Sadly, water supply problems ruined what would have been a great stay
Booking was easy. Daniel was quick to reply, the price was fair and we looked forward to our 5 night stay at the end of a tour of Canada.
Daniel met us on arrival and gave a tour of the property. Everything was as described. The property was clean, nicely furnished with all the conveniences of home. The location was central and next to the Metro.
If this had been the whole story, my review would have been like the other positive reviews on this website. Sadly, this was not so.
The evening we arrived, we wanted to wash and shower before bed. Suddenly, the hot water went brown and gritty and then no hot water at all. The cold water pressure became a trickle. I showered with cold water.
Next day, I called Daniel. Without making any enquiry why the problem had occurred, he just said there was "nothing he could do about it". He was actually chuckling when I described the problem to him. I told him that I did not find the situation amusing. I asked him to contact building maintenance to find out why this happened. He said he would try to find the number and that I should call him after 30 mins. In the meantime, I went downstairs to find out what I could. It turned out that there had been a pump failure to the whole building. I called Daniel. He had not been able to speak with anyone and he speculated that the problem may have been caused by nearby construction. He just said "keep me updated".
Kishore (security guard in the lobby) said the problem should be fixed soon. We began our day without washing or using the toilet (since there was no water for the flush).
All was well till the penultimate day. Again, the hot water went brown and gritty then both hot and cold water became a trickle. I called Daniel who again blamed construction. However Kishore said the problem affected only Daniel's property so it was Daniel's job to fix it.
It was our last day. We were so disappointed by the water supply problems and by Daniel's unwillingness to actually do anything to help. He expected us to run around for info while on vacation without him making any effort. We were made to feel like we were 'disturbing' him. In his eyes, it was our problem, not his.
If it hadn't been for these problems, we would've had a great stay like the other guests who have posted reviews on this website. But, if you are unlucky enough to experience problems, you can't expect any real help from Daniel. He couldn't be more disinterested.
We regret staying there and were relieved to go.
Owner's Response: Dear Mehboob,
It is unfortunate that there was a shutdown in water supply during your stay in our apartment and I do agree that this can be very unpleasant during your vacation. I’d like to address some of the criticism you addressed concerning my unwillingness to help.
The reason for this was that a main water pipe broke about 100 meters away from our building complex and the city had to shut down the water. Our building is less that 3 years old and it is central plumbing and a common hot water heater for all 300 apartments.
When you called at 6 am to make me aware of the problem I told you that I would call the building supervisor and call you back. Also I said that the way the building was designed, it was all the apartments not only ours that had no water. I did call him but there was no answer and I left a message. I also called the security guards and no answer. I then called you back, no answer but you called back a few minutes later. You told me you had gone to see the security guard and he said that it should be fixed soon. I said that I sure hope it would and that if later in the afternoon or early evening if the problem had not been fixed that I would put you up in a hotel because you could not stay in an apartment without water. I asked to let me know when you came back from visiting and we would see what to do. You did not call back so I assumed that the situation had been fixed, which you called to confirm the next morning. You told me that everything was working perfectly upon your return to the apartment. The day before your departure you called to mention that the water was out again and you were really upset. I totally understand that this was really an unpleasant situation. Again I offered to put you in a hotel room. The lack of water was throughout the building and not only my apartment as you the guard may have told you. Furthermore, the water was out for less than one hour that day. There was really nothing I could do to fix the situation and felt really powerless but was totally understanding of you being upset. Never did I take the situation lightly and even less laugh about it. I really don’t know how you got that impression. I always do everything I can to help my guests when it’s possible to do something. This was a problem from the city not because of our apartment and there was nothing I could do besides offer to put you up in a hotel room.
Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our apartment
Helpful votes: 5/5
Did you find this review helpful?