having fresh lobster delivered to your door and yet this year was made even better by having them cooked & delivered to the door. Where can you stay that offers such a wonderful amenity? We have gone down the rocks every day and collected sea glass, walked the path, chilled in the hammock, watched the lobster boats and enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets. Seas The Day is an exquisite home that the owners have taken great pride and offered to others to have a piece of paradise. We continue to return with our 2 older boys based on the beauty of this house, the scenic views and peaceful surroundings. If you are looking for the ultimate relaxing vacation home and attentive owners; look no further ~ Seas The Day is worth every penny!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
2

I expected it to be larger! Pictures where crafted

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
There was a reason they did not show bedrooms upstairs. ridiculously over priced. House across the street with 4 bedrooms was less expensive. Upstairs bedroom's only have one window, warm and closed in. It is nothing more than a dormer. The description of three bedrooms is over stated! When you pay TOP DOLLAR you expect much more.
Owner's Response: Obviously this reviewer doesn't agree with the rest of the reviews below. Are the upstairs bedrooms small, yes. However one is large enough for a queen bed, dresser, 2 night stands and bench. The other has a double bed, twin bed, night stand and dresser. However this winter we are planning to "rip off the top floor" and "blow it out" making both bedrooms much bigger with floor to ceiling windows, private decks and adding a new huge 2nd master bath. If this renter had expressed these views we would have attempted to work with them. Their comment that the "Pictures were "crafted" doesn't jive with their statement that "there is a reason they didn't show the pictures", mutually exclusive. When you deal with the public you learn some folks just don't play fair. For instance the house across the street is not on the ocean has been off the rental market for 2 years due to bad renters. Oh well, guess they won't be one of our MANY repeat renters, thank goodness.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
5

This home HAS IT ALL!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The owners take great pride in this home and it shows! Prior to our arrival we were kept well informed on what to expect when checking in, what to do in the area including where to find the best lobster (delivered live to our home I might add!) and any questions we had were answered in a very timely manner. Upon arriving we found the home to be in perfect condition, very clean and well kept. Music was playing softly and a special treat was waiting for us in the kitchen. The home is much larger than it appears in the pictures. The master bedroom and bathrooms especially are quite spacious. The pantry and kitchen had everything we needed and more! Everything is newly renovated and of high quality. We enjoyed opening the windows and letting the cool ocean breeze flow through the home. The smell of the wild roses and ocean air is pure joy. Words cannot describe the spectacular view and pictures do not do it justice. The children and I loved seeing the lobstermen working on the water right in front of the house! There were may boats to watch and in the afternoon many sailboats came through as well. The children loved exploring the rocks right in front of the home on the waters edge. The water was so calming and the surf was safe for them to play. We all loved evenings gathered around the outdoor firepit. There's a generous supply of firewood ready for use. Falling asleep with the windows open listening to the sounds of the waves coming in and smelling the sweet air was heavenly. It was such a special time rocking my baby to sleep that way. In the mornings we enjoyed a morning walk coffee in hand of course along the private path which followed the waters edge to the private beach where the kids enjoyed "crabbing" in the tidal pool. We would definitely stay again, counting the days until we can return and having "Seas The Day" dreams in the meantime. Truly the best family vacation we have ever taken being a family of 6 with 4 young children. Many sites and places to visit nearby including Pemaquid Beach, Pemaquid Point Lighthouse, Round Pond, Boothbay Harbor area for shopping, The Cubbard Cafe for sticky buns that are to die for, The Anchor Inn for dinner, Shaws for the true seafood experience, Granite Hall Store for goodies for kids of all ages including penny candy and ice cream, Fort William Henry, breakfast at the Seagull Shop, Hardy Boat cruises, day trip to Monhegan Island and so much more. Truly in love with this area. This home is a gem and has it ALL!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
New York
5

