Mariposa house rental - Welcome to Mariposa Retreat
Welcome to Mariposa Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Mariposa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Located in beautiful Mariposa County, California, the all-weather gateway to Yosemite National Park, our property offers peaceful privacy in a breathtaking setting. You'll enjoy an incredible range of landscapes and a heritage of historic sites and towns. This scenic region provides a unique glimpse of the Golden State’s early days while boasting a multitude of natural wonders.

Within minutes from the privacy and seclusion of your weekend retreat, you'll find that history lives in the Gold Rush buildings lining downtown Mariposa and Coulterville's main streets, and ghost towns like Hornitos and Bear Valley Ski Resort capture California’s pioneer spirit.

Mariposa County is as rich in history as it is recreation. Outdoor activities abound, from the majestic peaks in Yosemite National Park to the oak-studded rolling foothills to the Merced River Canyon, the region offers fishing, swimming, boating, hiking, bird watching, climbing and skiing while still being ideal for old-fashioned relaxation.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

We are a San Francisco family who love the outdoors and majestic beauty of our country.

We own a small Hand Therapy practice in San Francisco where we care for individuals with upper extremity and hand injuries and disease. We also love music and my husband plays the double bass in 2 local volunteer symphonies.

The Owner purchased this house in 1992

We built this home ourselves in 1992.It is built on 3 acres and although there are a few houses in the area, the property is completely private. It is a solidly built home with pine wainscoating and ceilings. It has hardwood floors throughout. We adopted a Native American theme to remind us of our closeness to the earth. Our pool is fed my an underground aquifer with silky soft water.The hot tub is delicious at the end of a busy day.The Mariposa area is beautiful, quiet , magical, and of course close to Yosemite. Our family enjoys the many possibilities for activity in the area, but most of all it is a phenomenal place to relax.

We love walking and hiking in the area.The Merced River is great for swimming as well. The quiet and the privacy are precious. The starry nights and warm nights. We have a good book VCR and DVD collection. With a pool and hot tub , what more do you need?

7 Reviews of Property 92830 in Mariposa, California

Yosemite Retreat
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
business
Yosemite Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92830vb
+1 (415) 215-5842
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Beautiful peaceful retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My son, daughter-in-law, grandson and I stayed for 5 days. The home was very clean and property well maintained. It was exactly what we were looking for. Was only 40 minutes to Yosemite - scenic drive. We did call the manager for a problem with the pool cover and a man came within 20 minutes. Would definitely recommend this property to family and friends.
business
Yosemite Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92830vb
+1 (415) 215-5842
Mariposa Yosemite Area
United States
3

Good for a family

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed here for 3 nights and were somewhat disappointed. First of all the owner did not get back to me for quite a while until I email her a few times. We were hoping for something romantic but this place was not that. The part we did not realize that is that it is an hour and half to Yosemite and the "half an hour to the entrance" was rather misleading. The DVD library is quite outdated and the VCR had a tape stuck in it. When I later told this to the owner she knew this already yet she did not have it fixed. The bed we slept in was rather hard. Our first morning we got an early morning wake up call from the owner's friend at 6:30 or so saying"there's free food..." thinking I was the owner. Good points, it is spacious, the hot tub is nice and clean, the kitchen was clean, our dog was welcome and it was a roof over out head.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yosemite Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92830vb
+1 (415) 215-5842
Mariposa Yosemite Area
San Francisco
5

Yosemite Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The name says it all. We just finished a wonderful 8 day stay, and it couldn't have been more perfect. It is an easy drive from the bay area, and the house is clean and very welcoming. We felt comfortable from the moment we arrived. It is well stocked, and if we did need something, it was just a short drive to town. Speaking of town, Mariposa is delightful, and Yosemite is just a hour drive away (and it is such a beautiful drive, you hardly notice the time!). Although you are close to town, when you are on the property you feel miles away from everything. We were treated to wildlife sightings every morning while sitting by the pool and having coffee. The wild turkeys were especially amusing to watch. And speaking of the pool, it is fabulous. So clean, and perfect for cooling off on a warm afternoon.
All-in-all, I highly recommend Yosemite Retreat to anyone looking for a nice getaway.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Yosemite Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92830vb
+1 (415) 215-5842
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Prescott Valley, Arizona
5

Absolute Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family is just finishing a week at this wonderful vacation home. The house is beautiful and had everything we needed for our week here. Although the property is only about five minutes from Mariposa, we felt like we were completely isolated. The back patio and pool area are lovely and we spent most of the time we were at the house out there. Really love the Sirius/XM radio that has the speakers out back! We saw wildlife on the property almost every day, mainly wild turkey and deer. The drive to Yosemite Valley is about an hour long but very scenic. We ended up doing the Valley Floor Tour and highly recommend that. We stocked up on groceries at the Pioneer Market the day we got here and cooked most of our meals here at the house. We had everything we needed for meal preparations and there are both a gas grill and a charcoal grill available for use. The one place we did eat out at was Happy Burger in Mariposa and it was DELICIOUS!

I would highly recommend staying here. It is the best vacation my family (two adults and two children, age 12 and 9) has ever had! The owner, Pam, was such a pleasure to deal with :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Yosemite Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92830vb
+1 (415) 215-5842
Mariposa Yosemite Area
SO. CA
4

CHECK IT OUT

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
RIGHT ON. . . POOL IS GREAT. VERY CLEAN. VERY QUIET. HAPPY BURGER IS CLOSE AND GOOD. THE TRINGLE RESTURANT IS VERY SMALL , VERY HARD TO FIND , , ,BUT WORTH IT!!!
ALL HOUSE NEEDS ARE THREE CEILING FANS.
IF YOU TAKE YOUR DOGGIES, GET THEM LEATHER BOOTS. A MUST.

HAD A GREAT TIME. WISHED IT WERE CLOSER TO HOME. DEFINITELY WOULD RECOMMEND
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Yosemite Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92830vb
+1 (415) 215-5842
Mariposa Yosemite Area
San Frabcisco
5

Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My wife and I spent five of the most peaceful days we've had in quite awhile. The oak studded property makes for a restful quiet landscape. We particularly enjoy the apparent seclusion even though we're literally minutes from Mariposa. Night skies are littered with stars and the properties location at 2000' makes for mild evenings to enjoy the skies nightly show. We enjoyed 3 full days in Yosemite valley but came home each night to our quiet and restful retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Yosemite Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92830vb
+1 (415) 215-5842
Mariposa Yosemite Area
San Jose, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
We had a great time in Yosemite last weekend! The place is very private and we love the pool and hot tub. And Sean has been very easy to deal with and very responsive. We will definitely come back.
Helpful votes: 1/1