Beautiful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house is a perfect place to vacation. The location and views from house and deck were spectacular. There are amazing sunsets and of course lobsters to enjoy there. Everything was clean and well maintained, and the owner was very helpful. The area is beautiful and relaxing. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Brookline, MA
5

A fabulous Thanksgiving spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My family loved spending Thanksgiving weekend in this fabulous home. The view is fabulous - at high or low tide, and even at night (the stars were incredibly bright). We added lobster to our Thanksgiving meal (delivered, as promised, to our door) - that's what the Pilgrims ate, after all. The next night we had more lobsters delivered and prepared them outside, and enjoyed the firepit, too. The home was just as advertised - and clean and well-appointed. The owner was attentive and helpful. Thanks so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
New Paltz, NY
5

A Little Bit of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We spent the week of 9/10/11 at "Seas the Day". It was everything that the owner promised it would be. The views of the breaking waves and sunsets were spectacular. We especially appreciated Bill (the owner) keeping in close contact via email on places to see, things to do and the price of lobster (11 lbs {9 lobsters} steamed and delivered for $35 before adding a tip!). As Bill said, they were cheaper than hot dogs that particular week. The house was spotless, airy, spacious and well maintained. We walked the trail by the rocks every day and discovered some memorable beach combing items that we will use for a diorama. All in all, a fabulous week at a terrific place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Clarksville, IN
5

You Don't Need To Look Any Further!!

You Don't Need To Look Any Further!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
What a magical and special week we spent in New Harbor, ME. The owner was more than helpful from the moment I first inquired about the property. He sent me so many wonderful tips and ideas to make our vacation even more special. We loved the location. Quiet, peaceful, and restorative. The house was fabulous. I slept in the small upstairs bedroom and it was probably one of my favorite places in the whole house. The kitchen is a cook's dream. We cooked many meals that week and used the outdoor gas grill several times as well. We loved the Pumpkin colored hardwood floors, the wood stove in the kitchen, the fireplace in the LR and used both pretty well everyday. The beds were super comfortable with nice linens. The furniture was comfortable and the deck got a lot of use even though we had several days in the 30's with high wind. It didn't stop us from sitting out there enjoying the great view and fabulous sunsets each evening. We clamored around on the rocks and explored the whole area. We visited Eastport, Bar Harbor, Bath, New Brunswick, Camden, and many of the smaller little villages all up and down the coast. We went whale watching in Bar Harbor and enjoyed breakfast at Moody's diner two mornings. The Cupboard Cafe was a great place for breakfast and we really enjoyed the Pemaquid Point Lighthouse. We also visited the Point Quoddy Lighthouse furhter North. All in all a great trip, wonderful accomodations, and a very accomodating owner. The only warning I will give you is the rust in the water due to the granite coast in ME. We washed white clothes and they turned orange. The owner has told me he will soon be adding a type of well system that will take care of that. He left us 4 large containers of water in the pantry that we used throughout the week for drinking and coffee. A wonderful experience and we whole-heartedly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jean, Thank you for the review, sorry about the water, we drilled a new well March 1 2011. The old well was only 40 feet deep in porus soil that allowed vegetation to seep in and was on an iron vein. At 57 feet we hit solid granite and continued to drill to 180 feet. We also beefed up the filtration adding two 120 gallon rentention tanks. Now the water is totally clear! We hope you return soon!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'Seas the Day' - Spectacular New Ocean Front Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210347vbi
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Saugerties, NY
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This was our first VRBO experience and it was a very positive one. The owners were very responsive and informative throughout the process. We had great vacation with time split between just sitting on the deck soaking up the view and enjoying the local sights and activities. A real bonus to have a light house just up the road. The attention to detail with how the house is decorated and equipped made it feel homey and comfortable. Am now recommending this property to friends.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you Tim! Your family and you embraced the local experience and were a pleasure to have as clients. We look forward to welcoming your family and friends in the future.
Best regards

B&B
Helpful votes: 2/2